وجهة نظر رومانسية لمساعدة المحتاجين؟

رجل يتوسل 4 5الرجل الحر الوحيد في الكون ، وفقا لتشارلز لامب. رصيد الصورة: إريك فرديناند, CC BY

سأل تشارلز لامب كاتب المقال الرومانسي في 1822: "هل من الممكن أن أحصل على حقيبتي ضده؟" ، وكتب عن رجل جلس كل يوم بطريق الصدقة. "أعط ، ولا تسأل أي أسئلة." واليوم ، يجب على الجمعيات الخيرية الإجابة على الكثير من الأسئلة قبل أن يتمكنوا من إقناع الجمهور في كثير من الأحيان حذرا لفك سلاسل محفظتهم.

يواجه القطاع الخيري ككل موجة من التدقيق. نظرة على بعض الفضائح الحديثة تشير إلى أن جذور هذا الاستياء يكمن في إدراك أن الصلة المباشرة بين المانح الفرد والمتلقي قد انهارت ؛ أن المؤسسة الخيرية لا تتصرف كما لو كنا نسلم المعونة بأنفسنا. على أساس يومي تقريبا ، نقرأ الشكاوى من الجمعيات الخيرية كبير جداأو تنفق الكثير على تكاليف المكتب الخلفي أو تستخدم تقنيات جمع التبرعات العدوانية، أو أصبحت مشتتة بسبب الحملات السياسية.

التزام الحكومة بالإنفاق 0.7٪ من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي على المساعدات الدولية يتصارع مع العديد من الناس لأن دافعي الضرائب ليس لديهم سيطرة مباشرة على كيفية إنفاق المال ، أو ما إذا كان ينبغي إنفاقه على الإطلاق. و انهيار شركة الاطفال في 2015 أثار مزيد من الأسئلة والاهتمامات حول كيفية عمل الجمعيات الخيرية.

ومع ذلك فإن فكرة أن العطاء الخيري شيء نزنه في أذهاننا هو اختراع حديث نسبياً. تقليديا ، تدرس الكنيسة أنه من الجيد أن تعطي للجمعيات الخيرية لمصلحة النفس ، أي أسئلة. كان فقط بعد عصر التنوير والثورة الفرنسية ، عندما بدأت مصادر السلطة التقليدية في التراجع ، كان على الأفراد أن يكوّنوا عقولهم الخاصة حول موعد التبرع للجمعيات الخيرية ولماذا. لدى الحركة الرومانسية ، التي عكست تركيزًا جديدًا على العاطفة والفردية ، الكثير لتعلمنا عن الأسئلة التي نطرحها اليوم عندما نمنح الإحسان والأسباب التي نعطيها للجمعيات الخيرية على الإطلاق.

رؤية والعطاء

ويليام وردزورث ، يفكر في أنقاض دير تينترن (مرة واحدة في مركز الصدقة الرهبانية) كتب أن "أعمال اللطف والمحبة" التي لا تذكر ، والتي لا تكاد تذكر ، والتي تشكل "أفضل جزء من حياة رجل صالح" يمكن العثور عليها في العالم الطبيعي ، والآن لم يعد بإمكان الدين تقديم كل الإجابات. بالنسبة له ، يمكن للطبيعة أن تلهم الخير الأخلاقي كما استوحى رهبان تينتر آبي من الصلاة اليومية.

في قصيدة أخرى ، قديم كمبرلاند متسولكتب ووردوورث أن رؤية الأشياء الخيرية تخطف الخير فينا وفي المجتمع كله. إن الحضور المرئي للفقر يذكرنا بالخير الذي فعلناه وما لم نفعله بعد.

ولكن ماذا لو لم تكن عقولنا في حالة صالحة لإعادة تشكيل المجتمع في صورتنا ، سألت جون بوليدوري في حكاية خرافية و Vampyre؟ إن شقيقته اللصية الشريرة اللورد روثفن (على غرار بايرون) تفرط في "الإحسان الغني" على "المسرف" والرجل "الشرير" لكي "تغرقه لا يزال أعمق في إثمه" ، في حين أن الرجل الفاضل الذي عانى ببراءة بعيدا "مع سخرية قمع بالكاد". كابوس بوليدووري ينفق المال على أسوأ الأسباب الممكنة ، مذكرا بنا كيف يمكن أن تنفرد الأوهام الفردية بالأولويات الخيرية.

مقالة الحمل ، شكوى من اضمحلال المتسولين في المدينةحاول القضاء على هذه الأنانية. وقال إن التسول كان "أقدم وأشهر أشكال الفقير" وعلمنا ألا نقدر كرامتنا بدرجة عالية للغاية. إن "المكنسة الشاملة الشاملة" للإصلاح المجتمعي هي ما يحدث عندما نفكر في أننا نعرف أفضل ، وننظر إلى رموز الفقر التي تعمل كـ "الأخلاق ، والشعارات ، وشعارات الاتصال ، والخطب الإجتماعية ، وكتب الأطفال ، والشيكات المفيدة وتوقف على المد العالي والدؤوب للمواطنين الدهنيين ".

بالنسبة للحمل ، كان المتسول شخصية متحدية - "الرجل الحر الوحيد في الكون" - ومن الأفضل أن يتم خداعه من قبل المحتالين بدلاً من عدم التبرع للجمعيات الخيرية على الإطلاق.

يعلمنا الأدب الرومانسي أن العديد من المخاوف بشأن المؤسسات الخيرية اليوم ، مثل كيفية إنفاق المال على نحو فعال ، هي أمور دائمة يجب علينا أن نتعلم قبولها ، بغض النظر عن الحالات القصوى. إنه يكشف لنا مدى أهمية مشاعرنا عندما نقرر كيف نعطي للجمعيات الخيرية. ولكن كما كتب لامب ، نحن لسنا دائما في أفضل وضع للحكم على ما يجب القيام به.

إذا كان لدينا الوقت للقيام بكل شيء بأنفسنا فلن تكون هناك حاجة للجمعيات الخيرية على الإطلاق. في بعض الأحيان يكون من الأفضل الرجوع إلى الوراء ، والقبول بأن إدارة مؤسسة خيرية ليست سهلة ، والسماح للجمعيات الخيرية الجيدة بالاستمرار في العمل نيابة عنا.

كما يذكرنا بأن المنظمات الخيرية تقوم بملء الأعمال الخيرية الفردية التي لا يمكننا القيام بها بأنفسنا. من خلال الإشارة إلى قوة ومخاطر الخيال ، يساعدنا الرومانسيون على التغلب على تعقيدات اللقاء الخيري ومعرفة متى يتراجعون ويسمحون لقطاع خيري مستجيب وواقعي بتنفيذ عمله.

المحادثةنبذة عن الكاتب

رود أندروأندرو رود ، محاضر في اللغة الإنجليزية ، جامعة إكستر. تكمن اهتماماته البحثية على نطاق واسع في القرن الثامن عشر والأدب الرومانسي ، خاصة الاستشراق الرومانسي وكتابات السير ويليام جونز ودائرته. يستكشف كتابه ، وتعاطفه ، والهند في الأدب البريطاني ، 1770-1830 ، المنشور في دراسات Palgrave في سلسلة التنوير والرومانسية وثقافات الطباعة في 2011 ، الكتابة عن الهند تحديدًا في سياق التعاطف الخيالي وقوته لتسهيل ، وبالفعل يعقد ويخرب ، معاملات خيالية بين مختلف الشعوب والثقافات.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب ذات الصلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = B009AQUKXW، maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
by يوهانا ليسيو ، دكتوراه
السعادة لا تتبع النجاح: إنها العكس
السعادة لا تتبع النجاح: إنها العكس
by ليزا والش ، جوليا ك. بوهم وسونيا ليوبوميرسكي

A Romantic View Of Helping The Needy?

man begging 4 5The only free man in the universe’, according to Charles Lamb. Photo Credit: Erich Ferdinand, CC BY

“Is it possible I could have steeled my purse against him?” the Romantic essayist Charles Lamb asked in 1822, writing about a man who sat each day by the road begging alms. “Give, and ask no questions.” Today, charities must answer plenty of questions before they can persuade an often wary public to untie their purse strings.

The charity sector as a whole is facing a wave of scrutiny. A glance at some recent scandals suggests that the root of this discontent lies in a perception that the direct connection between the individual giver and the recipient has broken down; that the charity is not acting as we would if we were delivering the aid ourselves. On an almost daily basis, we read complaints that charities are too large, or spend too much on back-office costs, or use aggressive fundraising techniques, or have become distracted by political campaigning.

The government’s commitment to spend 0.7% of GDP on international aid rankles with many because taxpayers have no direct control over how the money is spent, or whether it should be spent at all. And the collapse of Kids Company in 2015 sparked further questions and concerns about how charities operate.

And yet the idea that charitable giving is something we weigh up in our own minds is a relatively recent invention. Traditionally, the church taught that it was good to give to charity for the benefit of one’s soul, no questions asked. It was only after the Enlightenment and the French Revolution, when traditional sources of authority began to fall away, that individuals had to make up their own minds about when to give to charity and why. The Romantic movement, which reflected a new focus on emotion and individualism, has a lot to teach us about the questions we tend to ask today when giving to charity and the reasons why we give to charity at all.

Seeing and giving

William Wordsworth, contemplating the ruins of Tintern Abbey (once a centre of monastic almsgiving) wrote that the “little, nameless, unremembered acts of kindness and of love” that make up the “best portion of a good man’s life” could be found in the natural world, now that religion could no longer provide all the answers. For him, nature could inspire moral goodness just as Tintern Abbey’s monks drew inspiration from daily prayer.

In another poem, The Old Cumberland Beggar, Wordsworth wrote that seeing the objects of charity kindles benevolence in us and throughout the whole community. The visible presence of poverty reminds us of the good we have done and what we have yet to do.

But what if our minds are in no fit state to reshape society in our own image, asked John Polidori in his lurid tale The Vampyre? His bloodsucking villain Lord Ruthven (modelled on Byron) lavishes “rich charity” on the “profligate” and the “vicious” man in order “to sink him still deeper in his iniquity”, while the virtuous man who has suffered innocently is turned away “with hardly suppressed sneers”. Polidori’s nightmare philanthropist spends money on the worst possible causes, reminding us how individual caprices can skew charitable priorities.

Lamb’s essay, A Complaint of the Decay of Beggars in the Metropolis, tried to banish such egotism. He argued that begging was “the oldest and honourablest form of pauperis” and taught us not to value our own dignity too highly. The “all-sweeping besom [broom] of societarian reformation” is what happens when we think we know best, tidying away the emblems of poverty that act as “the standing morals, emblems, dial-mottos, the spital sermons, the books for children, the salutary checks and pauses to the high and rushing tide of greasy citizenry”.

For Lamb, the beggar was a defiant figure – “the only free man in the universe” – and it is better to be deceived by fraudsters than not to give to charity at all.

Romantic literature teaches us that many concerns about charities today, such as how effectively money is spent, are perpetual ones which, extreme cases aside, we should learn to accept. It reveals to us how important our feelings have become when we decide how to give to charity. But as Lamb wrote, we are not always in the best position to judge what needs to be done.

If we had time to do everything ourselves there would be no need for charities at all. Sometimes it is better to step back, accept that running a charity isn’t easy and let good charities get on with the work on our behalf.

It also reminds us that charitable organisations are filling in for individual acts of charity that we cannot perform ourselves. By pointing out the power and pitfalls of imagination, the Romantics help us to navigate the complexities of the charitable encounter and to know when to step back and let a responsive and realistic charity sector carry out its work.

The ConversationAbout The Author

rudd andrewAndrew Rudd, Lecturer in English, University of Exeter. His research interests lie broadly in eighteenth-century and Romantic period literature, especially Romantic Orientalism and the writings of Sir William Jones and his circle. His monograph, Sympathy and India in British Literature, 1770-1830, published in the Palgrave Studies in the Enlightenment, Romanticism and the Cultures of Print series in 2011, explores writing on India specifically in the context of imaginative sympathy and its power to facilitate, and indeed complicate and subvert, imaginative transactions between different peoples and cultures.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Book:

Sympathy and India in British Literature, 1770-1830 (Palgrave Studies in the Enlightenment, Romanticism and the Cultures of Print)
gratitudeAuthor: A. Rudd
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan

Buy Now