لماذا قدمت هذه المدينة الهولندية للاجئين منزلاً دائمًا؟

لماذا قدمت هذه المدينة الهولندية للاجئين منزلاً دائمًا؟

عندما وصل لاجئو 500 إلى مجتمعهم ، كان سكان زاندام يشعرون بالقلق. ولكن بحلول الوقت الذي يمكن للقادمين الجدد التقدم للحصول على وضع الإقامة في أوروبا ، لم يرغب جيرانهم في مغادرة البلاد.

كان مشهد غريب بالنسبة لسكان زاندام ، وهي مدينة هولندية غريبة 15 على بعد دقائق بالقطار من أمستردام. وقد امتلأت فجأة بحديقة عامة في قرية معروفة بطواحين الهواء والقناطر الخشبية التابعة للقرن 18th مع صفوف من الخيام البيضاء. وصل خمسمائة لاجئ ، معظمهم من سوريا والعراق ، معظمهم من الرجال ، بالحافلة في أكتوبر 2015. غادر معظمهم وراءهم المنازل والعائلات وسبل العيش وأي مظهر من مظاهر الحياة الطبيعية.

كانت هذه المجموعة مجرد جزء ضئيل من ملايين اللاجئين الذين خاطروا بحياتهم الفارين إلى أوروبا كجزء من أكبر هجرة منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية ، وأثار كلا من أعمال الإيثار تجاه الناجين من المعابر الخطرة وموجة من كراهية الأجانب و الخوف. إن انتصار خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي ، والترشح اليميني الأخير في أوروبا ، وانتخاب دونالد ترامب ، كلها ترجع جزئياً على الأقل إلى الخوف الذي صاحب هذه الهجرة الجماعية.

في Zaandam ، السكان الذين حضروا اجتماع بلدة مع رئيس البلدية أثار أسئلة حول اللاجئين. من سيدفع تكاليف صيانته؟ هل سكان البلدة آمنون؟

ومع ذلك ، فتحت كنيسة عبر الشارع من الحديقة أبوابها للاجئين يوميًا لتناول القهوة أو الشاي أو الدروس الهولندية أو مجرد كلام.

تعيش سونيا أورتمانز ، كاتبة ومحامية سابقة ، مع زوجها وطفليها بالقرب من الحديقة في هذه المدينة التي عاشت فيها معظم حياتها. كانت قلقة بشأن القادمين الجدد ، لكنهم لم يعرفوا كيف يساعدون.

ثم قرأت في الجريدة المحلية عن أحد الرجال السوريين في المخيم ، محمود ، وهو محام ، أراد أن يتعرف على القانون والعادات الهولندية وأن يعمل في المجال القانوني في هولندا. قرر أورتمانز التواصل مع محمود لمعرفة ما إذا كان بإمكانه مساعدته في إيجاد طريق للعودة لممارسة مهنته. التقيا واتصلوا بمحامين آخرين - بين اللاجئين والهولنديين - وشكلوا في النهاية شبكة من المهنيين القانونيين. وقد قاموا معاً بزيارة المحاكم الدولية في لاهاي وحضروا محاضرات. كانت هذه بداية ما أصبح صداقة عميقة.

أولاً ، كان عليهم أن يروا بعض الاحتياجات العاجلة. تورط أورتمانز الآباء في مدرسة أطفالها في جمع الملابس وغيرها من الضروريات ، وانضم بعضهم للمتطوعين في الكنيسة في تقديم دروس اللغة الهولندية. شارك المزيد والمزيد من السكان.

"عندما تنفتح على الناس ، تجد كنوزًا لا يمكن تفسيرها".

في هذه الأثناء ، كان القادمون الجدد يفعلون ما يحتاجون إلى القيام به للاستمرار. وقال أحد الذين وجدوا وظيفة غسالة صحون لأورتمانس إنه شعر بالسخرية من موظفي المطعم الآخرين الذين استهوا به لتحدثه اللغة العربية. وأشار أورتمانز إلى أن هؤلاء الزملاء لم يعرفوا الكثير عن ثقافته ، وألمع إليها أن لديها معرفة قليلة جداً عن العراق وسوريا.

لذا بدأت دراسة اللغة العربية. قالت لي عندما زرتها خلال زيارة أخيرة إلى أمستردام: "عندما تفتح أمام الناس ، تجد كنوزًا لا يمكن تفسيرها".

"إذا لم تقم بذلك ، فسوف ترى ثقافة أخرى من مكان تفوق" ، قالت. "نحن فخورون بثروتنا ، لكن ألم نحصل في العالم الغربي على الكثير من ثرواتنا من الاستعمار والاستخراج؟"

في الوقت الذي كان اللاجئون يستطيعون التقدم للحصول على وضع الإقامة في أوروبا ، كان أهالي المدينة مرتبطين بهم ولم يرغبوا في مغادرتهم. وضغطوا على مجلس المدينة ، وطلبوا دعوة اللاجئين لجعل زاندام منزلهم الدائم.

"بالنسبة لي ، الحل هو مجتمع يمكننا العيش فيه معاً كأنداد".

قاوم الكثيرون في الولايات المتحدة الخطاب المعادي للمهاجرين. وظهر الآلاف في المطارات للترحيب بالمهاجرين بعد صدور الأمر التنفيذي للرئيس ترامب بحظر المهاجرين من سبعة بلدان ذات أغلبية مسلمة. تحدث زعماء الإيمان للعائلات التي كانوا على استعداد لاستضافتهم ، والذين منعهم الحظر من السفر إلى الولايات المتحدة. وحول آخرون كنائسهم إلى ملاجئ لحماية السكان غير الشرعيين من الترحيل. في مدن الملاذ الوطني ، لا يزال العديد من المسؤولين المنتخبين غير مقتنعين بالضغط من إدارة ترامب لإسقاط السياسات التي تحمي السكان غير المسجلين.

مثل سكان Zaandam ، العديد من المجتمعات الأمريكية تمد يد الصداقة. وبدلاً من الاعتقاد بأن هؤلاء القادمين الجدد يهددون بعض الأفكار القديمة عن التفوق الأوروبي-الأمريكي ، فإنهم يحتفلون بالطاقة ، وروح المبادرة ، والكنوز الثقافية التي يجلبها المهاجرون ، مما يعمق مجتمعاتهم ويحييها.

قال لي أورتمانز "بالنسبة لي ، الحل هو مجتمع يمكننا العيش فيه معاً على قدم المساواة". "وهذا يعني بالفعل انفتاحًا على الثقافات الأخرى ، وفي الوقت نفسه أخذ نظرة واضحة وصادقة داخل ماضينا. من هذا المكان ، يمكن أن يتطور الاتصال الحقيقي ويمكن أن يحدث الشفاء ".

عن المؤلف

سارة فان جيلدر هو المؤسس المشارك ورئيس التحرير التنفيذي لنعم! مجلة وYesMagazine.orgكتبت سارة فان جيلدر هذه المقالة لـ نعم فعلا! مجلةمنظمة إعلامية وطنية غير ربحية تدمج الأفكار القوية والإجراءات العملية. سارة هي المؤسس المشارك والمدير التنفيذي لـ YES! مجلة و YesMagazine.org. إنها تقود تطوير كل عدد ربع سنوي من YES! ، وتكتب الأعمدة والمقالات ، وكذلك المدونات في YesMagazine.org وعلى Huffington Post. تتحدث سارة أيضًا وكثيرًا ما تتم مقابلتها في الإذاعة والتلفزيون على أحدث الابتكارات التي تظهر أن عالمًا آخر ليس ممكنًا فحسب ، بل يتم إنشاؤه أيضًا. وتشمل المواضيع البدائل الاقتصادية ، والأغذية المحلية ، والحلول لتغير المناخ ، وبدائل للسجون ، واللاعنف النشط ، والتعليم من أجل عالم أفضل ، وأكثر من ذلك.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why This Dutch City Offered Refugees a Permanent Home

Why This Dutch City Offered Refugees a Permanent Home

When 500 refugees arrived in their community, residents of Zaandam were wary. But by the time the newcomers could apply for residency status in Europe, neighbors didn’t want them to leave. 

It was an odd sight for residents of Zaandam, a quaint Dutch town 15 minutes by train from Amsterdam. A public park in a village known for 18th-century windmills and wooden clogs had suddenly filled with rows of white tents. Five hundred refugees, mainly from Syria and Iraq, mostly men, had arrived by bus in October 2015. Most left behind homes, families, livelihoods, and any semblance of a normal life.

This group was just a fraction of the millions of refugees who had risked their lives fleeing to Europe as part of the largest migration since World War II, and it triggered both acts of altruism toward the survivors of the dangerous crossings and a wave of xenophobia and fear. The victory of Brexit, recent right-wing candidacies in Europe, and the election of Donald Trump have all been attributed at least in part to the fear that accompanied this mass migration.

In Zaandam, residents who attended a town meeting with the mayor raised questions about the refugees. Who would pay for their upkeep? Would town residents be safe?

Still, a church across the street from the park opened its doors to the refugees every day for coffee, tea, Dutch lessons, or just talk.

Sonja Ortmans, a writer and former lawyer, lives with her husband and two children near the park in this town where she has lived most of her life. She worried about the new arrivals, but didn’t know how to help.

Then she read in the local newspaper about one of the Syrian men in the camp, Mahmoud, a lawyer, who wanted to learn about Dutch law and customs and to work in the legal field in the Netherlands. Ortmans decided to reach out to Mahmoud to see if she could help him find a way back to practicing his profession. They met and contacted other attorneys—among the refugees and the Dutch—and eventually formed a network of legal professionals. Together, they visited international courts in The Hague and attended lectures. This was the start of what became a deep friendship.

First, though, they had to see to some immediate needs. Ortmans involved parents at her children’s school in collecting clothes and other necessities, and some joined the volunteers at the church in offering Dutch lessons. More and more residents got involved.

“When you open up to people, you find treasures that can’t be explained.”

Meanwhile, the newcomers were doing what they needed to do to get by. One who found a job as a dishwasher told Ortmans he felt mocked by the other restaurant staff who teased him for speaking Arabic. Ortmans pointed out that these coworkers knew little of his culture—and it dawned on her that she too had little knowledge of Iraq and Syria.

So she began studying Arabic. “When you open up to people, you find treasures that can’t be explained,” she told me when I visited her during a recent visit to Amsterdam.

“If you don’t do this, you will view another culture from a place of superiority,” she said. “We are proud of our wealth, but didn’t we in the Western world get much of our wealth from colonization and extraction?”

By the time the refugees could apply for residency status in Europe, the people of the town had bonded with them and didn’t want them to leave. They lobbied the city council, asking that the refugees be invited to make Zaandam their permanent home.

“To me, the solution is a society where we can live together as equals.”

Many in the United States have resisted anti-immigrant rhetoric. Thousands showed up at airports to welcome immigrants following President Trump’s executive order banning immigrants from seven Muslim-majority countries. Faith leaders spoke out for the families they were prepared to host, who were prevented by the ban from traveling to the United States. Others turned their churches into sanctuaries to protect undocumented residents from deportation. In the nation’s sanctuary cities, many elected officials remain undeterred by pressure from the Trump administration to drop policies that protect undocumented residents.

Like the people of Zaandam, many American communities are extending a hand of friendship. Instead of believing that these newcomers threaten some outdated notions of European-American superiority, they celebrate the energy, entrepreneurial spirit, and cultural treasures immigrants bring, which deepen and enliven their communities.

“To me, the solution is a society where we can live together as equals,” Ortmans told me. “That means really opening to the other cultures, at the same time taking a very clear and honest look inside about our own past. From this place, a true connection can evolve and healing can occur.”

About the Author

Sarah van Gelder is co-founder and Executive Editor of YES! Magazine and YesMagazine.orgSarah van Gelder wrote this article for YES! Magazine, a national, nonprofit media organization that fuses powerful ideas and practical actions. Sarah is co-founder and Executive Editor of YES! Magazine and YesMagazine.org. She leads the development of each quarterly issue of YES!, writes columns and articles, and also blogs at YesMagazine.org and on Huffington Post. Sarah also speaks and is frequently interviewed on radio and television on leading-edge innovations that show that another world is not only possible, it is being created. Topics include economic alternatives, local food, solutions to climate change, alternatives to prisons, and active nonviolence, education for a better world, and more.

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}