نظرة داخل عقول المؤمنين الحقيقيين ترامب

نظرة داخل عقول المؤمنين الحقيقيين ترامب

عندما أعطى دونالد ترامب عنوان البدء في جامعة الحرية في هذا الربيع ، أخبر الخريجين أن "أمريكا كانت دائمًا أرض الأحلام لأن أمريكا هي أمة المؤمنين الحقيقيين." جادل ترامب أنه في أمريكا "نحن لا نعبد الحكومة ، نحن نعبد الله ".

أظن أن الرئيس لم يكن يعلم أن مصطلح "المؤمن الحقيقي" اشتهر أكثر من 65 منذ سنوات في كتاب 1951 الخاص بـ Eric Hoffer ، "المؤمن الحقيقي: أفكار حول طبيعة الحركات الجماهيريةلم يحظ هوفر بتدريب أكاديمي ، بعد أن عمل بشكل أساسي كمدرب طويل. كتب "المؤمن الحقيقي" كرد فعل لصعود الفاشية والنازية والشيوعية. رغم كل الصعاب ، أصبح الكتاب من أكثر الكتب مبيعا.

وحلل هوفر بذكاء القوى التي تثير الحركات القومية والشمولية. ربما سخرت المفارقة من ملاحظة "المؤمنين الحقيقيين" لترامب كلا من الرئيس وجمهوره.

باعتباري طبيبًا نفسيًا ، فأنا مهتم بكيفية التلاعب بالمجموعات الضعيفة من خلال الكلام الخادع. أعتقد أن هناك أوجه تشابه مدهشة بين خطاب ترامب وبين العوامل التي استكشفها هوفر.

استهداف المؤمن الحقيقي

وكتب هوفر ، "لكي يغرق الرجال في مسيرة التغيير الهائل ، يجب أن يكونوا مستاءين بشكل كبير ولكن ليس معدمًا". يجب أن يكون لديهم أيضًا "مفهوم باهظ عن احتمالات وإمكانات المستقبل" و "يكونون جاهلين تمامًا الصعوبات التي ينطوي عليها مشروعهم الواسع. الخبرة هي عائق ".

استند جزء كبير من حملة ترامب إلى وعود بتغيير كبير ، مثل الإلغاء الفوري لأوباماكي. لم تأخذ هذه الوعود في الحسبان الصعوبات الكبيرة التي يفرضها التغيير الجذري. في الواقع ، في أواخر فبراير 2017 ، اعترف ترامب"لم يكن أحد يعرف أن الرعاية الصحية يمكن أن تكون معقدة للغاية". وبالطبع ، لم يكن لدى ترامب أي خبرة في المجال السياسي أو العام لإبلاغ قراراته الأكثر إثارة للجدل. ومع ذلك فهو يستهوي ببراعة هذا النقص في فضل كونه "غريب" تقاتل مؤسسة واشنطن الراسخة.

كان هوفر ينظر إلى "المؤمنين الحقيقيين" على أنهم "يتوقون إلى حياة جديدة - ولادة جديدة - أو ، في حال فشل ذلك ، فرصة لاكتساب عناصر جديدة من الفخر والثقة والأمل وإحساس بالهدف والقيمة من خلال تحديد الهوية بقضية مقدسة". إن الوعد المتكرر بـ "جعل أميركا رائعة مرة أخرى" تحدث إلى مثل هذا الحنين بين الناخبين الساخطين. غالبًا ما كانت هذه الرسالة تندمج مع نداءات إلى المسيحيين الإنجيليين. في الواقع ، الكتابة في "الجمهورية الجديدة" ، لاحظت سارة بوسنر أن "ترامب لعب بشكل فعال لجذور اليمين الديني في التفوق الأبيض."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


فهم هوفر أن المؤمن الحقيقي نادرا ما يهتم بالحقائق. كتب: "إنه من العبث الحكم على جدوى حركة جديدة من خلال حقيقة عقيدتها وجدوى وعودها".

استند خطاب ترامب إلى ما أطلق عليه المستشار الأقدم كيليان كونواي "حقائق بديلةوكرر ترامب وعوده التي اعتبرها معظم الخبراء أي شيء ولكن ممكن. He معلنعلى سبيل المثال ، "سأبني جدارًا كبيرًا ... على حدودنا الجنوبية ، وسأدفع المكسيك مقابل هذا الجدار. حدد كلماتي."

وقد أدرك هوفر أن "الحركات الجماهيرية يمكن أن ترتفع وتنتشر بدون إيمان في الإله ، ولكن بدون الإيمان بالشيطان". وعلاوة على ذلك ، فإن "الشيطان المثالي هو أجنبي ... ويجب أن يعطى عدو محلي سلالة أجنبية".

صحيح أن لغة ترامب الخطابية في حملته الانتخابية كانت تتحدث مراراً وتكراراً عن مواضيع مناهضة للمهاجرين ، وغالباً ما تحط من قدر المسلمين المكسيكيين. ورقة رابحة يتميز بشكل واضح القاضي غونزالو كورييل ك "كاره" و "مكسيكي" عندما كان كورييل يترأس دعاوى قضائية ضد جامعة ترامب - على الرغم من حقيقة أن كوريل ولد في ولاية إنديانا.

المحادثةوأخيرًا ، وصف هوفر "المؤمن الحقيقي" بأنه شخص مستعد للموت من أجل "القضية". وليس من الواضح كم من مؤيدي ترامب سيتناسبون مع هذا الوصف. لكن ترامب نفسه ربما وصف أتباعه الأكثر حماسة عندما قال"أنا يمكن أن أقف في منتصف الجادة الخامسة وأطلق النار على شخص ما ولن أفقد الناخبين". ربما كان إيريك هوفر قد وصف هؤلاء الناخبين "المؤمنين الحقيقيين" لترامب.

نبذة عن الكاتب

رونالد دبليو بيس ، أستاذ الطب النفسي ، محاضر في أخلاقيات البيولوجيا والإنسانيات في جامعة جامعة ولاية نيويورك الطبية. والأستاذ السريري للطب النفسي ، كلية الطب بجامعة تافتس ، جامعة تافتس

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = التسلط، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

A Look Inside The Minds Of Trump’s True Believers

A Look Inside The Minds Of Trump’s True Believers

When Donald Trump gave the commencement address at Liberty University this spring, he told the graduates that “America has always been the land of dreams because America is a nation of true believers.” Trump argued that, in America, “we don’t worship government; we worship God.”

I suspect the president was unaware that the term “true believer” was made famous more than 65 years ago in Eric Hoffer’s 1951 book, “The True Believer: Thoughts on the Nature of Mass Movements.” Hoffer had no academic training, having worked mainly as a longshoreman. He wrote “The True Believer” in reaction to the rise of fascism, Nazism and communism. Against all odds, the book became a best-seller.

Hoffer shrewdly analyzed the forces that spark nationalist and totalitarian movements. The irony of Trump’s “true believers” remark probably escaped both the president and his audience.

As a psychiatrist, I’m interested in how vulnerable groups can be manipulated by misleading rhetoric. I believe there are striking parallels between Trump’s rhetoric and the factors Hoffer explored.

Targeting the true believer

Hoffer wrote, “For men to plunge headlong into an undertaking of vast change, they must be intensely discontented yet not destitute.” They must also have “an extravagant conception of the prospects and potentialities of the future” and “be wholly ignorant of the difficulties involved in their vast undertaking. Experience is a handicap.”

Much of Trump’s campaign was based on promises of vast change, such as the immediate repeal of Obamacare. These promises never took into account the great difficulties of radical change. Indeed, in late February 2017, Trump acknowledged, “Nobody knew health care could be so complicated.” And, of course, Trump had no political or public sector experience to inform his most controversial decisions. Yet he masterfully parlayed this shortcoming into the virtue of being an “outsider” battling an entrenched Washington establishment.

Hoffer viewed “true believers” as craving “a new life – a rebirth – or, failing this, a chance to acquire new elements of pride, confidence, hope, a sense of purpose and worth by an identification with a holy cause.” Trump’s repeated promise to “make America great again” spoke to such a longing among disaffected voters. This message was often fused with appeals to evangelical Christians. Indeed, writing in The New Republic, Sarah Posner observed that “Trump effectively played to the religious right’s own roots in white supremacy.”

Hoffer understood that the true believer is rarely concerned with facts. He wrote, “It is futile to judge the viability of a new movement by the truth of its doctrine and the feasibility of its promises.”

Trump’s rhetoric was based on what Senior Adviser Kellyanne Conway famously called “alternative facts.” And Trump repeatedly made promises that most experts considered anything but feasible. He proclaimed, for example, “I will build a great wall … on our southern border, and I will make Mexico pay for that wall. Mark my words.”

Hoffer recognized that “Mass movements can rise and spread without belief in a God, but never without belief in a devil.” Furthermore, “the ideal devil is a foreigner…[and] a domestic enemy must be given a foreign ancestry.”

True to form, Trump’s campaign rhetoric repeatedly invoked anti-immigrant themes, often disparaging Muslims and Mexicans. Trump famously characterized Judge Gonzalo Curiel as a “hater” and a “Mexican” when Curiel was presiding over lawsuits against Trump University – despite the fact that Curiel was born in Indiana.

The ConversationFinally, Hoffer described the “true believer” as someone willing to die for “the cause.” It’s not clear how many of Trump’s supporters would fit that description. But Trump himself may have characterized his most fervid followers when he said, “I could stand in the middle of Fifth Avenue and shoot somebody and I wouldn’t lose voters.” Eric Hoffer might well have called those voters Trump’s “true believers.”

About The Author

Ronald W. Pies, Professor of Psychiatry, Lecturer on Bioethics & Humanities at SUNY Upstate Medical University; and Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, Tufts University School of Medicine, Tufts University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Authoritarianism and Polarization in American Politics
democracyAuthor: Marc J. Hetherington
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: Cambridge University Press
List Price: $30.99

Buy Now

Authoritarianism Goes Global: The Challenge to Democracy (A Journal of Democracy Book)
democracyBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • Authoritarianism Goes Global The Challenge to Democracy

Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
List Price: $34.95

Buy Now

Competitive Authoritarianism: Hybrid Regimes after the Cold War (Problems of International Politics)
democracyAuthor: Steven Levitsky
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: Cambridge University Press
List Price: $35.99

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}