مرحبا بكم في عصر النرجسية الجماعية

مرحبا بكم في عصر النرجسية الجماعية

خذ بعين الاعتبار شعارات مثل "اجعل أميركا رائعة مرة أخرى" ، التي استخدمها دونالد ترامب ، أو "استعادة السيطرة" ، التي استخدمتها حملة Brexit. إنهم يقترحون أنه في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة ، تم تقويض وضع الأمة الفريد بطريقة ما - وبطريقة أو بأخرى يحتاج إلى استعادة.

كان كل من الشعارات بمثابة الملعب المثالي لتعبئة ما يسمى بالنرجسيين الجماعيين. هؤلاء هم الناس الذين يريدون أن يتم التعرف على مجموعتهم باستمرار من قبل الآخرين. فهي شديدة الحساسية لأي علامات على أنها ليست كذلك.

الميزة المركزية للنرجسية هي الاعتماد العاطفي على الاعجاب والاعتراف من قبل الآخرين. عندما يتم البحث عن هذا الإعجاب نيابة عن مجموعة ، تصبح النرجسية جماعي. غير أن شكلي النرجسية غير مرتبطين بقوة. نرجسيين فرديين ليسوا نرجسيين جماعيين بشكل أوتوماتيكي.

استخدم مصطلح "النرجسية الجماعية" لأول مرة من قبل ثيودور أدورنو لوصف المشاعر التي دعمت الحكم النازي في ألمانيا في 1930s. بحثنا المستمر في المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة يوحي بأن الناس الذين اتفقوا مع البيانات على موقعنا مقياس النرجسية الجماعية كانوا أكثر احتمالية بكثير للإبلاغ بأنهم صوتوا لمغادرة الاتحاد الأوروبي في استفتاء يونيو 2016 في المملكة المتحدة. كما أنهم كانوا أكثر عرضة للإبلاغ بأنهم صوتوا لصالح دونالد ترامب في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية.

يتضمن المقياس عبارات مثل "إن ذلك يجعلني غاضبًا عندما ينتقد الآخرون مجموعتي" و "تستحق مجموعتي معاملة خاصة". يُطلب من المشاركين التفكير في مجموعة قد ينتمون إليها ، مثل الدين أو الجنسية ، عند النظر في البيانات.

مقياس النرجسية الجماعية

يجب أن نشعر بالقلق عندما يصل النرجسيون الجماعيون إلى السلطة لأن تسجيل درجة عالية على مقياس النرجسية الجماعية يتنبأ بأنه متحامل ، بغض النظر عن عمر الناس أو جنسهم أو تعليمهم.

النرجسيون الجماعية متحاملون بشكل انتقائي. إنهم يرفضون أو يهاجمون الجماعات التي تهدد بطريقة ما صورة جماعتهم. النرجسيون الجماعية أيضا تبني مواقف التعصب الخاصة بهم. تدور وتؤمن بنظريات المؤامرة حول المجموعات التي يرفضونها ، مهما كانت رائعة قد تكون.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في الدراسات التي أجريت في العام الماضي في بولندا ، يعتقد النرجسيون الكاثوليكيون أنه كان هناك المؤامرة بين الجنسين العمل ضدهم. اتفقوا مع تصريحات مثل: "تم إنشاء نوع الجنس (الأيديولوجية) لتدمير التقليد المسيحي" ؛ "الجنس هو تهديد للأخلاق المسيحية" ؛ و "الغرض من الجنس هو تدمير الأسرة". نتيجة لذلك ، رفض النرجسيون الجماعيون أي شخص يقدم وجهات نظر تقدمية حوله أدوار الجنسين أو النشاط الجنسي.

كما يرغب النرجسيون الجماعيون في الانتقام من أي شخص لا يعرف مجموعتهم بشكل كاف. في دراستناقرأ النرجسيون الوطنيون في الولايات المتحدة مقابلة خيالية مع طالب في مجال النقد الأجنبي لم يعجبهم بعض جوانب تجربة تبادلهم. بعد قراءة التعليقات غير المواتية حول بلدهم ، عبر النرجسيون عن نوايا سلوكية عدائية تجاه جميع مواطني طالب التبادل.

وتكرر نفس النمط عندما عرف النرجسيون الجماعيون أنفسهم كجزء من مجموعة قومية. عندما تم انتقاد مجموعتهم أو لم يتم التعرف عليهم بشكل صحيح ، دعا النرجسيون الجماعية الانتقام العدائيتتراوح من الاهانة الى الاصابة. في دراسة أخرى، اقترحنا على النرجسيين الجماعيين في بولندا اكتشاف عناصر كيميائية جديدة من خلال التعاون الدولي ولكن لم يتم تسميتهم بعد بلدهم. ردا على ذلك ، دعاوا إلى مواجهة عدائية مع أولئك الذين لا يريدون تسمية العناصر بعد بلدهم.

كما يرى النرجسيون الجماعيون الإهانة التي لم يرها أحد من قبل. على سبيل المثال ، من أجل التعدي كما تافهة مثل نكتة أدلى بها أحد المشاهير حول حكومة بلدهم ، والناس في دراستنا هدد العقاب البدني وتشارك في الشماتة ، وابتهاج علنا ​​في مصائب "الجاني" بهم.

هل فاز النرجسيون الجماعيون؟

يبدو أنه لا يوجد حد لما يمكن للنرجسيين الجماعيين تفسيره على أنهم مسيئون لمجموعتهم. جرب مقارنات بين المجموعات. في واحدة من دراساتنا ، كان النرجسيون الجماعيون البرتغاليون معادون للألمان لأنهم اعتقدوا أن ألمانيا تتمتع بوضع أعلى وقوة أكبر في الاتحاد الأوروبي من البرتغال. لذا قد يتم رفض جماعة أخرى أو تهميشها أو "معاقبتها" لكونها أفضل أو حتى جيدة مثلما هي حال المرء.

كل هذا يشير إلى أن الحجج مثل "العمال الأجانب الذين يساهمون في الاقتصاد الوطني" أو "اللاجئون يمكنهم العثور على فرص العمل والازدهار في الدول المضيفة" قد لا يفشلون فقط في إقناع النرجسيين المحليين ، بل في الحقيقة يهددونهم ويغضبهم. إن النجاح لمجموعة أخرى أو التمكين للأقلية يهدد موقف الأغلبية المتميز. يريد النرجسيون الجماعيون حماية الموقع المتميز لمجموعتهم من خلال تقويض صفات ودوافع المجموعات الأخرى.

انظر أيضاً إلى أنه بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يسعون إلى الاعتراف بمجموعتهم ، فإن أسوأ جريمة هي تجاهل مجموعتهم. وفقا للمنطق النرجسي الجماعي ، فإن مثل هذه الجريمة تحتاج إلى الانتقام. هذا يخلق احتمالات العداء السياسي وحتى العنف عندما تشعر المجموعات من هذا النوع بالتهميش في العمليات السياسية. نرجسي الجماعية هم أكثر عرضة ل الدعوة إلى الانتقام العنيف للفضول المفقود وينجذب نحو أعضاء المجموعة ذات التفكير المماثل.

هذا هو الشعور الذي يبدو أنه يشكّل عالمنا حاليًا. تم تعبئة النرجسية الجماعية في دعم Brexit و Trump. فاز. كانت مواقف النرجسيين الجماعية وردود أفعالهم مشروعة إلى حد كبير في البلدان الديمقراطية الرائدة.

وقد حشد خطاب ما قبل الاستفتاء وما قبل الانتخابات شعور النرجسيين الجماعيين بالتهديد المشترك بين الجماعات والعداء التفاعلي بين المجموعات. كان من اللامسؤول حشدهم ، لأننا لا نعرف كيف نتعامل معهم بشكل بناء.

تظهر بياناتنا الحديثة أن تقدير الذات لدى الأفراد ضمن مجموعات النرجسيين الجماعيين منخفض ومشاعرهم سلبية. انهم تجنب التقارب بين الأشخاص وتكون عرضة للعار. يبدو أن الاستثمار في صورة المجموعة المبالغ فيها هي الطريقة المهيمنة في تلبية الحاجة العالمية إلى الروابط الاجتماعية الإيجابية.

ربما تكون المشاركة في عمليات ومؤسسات ديموقراطية قادرة على تجهيز النرجسيين الجماعيين بطرق بناءة وأقل حدودية للارتباط بالآخرين. لتثبيط مزيد من التصعيد في العداوات بين المجموعات ، نحتاج إلى فهم النرجسيين الجماعيين بشكل أفضل لأنه من الواضح أنهم لن يرحلوا.

نبذة عن الكاتب

Agnieszka Golec de Zavala ، محاضر أول في علم النفس ، الصاغة، جامعة لندن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = شماتة، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Welcome To The Age Of Collective Narcissism

Welcome To The Age Of Collective Narcissism

Consider slogans such as “Make America great again”, used by Donald Trump, or “Take back control”, used by the Brexit campaign. They suggest that in the US and the UK, the unique position of the nation has somehow been undermined – and that somehow it needs to be restored.

Both slogans were the perfect pitch to mobilize what are called collective narcissists. These are people who want their group to be constantly recognized by others. They are hypersensitive to any signs that it is not.

The central feature of narcissism is emotional dependence on admiration and recognition by others. When that admiration is sought on behalf of a group, narcissism becomes collective. The two forms of narcissism are not strongly related, however. Individual narcissists are not automatically collective narcissists.

The term “collective narcissism” was first used by Theodore Adorno to describe the sentiment that gave support to Nazi rule in Germany in the 1930s. Our ongoing research in the UK and US suggests that people who agreed with the statements on our collective narcissism scale were significantly more likely to report that they voted to leave the European Union in the June 2016 referendum in the UK. They were also more likely to report that they voted for Donald Trump in the US presidential election.

The scale includes statements such as “It really makes me angry when others criticize my group” and “My group deserves special treatment”. Participants are asked to think about a group they might belong to, such as a religion or a nationality, when considering the statements.

collective narcissism scale

We should worry when collective narcissists rise to power because scoring highly on the collective narcissism scale predicts being prejudiced, regardless of people’s age, gender or education.

Collective narcissists are prejudiced selectively. They reject or attack groups that somehow threaten their group’s grandiose image. Collective narcissists also embrace their own bigoted attitudes. They spin and believe in conspiracy theories about the groups they reject, however fantastic they might be.

In studies conducted last year in Poland, Catholic collective narcissists believed there was a gender conspiracy working against them. They agreed with statements like: “Gender (ideology) was created to destroy the Christian tradition”; “Gender is a threat to Christian morality”; and “The purpose of gender is to destroy family”. As a result, collective narcissists rejected anybody who presented progressive views about gender roles or sexuality.

Collective narcissists also desire revenge on anyone who doesn’t sufficiently recognize their group. In our studies, national collective narcissists in the US read a fictional interview with a foreign exchange student who didn’t like some aspects of their exchange experience. After reading unfavourable comments about their country, collective narcissists expressed hostile behavioural intentions towards all compatriots of the exchange student.

The same pattern was repeated when collective narcissists identified themselves as part of a national group. When their group was criticised or not properly recognised, collective narcissists advocated hostile revenge, ranging from insult to injuring. In another study, we suggested to collective narcissists in Poland that new chemical elements were discovered through international collaboration but not named after their country. In response, they advocated hostile confrontation with those who did not want the elements to be named after their country.

Collective narcissists also see insult where no one has seen it before. For example, for a transgression as petty as a joke made by a celebrity about their country’s government, people in our study threatened physical punishment and engaged in schadenfreude, openly rejoicing in the misfortunes of their “offender”.

Have the collective narcissists won?

There seems to be no limit to what collective narcissists can interpret as offensive to their group. Consider inter-group comparisons. In one of our studies, Portuguese collective narcissists were hostile towards Germans because they thought Germany had higher status and more power in the European Union than Portugal. So another group may be rejected, marginalised or otherwise “punished” for being better or even as good as one’s own.

All this suggests that arguments such as “Foreign workers contribute to the national economy” or “Refugees can find jobs and prosper in host countries” may not only fail to convince national collective narcissists, but actually threaten and enrage them. Success for another group or empowerment for a minority threatens the majority’s privileged position. Collective narcissists want to protect the privileged position of their group by undermining other groups’ qualities and motivations.

Consider also that for those who seek recognition for their group, the worst offense is for their group to be ignored. According to collective narcissistic logic, such an offense needs to be avenged. This creates the potential for political antagonism and even violence when groups of this kind feel ignored in political processes. Collective narcissists are more likely to advocate violent revenge for lost grandiosity and gravitate towards similarly minded group members.

This is the sentiment that seems to be currently shaping our world. Collective narcissism was mobilised in support for Brexit and Trump. It won. Collective narcissists’ attitudes and reactions were so legitimised in leading democratic countries.

The pre-referendum and pre-election rhetoric mobilised collective narcissists’ sense of inter-group threat and reactive inter-group hostility. It was irresponsible to mobilise them, because we don’t really know how to address them constructively.

Our recent data show that the self-esteem of individuals within groups of collective narcissists is low and their emotions negative. They avoid interpersonal closeness and are vulnerable to shame. Investing in the group’s exaggerated image seems to be their dominant way of fulfilling universal need for positive social connections.

Perhaps being involved in democratic processes and institutions can equip collective narcissists with more constructive and less parochial ways of connecting to others. To discourage further escalation of inter-group animosities, we need to understand collective narcissists better as it’s clear they are not going away.

About The Author

Agnieszka Golec de Zavala, Senior Lecturer in Psychology, Goldsmiths, University of London

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Schadenfreude, A Love Story: Me, the Germans, and 20 Years of Attempted Transformations, Unfortunate Miscommunications, and Humiliating Situations That Only They Have Words For
behaviorAuthor: Rebecca Schuman
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Schadenfreude a Love Story Me the Germans and 20 Years of Attempted Transformations Unfortunate Miscommunications and Humiliating Situations

Publisher: Flatiron Books
List Price: $26.99

Buy Now

Schadenfreude
behaviorAuthor: 19
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Blue Murder Projekt Publishing
List Price: $16.66

Buy Now

The Joy of Pain: Schadenfreude and the Dark Side of Human Nature
behaviorAuthor: Richard H. Smith
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • The Joy of Pain Schadenfreude and the Dark Side of Human Nature

Publisher: Oxford University Press
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}