Warum Gesundheitsberatung erfolgreicher ist, wenn Sie darauf achten

Warum Gesundheitsberatung erfolgreicher ist, wenn Sie darauf achten

Wenn Sie Gesundheitsbotschaften hören - wie Rauchen aufhören oder mehr Bewegung bekommen - fühlen Sie sich motiviert oder beschämt? Eine neue Studie legt nahe, wie wir reagieren, hängt davon ab, wie aufmerksam wir sind.

Laut Yoona Kang, Postdoktorandin an der Annenberg School of Communication an der Universität von Pennsylvania, "ist Achtsamkeit normalerweise so definiert, dass sie sich des gegenwärtigen Moments bewusst ist" und es gibt Beweise, dass negative Reaktionen auf emotional aufgeladene Situationen reduziert werden können.

"Gesundheitsberichterstattung führt oft dazu, dass Menschen auf negative Weise emotional reagieren. Deshalb haben wir Faktoren wie Achtsamkeit untersucht, die möglicherweise Menschen dazu bewegen können, für Gesundheitsnachrichten empfänglicher und motivierter zu sein, ihr Verhalten zu ändern", sagt Emily Falk, Dozentin von Kommunikation und Senior Autor des in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichten Papiers Achtsamkeit.

Die Studie versammelte eine Gruppe von Menschen, die nur wenig wöchentlich trainieren und sie einer Vielzahl von Gesundheitsnachrichten aussetzten. Die Forscher beobachteten die Reaktionen der Teilnehmer auf die Gesundheitsbotschaften, zeichneten ihre Motivation (oder deren Fehlen) auf, um ihr Verhalten zu ändern, und erkundigten sich später, ob die Teilnehmer tatsächlich Änderungen in ihrem Verhalten vorgenommen hätten.

Um zu beurteilen, wie aufmerksam jeder Mensch in seinem täglichen Leben war, baten die Forscher alle Teilnehmer, das zu beenden Achtsame Aufmerksamkeits-Skala (MAAS). Die MAAS setzt sich aus 15-Szenarien zusammen - darunter "Ich vergesse den Namen einer Person fast so schnell wie mir das zum ersten Mal gesagt wurde" und "Ich neige dazu, schnell zu gehen, um dorthin zu kommen, ohne auf das zu achten, was ich Erfahrung auf dem Weg "- die auf einer Skala von 1-6 beantwortet werden und von" fast immer "bis" fast nie "reichen. Je höher die Gesamtpunktzahl einer Person ist, desto achtsamer wird diese Person betrachtet.

Motivation oder Scham

Die Studie zeigte, dass weniger aufmerksame Menschen auch weniger eine positive Veränderung in ihrem Verhalten als Antwort auf Gesundheitsnachrichten machen.

"Manche Menschen fühlten sich, als sie mit Gesundheitsbotschaften konfrontiert wurden, wirklich schlecht über sich selbst", sagt Falk, "und das hat ihnen nicht geholfen, ihr Verhalten zu ändern. Und auf lange Sicht hilft es uns nicht, eine gesündere und glücklichere Bevölkerung zu haben. "

Menschen, die achtsamer sind, reagierten jedoch weniger negativ auf Gesundheitsnachrichten und schämten sich weniger dafür. Diese wiederum änderten ihr Verhalten eher, um gesünder zu sein.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Die Ergebnisse der Forscher ergänzen die wachsende Literatur über die gesundheitlichen Vorteile von Achtsamkeit, und sie glauben, dass dies wichtige Implikationen hat.

"Individuen können davon profitieren, dass sie achtsame Aufmerksamkeit entwickeln, wenn sie potenziell bedrohliche, aber nützliche Gesundheitsinformationen verarbeiten", sagt Kang. "Es ist möglich, dass die Einbeziehung von Achtsamkeits-Kultivierung in bestehende Interventionsstrategien ein verbreiteteres positives Gesundheitsverhalten fördern kann."

Weitere Forscher von der Annenberg School und der University of Michigan beigetragen. Die National Institutes of Health stellten Mittel zur Verfügung.

Quelle: University of Pennsylvania

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Achtsamkeit und Gesundheit; maxresults = 5}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Health Advice Is More Successful If You’re Mindful

Why Health Advice Is More Successful If You’re Mindful

When you hear health messages—such as quit smoking or get more exercise—do you feel motivated or ashamed? A new study suggests how we react may depend on how mindful we are.

According to Yoona Kang, a postdoctoral fellow at the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania, “mindfulness is usually defined as having awareness of the present moment” and there’s evidence it can reduce negative reactions to emotionally charged situations.

“Health messaging often causes people to react emotionally in negative ways, so we investigated factors—including mindfulness—that could potentially influence people to be more receptive to health messages and more motivated to change their behavior,” says Emily Falk, an associate professor of communication and senior author of the paper published in the journal Mindfulness.

The study assembled a group of people who achieve only low levels of weekly exercise and exposed them to a variety of health messages. The researchers observed the reactions of the participants to the health messages, recorded their motivation (or lack thereof) to change their behavior, and later inquired as to whether the participants had actually made any changes in their behavior.

In order to gauge how mindful each person was in their day-to-day lives, the researchers asked each participant to complete the Mindful Attention Awareness Scale (MAAS). The MAAS is composed of 15 scenarios—including “I forget a person’s name almost as soon as I’ve been told it for the first time” and “I tend to walk quickly to get where I’m going without paying attention to what I experience along the way”—that are answered on a scale of 1-6, ranging from “almost always” to “almost never.” The higher a person’s total score, the more mindful that person is considered to be.

Motivation or shame

The study showed that less mindful people were also less likely to make a positive change in their behavior as a response to health messaging.

“Some people, when confronted with health messages, felt really bad about themselves,” says Falk, “and that didn’t help them change their behavior. And in the long run, it doesn’t help us have a healthier, happier population.”

People who are more mindful, however, reacted less negatively to health messages and were less likely to feel ashamed by them. These people, in turn, were also more likely to change their behavior to be healthier.

The researchers’ findings add to the growing literature on the health benefits of mindfulness, and they believe this has important implications.

“Individuals may benefit from cultivating mindful attention when processing potentially threatening yet beneficial health information,” says Kang. “It’s possible that incorporating mindfulness cultivation into existing intervention strategies can promote more widespread positive health behavior.”

Additional researchers from the Annenberg School and the University of Michigan contributed. The National Institutes of Health provided funding.

Source: University of Pennsylvania

Related Books:

TIME Mindfulness: The New Science of Health and Happiness
healthAuthor: The Editors Of TIME
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: TIME
List Price: $13.99

Buy Now

A Clinician's Guide to Teaching Mindfulness: The Comprehensive Session-by-Session Program for Mental Health Professionals and Health Care Providers
healthAuthor: Christiane Wolf MD PhD
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • New Harbinger Publications

Publisher: New Harbinger Publications
List Price: $49.95

Buy Now

Mindfulness Skills Workbook for Clinicians and Clients: 111 Tools, Techniques, Activities & Worksheets
healthAuthor: Debra Burdick
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: PESI Publishing & Media
List Price: $29.99

Buy Now

Mindfulness Skills for Kids & Teens: A Workbook for Clinicians & Clients with 154 Tools, Techniques, Activities & Worksheets
healthAuthor: Debra Burdick
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: PESI Publishing & Media
List Price: $29.99

Buy Now

Mindfulness for Health: A practical guide to relieving pain, reducing stress and restoring wellbeing
healthAuthor: Dr. Danny Penman
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Piatkus Books

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}