قد يكون العلماء ثبت النساء أفضل في تعدد المهام من الرجال

قد يكون العلماء ثبت النساء أفضل في تعدد المهام من الرجال

تكون المرأة أقل تأثراً بالتداخل عند القيام بمهام معينة أكثر من الرجل ، وقد تلعب الهرمونات دورًا في هذا التناقض. وجدت تجربتنا الحديثة أن نمط المشي للرجال - الذين لديهم مستويات منخفضة من الاستروجين - قد تغير عندما اضطروا للقيام بمهمة لفظية صعبة في نفس الوقت.

وعلى النقيض من ذلك ، فإن النساء اللواتي لم يصلن بعد إلى سن اليأس - ومن المرجح أن يكون لديهن مستويات أعلى من هرمون الاستروجين - لم يظهر أي علامة على مثل هذا التدخل.

نشرت في مجلة الجمعية الملكية المفتوحة للعلوم، حدد بحثنا لاستكشاف الفرضية القائلة بأن القدرة على تأرجح الذراع اليمنى ، التي يسيطر عليها نصف الدماغ في الدماغ ، سيتم تثبيطها إذا استخدمت نفس الجزء من الدماغ لأداء مهمة أخرى في نفس الوقت.

لقد فوجئنا عندما وجدنا أن هذا التثبيط موجود بالفعل في الرجال والنساء فوق سن 60 ، لكن ليس في النساء تحت هذا السن.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


اختبار ستروب

معظمنا لا يهتم إلا بالكيفية التي تتحرك بها أطرافنا عندما نمشي. بدلاً من ذلك ، يخدم المشي هدفًا بسيطًا هو نقلنا من مكان إلى آخر. وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن المشي ، والتأرجح المرتبط بالأسلحة ، هما سلوكان شبه أوتوماتيكيان موجهان نحو الهدف.

لكن تنسيق ذراعنا البديل يتغير بطريقة خفية عندما يطلب منا إكمال بعض المهام المعرفية (التفكير) أثناء المشي.

كما علماء الأعصاب في مجال إصابات الحبل الشوكي ، مهتمة مجموعتنا البحوث وصف والتفاهم آثار المشي عند أداء المهام الصعبة ، وتحديد ما إذا كانت هذه الشروط الإضافية تؤدي إلى تعديلات مختلفة للتنسيق.

هذا مفيد بشكل خاص عندما يتناقض أنماط الاستجابة مع تلك التي شوهدت في المرضى في المراحل المبكرة من اعتلالات الأعصاب - الظروف الناجمة عن مشاكل في الجهاز العصبي.

من الناحية الكلاسيكية ، فإن المهمة المستخدمة لصرف المشاركين في الأبحاث عن الآخرين هي اختبار ستروب، اقترح لأول مرة من قبل جون ريدلي ستروب في 1930s. هنا ، يظهر المشاركون كلمة ملونة مكتوبة (مثل "أخضر") مكتوبة بلون غير ملائم (مثل اللون الأحمر).

الإجابة الصحيحة هي لون الكلمة (في مثالنا ، أحمر) على الرغم من أن معظم الناس يقرؤون الكلمة تلقائيًا بدلاً من قول اللون المكتوب فيها. المهمة هي من عائلة مهام "التداخل" حيث يجب على الدماغ الدمج بنجاح المحفزات المتعددة والمنافسة لتحقيق الاستجابة الصحيحة.

شبكات الدماغ والهياكل تفعيلها خلال هذه المهمة بحث على نطاق واسع وهناك مؤشر على أنها بشكل عام وجدت في الدماغ في النصف الأيسر من الدماغ.

اختبار ستروب على حلقة مفرغة

تألفت تجربتنا من قياس أنماط المشي في 83 المتطوعين الأصحاء من الذكور والإناث من مختلف الفئات العمرية (20 إلى 40 ، 40 إلى 60 و 60 إلى 80 years) في حلقة مفرغة.

كان على المشاركين المشي لمدة دقيقة بينما إما إكمال مهمة Stroop أو المشي بشكل طبيعي.

تأرجح معظم المشاركين ذراعهم الأيمن والأيسر متناظرة عند المشي فقط. ومع ذلك ، عندما سار الرجال من أي فئة عمرية وأجروا اختبار ستروب في نفس الوقت ، انخفض التأرجح في ذراعهم بشكل كبير. كان هذا هو الحال أيضا في النساء المسنات (أكثر من 60).

كانت النساء تحت 60 ، على الرغم من ذلك ، قادرين على أداء مهمة Stroop دون أي تغيير كبير في تماثل الذراع.

يتم التحكم في الذراع اليمنى عن طريق الجانب الأيسر من الدماغ ، كما هو مذكور في السابق ، حيث يتم تنشيط مناطق المعالجة أثناء اختبار ستروب.

في الرجال والنساء المسنات ، يبدو أن اختبار ستروب يطغى على الدماغ الأيسر إلى الحد الذي انخفض فيه حركة الذراع على اليمين.

قد تكون الهرمونات

في حين أن الرجال والنساء لديهم عدد من الاختلافات البيولوجية الهامة ، وهيكل ووظيفة نظامنا العصبي يبدو أن تكون متشابهة تماما. لذلك فقد كان من دواعي سرورنا العثور على مثل هذا الفرق المتسق بين الجنسين في كيفية تفاعل سلوكين بسيطين نسبيًا مع بعضهما البعض.

في حين يبدو للوهلة الأولى أن هذا دليل على أن المرأة قد تكون أفضل في تعدد المهام من الرجال ، فمن المهم أن نتذكر أن هذا يصف فقط اقتران سلوكين محددين للغاية: مهمة تداخل لفظي والحفاظ على تأرجح الذراع أثناء المشي.

ومع ذلك ، نعتقد أن حقيقة ما إذا كانت المرأة قبل انقطاع الطمث تبدو مقاومة للتدخل قد يكون لها علاقة بمنطقة معينة من الدماغ التي نعتقد أنها تستخدم لكل من مهمة Stroop والذراع البديل - القشرة المخية قبل الجبهية في مقدمة الدماغ.

هذا جزء معقد و تطوري حديث من الدماغ يبدو أن تشارك في كل من التحكم المعرفي والتحكم في بعض عناصر المشي.

هناك أيضا الكثير من الأدلة مستقبلات هرمون الاستروجين موجودة في هذه المنطقة. عندما يكون الإستروجين موجودًا ، يمكن أن يؤدي تنشيط هذه المستقبلات إلى إعادة تشكيل الشبكات العصبية وربما تحسين الوظيفة في القشرة المخية قبل الجبهية.

هذا قد يفسر لماذا النساء الأصغر سنا - اللواتي لديهن مستويات عالية نسبيا من الإستروجين ، على الأقل في أوقات معينة من الدورة الشهرية ، أكثر من الرجال والنساء الأكبر سنا - يبدو أنه قادر على معالجة مهمة Stroop في قشرة الفص الجبهي اليسرى دون أن يتداخل مع ذراع سوينغ.

هذا ، بطبيعة الحال ، لا تزال مضاربة ولكن يفسر النتائج بشكل جيد. وبما أن مستقبلات الإستروجين يفترض أنها موجودة أيضًا في القشرة الأمامية للإنسان ، فإن دور الإستروجين في الدماغ في كلا الجنسين قد يكون أكثر تعقيدًا مما نقدره حاليًا.

هناك مجالات الأدلة تفعيلها خلال مهمة Stroop تقع في النصف الأيسر من الكرة الأرضية. المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

كريستوفر س. إيستهوب ، باحث ، مركز إصابات النخاع الشوكي ، جامعة زيوريخ وتيم كيلين ، طبيب جراحة الأعصاب المقيم ، مستشفى سانت غالن ، جامعة زيوريخ

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = تعدد المهام، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Scientists May Have Proven Women Are Better At Multitasking Than Men

Scientists May Have Proven Women Are Better At Multitasking Than Men

Women are less affected by interference when carrying out certain tasks than men, and hormones may play a part in this discrepancy. Our recent experiment found that the walking pattern of men - who typically have low levels of oestrogen - changed when they had to perform a difficult verbal task at the same time.

By contrast, women who hadn’t yet reached menopause – and likely to have higher levels of oestrogen – showed no sign of such interference.

Published in the Royal Society Open Science journal, our research set out to explore the hypothesis that the ability to swing the right arm, controlled by the brain’s left hemisphere, would be inhibited if using that same part of the brain to perform another task at the same time.

We were surprised to find this inhibition was indeed present in men and women over the age of 60, but not in women under this age.

The Stroop test

Most of us pay little attention to how our limbs move when we walk. Instead, walking serves the simple purpose of getting us from one place to another. In other words walking, and the associated swinging of the arms, are semi-automatic, goal-directed behaviours.

But the coordination of our arm swing changes in a subtle fashion when we are asked to complete certain cognitive (thinking) tasks while walking.

As neuroscientists in the field of spinal cord injuries, our research group is interested in describing and understanding the effects of walking when also performing difficult tasks, and determining whether these additional conditions result in different adaptations to coordination.

This is especially useful when contrasting response patterns to those seen in patients in early stages of neuropathies – conditions resulting from problems in the nervous system.

Classically, a task used to distract research participants from another is the Stroop test, first proposed by John Ridley Stroop in the 1930s. Here, participants are shown a written colour word (such as “green”) written in an incongruent color (such as red).

The correct response is the colour of the word (in our example, red) although most people automatically read the word rather than saying the colour it is written in. The task is from the family of “interference” tasks where the brain must successfully integrate multiple and competing stimuli to achieve the correct response.

The brain networks and structures activated during this task have been extensively researched and there is indication they are generally found in the brain’s left hemisphere.

The Stroop test on a treadmill

Our experiment consisted of measuring walking patterns in 83 healthy male and female volunteers of different age groups (20 to 40, 40 to 60 and 60 to 80 years) on a treadmill.

The participants had to walk for a minute while also either completing a Stroop task or just walking normally.

Most participants swung their left and right arm symmetrically when just walking. However, when the men of any age group walked and performed the Stroop test at the same time, the swing in their right arm decreased dramatically. This was also the case in older women (over 60).

Women under 60, though, were able to perform the Stroop task with no significant change in arm-swing symmetry.

The right arm is controlled by the left side of the brain which, as mentioned earlier, is also where the processing areas activated during the Stroop test are.

In men and older women, the Stroop test appeared to overwhelm the left brain to the extent that the movement of the arm on the right was reduced.

It may be the hormones

While men and women have a number of important biological differences, the structure and function of our nervous system seems to be quite similar. So we were intrigued to find such a consistent gender difference in how two relatively simple behaviours interact with one another.

While at first glance this would seem to be proof women may be better at multitasking than men, it is important to remember this describes only the coupling of two highly specific behaviours: a verbal interference task and maintaining arm swing during walking.

However, we think the fact premenopausal women seem to be resistant to interference may have something to do with the specific region of the brain we believe is used for both the Stroop task and arm swing - the prefrontal cortex at the front of the brain.

This is a complex and evolutionarily-recent part of the brain that seems to be involved in both cognitive control and the control of some elements of walking.

There is also a lot of evidence oestrogen receptors are present in this region. When oestrogen itself is present, activation of these receptors can lead to the reshaping of neural networks and perhaps improved function in the prefrontal cortex.

This may explain why younger women – who have relatively high levels of oestrogen, at least at certain times of their menstrual cycle, than men and older women – seem to be able to process the Stroop task in their left prefrontal cortex without it interfering with their arm swing.

This is, of course, still speculative but explains the results nicely. As the oestrogen receptors are presumably also present in a man’s prefrontal cortex, the role of oestrogen on the brain in both sexes may be more complicated than we currently appreciate.

There is evidence areas activated during the Stroop task are located in the left hemisphere. The Conversation

About The Authors

Christopher S. Easthope, Researcher, Spinal Cord Injury Centre, University of Zurich and Tim Killeen, Neurosurgical Resident, Cantonal Hospital St. Gallen, University of Zurich

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Myth of Multitasking: How "Doing It All" Gets Nothing Done
performanceAuthor: Dave Crenshaw
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Jossey-Bass
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

The ONE Thing: The Surprisingly Simple Truth Behind Extraordinary Results
performanceAuthor: Gary Keller
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: Bard Press
List Price: $24.95

Buy Now

Singletasking: Get More Done-One Thing at a Time
performanceAuthor: Devora Zack
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}