شيء بجانب العاطفة روابط الصرع والدين

شيء بجانب العاطفة روابط الصرع والدين

ربما كشف الباحثون عن وجود صلة بين التدين - وهو التصرف في التجربة الروحية والنشاط الديني - والصرع.

وقد تم الاعتراف بهذا الارتباط بين الصرع وتجربة دينية متزايدة منذ القرن 19th على الأقل.

"لقد أشارت الأبحاث السابقة إلى أن البشر قد يكون لديهم ميول عصبية مميزة تجاه التوجه الروحي" ، كما يقول بريك جونستون ، وهو طبيب نفسي عصبي وأستاذ علم النفس الصحي في جامعة ميسوري. "يدعم هذا البحث فكرة أن الميل البشري للخبرات الدينية أو الروحية يمكن أن يستند إلى عصبية."

يقول دانيال كوهين ، المؤلف المشارك والأستاذ المساعد في الدراسات الدينية: "الهدف النهائي من هذا البحث هو فهم ما إذا كان هناك نوع من الاتصال بين الدماغ والخبرة الروحية". "إذا كان هناك اتصال ، فما الذي يعنيه بالنسبة للإنسان وعلاقته بالدين؟"

في دراستهم ، طلب الباحثون من الأفراد المصابين بالصرع إجراء مسحين. قام المسح الأول بتقييم الخصائص السلوكية المرتبطة تحديدًا بالصرع. مسح الاستطلاع الثاني الأنشطة الدينية والتوجهات الروحية.

بلغ متوسط ​​المشاركين 39 عامًا ، وكانت غالبية المشاركين بيضاء ؛ تم تعريف 32 في المائة على أنها بروتستانتية ، و 10 في المائة ككاثوليكية ، و 5 في المائة بوذي ، و 5 في المائة بالملحدة ، و 38 في المائة ، و 10 في المائة لم تُشير إلى أي انتماء ديني.

"وجدنا علاقة قوية بين الأفكار الدينية الفلسفية والصرع ، ولكن ليس هناك علاقة بين التفكير العاطفي والصرع" ، كما يقول جريسون هوليداي ، وهو طالب مشارك وطالب يدرس علم النفس. "تشير هذه الدراسة إلى أن الناس قد يكون لديهم استعدادات عصبية طبيعية للتفكير في الدين ولكن ليس بطريقة مرتبطة بالضرورة بالعاطفة".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


واستناداً إلى النتائج ، فإن الأبحاث المستقبلية من جونستون ، وهوليداي ، وكوهين ستقوم بدراسة التجارب الدينية قبل وبعد جراحة الدماغ للمساعدة في تحديد الطبيعة المحددة للعمليات النفسية العصبية ذات التوجه الديني.

يظهر العمل في المجلة الصحة العقلية والدين والثقافة.

مصدر: جامعة ميسوري

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = religious faith؛ maxresults = 5}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Something Besides Emotion Links Epilepsy And Religion

Something Besides Emotion Links Epilepsy And Religion

Researchers may have uncovered a link between religiosity—a disposition for spiritual experience and religious activity—and epilepsy.

This connection between epilepsy and heightened religious experience has been recognized since at least the 19th century.

“Past research has indicated that humans might have a distinctive neurological tendency toward being spiritually oriented,” says Brick Johnstone, a neuropsychologist and professor of health psychology at the University of Missouri. “This research supports the notion that the human propensity for religious or spiritual experiences may be neurologically based.”

“The end goal of this research is to understand if some type of connection exists between the brain and spiritual experience,” says Daniel Cohen, coauthor and assistant professor of religious studies. “If a connection exists, what does it mean for humans and their relationship with religion?”

In their study, the researchers asked individuals with epilepsy to take two surveys. The first survey assessed behavior characteristics specifically associated with epilepsy. The second survey measured religious activities and spiritual orientations.

The average participant was 39 years old, the majority of participants were white; 32 percent identified as Protestant, 10 percent as Catholic, 5 percent as Buddhist, 5 percent as atheist, 38 percent as other, and 10 percent did not indicate any religious affiliation.

“We found a strong correlation between philosophical religious thoughts and epilepsy, but no correlation between emotional thinking and epilepsy,” says Greyson Holliday, coauthor and undergraduate student studying psychology. “This study suggests that people may have natural neurological predispositions to think about religion but not in a way that is necessarily associated with emotion.”

Based on the findings, future research from Johnstone, Holliday, and Cohen will examine religious experiences before and after brain surgery to help determine the specific nature of religiously oriented neuropsychological processes.

The work appears in the journal Mental Health, Religion and Culture.

Source: University of Missouri

Related Books

Hold the Faith: Early Christianity Comes to Life (The Apostle John Series Book 1)
EmotionAuthor: Susan Preston
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

How Far Is Faith? (padded board book) (Faith, Hope, Love)
EmotionAuthor: Amy Parker
Binding: Board book
Features:
  • How Far Is Faith Padded Board Book Faith Hope Love

Publisher: B&H Kids
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

Bad Faith: When Religious Belief Undermines Modern Medicine
EmotionAuthor: Paul Offit
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Basic Books
List Price: $27.99

Buy Now

Religious Signing: A Comprehensive Guide for All Faiths
EmotionAuthor: Elaine Costello Ph.D.
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Bantam
List Price: $22.00

Buy Now

A Greener Faith: Religious Environmentalism and Our Planet's Future
EmotionAuthor: Roger S. Gottlieb
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • A Greener Faith Religious Environmentalism and Our Planet s Future

Publisher: Oxford University Press
List Price: $40.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}