كيف تساعد طفلك على تحقيق أقصى استفادة من المخيم الصيفي

كيف تساعد طفلك على تحقيق أقصى استفادة من المخيم الصيفي

فقط لأن المدرسة خارج فصل الصيف لا يعني أن أطفالك لا يستطيعون النمو فكريا. إذا كان هناك أي شيء ، فإن الراحة المؤقتة التي يوفرها التدريس المنظم في الفصول الدراسية يفتح فرصًا رائعة لهم في المخيمات الصيفية التي لا تغذي شغفهم للمتعة فحسب ، بل تشبع أيضًا تطورهم العاطفي والجسدي والمعرفي.

ومع وجود العديد من المخيمات الصيفية التي يمكن الاختيار منها - من مخيمات الترميز ومجموعات موسيقى الروك إلى المعسكرات الرياضية والتقليدية المفتوحة - غالباً ما يصارع الآباء والأوصياء من أجل فرز الخيارات التي لا نهاية لها والتي تبدو متاحة لهم. الآن ، في هذا الصيف ، هناك بعض الاقتراحات حول كيفية مساعدة طفلك على تحقيق أقصى استفادة من خبرته ، وكيفية تقييم ما الذي يجعل المعسكر جيدًا.

قوة المخيم - أي معسكر - مضمنة في أنشطته التي تجذب الأطفال للمشاركة. من لا يريد أن يبني روبوتًا أو خطًا مضغوطًا عبر مغارة أو مربى مع موسيقيين آخرين في مهدها؟ حسنا ، ليس الجميع ، بصراحة. يمكن أن يكون الأطفال خاصين جدا. إن ضمان استمتاع أنشطة المخيم بطفلك هو أمر مهم لأنه يفتح عقله على التجربة. إذا كان الأطفال يقاومون هذه التجربة ، فمن المحتمل ألا يستفيدوا منها.

تلعب النضج العاطفي واحتياجات طفلك دورًا أيضًا. يوفر معسكر النوم تجربة أكثر غموضًا ، ولكن قد لا يكون الطفل مستعدًا عاطفيًا لذلك. على النقيض من ذلك ، قد يستفيد هو أو هي من بعض الانفصال عن عائلتك وتطوير استقلال أكبر. ليس أمراً سيئاً للأطفال أن يفوتوا والديهم ؛ أحيانا الغياب يساعد الأطفال على تقدير أفضل لأسرهم والحياة المنزلية.

عامل مهم آخر هو الأشخاص الذين يتفاعل معهم طفلك في المخيم. مثل الجميع ، ينجذب الأطفال إلى تجارب تشمل أشخاصًا مشابهين لأنفسهم. ربما تزدهر في مخيم للبنات أو كل الأولاد حيث لا يشتت انتباههم الجنس الآخر. أو ربما سيزدهرون مع الأطفال الموهوبين الآخرين ذهنياً أو الرياضيين الذين يمكنهم دفعهم لتحقيق مستوى أعلى من المهارة. عرضهم على التنوع هو أيضا اعتبار مهم. مهما كان قرارك ، عليك أن تدرك أن تطوير الروابط الاجتماعية في المخيم يمكن أن يبني الشبكة الاجتماعية لطفلك ، ليس فقط في المخيم ، ولكن ربما أبعد من ذلك.

تجارب تحويلية

التدقيق في القيادة التنظيمية للمخيم والقيم. يخلق موظفو المعسكر الداعمون فرقًا هائلًا عندما يتعلق الأمر باتجاهات المخيم وبرامجه. تحدث إلى مديري المخيم واسألهم عن فلسفة معسكرهم. ما الذي يحاولون تحقيقه من خلال أنشطتهم؟ كيف يساعدون معسكراتهم في النمو؟ كيف تضمن أن أطفالك سيكونون آمنين للتطوير في بيئة المخيم؟

تعرف على أن أنشطة المخيم مجرد ضمادة. السؤال الحقيقي هو ما هي النتائج المتوقعة منهم. في نهاية المطاف ، يجب أن تؤدي أنشطة المعسكرات إلى تطوير مهارات أو مواقف أو معارف جديدة.

مع وضع ذلك في الاعتبار ، لا ترفض الأنشطة التي تبدو ممتعة كأنها تافهة. في حين قد ترغب في أن يحصل طفلك على ساقه على أقرانه من خلال تطوير مهارات الرياضيات خلال العطلة الصيفية ، فإن توقيعه في مخيم خارجي تقليدي يمكن أن يكون تجربة تحويلية أكثر بسبب تركيزه على تطوير المهارات الشخصية. والذكاء العاطفي. إن التواصل الفعال والتعاون والتأمل الذاتي هي مهارات يحتاجها طفلك لتحقيق النجاح في المستقبل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أعلم أيضًا أنه على الرغم من أنك قد ترسل طفلك لتطوير مهارات معينة ، فقد يحصل على فوائد أكثر أهمية من التجربة. عند إرسال طفلك إلى معسكر للهوكي ، قد تتوقع منه أو عليها تطوير مهارات أكثر تقدما للهوكي. لكن تطوير الشخصية المرتبطة بالتجربة ربما يكون أكثر أهمية عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتأثير طويل المدى للأنشطة. اسأل المخيمات عن هذه الفوائد الأوسع للمشاركة.

فوائد للوالدين

لا تتجاهل احتياجاتك الخاصة كأم أو ولي أمر. من الناحية العملية ، لا بأس من اختيار الخيارات المناسبة أو ذاتية الخدمة. لا تحب أطفالك أقل إذا أرسلتهم إلى مخيم ليلي لمدة شهر كامل. حقيقة، دراسة أجريت مع زملاء من جامعة واترلو تبين أن الآباء والأمهات الذين بقوا في المخيم لفترة أطول لاحظوا تغيرًا إيجابيًا أكبر في النتائج التنموية لأطفالهم بعد تجربة المخيم.

علاوة على ذلك ، تمنح معسكرات النوم الآباء الراحة اللازمة من مسؤوليات تقديم الرعاية وتمكين الأزواج من تجديد علاقاتهم مما يجعلهم آباء أفضل عندما يعود أطفالهم.

بدلا من ذلك ، لا ينبغي أن يتم انتقادك لاختيار مخيم اليوم بالقرب منك. تتوفر معسكرات نهارية جيدة للغاية في معظم المجتمعات ، وعادة ما توفر تغطية أكبر لرعاية الأطفال طوال يوم العمل أكثر مما تفعل معظم المدارس خلال العام الدراسي. فقط تأكد من أنك لا تبحث عن خدمة مجالسة الأطفال. كما ذكر أعلاه ، لا ينبغي تجاهل جودة البرمجة والنتائج المرتبطة بها.

أخيرًا ، لا تفكر فقط في إرسال أطفالك إلى مخيم لهذا الصيف فقط. من الناحية المثالية ، سيريد طفلك العودة إلى نفس المكان. بحثي يوضح أن المعسكر العائدين يميلون إلى تجربة تغيير إيجابي أكبر من المعسكر لأول مرة. كما أنه لم يفت الأوان بعد لإرسال أطفالك إلى المخيم. في الواقع ، يميل الأطفال الأكبر سنًا إلى تجربة أكبر التغييرات في السلوك والسلوك.

المحادثةفي نهاية المطاف ، فإن اختيار المعسكر المناسب لأطفالك وتقييم تجربتهم يعني الموازنة بين رغباتهم وتوقعاتهم الخاصة لنموهم. المخيم الذي لن يستأنف فقط ، بل يدفع طفلك أيضًا هو أمر مثالي. عند اتخاذ هذا الخيار ، يمكنك أن تكون واثقًا بأن صيف طفلك سيكون مفيدًا. من الواضح أن الفصل الدراسي ليس البيئة الوحيدة التي تشجع على التحول الشخصي.

نبذة عن الكاتب

تروي دال غلوفرأستاذ ورئيس قسم الترفيه والترويح ، جامعة واترلو

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = دفتر نشاط الأطفال ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How To Help Your Child Make The Most Of Summer Camp

How To Help Your Child Make The Most Of Summer Camp

Just because school is out for summer doesn’t mean your kids can’t grow intellectually. If anything, their temporary relief from structured classroom teaching opens up exciting opportunities for them at summer camps that not only feed their craving for fun, but also satiate their emotional, physical and cognitive development.

With so many summer camps from which to choose — from coding and rock band camps to athletic and traditional open-air camps — parents and guardians often struggle to sort out the seemingly endless options available to them. Now that summer is under way, here are some suggestions on how to help your child get the most out of their experience, and how to assess what makes a good camp.

The power of camp — any camp — is embedded in its activities which attract kids to participate. Who doesn’t want to build a robot or zip-line across a grotto or jam with other budding musicians? Well, not everyone, frankly. Kids can be very particular. Ensuring that the camp’s activities appeal to your child is an important consideration because it opens his or her mind up to the experience. If kids are resistant to the experience, they likely won’t benefit from it.

The emotional maturity and needs of your child also play a role. A sleepover camp provides a more immersive experience, to be sure, but a child may not be emotionally ready for it. By contrast, he or she may benefit from some separation from your family and the development of greater independence. It’s not a bad thing for kids to miss their parents; sometimes absence helps kids better appreciate their family and home life.

Another important factor is the people with whom your child interacts at camp. Like everyone, kids are drawn to experiences that involve people similar to themselves. Perhaps they will flourish at an all-girls or all-boys camp where they aren’t distracted by the opposite sex. Or perhaps they will thrive with other intellectually or athletically gifted children who can push them to achieve a higher level of skill. Exposing them to diversity is also an important consideration. Whatever your decision, recognize that developing social connections at camp can build your child’s social network, not only at camp, but potentially well beyond.

Transformative experiences

Scrutinize the camp’s organizational leadership and values. Supportive camp staff make an enormous difference when it comes to the direction of the camp and its programming. Talk to camp directors and ask them about their camp philosophy. What are they trying to achieve through their activities? How do they help their campers grow? How do they ensure your kids will be safe to develop in their camp’s environment?

Recognize that camp activities are just window dressing. The real question is what outcomes are anticipated from them. Ultimately, camp activities ought to lead to the development of new skills, attitudes or knowledge.

With this in mind, don’t dismiss seemingly fun activities as trivial. While you may want your child to get a leg up on his or her peers by developing math skills during summer vacation, signing him or her up at a traditional outdoor camp can be a more transformative experience because of its emphasis on the development of soft skills and emotional intelligence. Effective communication, co-operation and self-reflection are skills your child will need for future success.

Also, know that while you may be sending your child to develop certain skills, they may be gaining more important benefits from the experience. In sending your child to hockey camp, you may necessarily expect him or her to develop more advanced hockey skills. But the character development associated with the experience is perhaps more important when it comes to the long-term influence of the activities. Ask camps about these wider benefits of participation.

Benefits for parents

Don’t ignore your own needs as a parent or guardian. Practically speaking, it’s OK to select options that are convenient or self-serving. You don’t love your kids any less if you send them to overnight camp for a full month. In fact, a study I conducted with colleagues from the University of Waterloo shows that parents whose children stayed at camp for a longer duration observed greater positive change in their children’s developmental outcomes after the camp experience.

Moreover, sleepover camps give parents necessary respite from caregiving responsibilities and enable couples to renew their relationships which makes them better parents when their children return.

Alternatively, you shouldn’t be criticized for selecting a day camp close by. Very good day camps are available in most communities, and they typically provide greater childcare coverage throughout the workday than most schools do during the school year. Just make sure you aren’t looking for a babysitting service. As noted above, the quality of the programming and the outcomes associated with it shouldn’t be ignored.

Finally, don’t just think about sending your kids to a camp for this summer only. Ideally your child will want to return to the same place. My research demonstrates that returning campers tend to experience greater positive change than first-time campers. It’s also never too late to send your kids to camp. In fact, older children tend to experience the greatest changes in attitude and behaviour.

The ConversationUltimately, choosing the right camp for your kids and assessing their experience means balancing their desires with your own expectations for their growth. A camp that will not only appeal to, but also push your child is ideal. In making that choice, you can be confident your child’s summer will be a meaningful one. Clearly, the classroom isn’t the only environment that encourages personal transformation.

About The Author

Troy D. Glover, Professor and Chair, Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, University of Waterloo

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

U.S.A. Secret Code Puzzles for Kids (Dover Children's Activity Books)
creativityAuthor: Tony J. Tallarico Jr.
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Dover Publications
List Price: $4.99

Buy Now

National Geographic Kids Cutest Animals Sticker Activity Book: Over 1,000 stickers!
creativityAuthor: National Geographic Kids
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: National Geographic Children's Books
List Price: $6.99

Buy Now

Coloring Books for Kids & Toddlers: Animals Coloring: Children Activity Books for Kids Ages 2-4, 4-8, Boys, Girls, Fun Early Learning, Relaxation for ... Workbooks, Toddler Coloring Book (Volume 1)
creativityAuthor: Jane J. R.
Binding: Paperback
Format: Large Print
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $4.85

Buy Now