يبدو أن المخدرات لعلاج أمراض القلب القاتلة في القطط

يبدو أن المخدرات لعلاج أمراض القلب القاتلة في القططالـ هايلاند طية القط في عرض القط. (ويكيبيديا)

أظهر باحثون حديثون أن دواءً جديداً يبشر بعلاج أمراض القلب لدى القطط والبشر.

أثبت العقار ، MYK-461 ، فعاليته في دراسة خمس قطط ذات شكل طبيعي من اعتلال عضلة القلب الضخامي الموروث (HCM) ، وهو مرض غير قابل للشفاء حاليًا يؤثر أيضًا على البشر. تظهر ورقة تصف العمل في المجلة بلوس ONE.

HCM هو الشكل الأكثر شيوعاً لمرض القطط القطني وينتج عنه سماكة جدران البطينين في القلب وتغيير وظيفة القلب. قد تعاني القطط المصابة بالمرض من تشكل جلطة دموية وفشل القلب الاحتقاني والموت المفاجئ. في البشر ، يعتبر HCM سببًا متكررًا للموت القلبي المفاجئ الذي يمكن أن يصيب الرياضيين الشباب الذين يبدو أنهم يتمتعون بصحة جيدة.

لا يوجد علاج وقائي لـ HCM يظهر لتغيير مسار المرض.

يؤثر HCM على شخص واحد تقريبًا في 500 وقد تم الإبلاغ مؤخرًا أنه يؤثر على واحد مذهل في سبع قطط. وقد ارتبط أكثر من الطفرات الوراثية 1,500 مع المرض في البشر ، وخلق تحديات للباحثين. ومع ذلك ، فإن علماء الطب البيطري يقومون بخطوات واسعة في تحديد أفضل خيارات العلاج للمرض منذ حالة القط وحالة الإنسان متشابهة جدا.

في الدراسة ، القضاء على علاج مع MYK-461 انسداد البطين الأيسر في خمس قطط مع HCM. الدواء الجديد هو الأول في فئته ويخاطب بشكل فريد التغيرات الوظيفية التي تلاحظ في HCM للقطن البشري والعام.

يقول جوشوا ستيرن ، الأستاذ المساعد ورئيس قسم أمراض القلب في جامعة كاليفورنيا: "تظهر النتيجة الإيجابية في هذه القطط الخمس أن MYK-461 قابل للاستخدام في القطط كخيار محتمل لوقف أو إبطاء تقدم الـ HCM". مستشفى ديفيز البيطرية.

يقول شتيرن: "لقد كان هناك تقدم ضئيل أو لا تقدم في تطوير علاج HCM في البشر أو الحيوانات لسنوات عديدة". "تجلب هذه الدراسة أملاً جديدًا للقطط والناس."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مع هذا الدليل على أن العقار قابل للحياة للاستخدام في القطط ، تأمل UC Davis إجراء تجربة سريرية في المستقبل القريب ، والتي يمكن أن تحدد ما إذا كان MYK-461 لديه القدرة على أن يصبح البروتوكول المقبول لرعاية القطط مع HCM.

المتعاونين الإضافيين هم من جامعة كاليفورنيا في ديفيس ، وجامعة أريزونا برنامج أبحاث القلب والأوعية الدموية الجزيئي ، و MyoKardia. كما قدم ستيرن النتائج في الاجتماع السنوي للكلية الأمريكية للطب الباطني.

المعاهد الوطنية للصحة وهدية غير محدودة من شركة MyoKardia دعمت العمل.

مصدر: جامعة كاليفورنيا في ديفيس

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = اعتلال عضلة القلب الضخامي ؛ الحد الأقصى = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Drug Seems To Treat Deadly Heart Disease In Cats

Drug Seems To Treat Deadly Heart Disease In CatsThe Highland Fold cat in a cat show. (Wikipedia)

A new drug shows promise for treating heart disease in cats and humans, report researchers.

The drug, MYK-461, proved effective in a study of five cats with a naturally occurring form of inherited hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM), a currently incurable disease that also affects humans. A paper describing the work appears in the journal PLOS ONE.

HCM is the most common form of feline heart disease and results in thickening of the walls of the heart ventricles and altering of heart function. Cats with the disease may suffer blood clot formation, congestive heart failure, and sudden death. In humans, HCM is a frequent cause of sudden cardiac death that can even afflict seemingly healthy young athletes.

There is no preventative therapy for HCM that is shown to change the course of disease.

HCM affects approximately one in 500 people and was recently reported to affect a startling one in seven cats. More than 1,500 genetic mutations have been associated with the disease in humans, creating challenges for researchers. However, veterinary scientists are making strides in identifying the best treatment options for the disease since the cat condition and human condition are so similar.

In the study, treatment with MYK-461 eliminated left ventricular obstruction in five cats with HCM. The novel drug is the first in its class and uniquely addresses the functional changes that are seen in human and feline HCM.

“The positive result in these five cats shows that MYK-461 is viable for use in cats as a possible option to halt or slow the progression of HCM,” says Joshua Stern, associate professor and chief of the cardiology service at the University of California, Davis veterinary hospital.

“There has been little to no progress in advancing the treatment of HCM in humans or animals for many years,” Stern says. “This study brings new hope for cats and people.”

With this proof of concept that the drug is viable for use in cats, UC Davis hopes to conduct a clinical trial in the near future, which could determine if MYK-461 has the potential to become the accepted protocol for care of cats with HCM.

Additional collaborators are from UC Davis, the University of Arizona Molecular Cardiovascular Research Program, and MyoKardia. Stern also presented the findings at the annual meeting of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.

The National Institutes of Health and an unrestricted gift from MyoKardia Inc. supported the work.

Source: UC Davis

Related Books:

Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy: Foreword by Bernard Gersh and Historical Context by Eugene Braunwald
petsBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $159.00

Buy Now

A Guide to Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy: For Patients, Their Families and Interested Physicians
petsAuthor: Barry J. Maron
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Wiley-Blackwell
List Price: $37.95

Buy Now

Diagnosis and Management of Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy
petsBinding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: Wiley-Blackwell
List Price: $210.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}