لماذا تعطي أعيننا ما نشعر بالداخل

لماذا تعطي أعيننا ما نشعر بالداخل
تصوير: أليكس جريتش من مالطا. (CC 2.0)

لماذا عيوننا معبرة جدا؟ تشير الأبحاث الجديدة إلى أنها بدأت كرد فعل عالمي للمنبهات البيئية ، وتطورت لتوصيل العاطفة.

على سبيل المثال ، ارتبط الأشخاص في الدراسة باستمرار بالعين الضيقة - التي تعزز من تمييزنا البصري عن طريق منع الضوء وشحذ التركيز - مع العواطف المتعلقة بالتمييز ، مثل الاشمئزاز والشك. على النقيض من ذلك ، ربط الناس العيون المفتوحة - التي توسع مجال رؤيتنا - بعواطف مرتبطة بالحساسية ، مثل الخوف والرعب.

"لقد تطورت العينان على 500 منذ ملايين السنين من أجل رؤية البصر ، لكن الآن أصبحت ضرورية لبصيرة الشخص."

يقول آدم أندرسون ، أستاذ التنمية البشرية بكلية الإيكولوجيا البشرية بجامعة كورنيل: "عند النظر إلى الوجه ، تسيطر العينان على التواصل العاطفي". "العيون هي" نوافذ للروح "على الأرجح لأنها أول قناة للبصر. تؤثر التغيرات التعبيرية الانفعالية حول العين على كيفية رؤيتنا ، وهذا بدوره يربط الآخرين بما نفكر به ونشعر به. "

هذا العمل ، نشر في علوم النفسيةويبني على أبحاث أندرسون من 2013 ، والتي أظهرت أن تعبيرات الوجه البشرية ، مثل رفع حاجبيك ، نشأت من ردود الفعل العالمية التكيفية على بيئة الفرد ولم تشير في الأصل إلى التواصل الاجتماعي.

تدعم كلتا الدراستين نظريات تشارلز داروين في القرن العاشر حول تطور العاطفة ، والتي افترضت أن تعبيراتنا نشأت من أجل الوظيفة الحسية بدلاً من التواصل الاجتماعي.

يقول أندرسن: "ما بدأ عمله ينهار" ، وهي تفاصيل ما افترضه داروين: لماذا تبدو بعض التعبيرات كما يفعلون ، وكيف يساعد الشخص على إدراك العالم ، وكيف يستخدم الآخرون تلك التعبيرات لقراءة أعمق العواطف والنوايا. "

أنشأ أندرسون وشارك في تأليفه ، دانيال هـ. لي ، أستاذ علم النفس وعلم الأعصاب في جامعة كولورادو ، بولدر ، نماذج لستة تعابير - الحزن والاشمئزاز والغضب والفرح والخوف والمفاجأة - باستخدام صور الوجوه في قواعد البيانات المستخدمة على نطاق واسع .


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


رأى المشاركون في الدراسة زوجًا من العيون يشرح أحد التعبيرات الستة وأحد كلمات 50 التي تصف حالة عقلية معينة ، مثل التمييز والفضول والملل وما إلى ذلك. ثم صنف المشاركون مدى وصف الكلمة لتعبير العين. أكمل كل مشارك تجارب 600.

يتطابق المشاركون باستمرار مع تعبيرات العين مع العاطفة الأساسية المقابلة ، بدقة التمييز بين جميع العواطف الأساسية الستة من العين وحدها.

حلل أندرسون بعد ذلك كيف أن هذه التصورات للحالات العقلية تتعلق بميزات محددة للعين. وشملت هذه الميزات انفتاح العين ، والمسافة من الحاجب إلى العين ، والمنحدر ومنحنى الحاجب ، والتجاعيد حول الأنف ، والمعبد ، وأسفل العين.

وجدت الدراسة أن انفتاح العين كان أكثر ارتباطاً بقدرتنا على قراءة الحالات العقلية للآخرين بناء على تعبيرات العين. تعكس التعبيرات الضيقة العين الحالات الذهنية المتعلقة بالتمييز البصري المعزز ، مثل الشك وعدم الرضا ، في حين أن التعبيرات المفتوحة العين المرتبطة بالحساسية البصرية ، مثل الفضول. كما أبلغت ملامح أخرى حول العين ما إذا كانت الحالة العقلية إيجابية أم سلبية.

علاوة على ذلك ، أدار أندرسون المزيد من الدراسات التي تقارن مدى كفاءة المشاركين في الدراسة في قراءة العواطف من منطقة العين إلى مدى قدرتها على قراءة العواطف في مناطق أخرى من الوجه ، مثل الأنف أو الفم. وجدت تلك الدراسات أن العينين أعطت مؤشرات أكثر قوة على المشاعر.

هذه الدراسة ، كما يقول أندرسون ، كانت الخطوة التالية في نظرية داروين ، سائلاً كيف انتهى استخدام تعبيرات الدالة الحسية في وظيفة الاتصال للحالات العقلية المعقدة.

يقول أندرسون: "لقد تطورت العينان على 500 منذ ملايين السنين من أجل رؤية البصر ، ولكنهما ضروريتان الآن لبصيرة الشخص".

المصدر: ستيفن دانجيلو جامعة كورنيل

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = eyes windows of the soul؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Our Eyes Give Away What We’re Feeling Inside

Why Our Eyes Give Away What We’re Feeling Inside
Photo Credit: Alex Grech from Malta. (CC 2.0)

Why are our eyes so expressive? It started as a universal reaction to environmental stimuli, new research suggests, and evolved to communicate emotion.

For example, people in the study consistently associated narrowed eyes—which enhance our visual discrimination by blocking light and sharpening focus—with emotions related to discrimination, such as disgust and suspicion. In contrast, people linked open eyes—which expand our field of vision—with emotions related to sensitivity, like fear and awe.

“The eyes evolved over 500 million years ago for the purposes of sight but now are essential for interpersonal insight.”

“When looking at the face, the eyes dominate emotional communication,” says Adam Anderson, professor of human development at Cornell University’s College of Human Ecology. “The eyes are ‘windows to the soul’ likely because they are first conduits for sight. Emotional expressive changes around the eye influence how we see, and in turn, this communicates to others how we think and feel.”

This work, published in Psychological Science, builds on Anderson’s research from 2013, which demonstrated that human facial expressions, such as raising your eyebrows, arose from universal, adaptive reactions to one’s environment and did not originally signal social communication.

Both studies support Charles Darwin’s 19th-century theories on the evolution of emotion, which hypothesized that our expressions originated for sensory function rather than social communication.

“What our work is beginning to unravel,” says Anderson, “are the details of what Darwin theorized: why certain expressions look the way they do, how that helps the person perceive the world, and how others use those expressions to read our innermost emotions and intentions.”

Anderson and his coauthor, Daniel H. Lee, professor of psychology and neuroscience at the University of Colorado, Boulder, created models of six expressions—sadness, disgust, anger, joy, fear, and surprise—using photos of faces in widely used databases.

Study participants saw a pair of eyes demonstrating one of the six expressions and one of 50 words describing a specific mental state, such as discriminating, curious, bored, etc. Participants then rated the extent to which the word described the eye expression. Each participant completed 600 trials.

Participants consistently matched the eye expressions with the corresponding basic emotion, accurately discerning all six basic emotions from the eyes alone.

Anderson then analyzed how these perceptions of mental states related to specific eye features. Those features included the openness of the eye, the distance from the eyebrow to the eye, the slope and curve of the eyebrow, and wrinkles around the nose, the temple, and below the eye.

The study found that the openness of the eye was most closely related to our ability to read others’ mental states based on their eye expressions. Narrow-eyed expressions reflected mental states related to enhanced visual discrimination, such as suspicion and disapproval, while open-eyed expressions related to visual sensitivity, such as curiosity. Other features around the eye also communicated whether a mental state is positive or negative.

Further, Anderson ran more studies comparing how well study participants could read emotions from the eye region to how well they could read emotions in other areas of the face, such as the nose or mouth. Those studies found the eyes offered more robust indications of emotions.

This study, says Anderson, was the next step in Darwin’s theory, asking how expressions for sensory function ended up being used for communication function of complex mental states.

“The eyes evolved over 500 million years ago for the purposes of sight but now are essential for interpersonal insight,” Anderson says.

Source: Stephen D’Angelo for Cornell University

Related Books

The Eye's are the Windows to the Soul: And They Want In
communicationAuthor: J. Alexander Woods
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Independently published
List Price: $7.99

Buy Now

Refreshing Vision: Opening the Windows of the Soul (Natural Vision & Eye Care) (Volume 1)
communicationAuthor: Dr. Glen Swartwout
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $49.97

Buy Now

Brain Code: The Eye Is The Window To The Soul
communicationAuthor: M Mary C Johnson
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}