الهدايا النقدية: إن أفضل طريقة لإعادة بناء حياة ضحايا الكوارث؟

هدايا نقدية قد تكون أفضل طريقة لإعادة بناء حياة ضحايا الكوارث

في الأسبوع الماضي ، ذهب توبي بورتر ، الرئيس التنفيذي لمنظمة HelpAge غير الحكومية ، إلى نيبال للقاء أشخاص يتعافون من الزلازل التي دمرت البلاد. سألهم سؤالا مثيرا: هل تفضل أن تشتري لك الأشياء التي تحتاجها ، أم أنك تفضل أن نقدم لك المال؟

إنها مسألة تستحق السؤال - وأحدها لا يكفي في كثير من الأحيان.

الأرثوذكسية الإنسانية

تاريخيا، كان النهج التقليدي لمساعدة الناس في حالات الطوارئ الإنسانية لمنحهم الأشياء - الغذاء والماء والإمدادات الصحية وهلم جرا. هناك حجة لهذا النهج، ولكن أيضا خطر حقيقي جدا: أن نعطي الناس أشياء خاطئة. وشبكة من المقاولين والمقاولين من الباطن غالبا ما تستخدم لإدارة هذه المساعدات "العينية" معقدة بما فيه الكفاية ومبهمة أننا لا نستطيع أن نقول حقا كيف نحن أداء.

خذ استجابة للزلزال آخر لموسيقى الروك في البلدان النامية، في هايتي في 2010. في أعقاب ذلك الزلزال والحكومات والمانحين من القطاع الخاص في جميع أنحاء العالم صرف أكثر من الولايات المتحدة 9 مليار $ في تمويل الإغاثة وإعادة الإعمار. وهذا مبلغ ضخم من المال - حول 133٪ من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي السنوي في هايتي، أو أكثر من 900 $ لكل ساكن في وقت الزلازل. وبعد لدينا بجانب أي فكرة عما إذا اشترينا الأمور في نصابها الصحيح أو ما تأثيرها كان.

وقد وجدت التحقيقات سائل الإعلام الأمثلة الفاضحة من الإنفاق في غير محله و عدم الكفاءةبما في ذلك حملة الصحة العامة التي لا تنسى لتعليم غسل اليدين إلى سكان هايتي الذين يفتقرون إلى الصابون والمياه الجارية.

ولكن من الصعب معرفة مدى تمثيلية هؤلاء ، لأن معظم المال ، نحن ببساطة لا نعرف كيف تم استخدامها، كما هو موضح من قبل مركز التنمية العالمية ، وهو مركز أبحاث مستقل. يمكننا في أفضل الأحوال أن نأخذ على عاتقنا أننا أنشأنا قيمة $ 900 لكل مواطن في هايتي.

كان أحد البدائل هو ببساطة منح 900 $ لكل Haitian. الصوت farfetched؟ وكما يتضح ، فإن هذا يتطلب في الواقع إيمانًا أقل من العديد من الطرق التقليدية.

مباشر اعطاء الاشغال

كما بدأ الباحثون بإجراء اختبارات تجريبية صارمة لاستراتيجيات مكافحة الفقر ( "تجارب عشوائية محكومة")، الحصول على إجابات موثوقة على السؤال: "ماذا يعمل؟"، وكانت نتيجة ثابتة أن مجرد إعطاء المال مباشرة إلى الأفراد يعمل بشكل جيد جدا.

وقد وجدت دراسات متعددة أن عندما يحصل الناس في حاجة إلى النقد وحرية لأنها تنفق كما يشاؤون، وكانت النتائج مثيرة للإعجاب. على سبيل المثال، دراسة كريستوفر Blattman، ناثان فيالا وسيباستيان مارتينيز في مرحلة ما بعد الصراع وجدت أوغندا أن الناس الذين حصلوا على المنح النقدية المستثمرة في الشركات، حيث حصلوا على متوسط ​​معدل 40٪ من العائد بعد أربع سنوات. في أعقاب كارثة تسونامي سريلانكا، سوريش دي ميل، ديفيد ماكنزي وكريستوفر وودروف وجدت ورأى أن المستفيدين من المنح النقدية معدلات العائد في 80 نطاق٪ -plus بعد خمس سنوات.

وبالإضافة إلى تحسين المدى الطويل معايير الأشخاص المتلقين الذين يعيشون، وإعطاء المعونة النقدية لديه القدرة على تبسيط واسع التسليم. كما كنا شرح مع Blattman ، فإن تسليم السلع المادية للأشخاص المحتاجين يميل إلى أن يكون مكلفًا للغاية (عندما نعرف التكاليف على الإطلاق ، وهو نادر جدًا).

على سبيل المثال، ورقة العلوم الحديثة على الآثار (الإيجابية) ستة برامج نقل الأصول للفقراء وجدت أن في المتوسط، أنفقت 68٪ من ميزانيات البرنامج على الإدارة والتسليم، مع٪ فقط 32 تنفق على الأصول الفقراء حصل فعلا.

برنامج النقدية الوحيد أبسط تديرها منظمة GiveDirectly (الذي شاركنا في تأسيس) تنفق 10٪ عند التسليم وتضع 90٪ في أيدي المستلمين. وبعبارة أخرى، يمكننا تقديم ثلاثة أضعاف قيمة عندما نقدم نقدا. فمن الممكن أن نشاط الإدارة وأضاف المشاركين في البرامج التقليدية تعوض ذلك من خلال ثلاثة أضعاف قيمتها، لكننا أزعم أن عبء الإثبات يقع على هذا الجانب.

تمكين الأفراد

وبطبيعة الحال ، فإن إعطاء الأموال مباشرة إلى الضحايا ليس هو الحل لجميع مشاكل ما بعد الكوارث. البنية التحتية - الطرق والمطارات والمدارس - كلها بحاجة إلى إعادة بنائها ، وهذا يتطلب نشاطًا منسقًا. ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بمساعدة الأفراد على إعادة بناء حياتهم ، فمن الصعب أن نرى الأساس المنطقي لمنح الضحايا الأشياء التي نعتقد أنها قد تحتاج إليها ، بدلاً من تمكينهم من شراء ما يريدون بالضبط. ليس هناك بالتأكيد أي دليل يشير إلى أننا أفضل في ذلك مما هي عليه.

هل ستتغير الطرق القديمة؟ هناك بريق في الرد على نيبال. تقوم بعض منظمات الإغاثة مثل HelpAge بإرسال مدفوعات نقدية مباشرة إلى الأفراد الضعفاء ، مع (رواية) إيجابية النتائج. يتلقى المستلمون الدعم بشكل أسرع ويكونون أكثر قدرة على الحصول على الأشياء المحددة التي يحتاجونها.

في لبنان ، صدر IRC مؤخرا النتائج تظهر آثار إيجابية قوية من التحويلات النقدية على اللاجئين السوريين.

ولكن عموما، ويقدر نصيب الإغاثة الإنسانية تسليمها كما التحويلات النقدية في ما لا يزيد 6٪، وفقا ل معهد التنمية لما وراء البحار، في المملكة المتحدة وهو مؤسسة بحثية في مجال التنمية الدولية والقضايا الإنسانية.

إذا كان الهدف من الإغاثة إلى مساعدة المحتاجين، ونحن قد صنعا لطرح سؤال توبي بورتر في كثير من الأحيان.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة.
قراءة المقال الأصلي.

نبذة عن الكاتبالمحادثة

نيهاوس بولبول نيهاوس هو أستاذ مشارك في الاقتصاد في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغو. وهو شريك مؤسس ورئيس لشركة GiveDirectly ، وهي حاليًا المؤسسة غير الربحية ذات التصنيف الأعلى من قبل GiveWell ، وهي مصنفة ضمن أكثر شركات 25 جرأة (Inc) و 10 معظم الشركات المبتكرة في مجال التمويل (Fast Company). GiveDirectly هي شركة رائدة معروفة في استخدام التكنولوجيا الحديثة لتحويل الأموال مباشرة إلى الفقراء المدقعين ، وفي استخدام الأساليب العلمية الصارمة لتوثيق تأثيرها.

كتاب ذات الصلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords basic؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Gifts Of Cash: The Best Way To Rebuild Lives Of Disaster Victims?

Gifts Of Cash May Be Best Way To Rebuild Lives Of Disaster Victims

Last week Toby Porter, CEO of the NGO HelpAge, went to Nepal to meet with people recovering from the earthquakes that have devastated the country. He asked them an interesting question: would you rather we buy you the stuff you need, or would you rather we just give you the money?

It’s a question worth asking – and one posed not often enough.

Humanitarian Orthodoxy

Historically, the orthodox approach to helping people in humanitarian emergencies has been to give them things – food, water, hygienic supplies and so on. There’s an argument for this approach, but also a very real risk: that we give people the wrong things. And the network of contractors and subcontractors often used to administer this “in-kind” aid is sufficiently complex and opaque that we can’t really tell how we’re performing.

Take the response to the last earthquake to rock a developing country, in Haiti in 2010. In the wake of that quake, governments and private donors around the world disbursed more than US$9 billion in relief and reconstruction funding. That’s a massive amount of money – about 133% of Haiti’s annual GDP, or more than $900 per resident at the time of the quakes. And yet we have next to no idea whether we bought the right things or what impact they had.

Media investigations have found egregious examples of misplaced spending and inefficiency, including the memorable public health campaign run to teach hand-washing to Haitians who lacked soap and running water.

But it’s hard to tell how representative these are, since, for most of the money, we simply don’t know how it was used, as shown by the Center for Global Development, an independent think tank. We can at best take it on faith that we created $900 of value for each citizen of Haiti.

One alternative would have been to simply give $900 to every Haitian. Sound farfetched? As it turns out, this actually requires less faith than many of the more traditional approaches.

Direct Giving Works

As researchers have begun conducting rigorous experimental tests of anti-poverty strategies (“randomized controlled trials”), seeking reliable answers to the question “what works?,” a consistent finding has been that simply giving money directly to individuals works quite well.

Multiple studies have found that when people in need receive cash and the freedom to spend it as they choose, the results are impressive. For example, a study by Christopher Blattman, Nathan Fiala and Sebastian Martinez in post-conflict Uganda found that people who received cash grants invested in enterprises, earning an average 40% rate of return after four years. In post-tsunami Sri Lanka, Suresh de Mel, David McKenzie and Christopher Woodruff found that cash grant recipients saw rates of return in the 80%-plus range after five years.

In addition to improving the long-run living standards of individual recipients, giving aid as cash has the potential to massively streamline delivery. As we’ve explained with Blattman, delivering physical goods to people in need tends to be very expensive (when we know costs at all, which is too infrequent).

For example, a recent Science paper on the (positive) impacts of six programs that transferred assets to the poor found that on average, 68% of program budgets were spent on management and delivery, with only 32% spent on the assets the poor actually received.

The simpler cash-only program run by GiveDirectly (which we co-founded) spends 10% on delivery and puts 90% into recipients’ hands. In other words, we can deliver three times as much value when we deliver as cash. It’s possible that the added management activity involved in the traditional programs offsets this by tripling their value, but we would argue that the burden of proof lies on that side.

Enabling Individuals

Of course, giving cash directly to victims is not the answer to all post-disaster problems. Infrastructure – roads, airports, schools – all needs to be rebuilt, and that requires coordinated activity. But when it comes to helping individuals rebuild their lives, it is hard to see the rationale for giving victims the things we think they might need, instead of enabling them to buy exactly what they want. There is certainly no evidence to suggest we’re better at it than they are.

Will the old ways change? There are glimmers in the response to Nepal. Some aid organizations like HelpAge are already sending cash payments directly to vulnerable individuals, with (anecdotally) positive results. Recipients report receiving support faster and being better able to obtain the specific things they need.

In Lebanon, the IRC recently released results showing strong positive impacts of cash transfers on Syrian refugees.

But overall, the share of humanitarian relief delivered as cash transfers is estimated at no more than 6%, according to the Overseas Development Institute, a UK think tank on international development and humanitarian issues.

If the aim of relief is to help those in need, we might do well to ask Toby Porter’s question more often.

This article was originally published on The Conversation.
Read the original article.

About The AuthorThe Conversation

niehaus paulPaul Niehaus is Associate Professor of Economics at University of California, San Diego. He is co-founder and president of GiveDirectly, currently the top-rated nonprofit by GiveWell and ranked among the 25 most audacious companies (Inc) and 10 most innovative companies in finance (Fast Company). GiveDirectly is a recognized leader in the use of modern technology to transfer funds directly to the extreme poor, and in the use of rigorous scientific methods to document its impact.

Related Book:

Basic Income: A Radical Proposal for a Free Society and a Sane Economy
gratitudeAuthor: Philippe Van Parijs
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Harvard University Press
List Price: $29.95

Buy Now

Basic Income: A Guide for the Open-Minded
gratitudeAuthor: Guy Standing
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Yale University Press
List Price: $28.00

Buy Now

Basic Income
gratitudeAuthor: Guy Standing
Binding: Mass Market Paperback
Format: International Edition
Publisher: Pelican

Buy Now