التشخيص المبكر لسرطان البنكرياس سوف يجعله أقل فتكا

التشخيص المبكر لسرطان البنكرياس سوف يجعله أقل فتكا

من الصعب للغاية تشخيص سرطان البنكرياس. إن الإنذار الحالي لسرطان البنكرياس ضعيف للغاية لدرجة أن مؤسسة خيرية بريطانية لمكافحة السرطان حذرت أكثر من 11,000 الناس ومن المتوقع أن يموت من السرطان من قبل 2026 ، وأنها ستتجاوز سرطان الثدي ليصبح رابع أكبر مرض السرطان. المحادثة

حتى مع العلاجات الحالية ، فقط 5 ٪ من مرضى سرطان البنكرياس البقاء على قيد الحياة لمدة خمس سنوات بعد التشخيص.

كان المرض أكثر في الوعي العام في الآونة الأخيرة ، في أعقاب وفاة الإحصائي السويدي هانس روسلينج . الممثلون البريطانيون جون هيرت . آلان ريكمان. وعلى الرغم من أن العديد قد نقلوا الخط إلى جانب هذه التقارير أن معدلات البقاء على قيد الحياة قد لم تتحسن منذ 1960sلسنوات عديدة ، كان العلماء يعملون على طرق التشخيص المبكرة الحاسمة التي يمكن أن تنقذ المرضى في المستقبل.

الأعراض

يتم التعرف بسهولة على بعض من أفضل أشكال السرطان التي تم تشخيصها من خلال الأعراض التي يدركها الجميع. الميلانوما (سرطان الجلد) ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن رصده عندما يتغير لون الشامة ، وحجمها و / أو شكلها ؛ 93٪ من الحالات يتم تشخيصها في المرحلة الأولى أو الثانية لأن المرضى يمكنهم الإمساك بها مبكرًا. غالبية سرطان الثدي ، 83٪ ، يتم اكتشافها أيضًا في هذه المراحل المبكرة ، حيث تم التعرف على معظم الأشخاص من الأعراض ومعرفة كيفية التحقق منها.

على عكس الثدي أو الجلد أو أحد أنواع السرطانات الأخرى التي يسهل التعرف عليها ، فإن المعرفة العامة بأعراض سرطان البنكرياس منخفضة للغاية: دراسة حديثة وجدت أن أكثر من 70 ٪ من الناس غير قادرين على تسمية عرض واحد للمرض دون عذر.

ومع ذلك ، حتى لو كان المريض على علم الأعراض - والتي تشمل اليرقان ، وآلام في البطن ، وفقدان الوزن ، والتغيرات في الشهية وعسر الهضم - يمكن بسهولة أن تعزى إلى أسباب أخرى ، مثل التهاب البنكرياس أو قرحة.

على رأس هذا ، لا تظهر أعراض سرطان البنكرياس حتى وقت متأخر من المرض. هذا هو لهذه الأسباب 80 ٪ من مرضى سرطان البنكرياس لا تكتشف أن لديهم هذا المرض حتى وصلت مرحلة متقدمة وانتشرت في جميع أنحاء الجسم. بمجرد أن يبدأ السرطان بالانتشار في جميع أنحاء الجسم ، فإنه يجعل التدخل الجراحي - أفضل علاج حالي - مستحيلاً.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


سرطان مخفي

إن اكتشاف أورام البنكرياس ليس بالأمر السهل القيام به ، حتى عندما تكون الأعراض موجودة. يتم إخفاء البنكرياس في أعماق الجسم ، خلف المعدة ، مما يجعل من الصعب على الطبيب أن يشعر بالأورام خلال الفحص. كما يخلق موقعه مشاكل في التصوير وأخذ خزعات عندما تتم إحالة المريض إلى الأمام. حتى الأشعة المقطعية والرنين المغناطيسي المتخصصة يمكن أن تفوت الآفات الصغيرة التي تشير إلى وجود سرطان البنكرياس.

يمكن إجراء اختبارات الدم أيضًا لقياس مستويات المرقم الحيوي - الجزيئات المستخدمة لتحديد المرض - مستضد الكربوهيدرات 19-9 (CA19-9). المشكلة مع CA19-9 هي أنه ليس كل سرطانات البنكرياس تنتج علامة وأمراض أخرى يمكن أن تؤدي أيضًا إلى مستويات عالية من البروتين.

التشخيص السريع؟

نحن نعرف الآن أن سرطان البنكرياس يستغرق سنوات لتتحول إلى ورم قابل للاكتشاف بالطرق الحالية. لذا ، من المحتمل أن تكون هناك نافذة لتشخيص المرض قبل وقت طويل من تطور الورم ، ومع تزايد الحالات المتوقعة ، فإن الحاجة إلى استخدام هذا الوقت تكون ملحة.

في الوقت الحالي لا توجد تقنية راسخة للكشف المبكر ، ولكن يجري اتخاذ خطوات لتحسين تشخيص مرضى سرطان البنكرياس ونأمل أن يصاب المرض قبل أن يفوت الأوان. مؤخرا مرقم حيوي جديد تم التعرف على أن يكتشف أورام البنكرياس في عينات الدم. وبعد دراسة إيجابية ، يمكن أن تكون تقنية الكشف هذه الأداة الرخيصة والحساسة لتشخيص المراحل الأولى من المرض التي يسعى الباحثون جاهدين من أجلها.

التحقيق في البحث عن استخدام الحويصلات خارج الخلية للكشف عن سرطان البنكرياس. الحويصلات خارج الخلية هي عبارة عن حزم صغيرة مرتبطة بغشاء يطلقها الخلايا. يتم إفرازها في الجهاز الدوري ويمكن العثور عليها بسهولة في الدم. على الرغم من أنه تم رفضها في السابق على أنها حطام ، فمن المعروف الآن أن هذه الحويصلات تحمل مؤشرات حيوية من الخلايا التي تنتجها.

باستخدام طريقة الكشف الجديدة هذه ، تمكن الباحثون من تحديد سرطان البنكرياس المبكر في أكثر من نسبة 90٪ من مرضى 59 الذين شاركوا في الدراسة التجريبية. كانت التقنية قادرة حتى على التمييز بين السرطان والتهاب البنكرياس. تُظهر دراسة إثبات المفهوم هذه إمكانية إجراء اختبار دموي غير جراحي للكشف عن سرطان البنكرياس. ولكن هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العمل لمزيد من التحقق من صحة هذه النتائج ولإكمال الاختبار بالكامل بشكل تلقائي بحيث يمكن تنفيذه على نطاق أوسع.

إذا ثبت أن هذا الاختبار دقيق في تجارب أكبر ، فقد يؤدي إلى إجراء فحص واسع النطاق غير جراحي لسرطان البنكرياس. تحري لأنواع أخرى من السرطان - مثل سرطان عنق الرحم مع اختبارات اللطاخة ، وتصوير الثدي بالأشعة السينية لسرطان الثدي ، والاختبارات لسرطان الأمعاء قد أحدثت ثورة في نتائج المريض ، وهذا الاختبار يمكن أن يكون له نفس الأثر على مرضى سرطان البنكرياس.

على الرغم من عدم وجود طريقة سهلة لإعطاء نتيجة نهائية لتشخيص سرطان البنكرياس حتى الآن ، إلا أنه يجري العمل على الوصول إلى هناك - وقد تؤدي اختبارات كهذه إلى إنقاذ حياة الآلاف في جميع أنحاء العالم.

نبذة عن الكاتب

وليام هيل ، طالب دكتوراه في دراسة سرطان البنكرياس ، جامعة كارديف

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ Keywords = سرطان البنكرياس ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Early Diagnoses Of Pancreatic Cancer Would Make It Less Deadly

Early Diagnoses Of Pancreatic Cancer Would Make It Less Deadly

Pancreatic cancer is extremely difficult to diagnose. The current prognosis for pancreatic cancer is so poor that a UK cancer charity has warned more than 11,000 people are expected to die from the cancer by 2026, and that it will overtake breast cancer to become the fourth-biggest cancer killer. The Conversation

Even with current treatments, only 5% of pancreatic cancer patients survive for five years after diagnosis.

The disease has been more in the public conscious recently, following the deaths of Swedish statistician Hans Rosling and British actors John Hurt and Alan Rickman. And though many have quoted the line alongside these reports that survival rates have not improved since the 1960s, for many years scientists have been working on the crucial early diagnosis methods that could save future patients.

Symptoms

Some of the best diagnosed forms of cancer are easily identified with symptoms that everyone is aware of. Melanoma (skin cancer), for example, can be spotted when moles change colour, size and/or shape; 93% of cases are diagnosed in stage one or two because patients can catch it early on themselves. The majority of breast cancer, 83%, is also caught in these early stages as most people have been made aware of the symptoms and know how to check for them.

Unlike breast, skin or one of a number of other easily recognisable cancers, public knowledge of pancreatic cancer symptoms is very low: a recent survey found that more than 70% of people were unable to name a single symptom of the disease unprompted.

However, even if a patient is aware of the symptoms – which include jaundice, abdominal pain, weight loss, changes to appetite and indigestion – they could all easily be attributed to other causes, such as pancreatitis or an ulcer.

On top of this, pancreatic cancer symptoms don’t appear until late on in the disease. It is for these reasons that 80% of pancreatic cancer patients don’t find out they have the disease until it has reached an advanced stage and spread around the body. Once the cancer has begun to spread around the body it makes surgical intervention – the best current treatment – impossible.

Hidden cancer

Detecting pancreatic tumours is not an easy thing to to do, even when symptoms are present. The pancreas is hidden deep in the body, behind the stomach, making it hard for a doctor to feel for tumours during an examination. Its location also creates problems with imaging and taking biopsies when a patient has been referred onwards. Even specialised CT and MRI scans can miss small lesions that indicate the presence of pancreatic cancer.

Blood tests can also be carried out to measure levels of the biomarker – molecules used to identify the disease – carbohydrate antigen 19-9 (CA19-9). The problem with CA19-9 is that not all pancreatic cancers produce the marker and other diseases can also lead to high levels of the protein.

Quick diagnosis?

We now know that pancreatic cancer takes years to develop into a tumour detectable by current methods. So, potentially, there is a window for diagnoses long before a tumour develops and, with the rise in cases predicted, the need to use this time is urgent.

At present there is no established early detection technique, but moves are being made to improve the diagnosis of pancreatic cancer patients and hopefully catch the illness before it gets too late. Recently a new biomarker was identified that detects pancreatic tumours in blood samples. Following a positive study, this detection technique could be the cheap and sensitive tool for diagnosing the earliest stages of the disease that researchers have been striving for.

The research investigated the use of extracellular vesicles to detect pancreatic cancer. Extracellular vesicles are tiny membrane-bound packages released by cells. They are secreted into the circulatory system and can be easily found in the blood. Though they were previously dismissed as debris, it is now known that these vesicles carry biomarkers from the cells that produce them.

Using this new detection method the researchers were able to identify early-stage pancreatic cancer in more than 90% of the 59 patients who took part in the pilot study. The technique was even able to distinguish between between cancer and pancreatitis. This proof-of-concept study shows the potential of a non-invasive blood test to detect pancreatic cancer. But more work is required to further validate these findings and to fully automate the test so it can be carried out on a larger scale.

If this test is shown to be accurate in larger trials it could lead to non-invasive large-scale screening for pancreatic cancer. Screening for other types of cancer – such as cervical cancer with smear tests, mammograms for breast cancer, and tests for bowel cancer has revolutionised patient outcome, and this test could very well have the same impact for pancreatic cancer patients.

Though there isn’t an easy way to give a definitive result for pancreatic cancer diagnosis just yet, the work is being done to get there – and tests such as this could potentially save the lives of thousands worldwide.

About The Author

William Hill, PhD Student Studying Pancreatic Cancer, Cardiff University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Pancreatic Cancer Survival Guide: Leave No Stone Unturned
healthAuthor: Staci Nichols
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

Pancreatic Cancer: It's a Family Affair
healthAuthor: Lisa M Strahs-Lorenc
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Xlibris, Corp.
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

The Ride Of My Life: A Fight To Survive Pancreatic Cancer
healthAuthor: Bob Brown
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: iUniverse
List Price: $15.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}