إيجابيات وسلبيات الشراهة عند مشاهدة التلفزيون

إيجابيات وسلبيات الشراهة عند مشاهدة التلفزيون

يطلق عليه نبع الربيع في نيتفليكس.

في نهاية مارس، أصدرت نيتفليكس والانتقادات اللاذعة "أسباب 13 لماذا." أبريل ملامح جديدة تظهر "فتاة بوس" و "بيل ناي ينقذ العالم"، بينما تتضمن تشكيلة شهر مايو الموسم الثاني عزيز أنصاري "ماستر بلا" جنبا إلى جنب مع عودة الشراهة المفضلة "بيت من ورق" ، والعودة لموسمها الخامس.

سوف يستمتع الكثيرون بالضياع لساعات طويلة في هذه العروض. لكن الآخرين قد يشعرون بالذنب بشأن وقت الشاشة الممتد ، ويرون أنه علامة على الكسل. أو ربما رأوا مقالة حول واحدة من تلك الدراسات التي تربط بين مشاهدة الشراهة والاكتئاب.

بصفتي أستاذًا في دراسات التواصل ، فأنا مهتم بفهم الطرق التي يستخدمها الأشخاص في استخدام التلفزيون وألعاب الفيديو ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لتحسين رفاهيتهم. لقد تعلمت أنه على الرغم من أن مشاهدة التلفزيون تحصل على موسيقى سيئة مثل "الوجبات السريعة" من الوجبات الإعلامية ، إلا أنها يمكن أن تكون جيدة بالنسبة لك - طالما أنك تمنح نفسك الإذن بالانغماس.

لماذا يحصل التلفزيون على الفتحة

لقد جمعنا أنا وزملائي بعض البيانات التي تشير إلى وجود معيار مزدوج في كيفية تفكيرنا في خبرات مختلفة حول وسائل الإعلام. لقد أجرينا مسحا يسجل أفكار المشاركين حول القراءة أو مشاهدة التلفزيون لفترة معينة من الوقت.

ارتبط المستجيبون بمميزات أكثر مثل الكسل والاندفاع مع الأشخاص الذين يستهلكون عدة ساعات من عرض تلفزيوني في جلسة واحدة ، مقارنة مع أولئك الذين يفعلون نفس الشيء مع الروايات.

هذه النتيجة ربما لا تأتي مفاجأة.

على الرغم من أن قراءة رواية لعدة ساعات في وقت للترفيه يمكن القول إنهم مستقلين وقادرين على الإدمان مثلما يشاهدون التلفاز ، لا يوجد مصطلح مزعج مثل "bingeing" موجود لفعل التهام رواية هاري بوتر بأكملها في ليلة واحدة. نحن ببساطة نسميها "القراءة".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


فقط فكر في المصطلح التشويضي "الشراهة" ، الذي يستحضر صورًا للإفراط وسوء المعاملة (كما هو الحال مع الشراهة عند تناول الطعام أو شرب الكحول). قارن ذلك بـ "عرض الماراثون" ، مما يدل على الإنجاز ، واستخدم تقليديًا لوصف تجربة استهلاك أقساط متعددة من الأفلام - وليس المسلسلات التلفزيونية - في تتابع سريع.

لماذا نحن "نهب" عندما نشاهد الكثير من التلفاز ، لكنه "ماراثون" عندما نشاهد حفنة من الأفلام؟

ربما يكون هذا الكيل بمكيالين متجذّرًا في الوضع الأقل للتلفزيون كمصدر للترفيه. تاريخيا، واعتبرت مشاهدة التلفزيون نشاطا طائش، قادرة على التخفيف من الذكاء "مع مساحة قاحلة" من محتوى ضحل ، منخفض. كما كان ينظر إلى مشاهدة التلفزيون على أنه نشاط كسول يحل الوقت الذي يقضيه في أنشطة أكثر نشاطًا وإنتاجية. المشاهدين المتعطشين لأنبوب "boob tube" أو "مربع احمق"ستحصل على صورة نمطية على أنها" بطاطا كسالى كسولة. "

في هذه الأثناء ، يتم البحث عن العناوين الرئيسية التي تربط مشاهدة التلفزيون بـ الاكتئاب . عزلة لم يساعد في الحصول على سمعة المشاهدة. قد تعطي هذه الدراسات الترابطية الانطباع المضلل بأن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب أو الوحدة هم وحدهم الذين ينخرطون في المشاهدة المتفجرة - أو ما هو أسوأ من ذلك ، يمكن أن يجعل المشاهدة الشاقة الناس من الاكتئاب والوحدة.

في الحقيقة ، من المرجح أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب أو الوحدة بسبب ظروف الحياة غير المرتبطة (مثل البطالة أو الانفصال) يختارون ببساطة قضاء وقتهم في مشاهدة الفيديو. لا يوجد أي دليل يشير إلى أن مشاهدة الشراهة تجعل الناس مكتئبين أو وحيدين.

والخبر السار حول مشاهدة حفلة

لكن أصبح التلفزيون المشاهدة بنهم شعبي لسبب وجيه: على الرغم من سمعتها السلبية ، فقد التلفزيون لم يكن أفضل. نحن في خضم العصر الذهبي للتلفزيون، مع مجموعة متنوعة من العروض التي توفر نظامًا غذائيًا ثابتًا من المباني الجديدة ، والمؤامرات المتطورة ، والشخصيات المعقدة أخلاقياً. وبعيدًا عن تهدئة العقل ، فإن هذه العروض تخلق مزيدًا من التشويق والاهتمام والفرص للمشاركة الحاسمة.

وفقا للصحافي والمناظر الإعلامي ستيفن جونسون ، يمكن مشاهدة هذه العروض حتى تجعلك أذكى. ويجادل بأنه نظرًا لأن التعابير التليفزيونية أصبحت معقدة بشكل متزايد ، فإنها تتطلب من المشاهدين متابعة المزيد من خيوط القصة وتوفيق المزيد من الشخصيات وعلاقاتهم. كل هذا يجعل الجمهور أكثر تعقيدًا إدراكيًا.

الجري على القصص ممتعة أيضًا. عندما يشاهد الأشخاص الساعات ، يُعتقد أن لديهم ما يسمى بـ "تجربة تدفق"Flow هو شعور ممتع في جوهره عن الانغماس التام في قصة المعرض. في حالة تدفق عقل ، يركز المشاهدون باهتمام على متابعة القصة ومن الأسهل عليهم فقدان الوعي بأشياء أخرى ، بما في ذلك الوقت ، بينما يتم اختصارهم في المشاهدة. دراسة واحدة وجدت أن المشاهدين سيستمرون في مشاهدة حلقات إضافية من أجل الحفاظ على حالة التدفق الإيجابي هذه ، لذلك هناك جودة إدمانية لمشاهدة الشاشة. يمكن أن تؤدي مقاطعات مثل الإعلان إلى كسر دورة العرض المستمرة عن طريق تعطيل حالة التدفق وجذب المشاهدين إلى خارج القصة. لحسن الحظ ، بالنسبة إلى bingers التلفزيون ، Netflix و Hulu خالية من الإعلانات.

ولعل أحد أعظم الفوائد التي يمكن أن يقدمها المشاهدون في الوقت نفسه هو الهروب النفسي من الضغوط اليومية. ما هي أفضل طريقة لضغط من مشاهدة أربعة (أو سبعة) حلقات مستقيمة من "بيت من ورق"؟ دراسة 2014 وجدت أن الناس الذين تم استنزافهم بشكل خاص بعد تجربة العمل المجهدة أو المدرسة مشاهدة التلفزيون لإعادة شحن والاستجمام.

لسوء الحظ ، وجدت هذه الدراسة أيضًا أن مشاهدة التلفزيون لم تساعد الجميع. يتمتع الأفراد الذين اشتروا في الصورة النمطية "بطانية الأريكة الكسولة" بفوائد أقل من مشاهدة التلفزيون. بدلا من الشعور بالحيوية بعد مشاهدة التلفزيون ، شعروا بالذنب.

ويعتقد الباحثون أن الخجل المرتبط بمشاهدة التلفاز يمكن أن يصبح نبوءة تحقق ذاتها ، مما يجعل من الصعب على المشاهدين جني الفوائد النفسية.

لهذا السبب ، نحن بحاجة إلى زعزعة الفكرة القائلة بأن التشبث بالقصص التي نتفاعل معها على التلفاز هو مسعى ترفيه أقل جاذبية من الانغماس في القصص التي نستهلكها بطرق أخرى ، مثل الروايات. قد يكون غموض أنفسنا في القصص على شاشة التلفزيون أمرًا جيدًا بالنسبة لنا ، حتى في الجرعات الكبيرة ، ولكن فقط إذا كنا نقدر ذلك حقًا على النحو التالي: إنها متعة. ليس متعة مذنب ، ببساطة متعة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

إليزابيث كوهين ، أستاذ مساعد في الاتصال ، جامعة وست فرجينيا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Binge Watching TV؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Pros And Cons Of Binge Watching TV

The Pros And Cons Of Binge Watching TV

Call it Netflix’s spring binge.

At the end of March, Netflix released the critically acclaimed “13 Reasons Why.” April features new shows “Girl Boss” and “Bill Nye Saves the World,” while May’s lineup includes the second season of Aziz Ansari’s “Master of None,” along with the return of binge favorite “House of Cards,” back for its fifth season.

Many will relish getting lost for hours on end in these shows. But others might feel guilty about their extended screen time, seeing it as sign of laziness. Or maybe they’ve seen an article about one of those studies linking binge watching to depression.

As a professor of communication studies, I’m interested in understanding the ways people use TV, video games and social media to improve their well-being. And I’ve learned that even though watching TV gets a bad rap as the “junk food” of media diets, it can be good for you – as long as you give yourself permission to indulge.

Why TV gets the shaft

My colleagues and I collected some data suggesting that there is, in fact, a double standard for how we think about different media bingeing experiences. We administered a survey that recorded participants’ thoughts about reading or watching TV for the certain amounts of time.

Respondents associated more attributes like laziness and impulsivity with people who consume several hours of a television show in one sitting, compared to those who do the same with novels.

This finding probably comes as no surprise.

Although reading a novel for several hours at a time for entertainment can arguably be just as sedentary and addictive as watching TV, no derogatory term like “bingeing” exists for the act of devouring an entire Harry Potter novel in one night. We simply call it “reading.”

Just think about the pejorative term “binge,” which conjures images of excess and abuse (as with binge eating or binge drinking). Contrast this with “marathon viewing,” which connotes accomplishment, and has traditionally been used to describe the experience of consuming multiple installments of film – not TV series – in rapid succession.

Why is it that we “binge” when we watch a lot of TV, but it’s a “marathon” when we’re watching a bunch of movies?

Perhaps this double standard is rooted in television’s lower status as a source of entertainment. Historically, TV viewing has been considered a mindless activity, capable of dulling the intellect with “a vast wasteland” of shallow, lowbrow content. Watching TV has also been regarded as a lazy activity that displaces time spent on more active, productive pursuits. Avid viewers of the “boob tube” or “idiot box” will get stereotyped as “lazy couch potatoes.”

Meanwhile, headline-grabbing research linking TV viewing to depression and loneliness hasn’t helped binge viewing’s reputation. These correlational studies may give the misleading impression that only depressed or lonely people engage in binge watching – or worse, that binge viewing can make people depressed and lonely.

In truth, it’s just as likely that people who are depressed or lonely due to unrelated life circumstances (say, unemployment or a break-up) simply choose to spend their time binge watching. There’s no evidence to suggest that binge watching actually makes people depressed or lonely.

The good news about binge watching

But binge viewing TV has become popular for a good reason: Despite its negative reputation, television has never been better. We are in the midst of a golden age of television, with a variety of shows that provide a steady diet of novel premises, long-running, elaborate plots and morally complicated characters. Far from dulling the intellect, these shows create more suspense, interest and opportunities for critical engagement.

According to journalist and media theorist Steven Johnson, watching these shows may even make you smarter. He argues that because television narratives have become increasingly complex, they require viewers to follow more storyline threads and juggle more characters and their relationships. All of this makes the audience more cognitively sophisticated.

Gorging on stories is pleasurable, too. When individuals binge watch, they are thought to have what’s called a “flow experience.” Flow is an intrinsically pleasurable feeling of being completely immersed in a show’s storyline. In a flow state of mind, viewers intently focus on following the story and it’s easier for them to lose awareness of other things, including time, while they’re wrapped up in viewing. One study found that viewers will continue viewing additional episodes in order to maintain this positive flow state, so there is an addictive quality to binge viewing. Interruptions like advertising can break the continuous viewing cycle by disrupting the flow state and drawing viewers out of the story. Luckily, for TV bingers, Netflix and Hulu are ad-free.

Perhaps one of the greatest benefits binge watching can offer is psychological escape from daily stresses. What better way to decompress than watching four (or seven) straight episodes of “House of Cards”? A 2014 study found that people who were particularly drained after stressful work or school experiences watched TV to recharge and recuperate.

Unfortunately, this study also found that TV watching didn’t help everybody. Individuals who bought into the “lazy couch potato” stereotype enjoyed fewer benefits from watching TV. Instead of feeling revitalized after watching TV, they felt guilty.

The researchers believe that the shame associated with TV watching can become a self-fulfilling prophecy, making it hard for viewers to reap psychological benefits.

For this reason, we need to shake the notion that bingeing on stories we engage with on TV is somehow less worthy leisure pursuit than bingeing on stories that we consume other ways, like novels. Immersing ourselves in narratives on TV can be good for us, even in heavy doses, but only if we truly appreciate it for what it is: a pleasure. Not a guilty pleasure, simply a pleasure.

About The Author

Elizabeth Cohen, Assistant Professor of Communication, West Virginia University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Ultimate Binge-Watching Guide: 100 of the Best Shows Reviewed and Rated!
leisureAuthor: Chris Roberts
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Carlton Books
List Price: $9.95

Buy Now

Play All: A Bingewatcher's Notebook
leisureAuthor: Clive James
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Yale University Press
List Price: $13.00

Buy Now

The Fangirl Life: A Guide to All the Feels and Learning How to Deal
leisureAuthor: Kathleen Smith
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: TarcherPerigee
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now