نصائح حول كيفية (ولماذا) للتعبير عن الامتنان والتقدير في المنزل

نصائح حول كيفية (ولماذا) للتعبير عن التقدير

[ملاحظة المحرر: في حين أن هذا المقال يركز على تقدير الأزواج ، إلا أن مبادئه تنطبق على جميع جوانب حياتنا وجميع أنواع العلاقات مع الأشخاص الذين نتعامل معهم في سياق حياتنا اليومية.]

هناك المزيد من الجوع
من اجل الحب والتقدير في هذا العالم
من الخبز.
- تيريزا الأم

يساعدك التقدير وشريكك على إعادة الاتصال من خلال إنشاء مناخ دافئ وإيجابي. من السهل البدء في أخذ بعضنا البعض كأمر مسلم به. اجتماعات الزواج عكس هذا الاتجاه. فهي تخلق خزانًا من المشاعر الجيدة ومهارات تواصل أفضل.

كيفية التعبير عن التقدير

هذا هو الترتيب الأساسي لإجراء جزء التقدير من اجتماعك الأسبوعي:

  1. شخص واحد يذهب أولا. من أجل البساطة ، لنفترض الآن أن هذا هو أنت. (من الناحية العملية ، عادةً ما يكون من الأفضل التحدث عن الشريك الأقل شفهيًا أولاً). أنت تعبير عن التقدير الآن بقولك كل ما يمكنك التفكير فيه ، والذي أعجبك أو أعجبت به بشكل خاص حول شريكك خلال الأسبوع الماضي.

  2. شريكك يستمع حتى تنتهي.

  3. عندما انتهيت، لديك خيار أن تسأل ، "هل تركت أي شيء خارج؟" أو "هل هناك شيء نسيت أن أذكره؟"

  4. قد يضيف شريكك شيئًاأو أشياء متعددة إلى قائمتك التي يرغب في تقديرها.

  5. أنت تتفق مع شريكك، وقال شيء مثل "نعم ، لقد نقدر ذلك أيضا."

  6. شريكك يقول "شكراً لك" عند الانتهاء من قائمة التعليقات المقدرة.

  7. الآن حان الوقت لعكس الأدوار. يصبح شريكك المتحدث الذي يتم توجيه تعليقاته التقديرية إليك ، المستمع الجديد. تتكرر العملية التي قمت بتلخيصها للتو مع المتحدث والمستمع الجديد.

عندما يخبر كل منكما الآخر بما يرضيك ، فإن هذا يشجعك أنت وزوجك على القيام بهذه الأمور في كثير من الأحيان. على سبيل المثال ، لنفترض أنك عندما تصل إلى المنزل ، فأنت تريد أن تسمع "Hello" وربما تتلقى عناق وقبلة. عادة ما تشعر بتجاهلك ، ولكن مرة واحدة في الأسبوع تحصل على هذا النوع من التحية لك القيمة. إذا قلت مدى سعادتك عندما يحدث ذلك ، فمن المرجح أن يحدث ذلك في كثير من الأحيان وستكون سعيدًا بذلك.

الإعراب عن الامتنان يبني العلاقة الحميمة ، مما يعزز المزيد من التقدير. كلما ركزت أكثر على السمات والسلوك الإيجابي لشريكك ، فغالبًا ستستمر في ملاحظة ذلك.

قول ما تقدره يولد السعادة والتفاؤل. إن ملاحظة الصفات والسلوكيات الرفيعة في شريكك تنتج تأثيرًا مضاعفًا ، لأنك ستبدأ في التعرف أكثر على الجوانب الإيجابية لأشخاص آخرين وما يحدث في حياتك.

نصائح للتعبير عن التقدير

فيما يلي بعض التوصيات لكيفية إجراء جزء التقدير من اجتماع زواجك من أجل تهيئة مناخ دافئ لإعادة الاتصال كل أسبوع.

  • خطط مسبقا. تتبع الأشياء التي يقوم بها شريكك خلال الأسبوع الذي تشعر فيه بالامتنان ؛ أدرجها في دفتر يومياتك أو على هاتفك الذكي أو في أي مكان آخر. أو يمكنك إكمال "تمرين التقدير" (في نهاية هذا الفصل) قبل الاجتماع الأسبوعي.

  • دع الشريك الأقل شفهيًا يتكلم أولاً. يساعد هذا على تحسين ساحة اللعب لاجتماع زواجك حتى يشاركك اثنان منك في ملكيته.

  • استخدم البيانات أنا. تحمل المسؤولية عن مشاعرك وأفكارك ورغباتك عن طريق بدء جملك مع "أنا أقدر ..." أو "أحببتك عندما تكون ..." تعمل التصريحات I على تعزيز التقارب العاطفي.

  • استخدم لغة الجسد الفعالة. كن على علم بتعبيرات الوجه ، والموقف ، ونبرة الصوت. ترسل رسائلنا غير اللفظية رسائل أقوى من الكلمات التي نتحدثها. ابتسم عندما تعطي وتلقي المجاملات ، والاتصال بالعين ، والاسترخاء. يجب أن تكون نبرة صوتك متفائلة.

  • خذ أي شيء على أنه أمر مسلم به. يمكنك أن تقول ، "إنني أقدّر حقاً توقفك في المتجر يوم أمس لالتقاط الخس الذي طلبته منك." اعرب عن امتناني لمساهمات زوجك المالية للعائلة. الجميع يحب أن يشعر بجاذبية بدنية. قل "أعجبني كم أنت وسيم (أو جميل) نظرت إليه عندما كنت ترتدي الحفل يوم السبت الماضي."

  • الصفات سمات إيجابية إيجابية. بالإضافة إلى التعبير عن التقدير لسلوكيات محددة ، تكمل زوجك لصفات شخصية جيدة. القيام بذلك ينتج جرعة مضاعفة من التعزيز الإيجابي. على سبيل المثال ، "أنا أقدر ذلك تعاطفك في الاستماع لي تنفيس الليلة الماضية عن مشكلتي مع زميل العمل. أنا أقدر لك الدعم".

  • اسأل نفسك ، "ماذا بعد؟" هل يقرأ قصة نوم للأطفال كل ليلة؟ هل أعجبك انتباهها في الحفلة عندما التقطت عينك من الغرفة وابتسمت؟ هل كنت تقدّر نظره في الدعوة الليلة الماضية ليقول أنه سيعود للمنزل؟

  • تذكر أن تستمع بصمت. بينما تكون على الطرف المتلقي من التعليقات المقدرة ، لا تقل كلمة حتى ينتهي شريكك.

  • كن على استعداد لإضافة سنتك. عندما يسأل شريكك ، "هل تركت أي شيء خارجاً؟" يمكنك أن تقول ، "هل تقدر غداء النزهة الذي احتضنته لنزولنا إلى البحيرة يوم الأحد الماضي؟" من المحتمل أن يقول شريكك: "نعم ، أقدر ذلك أيضًا ".

  • التزم بالتقدير. لا تلمح حتى إلى خيبات الأمل أو الشعور بالأذى.

  • تجنب المقنعة في تصريحات لك. هذه الرسائل تبدأ I ولكن في الواقع الاتهامات. "أنا أقدر لك ذلك أخيرا تذكرت أن تأخذ القمامة ليلة الأربعاء "هو مقنعة لك.

  • أن تكون محددة. متى وأين تحدث السلوك المقدر؟ ما هي سمة الشخصية التي أظهرها شريكك في العملية؟

بعد بداية خاطئة ، تعلمت جانين وفريد ​​بسرعة أن تكون محددة في التعبير عن التقدير. عندما جربت جانين في أول اجتماع لزواجها ، أخبرت فريد ، "أنا أقدر تفكيرك" ، فقد بقي تعبير وجهه لطيفًا. بعد أن شجعت جانين على أن تكون أكثر تحديدًا ، قالت: "أحببتها عندما لقد فاجأتني بالورود الحمراء الرائعة الطويلة on الجمعة، وأنا أيضا عن تقديره الخاص بك اكتراث in وضعها في المزهريةقال فريد: "لا أعلم لماذا يعمل على أن يكون محددًا ، لكنه فعلًا يفعل ذلك".

عندما كان دوره لتكمل جانين ، قال: "أنا أقدر الخاص بك نظر in يحضر لي الشاي مساء الاربعاء عندما أصيبت في الحلق. ”أضاءت جانين مثل شمعة.

في بعض الأحيان ، التقدير الذي يفتقر إلى الخصوصية أمر جيد ، كما تعلم زوجان آخران. قال مارج إنه خلال اجتماعهم الأول للزواج ، "أخبرني ستيف بأنك تحافظ على كل شيء معًا. أنت تجعل كل شيء يحدث ". جعلني أشعر بأنني رائع ، رغم أنه كان عالميًا. كنت أعرف ما الذي يعنيه ، أنه يقدر كل شيء أقوم به كزوجة وربة منزل وأم لأطفالنا الثلاثة ".

ناضل من اجل التقدم وليس الكمال؛ نقدر جهود بعضهم البعض

نصائح حول كيفية (ولماذا) للتعبير عن التقديرهل يمكنك أن تتذكر آخر مرة أتيت فيها بزوجتك؟ ماذا لو لم تتدفق المجاملات في علاقتك؟ إذا كان هذا صحيحًا ، فإن التعبير عن التقدير أثناء اجتماعات الزواج قد يكون محرجًا في البداية. اقبل الشعور وفعل ذلك على أي حال! كن صبورا ونتوقع التقدم.

كان على إيما تعلم هذا الدرس. واشتكت من أن تعليقات زوجها ، ستيوارت ، خلال اجتماعهما الأول ، كانت عالمية. أوصيت لـ إيما بأن تمنح زوجها فسحة أكبر أثناء قيامه بتجربة طرق جديدة للتواصل ، وأنها تشكر ستيوارت على جهوده.

عندما يحين دور إيما للتعبير عن التقدير ، يمكنها أن تُظهر ستيوارت نوعًا من التعليقات التقديرية التفصيلية التي ترغب في سماعها من خلال التأكد من أن تكون محددة في تحياتها له.

ما الذي يمنعنا من التعبير عن التقدير؟

يعاني بعض الأشخاص من مشكلة في الحصول على الإطراءات وتلقيها. بعض الأسباب لهذا:

قضايا ذات قيمة الذات. الناس الذين يفتقرون إلى تقدير الذات يجدون صعوبة في قبول التقدير. لا يعتقدون أنهم يستحقون ذلك. قد يحجبون إعطاء الإطراءات خشية أنه إذا تحسنت صورة شريكهم الذاتي ، فسيترك هو أو هي العلاقة.

الاعتبارات الثقافية. الناس الذين نشأوا في الثقافات حيث ينظر إلى قبول المديح على أنه تباهٍ قد يشعرون بعدم الارتياح عند الإشادة بهم. مجاملة مثل قصة شعر هذا الشخص ، ويمكنك أن تتوقع سماع ما هو الخطأ في ذلك.

تأثيرات الطفولة. قد يجد الأشخاص الذين لم يكمل آباؤهم لهم أثناء تنامهم صعوبة في التعبير عن التعليقات وتلقيها.

صعوبة السماح لنفسه أن يكون عرضة للخطر. نشأ بعض الناس في بيئة كان فيها الإفصاح الذاتي محفوفًا بالمخاطر. ربما تم وضعهم أو معاقبتهم بسبب التعبير عن مشاعرهم الحقيقية.

كيف تشعر عندما يعطيك شخص ما مجاملة؟

عندما أثنى ، هل تشعر بالسعادة؟ فخور؟ غير مريح؟ أحرجت؟ بسعادة غامرة؟ هل تحب سماعها؟ إذا وجدت صعوبة في إعطاء وتلقي المجاملات ، اسأل نفسك عن السبب. إن إدراك ما قد يكون في طريقك هو الخطوة الأولى نحو زيادة راحتك مع التقدير.

لا يمكن أن نفكر في أي شيء نقدر؟

يمكن أن يساعدك إكمال تمرين التقدير على الخروج بالأفكار قبل اجتماعك. ولكن إذا اخترت عدم التخطيط للمستقبل ، فستكون منزعجًا من شريكك ، أو لسبب آخر تواجه صعوبة في التعبير عن التقدير ، أو العثور على شيء إيجابي لتقوله على أي حال.

على سبيل المثال ، قد تبدأ بـ "أقدر أنك تقابلني هنا ؛ يظهر أنك تهتم بعلاقتنا. "أو" أحب الطريقة التي تنظر بها إلى هذا القميص ؛ بمجرد أن تبدأ في الظهور ، فمن المحتمل أن تشعر قريبًا بتحسن حال زوجك وتجد مجاملات قلبية.

إذا كنت تشعر بالإغراء لانتقاد شريكك خلال جزء التقدير من اجتماع الزواج الخاص بك ، وممارسة ضبط النفس والتحلي بالصبر. يمكنك بدء مناقشة بناءة حول الشكوى خلال الجزء الرابع من اجتماع الزواج الخاص بك ، المشاكل والتحديات. الآن هو الوقت لجني فوائد التقدير النقية ، غير المخفف ، 100 في المئة.

دوس وتوقف عن التعبير عن التقدير

  • Do استخدام البيانات أنا.

  • Do استخدام لغة الجسد فعالة.

  • Do التعبير عن التقدير لصفات الشخصية الإيجابية لشريك حياتك.

  • Do استمع بصمت أثناء تلقي الإطراءات ، وشكر شريكك في النهاية.

  • Do كن دقيقا.

  • لا احذف ما هو واضح.

  • لا توقف أثناء دور شريكك للتعبير عن التقدير.

  • لا ينتقد. يجب أن يكون كل تعليق تقوم به موضع تقدير.

  • لا الوقوع في فخ التفكير لا يوجد شيء لتقديره.

تمرين تقديري

قائمة على الأقل خمسة أشياء محددة فعلها شريكك خلال الأسبوع الماضي والتي تقدرها. حدد سمة السمات الإيجابية (مثل إظهار المساعدة ، تحمل المسؤولية ، إظهار التفكير ، وهكذا) عرض شريكك عند القيام السلوكيات التي تحبها. فمثلا:

  • "إنني أقدر لطفك في الاستماع عندما كنت أقبض على وظيفتي يوم الثلاثاء".

  • "أحب الإعجاب في إيقاف تشغيل هاتفك أثناء تناول العشاء كل ليلة هذا الأسبوع."

  • "أقدر تفكيرك في وضع الغاز في سيارتي أمس."

  • "أنا أقدر لكم ممارسة الجنس الحب العطاء ليلة السبت."

الان حان دورك. تبدأ الجمل في مجلة الخاص بك أو على ورقة منفصلة كما هو موضح في القائمة التالية. أكمل كل جملة بطريقة تعبر عن تقديرك لزوجتك.

  1. أنا أقدر...

  2. أنا أقدر...

  3. أحببت)...

  4. أنا أقدر...

  5. أنا أقدر...

© 2014 by Marcia Naomi Berger. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،

جديد المكتبة العالمية، نوفاتو، كاليفورنيا 94949. newworldlibrary.com.

المادة المصدر:

لقاءات الزواج من أجل الحب الدائم: 45 Minutes a Week to the Relationship You've Always Wanted
بواسطة مارسيا نعومي برجر.

لقاءات الزواج من أجل الحب الدائم: 45 Minutes a Week to the Relationship You've Always Wanted by Marcia Naomi Berger.الأزواج يستطيع يقول المحلل النفسي والمرشدة الإكلينيكية الإكلينيكية مارسيا نعومي بيرغر: "إن الحب هو آخر شيء". انهم بحاجة فقط لتعلم كيف. وصفتها بسيطة بشكل خادع: عقد اجتماع لمدة ثلاثين دقيقة (أو حتى أقصر) كل أسبوع واتباع جدول أعمال يتضمن نوعًا من التقدير والتخطيط للمرح الذي يعزز الحميمية ويمهد الطريق لحل النزاع التعاوني.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لشراء هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

عن المؤلف

مارسيا نعومي برجر ، مؤلفة: لقاءات زواج من أجل الحب الدائممارشا نعومي بيرغر ، MSW ، LCSW ، هو مؤلف اجتماعات الزواج عن حب دائم. تدرب ، وتتشاور ، وتتحدث على الصعيد الوطني ، وخدمت في الكلية السريرية لكلية الطب بجامعة كاليفورنيا. بعد فترة وجيزة من الزواج ، بدأت هي وزوجها ديفيد عقد اجتماعات أسبوعية للزواج. بعد ما يقرب من ستة وعشرين عامًا ، استمروا في احتجازهم. وتقول: "أعتز بوقتنا لإعادة الاتصال كل أسبوع. نحن نعبر عن تقديرنا وتنسيق الأعمال وتخطيط المواعيد والتحدث عن أي قلق. اجتماعاتنا توفر الإغلاق ، مما يعني عدم وجود ضغائن". زيارة لها على الانترنت في http://www.marriagemeetings.com.

شاهد مقطع فيديو مع المؤلف: اجتماعات الزواج عن حب دائم

قراءة إجابات المؤلف على الأسئلة الشائعة حول لقاءات الزواج.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Tips on How (and Why) to Express Appreciation

Tips on How (and Why) to Express Appreciation

[Editor's Note: While this article is focused on appreciation for couples, its tenets apply to all aspects of our lives and all types of relationships with the people we are in contact with in the course of our daily life.]

There is more hunger for love and appreciation in this world than for bread. — MOTHER TERESA

Appreciation helps you and your partner to reconnect by establishing a warm, positive climate. It is easy to start taking each other for granted. Marriage meetings reverse this tendency. They create a reservoir of good feelings and better communication skills.

How To Express Appreciation

This is the basic order for conducting the Appreciation part of your weekly meeting:

  1. One person goes first; for simplicity’s sake, let’s assume for now that this is you. (In practice, it usually works better to have the less verbal partner speak first.) You express appreciation now by saying everything you can think of that you specifically liked or admired about your partner during the past week.

  2. Your partner listens until you have finished.

  3. When you have finished, you have the option to ask, “Did I leave anything out?” or “Is there something I forgot to mention?”

  4. Your partner may add something, or multiple things, to your list for which he or she wants to be appreciated.

  5. You agree with your partner, saying something like “Yes, I did appreciate that too.”

  6. Your partner says, “Thank you,” when you have completed your list of appreciative comments.

  7. Now it is time to reverse roles. Your partner becomes the speaker whose appreciative comments are directed to you, the new listener. The process I’ve just outlined is repeated with the new speaker and listener.

When you each tell the other what pleases you, this encourages you and your spouse to do these things more often. For example, let’s suppose that when you arrive home, you want to hear “Hello” and maybe receive a hug and kiss. Usually you feel ignored, but about once a week you get the kind of greeting you value. If you say how happy you feel when this happens, it is likely to occur more often and you will both be glad about this.

Expressing gratitude builds intimacy, which promotes more appreciation. The more you focus on your partner’s positive attributes and behaviors, the more often you will continue to notice them.

Saying what you appreciate breeds happiness and optimism. Noticing fine traits and behaviors in your partner produces a ripple effect, because you will start recognizing more often the positive aspects of other people and of what is going on in your life.

Tips For Expressing Appreciation

Here are some recommendations for how to conduct the Appreciation part of your marriage meeting in order to establish a warm climate for reconnecting every week.

  • Plan ahead. Keep track of things your partner does during the week for which you feel grateful; list them in your journal, on your smartphone, or elsewhere. Or you can complete the Appreciation Exercise (at the end of this chapter) before your weekly meeting.

  • Let the less verbal partner speak first. This helps level the playing field for your marriage meeting so that the two of you will share ownership of it.

  • Use I-statements. Take responsibility for your feelings, thoughts, and desires by starting your sentences with “I appreciate...,” or “I liked it when you...” I-statements foster emotional closeness.

  • Use effective body language. Be aware of your facial expression, posture, and tone of voice. Our nonverbal communications send stronger messages than the words we speak. Smile when you give and receive compliments, make eye contact, and relax. Your tone of voice should be optimistic.

  • Take nothing for granted. You can say, “I really appreciate your stopping at the store yesterday to pick up the lettuce I asked you to get.” Express gratitude for your spouse’s financial contributions to the family. Everyone likes to feel physically attractive. Say, “I liked how handsome (or beautiful) you looked when you dressed up for the party last Saturday.”

  • Compliment positive character traits. In addition to expressing appreciation for specific behaviors, compliment your spouse for good personal qualities. Doing so produces a double dose of positive reinforcement. For example, “I appreciate your empathy in listening to me vent last night about my problem with a coworker. I value your support.”

  • Ask yourself, “What else?” Does he read a bedtime story to the children every night? Did you like her attentiveness at the party when she caught your eye from across the room and smiled? Did you appreciate his consideration in calling last night to say he would be home late?

  • Remember to listen silently. While you are on the receiving end of appreciative comments, do not say a word until your partner has finished.

  • Be ready to add your two cents. When your partner asks, “Have I left anything out?” you can say, “Do you appreciate the picnic lunch I packed for our outing to the lake last Sunday?” Your partner is likely to say, “Yes, I appreciate that too.”

  • Stick with appreciation. Do not even hint at disappointments or hurt feelings.

  • Avoid disguised you-statements. These messages start with I but are actually accusations. “I appreciate that you finally remembered to take out the garbage on Wednesday night” is a disguised you-statement.

  • Be specific. When and where did the appreciated behavior occur? What character trait did your partner show in the process?

After one false start, Janine and Fred quickly learned to be specific in expressing appreciation. When during their first try at a marriage meeting Janine told Fred, “I appreciate your thoughtfulness,” his facial expression stayed bland. After I encouraged Janine to be more specific, she said, “I loved it when you surprised me with the gorgeous long-stemmed red roses on Friday, and I also appreciated your thoughtfulness in putting them in the vase.” Fred brightened and said, “I don’t know why it works to be specific, but it really does.”

When it was his turn to compliment Janine, he said, “I appreciated your consideration in bringing me tea Wednesday evening when my throat was sore.” Janine lit up like a candle.

Occasionally, appreciation that lacks specificity is fine, as another couple learned. Marge said that during their first marriage meeting, “Steve told me, ‘You hold it all together. You make it all happen.’ It made me feel wonderful, even though it was global. I knew what he meant, that he appreciated everything I do as a wife, homemaker, and mother of our three children.”

Strive For Progress, Not Perfection; Appreciate Each Other’s Efforts

Tips on How (and Why) to Express AppreciationCan you recall the last time you complimented your spouse? What if compliments aren’t flowing in your relationship? If that’s true, expressing appreciation during your marriage meetings may feel awkward at first. Accept the feeling and do it anyway! Be patient and expect progress.

Emma had to learn this lesson. She complained that during their first marriage meeting the appreciative comments of her husband, Stuart, had been global. I recommended to Emma that she give her husband more leeway as he experiments with new ways of communicating, and that she thank Stuart for his efforts.

When it’s Emma’s turn to give appreciation, she can show Stuart the kind of detailed appreciative comments she would like to hear from him by making sure to be specific in her compliments to him.

What Holds Us Back From Expressing Appreciation?

Some people have trouble giving and receiving compliments. A few reasons for this:

Issues of self-worth. People who lack self-esteem find it difficult to accept appreciation. They don’t believe they deserve it. They may withhold the giving of compliments out of fear that if their partner’s self-image improves, he or she will leave the relationship.

Cultural considerations. People raised in cultures where accepting a compliment is viewed as boasting may feel uncomfortable when praised. Compliment such a person’s haircut, and you can expect to hear about what’s wrong with it.

Childhood influences. People whose parents did not compliment them while they were growing up may find it difficult to express and receive appreciative comments.

Difficulty allowing oneself to be vulnerable. Some people were raised in an environment where self-disclosure was risky. They may have been put down or punished for expressing their true feelings.

How Do You Feel When Someone Gives You a Compliment?

When complimented, do you feel happy? Proud? Uncomfortable? Embarrassed? Thrilled? Do you like hearing it? If you find it hard to give and receive compliments, ask yourself why. Becoming aware of what might be getting in your way is the first step toward increasing your comfort with appreciation.

Can’t Think of Anything to Appreciate?

Completing the Appreciation Exercise can help you come up with ideas before your meeting. But if you choose not to plan ahead, are miffed at your partner, or for some other reason are having difficulty expressing appreciation, find something positive to say anyway.

For example, you might start with “I appreciate that you are here meeting with me; it shows that you care about our relationship.” Or “I like how you look in that shirt; the color brings out the blue in your eyes.” Once you get started, you are likely to soon feel better about your spouse and come up with heartfelt compliments.

If you are feeling tempted to criticize your partner during the Appreciation part of your marriage meeting, exercise self-control and be patient. You can initiate a constructive discussion about a complaint during the fourth part of your marriage meeting, Problems and Challenges. Now is the time to reap the benefits of pure, undiluted, 100 percent appreciation.

Dos and Don’ts for Expressing Appreciation

  • Do use I-statements.

  • Do use effective body language.

  • Do express appreciation for your partner’s positive character traits.

  • Do listen silently while receiving compliments, and thank your partner at the end.

  • Do be specific.

  • Don’t omit the obvious.

  • Don’t interrupt during your partner’s turn to express appreciation.

  • Don’t criticize. Every comment you make should be appreciative.

  • Don’t fall into the trap of thinking there is nothing to appreciate.

APPRECIATION EXERCISE

List at least five specific things your partner did during the past week that you appreciate. Identify which positive character trait (such as demonstrating helpfulness, taking responsibility, showing thoughtfulness, and so on) your partner displayed when doing the behaviors you liked. For example:

  • “I appreciate your kindness in listening when I griped about my job on Tuesday.”

  • “I like your consideration in turning off your phone during dinner every night this week.”

  • “I appreciate your thoughtfulness in putting gas in my car yesterday.”

  • “I appreciate your tender lovemaking Saturday night.”

Now it’s your turn. Begin sentences in your journal or on a separate sheet of paper as shown in the following list. Complete each sentence in a way that expresses your appreciation of your spouse.

  1. I appreciate...

  2. I appreciate...

  3. I like(d)...

  4. I appreciate...

  5. I appreciate...

©2014 by Marcia Naomi Berger. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,

New World Library, Novato, CA 94949. newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source:

Marriage Meetings for Lasting Love: 45 Minutes a Week to the Relationship You've Always Wanted by Marcia Naomi Berger.

Marriage Meetings for Lasting Love: 45 Minutes a Week to the Relationship You've Always Wanted
by Marcia Naomi Berger.

For more info or to purchase this book on Amazon.

About the Author

Marcia Naomi Berger, author of: Marriage Meetings for Lasting LoveMarcia Naomi Berger, MSW, LCSW, is the author of Marriage Meetings for Lasting Love. She coaches, consults, and speaks nationally, and has served on the clinical faculty of the University of California School of Medicine. Soon after marrying, she and her husband David began holding weekly marriage meetings. Nearly twenty-six years later, they continue to hold them. She says,"I treasure our time to reconnect every week. We express appreciation, coordinate chores, plan dates, and talk about any concern. Our meetings provide closure, which means no grudges." Visit her online at http://www.marriagemeetings.com

Watch a video with the author: Marriage Meetings for Lasting Love

Read the author's answers to common questions about Marriage Meetings.

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}