قانون السلام العظيم ومجلس أمهات العشيرة

قانون السلام العظيم ومجلس أمهات العشيرة
On اليمين هو عكس 2010 لعملة 1 من قبل توماس كليفلاند. (Haudenosaunee = الايروكوا)

يروي [إيروقوويس] من [بيسمكر] نبي الذي يمشي الأرض منذ عدّة سنون يحاول أن يقنع ال يحارب دول أن يتخلّى دمهم طرق ودفن الأحقاد تحت الشجرة السلام. Deganawidah يقال أنه تحدث من خلال Aionwatha، وبمساعدة من الأم الأولى عشيرة Jikonsahsehالذين أقنعوا شعبها بالاستماع إلى الكلمات النبوية ، أسسوا قانون السلام العظيم.

تروي التقاليد الشفهية هذا في تاريخ أواخر الصيف الذي وقع فيه الكسوف ، وتعاونت سينيكا باربرا أليس مان مع عالم الفلك جيري فيلدز في جامعة توليدو لتحديد العام نفسه. الجمع بين البيانات الفلكية والتقاليد الشفوية أكد مان والحقول أن قانون Iroquois Great of Peace قد سُن في AD 1142. وهذا يعني أنه كان هناك شكل تمثيلي للحكومة يبقي السلام على امتداد واسع للأمريكتين لمئات السنين قبل ولادة كولومبوس.

كانت أمهات العشائر هي المحكمة العليا في مجتمعهن

تتم مقارنة دور الأمهات العشائر مع دور المحكمة العليا في تصميم الولايات المتحدة. وذلك لأن "الأمهات العشائر" اتخذت جميع القرارات الأكثر أهمية ونهائية في مجتمعهم. السبب الذي جعل نظام قانون السلام العظيم يعمل بشكل جيد لجامعة إيروكوا ، ولمدة طويلة ، ولكنه عمل بشكل جيد فقط لليورو -أمريكيين ولـ 200 فقط بعض السنوات ، لأن الأوروبيين الأمريكيين تركوا النساء والأسرة ومفهوم العيش في علاقة مع الأرض.

نظام Iroquois كان له طبقة ثانية في ظل كونفدرالية ، التي تم تجاهلها أو لم يكن ينظر إليها على أنها مهمة بالنسبة لصائعي الدستور. هذا المستوى الثاني هو نظام العشيرة للعائلات ، وكان نظام العشيرة يحكمه النساء.

ترك الاهتمام بالروحانية والعلاقات خارج عملية صنع القرار في الحكومة عندما لم تتم دعوة نساء الثورة الأمريكية إلى توريث الدور القوي الذي احتفظ به الايروكوا لأمهاتهم. ربما اعتقد رجال الجيل الثوري أنهم يستطيعون التعامل مع ثورة واحدة فقط في كل مرة.

كانت النساء محكمات السلام والحرب

ومع ذلك ، لم يكن وضع النساء المرتفع بين الايروكوي غير معروف للجيل الثوري. تشير باربرا أليس مان إلى أقدم تقارير جيزة حول الاتصال مع الايروكوا في أوائل 1700s ، حيث لاحظوا قوة المرأة:

لا شيء حقيقي أكثر من تفوق النساء. إنهم هم الذين يحافظون على القبيلة ونبل الدم وشجرة الأنساب وترتيب الأجيال وحفظ العائلات. فيها يقيم كل السلطة الحقيقية. . . هم روح المجالس وحكام السلام والحرب. يحملون الضرائب والكنز العام. لهم أن يعهد الأسرى ؛ يرتبون الزواج. الأطفال تحت سلطتهم ؛ وترتيب الخلافة قائم على دمائهم ".

ما تمثال الحرية المستفاد من الأميرة الهندية

كتب توماس باين عن إلهة الحرية في قصيدته 1775 "شجرة الحرية" التي يصفها بأنها تنزل من السماء لزرع شجرة الحرية - وهو مفهوم أمريكي أصلي. عندما وضع الفنانون المستعمرون أيديهم ، شوهدت الأميرة الهندية في كل مكان ، بدعم من إلهة ليبرتي وتحيط بها العديد من الآلهة التكميلية الأخرى التي تمثل الحكمة والوفرة والنصر. بدأت الخطوط بينهما تتشوش عندما بدأت الأميرة الهندية ترتدي ملابس ليبرتي وتحمل أدواتها.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وبمجرد أن ولدت الأمة ، انفجرت الأميرة / الحرية الهندية في شعبيتها. استخدمت الحكومة الأمريكية الجديدة العلامة التجارية نسخة منقحة من الأميرة الهندية كرمز لأنفسهم على جميع ميداليات الكونغرس باستثناء واحدة منها.

ألمع العقول من الجيل الثوري تمت مهاجمة الأميركيين الأصليين

لفترة قصيرة في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة ، رأت أذهل العقول الثورية نفسها كأميرة هندية. لم يخجلوا من تقليد الأمريكيين الأصليين واعترفوا بمدى ما يدينون به لهم.

من منظورنا الحديث ، من الصعب تقدير النفوذ المهيمن الذي كان يتمتع به الهنود على المستعمرين خلال هذه الحقبة. في الأجيال السابقة للثورة ، سيطر الهنود على توازن القوى بين الفرنسيين والبريطانيين. سيطر الهنود على جميع المسارات الرئيسية للتجارة والتفاوض.

كان اكتشاف مجتمع من الهنود الذين يتمتعون بالحكم الذاتي في بيئة طبيعية غير فاسدة الشرارة اللازمة لوضع عصر التنوير في الحركة. بدأ الفلاسفة أمثال لوك ، روسو ، وفولتير يكتبون عن "الإنسان في حالته الطبيعية" ، في إشارة إلى الأمريكيين الأصليين وإدراكهم للحرية الفردية. كما قال لوك: "في بداية كل العالم كان أمريكاوقال روسو: "لقد وصلت الدولة إلى معظم الدول الهمجية المعروفة لنا. . . هي الدولة الأقل عرضة للثورات ، أفضل حالة للإنسان ".

كان للثورة الأمريكية بذورها في الفكر الأمريكي الأصلي

كان الأوروبيون يخافون الأمريكيين الأصليين ، لكنهم نما إلى الإعجاب بهم كذلك ، وتعلموا عنهم قادوا الفلاسفة الأوروبيين الكبار إلى تحدي السيطرة الهرمية القديمة للكنيسة والدولة ، التي بلغت ذروتها في نهاية المطاف في الثورة الأمريكية.

الدليل الأكثر إقناعاً هو رؤية هذه الآراء في كلمات المؤسسين أنفسهم. جون آدامز كتب في كتابه الدفاع عن الدساتير في 1787 أن الدستور الأمريكي كان محاولة "لإنشاء حكومة. . . الهنود الحديثون. "

دعا المؤتمر القاري الثاني 21 Iroquois sachems لمراقبة المناقشات حول الاستقلال في مايو ويونيو من 1776. خيم الهنود في الغرفة فوق الكونغرس في الطابق الثاني. في نهاية فترة الملاحظة هذه ، أعطوا جون هانكوك ، رئيس المؤتمر ، اسمًا هنديًا ، Karanduanأو الشجرة الكبرى ، يشبهه بقانون السلام العظيم الخاص به ، المحور المركزي الذي تشع حوله جميع قوانينه.

© 2016. جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
كتب المصير (التقاليد الداخلية). www.InnerTraditions.com.

المادة المصدر

سر الحياة من سيدة الحرية: آلهة في العالم الجديد من قبل روبرت هييرونيمس ولورا E. كورتنر.الحياة السرية للسيدة ليبرتي: إلهة في العالم الجديد
روبرت هيرونيمس ولورا إي. كورتنر.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

حول المؤلف

لورا اي. كورتنرروبرت هييرونيمس ، دكتوراه. هو مؤرخ معروف دوليًا وفنانًا مرئيًا ومضيفًا إذاعيًا ، وقد ظهر في التاريخ والاكتشاف و BBC و National Geographic. مضيف 21st Century Radio، يعيش في ولاية ماريلاند.

شاركت Laura E. Cortner في تأليف العناوين السابقة مع Robert Hieronimus بما في ذلك الآباء المؤسسين ، الجمعيات السرية . المتحدة رمزية أمريكا. عملها يظهر بانتظام في الدوريات مثل مجلة UFO, مجلة Fate، والعديد من منشورات البيتلز. وهي مديرة مركز الصحة المجتمعية في روسكومب مانشن.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Great Law of Peace and the Council of the Clan Mothers

The Great Law of Peace and the Council of the Clan Mothers
On the right is the 2010 reverse of the $1 coin by Thomas Cleveland. (Haudenosaunee = Iroquois)

The Iroquois tell of a Peacemaker prophet who walked the lands many years ago trying to convince the warring nations to give up their blood feud ways and bury the hatchet under the Tree of Peace. Deganawidah is said to have spoken through Aionwatha, and with the help of the first Clan Mother Jikonsahseh, who convinced her people to listen to the prophetic words, they established the Great Law of Peace.

The oral traditions recount this happened on a date in late summer on which an eclipse occurred, and Seneca Barbara Alice Mann collaborated with astronomer Jerry Fields at the University of Toledo to pinpoint the very year. Combining astronomical data with oral traditions Mann and Fields have confirmed the Iroquois Great Law of Peace was enacted in A.D. 1142. This means there has been a representational form of government keeping the peace over a wide expanse of the Americas for hundreds of years before Columbus was even born.

The Clan Mothers Were The Supreme Court of Their Society

The role of the Clan Mothers is compared to that of the Supreme Court in the U.S. design. That is because the Clan Mothers made all the most important and final decisions in their society. The reason the Great Law of Peace system worked so well for the League of the Iroquois, and for so long, but has worked only partially well for the Euro-Americans and for only 200 some years, is because the Euro-Americans left out the women, the family and the concept of living in relationship with the Earth.

The Iroquois system had a second tier under their confederation, which was ignored or not perceived as important to the framers of the Constitution. That second tier was the Clan system of families, and the Clan system was ruled by the women.

Attention to spirituality and relationship were left out of government decision-making when the women of the American Revolution were not invited to inherit the powerful role the Iroquois reserved for their Clan Mothers. Perhaps the men of the Revolutionary generation believed they could handle only one revolution at a time.

The Women Were The Arbiters of Peace and War

The elevated status of women among the Iroquois was not unknown to the Revolutionary generation, however. Barbara Alice Mann points to the earliest Jesuit reports on contact with the Iroquois in the early 1700s, where they observed the women’s power:

“Nothing is more real than the women’s superiority. It is they who really maintain the tribe, the nobility of blood, the genealogical tree, the order of generations and conservation of the families. In them resides all the real authority . . . they are the soul of the councils, the arbiters of peace and war; they hold the taxes and the public treasure; it is to them that the captives are entrusted; they arrange the marriages; the children are under their authority; and the order of succession is founded on their blood.”

What the Statue of Liberty Learned from the Indian Princess

Thomas Paine wrote about the Goddess of Liberty in his 1775 poem “The Liberty Tree” in which he describes her coming down from the sky to plant the tree of liberty--a Native American concept. When the Colonial artists put their hands to it, the Indian Princess was seen everywhere, supported by the Liberty goddess and surrounded by many other supplemental goddesses representing wisdom, abundance, and victory. The lines between them began to blur as the Indian Princess started wearing Liberty’s clothes and carrying her implements.

Once the nation was born, the Indian Princess/Liberty really exploded in popularity. The brand new U.S. government used a refined version of the Indian Princess as the symbol for themselves on all but one of the earliest Congressional medals.

Brightest Minds of the Revolutionary Generation Emulated Native Americans

For a short while in U.S. history, the brightest minds of the Revolutionary generation saw themselves as this Indian Princess. They were not ashamed to emulate the Native Americans and acknowledge how much they owed to them.

From our modern perspective, it’s hard to appreciate the dominant influence the Indians had over the Colonists during this era. In the generations before the Revolution, the Indians controlled the balance of power between the French and the British. Indians controlled all the key routes for commerce and negotiation.

The discovery of a community of self-governing Indians in an uncorrupted natural environment was the spark needed to set the Age of Enlightenment in motion. Philosophers like Locke, Rousseau, and Voltaire started writing about “man in his natural state,” referring to the Native Americans and their realization of individual liberty. As Locke put it: “In the Beginning all the World was America.” Rousseau said, “The state reached by most of the savage nations known to us . . . [is] the state least subject to revolutions, the best state for man.”

American Revolution Had Its Seeds in Native American Thought

Europeans feared the Native Americans, but grew to admire them as well, and learning about them led the great European philosophers to challenge the age-old hierarchical control of the church and state, which eventually culminated in the American Revolution.

The most convincing evidence is to see these opinions in the words of the founders themselves. John Adams wrote in his Defence of the Constitutions in 1787 that the U.S. Constitution was their attempt to “set up a government of . . . modern Indians.”

The Second Continental Congress invited 21 Iroquois sachems to observe the debates over independence in May and June of 1776. The Indians camped out in the room above Congress on the second floor. At the end of this observation period, they gave John Hancock, the president of the Congress, an Indian name, Karanduan, or the Great Tree, likening him to their own Great Law of Peace, the central hub around which all their law radiated.

©2016. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Destiny Books (Inner Traditions). www.InnerTraditions.com.

Article Source

The Secret Life of Lady Liberty: Goddess in the New World by Robert Hieronimus and Laura E. Cortner.The Secret Life of Lady Liberty: Goddess in the New World
by Robert Hieronimus and Laura E. Cortner.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

About the Authors

Laura E. CortnerRobert Hieronimus, Ph.D. is an internationally known historian, visual artist, and radio host and has appeared on History, Discovery, BBC, and National Geographic. The host of 21st Century Radio, he lives in Maryland.

Laura E. Cortner has co-authored previous titles with Robert Hieronimus including Founding Fathers, Secret Societies and United Symbolism of America. Her work appears regularly in periodicals like UFO Magazine, FATE Magazine, and several Beatles publications. She is the director of the Ruscombe Mansion Community Health Center.
 

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}