لماذا Thoreau ، ولد 200 منذ سنوات ، لم يكن أكثر أهمية

لماذا Thoreau ، ولد 200 منذ سنوات ، لم يكن أكثر أهمية
والدن بوند. Ekabhishek / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز
, CC BY-SA

"البساطة والبساطة والبساطة!" تحث الكاتب الأمريكي المتسامي هنري ديفيد ثورو في الدن (1854) ، روايته عن الحياة بشكل موضعي في كابينة خشبية بالقرب من كونكورد بولاية ماساتشوستس.

"دع شؤونك تكون في اثنين أو ثلاثة ، وليس مئة أو ألف ؛ بدلاً من مليون عبارة عن نصف دزينة ، واحتفظ بحساباتك على مسمار الإبهام. "

هذا الحتمية في ثورو نحو الانكماش بدلا من التوسع جعل أعداء أولئك الذين كانوا في فترة حكمه ملتزمين بالتقدم الصناعي والتكنولوجي المذهل في أميركا: "أنا أفضل المشي على قدمين" ، كما قال شاعر كويكر جون غرينليف ويتير. وإذا كان بعض معاصرو ثورو يتراجعون أحيانًا في حالة من التراجع عن تقليصه الجذري ، فإنه من الممكن توقع مقاومة أكبر لعمله من القراء في وقتنا الخاص.

ثوروولدت 200 منذ سنوات في شهر يوليو 12 1817 ، تبدو للوهلة الأولى غير ملائمة بشكل مريب للغرب الحديث. في حين أنه كان من المألوف منذ فترة طويلة التأكيد على أنه ، كان على قيد الحياة الآن ، شكسبير سوف ينسجم بشكل رائع وضعه الإبداعي ويكتب ل الشرقيين، قلة ستجعل تنبؤات مماثلة لنجاح ثورو في الوسيط المعاصر.

وسيكون Twittersphere الوحيد الذي يثير اهتمامه هو ذلك الذي يشغله النبلاء الأزرق و redstarts. من المستحيل أن نتخيل ، هو أيضًا ، تحميله على صور Instagram الخاصة بكابته في Walden ، أو من شواطئ ماين وود كيب كود (موضوعات كتابين رئيسيين آخرين).

حتى "التغذية الإخبارية" ببطء في منتصف القرن الجديد في 19th New England كانت تبدو أكثر من اللازم بالنسبة إلى Thoreau ، التي عانت من تهيج إلى حد الألم. "من ناحيتي ، كان بإمكاني العيش بسهولة من دون وظيفة ما بعد المنصب" ، كما يكتب في والدن ، ويبدو أنه يعفي نفسه من دوائر التواصل الدنيوي من أجل التراجع بشكل أكثر فاعلية في الأسلوب التأملي الذي يمارسه في بركة ماساتشوسيتس.

يبدو الميل في Thoreau نحو الانطواء أو الاعتماد على الذات مذهلاً من خلال عالمنا الشبكي. من والدن ، مرة أخرى: "أفضل الجلوس على اليقطين ونحمله كل شيء لنفسي ، بدلاً من أن أكون مزدحماً على وسادة مخملية". هنا يظهر المتعالي المتحد الظاهر ، المعادي للمجتمع ، بل من المحتمل أن يكون اجتماعيًا.

ولكن إذا كان هناك شيء غير متعمد حول عمل ثورو للقراء المعاصرين ، فهناك أيضًا عناصر يجب أن تنشط. إن مناسبة الذكرى المئوية الثانية له تدعونا إلى تحديد العديد من الطرق التي يستمر في التحدث بها ببلاغة لنا. بسبب نقده لثقافة السلع وحساسيته للتدهور البيئي ، لم يكن ثورو في الواقع أكثر أهمية مما هو عليه الآن.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مبهر من الذهب

من أكثر الصور دناءة في والدن هو المزارع المليء بالحيوية فلينت ، "الذي سيحمل المنظر الطبيعي ، الذي سيحمل إلهه ، إلى السوق ، إذا استطاع الحصول على أي شيء من أجله". إن Flint مفتون ، أيضاً ، "بالسطح المنعكسي للدولار ، أو السنت اللامع". كيف يمكن أن لا يتردد صداها في الوقت الذي يبهر فيه الرئيس الأمريكي بنفسه تقريباً بسبب عمى الذهب الذي يقطر كل سطح داخلي من برج ترامب. ؟

هناك نداء متلألئ للمنتجات الاستهلاكية التي لا يستجيب لها Thoreau بشكل ملحوظ. ربما قلة من الناس ، قد ترغب في تقليده في الدرجة التي يتخلى فيها عن المال ، البضائع ، أشياء. لكن عندما يحث قارىء "والدن" على "زراعة الفقر كحشائش الحديقة" ، فإن امتيازه الطبقي لا يرقى إليه الشك. ماذا عن كل أولئك الذين يعتبرون الفقر هو القدر ، وليس اختيار نمط الحياة؟

ومع ذلك ، فإن ملاحظات Thoreau الحادة في والدن عن كيفية سجن الناس أو خنقهم بسبب سلعهم الأساسية ، تلقي تحديًا لنا. ربما يكتب: "ليس مطلوبًا من الرجل أن يدفن نفسه في ممتلكات زائدة عن الحاجة"؟ وبالتالي ، فإن ثورو هو الحائز على التفويض ، مما يساعدنا على تخيل بدائل لمحاولاتنا من خلال تجربة المستهلك.

وانتقل إلى الغابة

كتب ثورو في مقال بعنوان "التوتة": "الطبيعة تتفوق في أقل الأشياء". كما أن كتاباته بنفس القدر من الحبيبة في اهتمامه بالتفاصيل البيئية. إذا كان متشائمًا في الاقتصاد المحلي ، فقد كان مبهماً في وصف الطبيعة ، حيث كان ينفق الكلمات بشكل مفرط. فكر ، على سبيل المثال ، في إدخال دفتر يومياته بمناسبة عيد ميلاده 34th في 1851 ، عندما يستحضر شكوى على "تل حديقة عارية" ، و "روبن أحمق" و "علة خاطئة [مع الضوء الأخضر]". مثل هذه اللحظات تنقلب لنا بشكل جيد إلى معالم وملامح عالمنا الطبيعي ، مما يعطي هذا بعض الجاذبية ضد محوها لصالح - على نحو تراملي - لخط أنابيب نفط أو ملعب للجولف.

لأنه إذا كان هناك شاعرية للطبيعة في ثورو ، فهناك دائماً سياسة. علم الحيوان الحسي وعلم النبات يصيبان "موقفاً مضاداً للمؤسسة" ، الناقد الأدبي الأمريكي لورانس بويل يقول.

لكن هذا لا يعني أنه في عمله ، يتراجع ثورو عن كثب في الغابة. فكر في لحظة في مقال بعنوان "يانكي في كندا" عندما تذكره أوراق التنبّه بإبادة جماعية أميركية ما زالت جارية: "شنّ حرب هندية عبر الغابة". إن الوصف الشجري يفسح المجال ، بتغيير مفاجئ في التركيز ، للتعليقات السياسية الصغيرة.

المحادثةيعتبر المقطع سمة مميزة للمشاركة الاجتماعية لكتابة ثورو. في قراءة أعماله وهو يتحول إلى 200 ، فإننا لا نجد ، ببساطة ، شخصية رجعية أو منفصلة. بدلاً من ذلك ، فإننا نواجه كاتبًا يقدم لنا في كثير من الأحيان موارد فكرية وخطابية قيّمة للدخول في كفاحنا المستمر في العالم.

نبذة عن الكاتب

أندرو ديكس ، محاضر في الدراسات الأمريكية ، جامعة لوبورو

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ، الكلمات الرئيسية = walden simplicity ، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Thoreau, Born 200 Years Ago, Has Never Been More Important

Why Thoreau, Born 200 Years Ago, Has Never Been More Important
Walden Pond. Ekabhishek/Wikimedia Commons
, CC BY-SA

“Simplicity, simplicity, simplicity!” urges American transcendentalist writer Henry David Thoreau in Walden (1854), his account of living frugally in a log cabin near Concord, Massachusetts.

“Let your affairs be as two or three, and not a hundred or a thousand; instead of a million count half a dozen, and keep your accounts on your thumb nail.”

This imperative in Thoreau towards contraction rather than expansion made enemies of those in his period who were committed to America’s dizzying industrial and technological progress: “I prefer walking on two legs,” Quaker poet John Greenleaf Whittier sniffily remarked. And if Thoreau’s contemporaries sometimes recoiled in distaste from his radical downsizing, even greater resistance to his work might be anticipated from readers in our own moment.

Thoreau, born 200 years ago on July 12 1817, appears at first glance strikingly ill-adapted for the modern West. While it has long been fashionable to assert that, were he alive now, Shakespeare would seamlessly have tweaked his creative mode and written for EastEnders, few would make comparable predictions of Thoreau’s success in the contemporary mediascape.

The only Twittersphere to interest him would be that occupied by blue-jays and redstarts. Impossible to imagine, also, is him uploading to Instagram photos of his cabin at Walden, or of Maine woodlands and Cape Cod beaches (subjects of two other major books).

Even the slowly dribbling “news feed” of mid-19th-century New England was seemingly too much for Thoreau, experienced as irritation to the point of pain. “For my part, I could easily live without the post-office,” he writes in Walden, seemingly excusing himself from circuits of worldly communication in order to retreat more effectively into the contemplative mode he practices by his Massachusetts pond.

A tendency in Thoreau towards inwardness or self-reliance looks startlingly out of kilter with our networked world. From Walden, again: “I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion.” Here is the transcendentalist appearing withdrawn, anti-social, even potentially sociopathic.

But if there may be something off-putting about Thoreau’s work for contemporary readers, there are also elements that should invigorate. The occasion of his bicentenary prompts us to identify several ways in which he continues to speak eloquently to us. For his critique of commodity culture and his sensitivity to environmental degradation, Thoreau has in fact never been more indispensable than he is now.

Dazzled by gold

One of the most damning portraits in Walden is of the ruthlessly acquisitive farmer Flint, “who would carry the landscape, who would carry his God, to market, if he could get anything for him”. Flint is mesmerized, too, by “the reflecting surface of a dollar, or a bright cent.” How can this not resonate at a time when the US president himself is dazzled almost to blindness by the gold dripping off each interior surface of Trump Tower?

There is a shimmering appeal to consumer products to which Thoreau is remarkably unresponsive. Few people, perhaps, will want to emulate him in the degree to which he gives up money, goods, stuff.  But when he urges Walden’s reader to “cultivate poverty like a garden herb”, his own class privilege goes unquestioned. What about all those for whom poverty is fate, not lifestyle choice?

Nevertheless, Thoreau’s acute observations in Walden of how people are imprisoned or suffocated by their commodities throw down a challenge to us. Perhaps, he writes, “a man is not required to bury himself [in] superfluous property”? Thoreau is thus the laureate of decluttering, helping us to imagine alternatives to our beguilement by consumer experience.

Turning to the woods

“Nature excels in the least things,” writes Thoreau in an essay titled “Huckleberries”. His own writing is similarly fine-grained in its attention to ecological detail. If he was parsimonious in domestic economy, he was prodigal in descriptions of nature, spending words extravagantly. Think, say, of the journal entry for his 34th birthday in 1851, when he evokes a skunk on a “bare garden hill”, a “foolish robin” and a “lightning bug [with its] greenish light”. Such moments valuably reawaken us to the sights and textures of our natural world, giving this potentially some traction against its erasure in favor – Trumpishly – of an oil pipeline or golf course.

For if there is a poetics of nature in Thoreau, there is always also a politics. His sensuous zoology and botany strikes “a counter-establishment stance”, as US literary critic Lawrence Buell puts it.

But this is not to say that in his work Thoreau retreats complacently into the woods. Consider a moment in the essay “A Yankee in Canada” when the reddening leaves remind him of an American genocide then still in progress: “An Indian warfare was waged through the forest.” Arboreal description gives way, by a sudden change of focus, to sardonic political commentary.

The ConversationThe passage is characteristic of the social engagement of Thoreau’s writing. In reading his work as he turns 200, we do not, after all, find simply a regressive or detached figure. Rather, we encounter a writer who frequently provides us with valuable intellectual and rhetorical resources to take into our ongoing struggles in the world.

About The Author

Andrew Dix, Lecturer in American Studies, Loughborough University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Walden
simplicityAuthor: Henry David Thoreau
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Great product!

Publisher: Empire Books
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

Growing into a Farm: Before the Walden Effect (Modern Simplicity Book 4)
simplicityAuthor: Anna Hess
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Wetknee Books

Buy Now

Walden Today
simplicityAuthor: Wayne M. Thomas
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: Wayne M. Thomas
List Price: $9.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}