بحث جديد يوضح كيف يؤثر الحرمان من النوم على الذاكرة

بحث جديد يوضح كيف يؤثر الحرمان من النوم على الذاكرة

في السابق ، كان الباحثون يعرفون أن حرمان الفئران من النوم بعد قيام الفئران بأداء مهمة أدى إلى نسيان الفئران جوانب هذه المهمة. لكن الباحثين لم يكونوا متأكدين من وظيفة الحصين ـ وهما بنائين على شكل فرس البحر يقعان في الفص الصدغي للدماغ حيث يتم عمل العديد من الذكريات طويلة المدى ـ لا يمكنها القيام بعملها.

الآن ، وجد الباحثون أن التداخل مع التذبذبات المرتبطة بالنوم - أو إطلاق الإيقاعات العصبية - في قسم فرعي من الحصين هو على الأرجح الجاني. نتائجهم تظهر في طبيعة الاتصالات.

لاختبار دور التذبذبات في تكوين الذاكرة ، قام الباحثون بتسجيل نشاط الحصين الأساسي لمجموعة من الفئران. لقد وضعوا الفئران في بيئة جديدة ، ودعهم يستكشفون ، وأعطوها صدمة قدم خفيفة ، ثم أعدوها إلى أقفاصهم المنزلية للراحة والنوم بشكل طبيعي.

"إذا رجعت الفأرة إلى نفس البنية في اليوم أو حتى بعد بضعة أشهر ، فستحصل على استجابة الخوف النمطية هذه ، وهي أنها تتجمد" ، تقول الكاتبة البارزة سارة آتون ، وهي أستاذة مساعدة في جامعة ميتشيغن الجزيئية. والبيولوجيا الخلوية والتنموية. "لكن إذا حرمت حيوانًا من النوم لبضع ساعات بعد هذا الاقتران ، فإن الفأر لن يتذكره في اليوم التالي".

وجد الباحثون أنه في الفئران النائمة عادة ، كانت التذبذبات المرتبطة بالنوم في القسم الفرعي من الحصين المسمى CA1 أكثر قوة بعد التعلم. ثم أخذوا مجموعة جديدة من الفئران ، وسجلوا نشاط الحصين الأساسي لهم وأكملوا نفس المهمة. كما أعطى الباحثون هذه الفئران دواء لتثبيط مجموعة صغيرة من الخلايا العصبية المثبطة في CA1 التي تعبر عن parvalbumin.

الباحثون لم يغيروا سلوك النوم للحيوان - كانوا ينامون بشكل طبيعي. لكن تعطيل نشاط الخلايا العصبية التي تعبر عن البروفيمبومين عطل الإيقاع الإيقاعي للخلايا العصبية CA1 المحيطة بينما كانت تلك الحيوانات نائمة. يبدو أن كبت الخلايا المتعادلة البارمبومين يزيل تماما الزيادة المرتبطة بالتعلّم الطبيعي في التذبذبات في ذلك الجزء من الحصين في الفأر.

"هناك نظرية قديمة تسمى قانون هب ، وهي" اطلقوا النار معاً ، سلكوا معاً "، يقول آتون. "إذا كان بإمكانك الحصول على اثنين من الخلايا العصبية لإطلاق النار مع انتظام كبير على مقربة من بعضهما البعض ، فمن المحتمل جدًا أنك ستؤثر على قوة الروابط بينهما".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عندما تم منع الخلايا العصبية من إطلاق النار بانتظام وبشكل إيقاعي ، نسيت الفئران وجود ارتباط خوف بمهمتها.

يقول نيكوليت أوغنانوفسكي ، وهو طالب دراسات عليا وشارك في تأليف الدراسة: "النشاط التذبذب السائد ، وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية للتعلم ، يتحكم فيه عدد صغير جدًا من إجمالي عدد الخلايا في منطقة قرن آمون". "هذا يغير سرد ما نفهمه حول كيفية عمل الشبكات. ترتبط الاهتزازات التي تتحكم فيها خلايا البارفامبين بتغيرات الشبكة العالمية أو الاستقرار. لا يتم تخزين الذكريات في خلايا مفردة ، ولكن يتم توزيعها عبر الشبكة. "

قارن الباحثون أيضًا استقرار اتصالات العصبونات بين المجموعة الضابطة والمجموعة التي تعطلت اهتزازات النوم. ووجد الباحثون أن العلاقات لم تكن فقط أقوى في المجموعة الضابطة بعد تجربتهم التعليمية ، بل أيضًا أن تلك الروابط العصبية كانت أقوى أيضًا. تم حظر هذه التغييرات عندما تم تعطيل التذبذبات قرن آمون المرتبطة بالنوم تجريبيا.

"يبدو أن هذه المجموعة من الخلايا العصبية التي تولد إيقاعات في الدماغ أثناء النوم توفر بعض المحتوى المعلوماتي لتعزيز الذكريات" ، يقول آتون. "يبدو أن الإيقاع نفسه هو الجزء الأكثر أهمية ، وربما لماذا تحتاج إلى النوم من أجل تشكيل هذه الذكريات".

بعد ذلك ، يخطط الباحثون لاختبار ما إذا كانت استعادة التذبذبات قرن آمون (محاكاة تأثيرات النوم في CA1) كافية لتشجيع تكوين الذاكرة الطبيعية عند حرمان الفئران من النوم.

مصدر: جامعة ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = الحرمان من النوم ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

New Research Clarifies How Sleep Deprivation Affects Memory

New Research Clarifies How Sleep Deprivation Affects Memory

Previously, researchers knew that depriving mice of sleep after the mice performed a task resulted in the mice forgetting aspects of that task. But researchers weren’t sure what function of the hippocampus—two seahorse-shaped structures located in the temporal lobe of the brain where many long-term memories are made—couldn’t do its job.

Now, researchers have found that interfering with sleep-associated oscillations—or the rhythmic firing of neurons—in one subsection of the hippocampus is likely the culprit. Their results appear in Nature Communications.

To test the role of oscillations in memory formation, the researchers recorded the baseline hippocampal activity of a group of mice. They placed mice into a new environment, let them explore, gave them a mild foot shock, then put them back into their home cages to rest and sleep normally.

“If you return the mouse to that same structure a day or even a couple months later, they will have this very stereotyped fear response, which is that they freeze,” says senior author Sara Aton, an assistant professor in the University of Michigan’s molecular, cellular, and developmental biology department. “But if you sleep-deprive an animal for a few hours after that context-shock pairing, the mouse won’t remember it the next day.”

The researchers found that in normally sleeping mice, sleep-associated oscillations in a subsection of the hippocampus called CA1 were more robust after learning. They then took a new group of mice, recorded their baseline hippocampal activity and had them complete the same task. The researchers also gave these mice a drug to inhibit a small population of inhibitory neurons in CA1 that express parvalbumin.

The researchers didn’t change the sleep behavior of the animal—they slept normally. But turning off the activity of parvalbumin-expressing neurons disrupted the rhythmic firing of surrounding CA1 neurons while those animals were asleep. Suppressing the parvalbumin-expressing cells appeared to completely wipe out the normal learning-associated increase in oscillations in that section of the mouse’s hippocampus.

“There’s an old theorem called Hebb’s Law, which is, ‘Fire together, wire together,'” Aton says. “If you can get two neurons to fire with great regularity in close proximity to each other, it’s very likely you’re going to affect the strength of connections between them.”

When the neurons were kept from firing together regularly and rhythmically, the mice forgot there was any fearful association with their task.

“The dominant oscillatory activity, which is so critical for learning, is controlled by a very small number of the total cell population in the hippocampus,” says Nicolette Ognjanovski, a graduate student and coauthor of the study. “This changes the narrative of what we understand about how networks work. The oscillations that parvalbumin cells control are linked to global network changes, or stability. Memories aren’t stored in single cells, but distributed through the network.”

The researchers also compared the stability of the neurons’ connections between the control group and the group whose sleep oscillations were disrupted. They found that not only were the connections stronger in the control group after their learning trial, but also that those neuronal connections were also stronger. These changes were blocked when sleep-associated hippocampal oscillations were experimentally disrupted.

“It seems like this population of neurons that is generating rhythms in the brain during sleep is providing some informational content for reinforcing memories,” Aton says. “The rhythm itself seems to be the most critical part, and possibly why you need to have sleep in order to form these memories.”

Next, the researchers plan to test whether restoring hippocampal oscillations (mimicking the effects of sleep in CA1) is sufficient for promoting normal memory formation when mice are sleep-deprived.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

The Sleep Revolution: Transforming Your Life, One Night at a Time
healthAuthor: Arianna Huffington
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • HARMONY

Publisher: Harmony
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

Sleep Habit: Habit Ignition, Easy Sleep Solutions (Sleep Deprivation, Daily Rituals, Without Drugs, Sleep Peacefully)
healthAuthor: Chris A. Baird
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

Sleep: Sleep Like An Angel - Sleep Secrets - No More: Sleep Deprivation, Fatigue & Insomnia (Sleep Apnea, How To Sleep, Brain Health, Memory Improvement, Increase Energy, Sleep Paralysis, Fatigue)
healthAuthor: Scott Sterling
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $13.99

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}