لماذا استقال المعلمون؟

المدرسون لا يغادرون وظائفهم بسبب انخفاض الأجور والتقاعد ، كما تظهر الأبحاث الجديدة. تصوراتهم عن نظام التعليم المكسور تسهم أيضا.

في ثلاث دراسات ، يدرس خبراء التعليم ظاهرة جديدة نسبياً للمعلمين الذين ينشرون رسائل استقالتهم على الإنترنت. وتشير النتائج إلى أن التركيز على المستوى الوطني على الاختبارات القياسية والمنهج المكتوب وأنظمة تقييم المعلمين العقابية يحبط المربين والمثبطين في جميع مستويات الصف والخبرات.

في الولايات المتحدة ، يكلف دوران المعلم أكثر من $ 2.2 مليار سنويًا ويقلل من تحصيل الطلاب وفقًا لقراءات اختبار القراءة والرياضيات.

"لم أشعر أنني سأترك وظيفتي. شعرت آنذاك وأشعر الآن أن وظيفتي تركتني. "

تقول أليسا هادلي دان ، الأستاذ المساعد لتدريس المعلمين في جامعة ولاية ميشيغان: "الأسباب التي تجعل المعلمين يغادرون المهنة لا علاقة لها بالأسباب التي غالباً ما يروجها الإصلاحيون في مجال التعليم ، مثل الأجور أو سلوك الطلاب".

"بدلا من ذلك ، يغادر المدرسون إلى حد كبير لأن السياسات والممارسات القمعية تؤثر على ظروف عملهم ومعتقداتهم حول أنفسهم والتعليم".

مثال على ذلك هو خطاب الاستقالة المفتوحة لمدرسة مدرسة ابتدائية بوسطن سوزي سلويتر ، والتي ظهرت على واشنطن بوست بلوق:

"في هذا العصر المزعج من التجارب وجمع البيانات في المدارس العامة ،" كتبت في جزء منه ، "لقد رأيت مسيرتي تتحول إلى وظيفة لم يعد يناسب فهمي عن كيفية تعلم الأطفال وما يجب على المعلم القيام به في الفصول الدراسية لبناء بيئة صحية وآمنة وتنمية مناسبة للتعلم لكل طفل من أطفالنا.

"لم أشعر أنني سأترك وظيفتي. شعرت آنذاك وأشعر الآن أن وظيفتي تركتني. تقول سلويتر ، التي كانت تدرس لأكثر من سنوات 25 ، إنها مع الحب العميق والقلب المكسور الذي أكتب هذه الرسالة.

مثل هذه المشاعر من الهجر شائعة في خطابات الاستقالة ، يكتب الباحثون في واحدة من الدراسات المنشورة في المجلة اللسانيات والتربية.

الدراسة الثانية ، نشرت في التدريس وتعليم المعلمينتقترح أنه من خلال نشر خطابات الاستقالة على الإنترنت ، يكتسب المعلمون صوتًا في المجال العام الذي لم يكن لديهم من قبل. "جميع خطابات استقالة المعلمين ومقابلاتهم فيما بعد [مع الباحثين] تشهد على نقص الصوت والوكالة التي شعر المعلمون بها في وضع السياسات والتنفيذ" ، كما تقول الدراسة.

يجب على المشرفين أن يسمحوا للمدرسين بالمشاركة في تطوير المناهج والسياسات التعليمية حتى لا يشعروا أنه ليس لديهم خيار سوى الاستقالة (ثم الإعلان عنها علنا) من أجل إسماع أصواتهم ، كما يقول دن.

إن خطابات الاستقالة العامة تقاوم "لعبة إلقاء اللوم على المعلم" والسرد السائد للمدرس "السيئ" ، الدراسة الثالثة ، المنشورة في سجل كلية المعلمين، وتقترح. ويقول دان إن هذه الادعاءات الشائعة - التي يلقى فيها المعلمون اللوم على المدرسة والفشل المجتمعي - تستخدم من قبل الإصلاحيين المحافظين في مجال التعليم لتعزيز إجراءات المساءلة لتقييم المعلمين.

لكن رسائل الاستقالة ، بدلاً من رسم اختصاصيي التوعية باعتبارها غير مهتمة وكسولة ، توضح عاطفتهم الشديدة. وتقول الدراسة: "إن الرسائل مليئة بالعاطفة ، مع الأسف ، وبتزام شخصي ومهني شامل لاحتياجات الأطفال على أفضل وجه".

في النهاية ، يجب على صانعي السياسة أن يستمعوا إلى شهادات المعلمين ويدعمون الابتعاد عن الجهود المبذولة "لتسويق ، وتخصيص ، وتحفيز ، وخصخصة التعليم العام ، من أجل القيام بما هو أفضل للأطفال ، وليس من أجل تحقيق الهدف" ، يقول دان.

"في غياب مثل هذه التحركات ، من المحتمل أن تظل ظروف عمل المعلمين ، وبالتالي ظروف تعلم الطلاب ، في خطر".

مصدر: جامعة ولاية ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = التدريس؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

Why Do Teachers Quit?

Teachers don’t just leave their jobs because of low pay and retirement, new research shows. Their perceptions of a broken education system also contribute.

In a trio of studies, education experts examine the relatively new phenomenon of teachers posting their resignation letters online. The findings suggest a nationwide focus on standardized tests, scripted curriculum, and punitive teacher-evaluation systems frustrate and dishearten educators at all grade and experience levels.

In the US, teacher turnover costs more than $2.2 billion each year and decreases student achievement as measured by reading and math test scores.

“I did not feel I was leaving my job. I felt then and feel now that my job left me.”

“The reasons teachers are leaving the profession has little to do with the reasons most frequently touted by education reformers, such as pay or student behavior,” says Alyssa Hadley Dunn, assistant professor of teacher education at Michigan State University.

“Rather, teachers are leaving largely because oppressive policies and practices are affecting their working conditions and beliefs about themselves and education.”

An example is the open resignation letter of Boston elementary school teacher Suzi Sluyter, which appeared on a Washington Post blog:

“In this disturbing era of testing and data collection in the public schools,” she writes in part, “I have seen my career transformed into a job that no longer fits my understanding of how children learn and what a teacher ought to do in a classroom to build a healthy, safe, developmentally appropriate environment for learning for each of our children.

“I did not feel I was leaving my job. I felt then and feel now that my job left me. It is with deep love and a broken heart that I write this letter,” writes Sluyter, who had taught for more than 25 years.

Such feelings of abandonment were common in the resignation letters, researchers write in one of the studies published in the journal Linguistics and Education.

The second study, published in Teaching and Teacher Education, suggests that by posting their resignation letters online, educators are gaining a voice in the public sphere they didn’t have before. “All of the teachers’ resignation letters and their later interviews [with researchers] attested to the lack of voice and agency that teachers felt in policymaking and implementation,” the study says.

Administrators must allow teachers to engage in the development of curriculum and educational policies so they do not feel like they have no choice but to resign (and then publicly declare it) in order to get their voices heard, Dunn says.

The public resignation letters combat the “teacher blame game” and the prevalent narrative of the “bad” teacher, the third study, published in Teachers College Record, suggests. These common claims—in which teachers are blamed for school and societal failures—are used by conservative education reformers to advance accountability measures to evaluate teachers, Dunn says.

But the resignation letters, rather than painting educators as disinterested and lazy, illustrate their intense emotion. “The letters are filled with emotion, with regret, and with an overarching personal and professional commitment to the best needs of the children,” the study says.

Ultimately, policymakers should heed teachers’ testimonies and support a move away from efforts to “marketize, capitalize, incentivize, and privatize public education, in order to do what is best for children, not for the bottom line,” Dunn says.

“In the absence of such moves, teachers’ working conditions, and thus students’ learning conditions, are likely to remain in jeopardy.”

Source: Michigan State University

Related Books

Whole Brain Teaching for Challenging Kids: (and the rest of your class, too!)
economyAuthor: Chris Biffle
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Whole Brain Teaching LLC
List Price: $14.95

Buy Now

Teaching Math with Google Apps: 50 G Suite Activities
economyAuthor: Alice Keeler
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Dave Burgess Consulting, Inc.
List Price: $29.95

Buy Now

Teaching College: The Ultimate Guide to Lecturing, Presenting, and Engaging Students
economyAuthor: Dr. Norman Eng
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Norman Eng
List Price: $19.99

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}