لماذا هو خطير ل Flatter The Narcissist مع الكثير من الاهتمام

لماذا هو خطير ل Flatter The Narcissist مع الكثير من الاهتمام

منذ ما يقرب من ثلاثة عقود ، في كتابه ثقافة النرجسيةلقد كتب المفكر الأمريكي الشهير كريستوفر لاش أنه ظهر في أمريكا بعد الحرب نوعًا معينًا من الوجود ، شروط سريرية يندرج تحت فئة "اضطراب الشخصية النرجسية" ، وهي حالة مرضية تتميز باللامبالاة والحاجة المفرطة للإعجاب والاهتمام.

حدد لاش مظاهر هذا الاضطراب في مختلف جوانب الحياة الاجتماعية ، وخاصة في عالم المشاهير. الآن المشاهير لديها غزا المجال السياسيأصبح العالم السياسي بأكمله يهيمن عليه أناس يفتقرون إلى "الحشمة العامة" ، الذين يلجأون إلى الشعبوية الزائفة من أجل خدمة عطشهم للدعاية. دونالد ترامب هو واحد من أتعس تأملات هذه الثقافة أكالة.

من اليوم الذي انضم فيه إلى سباق ترشيح الحزب الجمهوري ، استخدم ترامب نفس طريقة العمل: جذب انتباه الرأي العام. ومثلما كتب لاش ، فإن المنطق النرجسي ترامب المنطبق على السياسة هو جزء لا يتجزأ من "ثقافة المؤسسات" نفسها التي يتم تحديد هويته بها عن كثب. وباعتباره رائد أعمال ناجح ، لم يقتنص ترامب مهارة الترويج لعلامته التجارية فحسب ، بل تحول أيضًا إلى سلعة ، مستخدمًا جميع التقنيات المتاحة ليضع نفسه في مركز أكبر عدد ممكن من المناقشات التي لا نهاية لها.

وقد انتهك ترامب باستمرار المحرمات من الصحة السياسية ، ولا سيما تلك المتعلقة بالتمييز على أساس الجنس والعنصرية. هذه استراتيجية رابحة على جبهتين: لم يستحوذ على الأضواء فحسب ، بل جعل نفسه في نفس الوقت بيت نوير من اليسار ، المركز ، واليمين المعتدل. جنبا إلى جنب مع وابل مستمر من الهجمات من الصحافة السائدة ، شكَّل هذا صورة تحالف كبير ليبرالي وسط ضد ترامب. غضبهم ، تضخم فقط من رد الفعل على أمر تنفيذي بشأن اللاجئينيسمح لترامب بأن يقدم نفسه باعتباره أمل أنصاره فقط ضد المؤسسة.

هذه ظاهرة مزعجة حقاً. ولكن إذا كنا سنخرج من الدورة النرجسية ونحل المشاكل التي يشكل ترمب أحد أعراضها ، فإننا بحاجة إلى التحدث والتفكير في الأمر بالطريقة الصحيحة.

فكر أكبر

هناك أكثر من طريقة خاطئة واحدة. كثير مفكرون و معلقون كثيرا ما يتحدث عن ترامب من حيث "فاشية"، أو تحديد الظاهرة" الفاشية البدائية "في موقفه. هذا هو تحليل جذاب ، ولكن هذا لا يعني أنه مثير للدهشة - أو الأصلي بشكل خاص.

منذ أن أعلن شارل ديجول الفرنسي حالة الطوارئ في الأيام الأولى من الحرب الجزائرية ، كان اليسار الأوروبي-الأمريكي في حالة تأهب لأي تحرك من هذا القبيل ، والذي تعتبر أصواته الرئيسية دائما علامة على حدوث تحول نحو الاستبداد الفاشستي. مثل استش وضعه: "هاجس الليبراليين بالفاشية ... يقودهم إلى رؤية" الميول الفاشية "أو" الفاشية البدائية "في جميع الآراء غير المتعاطفة مع الليبرالية ، تماماً كما يكتشف اليمين المتطرف" الاشتراكية الزاحفة "في الليبرالية نفسها.

نعم ، العديد من سياسات ترامب غير إنسانية تماما ، ولكن هذا في حد ذاته لا ينطوي على "تحول فاشستي". الفاشية الشمولية الحقيقية هي حالة محددة جدًا. كما المنظر السياسي حنة أرندت وصفها، يتطلب تدمير كامل من أي حاجز بين العامة والعوالم الخاصة. وكما هي عليه الأمور ، فإن هذا لم يحدث بعد في العالم الغربي.

إن مشهد الناس الذين يحشدون في المطارات للاحتجاج على الأمر التنفيذي ، والكثير منهم يلوحون بلافتات تحمل اسم ترامب ، هو على نحو متناقض بالضبط ما يتوق إليه النرجسي. الأسوأ من ذلك ، فإن المعارضة المنبثقة من قادة ديمقراطيين و مشاهير يسرق هذه الاحتجاجات من بعض الحواف على مستوى القاعدة ، مما يحولها إلى ما وصفه لاسك بصرامة "ثورة النخب".

كل ذلك يغذي رسالة ترامب بأن المحتجين لا يهتمون قليلاً بصعوبة الأمريكيين العاديين. كما أنه يجعل منه نموذجًا لآلاف المعجبين به ؛ كما هو نفسه يطارد الأضواء ، يتنافسون مع بعضهم البعض لاهتمام الرأي العام. نظريته القاسية المتطرفة تسمم المجال العام. يتم استبدال معايير اللياقة والشعور المشتركة بعقلية الغوغاء من الاتهامات المتبادلة والشتائم. هذا المناخ لا يحمي قوة ترامب وحسب ، بل الأهم من ذلك ، قد يساهم في ظهور ديماغوجية سامة مشابهة في المستقبل.

لذا ، يتم تعيين فخ النرجسي ، ويجب أن يخرج أولئك الذين يقومون بحملات ضد ترامب للخروج منه. وطالما أنهم يحققون هدفهم النهائي في سقوط رئاسة ترامب ، فإنهم لن يخرقوا قبضته على الخيال العام. ما تحتاجه الولايات المتحدة وبقية العالم هو حوار علني مفتوح يهدف إلى حل أي عدد من المشاكل الخطيرة ، مثل الهجرة والبطالة والانتشار الجماعي - الشعور بالانفصال الذي ينتقد الكاتب سيمون ويل محدد كحاضنة للسلطوية والديماغوجية.

وبدون مواجهة هذه المشاكل ، فإن هؤلاء المنتقدين سينتهون بهم المطاف في المدار القريب من ترامب نفسه ، وهم يجلسون في نقاشات سامة تغذي الرهاب السياسي والرهبان الثقافية.

المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ميخائيل ثيودوسييادس ، المرشح الدكتوراه والمرشد الأكاديمي ، الصاغة، جامعة لندن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = النرجسية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
by إريكا بوينافلور ، ماجستير ، دينار
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
by ستيفن ناتشمانوفيتش

Why It's Dangerous To Flatter The Narcissist With Too Much Attention

Why It's Dangerous To Flatter The Narcissist With Too Much Attention

Almost three decades ago, in his book The Culture of Narcissism, the iconoclastic American thinker Christopher Lasch wrote that in postwar America emerged a certain type of being, which in clinical terms falls under the category of “narcissistic personality disorder”, a pathology characterised by carelessness and an excessive need for admiration and attention.

Lasch identified manifestations of this disorder in various aspects of social life, and especially in the world of celebrity. Now celebrities have invaded the political sphere, the entire political world is becoming dominated by people who lack “common decency”, who resort to a faux populism in order to serve their thirst for publicity. Donald Trump is one of the saddest reflections of this corrosive culture.

From the day he joined the race for the Republican nomination, Trump used the same modus operandi: attracting public attention. Just as Lasch wrote, the narcissistic logic Trump applies to politics is embedded in the same “enterprise culture” with which he is so closely identified. As a successful entrepreneur, Trump not only acquired the skill of promoting his brand but turned himself into a commodity, using all available techniques to put himself at the centre of as many endless discussions as possible.

Trump has been constantly violating the taboos of political correctness, in particular those around sexism and racism. This is a winning strategy on two fronts: not only has he seized the spotlight, he has simultaneously made himself the bête noire of the left, the centre, and the moderate right. Combined with a constant barrage of attacks from the mainstream press, this formed the image of a grand liberal-centrist anti-Trump alliance. Their outrage, only amplified by the reaction to the executive order on refugees, allows Trump to present himself as his supporters’ only hope against the establishment.

This is a truly disturbing phenomenon. But if we’re to break out of the narcissistic cycle and solve the problems of which Trump is a symptom, we need to talk and think about it in the right way.

Think bigger

There is more than one wrong way. Many thinkers and commentators often talk about Trump in terms of “fascism”, or identify “proto-fascist” phenomena in his attitude. This is an appealing analysis, but that doesn’t mean it’s an astute one – or particularly original.

Ever since France’s Charles de Gaulle declared a state of emergency in the first days of the Algerian War, the Euro-American left has been on alert for any such move, which its leading voices almost invariably consider a sign of a shift towards fascist totalitarianism. As Lasch put it: “Liberals’ obsession with fascism … leads them to see ‘fascist tendencies’ or ‘proto-fascism’ in all opinions unsympathetic to liberalism, just as the far-right detects ‘creeping socialism’ in liberalism itself.”

Yes, many of Trump’s policies are utterly inhumane, but that in itself doesn’t imply a “fascist shift”. True fascist totalitarianism is a very specific state of affairs; as the political theorist Hannah Arendt described it, it requires the total destruction of any barrier between the public and the private realms. As things stand, this is not yet afoot in the Western world.

The sight of people amassing at airports to protest the executive order, many waving placards bearing Trump’s name, is paradoxically exactly what a narcissist craves. Worse still, the dissent emanating from leading Democrats and celebrities robs these protests of some of their grassroots edge, turning them into what Lasch presciently called the “revolt of the elites”.

It all flatters Trump’s message that the protesters care not a bit for the hardships of ordinary Americans. It also makes him a model for thousands of his fans; as he himself chases the spotlight, they compete with each other for public attention. His extreme egocentricity poisons the public sphere; norms of common decency and sense are replaced by a mob mentality of mutual recriminations and insults. This atmosphere not only safeguards Trump’s power, but more importantly, may contribute to the emergence of a similarly toxic demagogue in the future.

So the narcissist’s trap is set, and those campaigning against Trump need to get out of it. So long as they make their ultimate goal the downfall of Trump’s presidency, they will never break his hold on the public imagination. What the US and the rest of the world need is an open public dialogue aimed at solving any number of critical problems, such as migration, unemployment, and mass “uprootedness” – the sense of disconnection that writer Simone Weil identified as an incubator of authoritarianism and demagoguery.

Without facing these problems head on for what they are, critics will end up trapped in a close orbit around Trump himself – mired in toxic discussions that feed political phobias and cultural antipathies.

The Conversation

About The Author

Michail Theodosiadis, PhD Candidate and Academic Mentor, Goldsmiths, University of London

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Rethinking Narcissism: The Secret to Recognizing and Coping with Narcissists
democracyAuthor: Dr. Craig Malkin
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Harper Perennial
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

Why Is It Always About You? : The Seven Deadly Sins of Narcissism
democracyAuthor: Sandy Hotchkiss
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Why Is It Always About You: The Seven Deadly Sins of Narcissism

Publisher: Free Press
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

Becoming the Narcissist's Nightmare: How to Devalue and Discard the Narcissist While Supplying Yourself
democracyAuthor: Shahida Arabi
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $17.83

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}