يحتاج الاتفاق العالمي بشأن الهجرة إلى التركيز على تسخير فوائده المربحة للجانبين

يحتاج الاتفاق العالمي بشأن الهجرة إلى التركيز على تسخير فوائده المربحة للجانبين

اتفاق لمعالجة أزمات المهاجرين واللاجئين في جميع أنحاء العالمالذي وصفته الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في سبتمبر 2016 ، وصفه الكثيرون في الأمم المتحدة بأنه ليس بمعجزة. لكن يبدو أيضا أنها معرضة للخطر في بعض الأحيان بسبب المشهد السياسي المتحول اليوم والمتزايد الصعوبة.

في جميع أنحاء 2017 ، تعقد الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة مشاورات بشأن عناصر التعاون الدولي وإدارة الهجرة كجزء من تطوير أ الميثاق العالمي من أجل الهجرة الآمنة والمنظمة والمنتظمة.

في شهر مايو (أيار) 22 و 23 ، حول المندوبون انتباههم إلى الحالة الراهنة للمعرفة والممارسات الجيدة بشأن "عوامل الهجرة". وتشمل هذه التغيرات المناخية والكوارث الطبيعية والأزمات التي من صنع الإنسان.

لقد حان الوقت لتبديد نماذج قديمة للحركة البشرية لصالح نظرة شاملة ودقيقة عن أنماط الهجرة وتفاعلها مع بيئة واقتصاد عالميين متغيرين.

تبسيط برامج الترحيل

غالباً ما تعتبر المناقشات الدولية أن مساعدات التنمية جزء لا يتجزأ من إدارة الهجرة. هذا بسبب قدرتها على الحد من ما يسمى ب "الأسباب الجذرية للهجرة"، أو برامج التشغيل الخاصة به.

تم إغراء المهنيين الهجرة من قبل مفهوم "حدبة الهجرة". وتشير إلى أن الهجرة قد تتسارع على المدى القصير مع ارتفاع معدلات النمو الاقتصادي وتزيد الأسر المعيشية من الموارد اللازمة للهجرة. لكنها في نهاية المطاف مستويات قبالة كما الفرص الاقتصادية تمكن الناس من البقاء في المنزل أو العودة.

يتم استخدام هذه الفكرة للمساعدة في توضيح سبب ارتفاع معدل الترحيل من ارتفعت المكسيك إلى الولايات المتحدة قليلاً في أواخر 1990s بعد توقيع NAFTA ، ولكن الآن التدفق السلبي الصافي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إذا بدا الأمر أكثر سهولة من أن يكون صحيحًا ، فهذا لأنه. مجموعة من العوامل الاجتماعية والطموحات المنزلية والسمات الفردية المساهمة في قرارات الهجرة. في بعض الأحيان ، يبدو المهاجرون الاقتصاديون كاريكاتورًا كجهات فاعلة عاقلة مع نظرة مستقبلية تفاضلية للدخل ، تجسيد المجازات Homo economus ساخرا من قبل علماء الاجتماع.

وبغض النظر عن أسبابه ، فإن الهجرة هي طريقة مشروعة لتنويع مصادر دخل الأسرة وخلق عازلة ضد الصدمات المستقبلية. وفي سياق تغير المناخ ، تعد التنقلات ذات أهمية خاصة بالنسبة للأسر المعيشية التي تعتمد على سبل العيش القائمة على الموارد.

وعادة ما تكون هذه هي الأسر المعيشية التي تفتقر إلى القدرة على الحصول على الأصول المولدة للدخل والائتمان والتجارة. عندما يتم تعزيز الظروف الصحيحة ، فإن الهجرة تجلب الكثير فوائد للمهاجرين وعائلاتهم وكذلك لمجتمعاتهم الأصلية وبلدان المقصد.

التحويلات المالية والتنمية

لتنمية المجتمعات المرنة ، لا يمكن ترك الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهارة والمنخفضة في الغبار. جديد دراسة مقارنة يضيف لبنة بناء هامة إلى المجموعة المتوسعة للبحوث حول كيفية عمل الهجرة بين الاستراتيجيات المنزلية للتكيف مع البيئات المتغيرة.

من خلال البحوث التجريبية في ستة بلدان - الجمهورية الدومينيكية وهاييتي وكينيا وموريشيوس وبابوا غينيا الجديدة وفيتنام - تؤكد الدراسة أن الهجرة من البيئات المحفوفة بالمخاطر تعد مكسبًا للجانبين.

على الرغم من الاختلافات الهامة بين الدول الست ، فإن الأموال التي يرسلها أفراد العائلة في الخارج تشكل مصدراً مهماً للدخل.

كانت الأسر المعيشية التي لديها أقل نسبة من دخل 20٪ هي الأكثر اعتمادًا على التحويلات المالية. هذه أيضا بين الأسر التي تدل على أدنى مستويات التعليم ، وملكية الأراضي ، والوصول إلى الائتمان الرسمي. إذن ، القدرة على الاستثمار في أحد أفراد العائلة للهجرة ، أمر مهم. ويمكن أن تكون الأرباح هائلة.

الأسر التي تتلقى التحويلات لديها دخل أعلى في الأجلين المتوسط ​​والبعيد. ذلك لأن الأموال التي تحصل عليها تعزز قدرتها على تجاوز الاستهلاك الأساسي والاستثمار في التحسينات الهيكلية وكذلك الأصول المدرة للدخل.

وقد استخدمت التحويلات في جهود بناء القدرة على التكيف على المدى الطويل ، مثل تحسين السكن والتعليم والرعاية الصحية. عندما تستطيع الأسر تلبية احتياجاتها الأساسية من الغذاء والمأوى ، فإن قدرتها على الاستثمار تتحسن.

من الواضح أن المهاجرين في الشتات يوفرون شبكة أمان لمجتمعاتهم المحلية ، لا سيما في أعقاب ذلك والكوارث الطبيعية. في هايتي ، تضاعفت قيمة التحويلات المالية من هايتي في الخارج إلى أربعة أضعاف بين 1999 و 2013 ، من 422 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى أكثر من مليار دولار أمريكي 1.78. وهذا ارتفعت بنسبة 20٪ بعد زلزال 2010، مما أسفر عن مبلغ إضافي قدره 360 مليون دولار أمريكي.

يستطيع المهاجرون أيضاً أن ينقلوا بفعالية المهارات والمعارف التي اكتسبوها أثناء السفر (التحويلات الاجتماعية) ، للمساعدة في تحسين الأسر والمجتمعات المحلية في بلدانهم الأصلية.

في الدراسة ، أفاد ما لا يقل عن اثنين من أصل خمس أسر مهاجرة شملهم الاستطلاع عن تعلم مهارات جديدة ؛ في حالة فيتنام ، كان الرقم مرتفعًا مثل 82٪. كانت قدرة الأسر المعيشية المهاجرة على تطبيق مهارات جديدة عند عودتها هي 45٪ في هايتي ، وأكثر من 70٪ في كينيا ، وأكثر من 80٪ في بقية البلدان التي شملها الاستطلاع.

رفع كل القوارب

انخفضت تدفقات التحويلات إلى البلدان النامية لمدة سنتين متتاليتين لأول مرة في التاريخ. ويمثل هذا خسارة محتملة تبلغ حوالي 29.8 مليار دولار أمريكي (إجمالي التحويلات المقدرة يبلغ $ 429 مليار في 2016 ، مقارنةً بـ $ 429.8 مليار في 2015 و $ 444.3 مليار في 2014).

تقرير البنك الدولي تشير إلى أن الشعور بارتفاع كراهية الأجانب أو مواقف وسياسات كراهية الأجانب التي لا تشجع على الهجرة هي جزء من اللوم.

وهذا أمر مهم حيث أن تدفقات التحويلات كانت تقاوم تاريخياً الانخفاض الكبير حتى في أوقات التباطؤ الاقتصادي العالمي. نحن شهد هذا مؤخرا بعد الأزمة المالية 2008 عندما انخفضت التحويلات قليلا (6 ٪) لمدة سنة ثم انتعشت في 2010-11.

في الواقع ، التحويلات المالية ثابتة تقلص المساعدات التنموية الرسمية بمقدار ثلاثة أضعاف على مدى عقدين.

تستخدم التحويلات لرعاية أفراد الأسرة المرضى أو المسنين ، لتعزيز المجتمعات المحلية في أعقاب الأزمات ، وللاستثمارات الرأسمالية. هم مصدر قوي للتنمية الاقتصادية. في عالمنا المعولم ، التنمية في هذه البلدان يحفز الآلية الاقتصادية التي ترفع المعيار للعيش في الدول المتقدمة أيضًا.

إن تأثيرات تغير المناخ - زيادة كثافة وتواتر الطقس المتطرف ، والاحترار الكبير في بعض المناطق الساخنة ودرجات الحرارة القصوى ، وارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ، وأنماط المطر غير المنتظمة وغير المتوقعة ، من بين أمور أخرى - التأثير على حجم ومدة ومكان ومدى أنماط الهجرة الموجودة مسبقًا.

إن الأسر المتضررة من الصدمات المرتبطة بالبيئة تواجه صعوبة في استعادة قوتها - وتصبح كذلك أكثر ضعفا مع كل المخاطر المتلاحقة.

وتعزز النتائج الموضحة أعلاه أهمية الهجرة للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والأقل مهارة. يستجيب المهاجرون للنقص في العمالة ، وغالباً ما يضعون أنفسهم في أوضاع خطرة.

لكن دول مثل كندا واستراليا والولايات المتحدة هي استكشاف طرق للحد من وارداتهم من المهاجرين للمتقدمين المؤهلين فقط ، وتطوير الآلات الحاسبة على أساس النقاط. في حين أن مزايا تحديد مهاجر "مرغوب فيه" من الناحية الاقتصادية هي موضع تساؤل في أحسن الأحوال ، فإن الدول تحتفظ بالحق السيادي في تحديد حصص الهجرة.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن هذا النهج لديه القدرة على تعزيز عدم المساواة وتقويض النتائج الإيجابية الهجرة في جميع أنحاء العالم.

في الوقت الذي تضع فيه الأمم المتحدة اتفاقية عالمية بشأن الهجرة في 2017 ، يجب أن يكون هناك تركيز أقل على تقليل ظاهرة الهجرة المعقدة إلى "أسبابها الجذرية" والمزيد على إمكانات الهجرة كوسيلة للفوز.

في بيئة عالمية متغيرة ، يمكن أن تكون الهجرة مساهما أكبر من أي وقت مضى في التنمية لمجتمعات المنشأ ، ومناطق المقصد ، وللمهاجرين أنفسهم.

المحادثةوينبغي أن يظل تعقيد الهجرة وطيفها الواسع - سواء المغتربين ذوي المهارات العالية والمهاجرين الأقل مهارة - جزءًا من هذه المناقشات ، مع التركيز على تسخير قوة الهجرة لتنمية الوقود والحد من عدم المساواة العالمية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوليا بلوخر ، مسؤولة أبحاث ، جامعة الأمم المتحدة

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = أزمة اللاجئين ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Global Compact On Migration Needs To Focus On Harnessing Its Win-Win Benefits

Global Compact On Migration Needs To Focus On Harnessing Its Win-Win Benefits

An agreement to address migrant and refugee crises worldwide, which the UN General Assembly adopted in September 2016, has been described by many in the United Nations as nothing short of a miracle. But it also appears imperilled at times by today’s shifting and increasingly difficult political landscape.

Throughout 2017, UN member states are holding consultations on elements of international cooperation and governance of migration as part of the development of a Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration.

On May 22 and 23, delegates turned their attention to the current state of knowledge and good practice on the “drivers of migration”. These include climate change, natural disasters and human-made crises.

Now is the time to dispel outdated models of human mobility in favour of a holistic, nuanced view of migration patterns and their interaction with a changing global environment and economy.

Simplifying migration drivers

International discussions often consider development aid as part and parcel of migration management. That’s because of its potential to reduce the so-called “root causes of migration”, or its drivers.

Migration professionals have been seduced by the concept of the “migration hump”. It suggests that emigration may accelerate in the short term as economic development picks up and more households gain the resources needed to migrate. But that it eventually levels off as economic opportunities enable people to remain home or to return.

This idea is used to help explain why already high migration from Mexico to the US increased slightly in the late 1990s following the signing of NAFTA, but is now a net negative flow.

If it sounds too convenient to be true, that’s because it is. A host of social factors, household ambitions and individual attributes contribute to migratory decisions. And economic migrants at times seem caricatured as overly rational actors with perfect foresight of income differentials, embodying the figurative Homo economicus derided by social scientists.

No matter what its causes, migration is a legitimate way to diversify household income sources and create a buffer against future shocks. And in the context of a changing climate, mobility is particularly important for households that are dependent on resource-based livelihoods.

These are usually the very households that lack access to adequate income-generating assets, credit and trade. When the right conditions are fostered, migration brings substantial benefits for migrants and their families as well as for their communities of origin and of destination.

Remittances and development

To develop resilient communities, low-skill and low-income families cannot be left in the dust. A new comparative study adds a significant building block to the expanding body of research on how migration serves among household strategies for adapting to changing environments.

Through empirical research in six countries – Dominican Republic, Haiti, Kenya, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea and Vietnam – the study confirms that migration from risky environments is win-win-win.

Despite important variations across the six countries, funds sent by family members abroad are an important source of income.

Households in the lowest 20% of income earnings were the most reliant on remittances. These are also among households demonstrating the lowest levels of education, land ownership, and access to formal credit. The capacity to invest in a family member to migrate, then, is significant. And the dividends can be immense.

Households that receive remittances have higher incomes in the medium to long term. That’s because the funds they receive boost their ability to move beyond basic consumption and invest in structural improvements as well as income-generating assets.

Remittances were used for long-term resilience-building efforts, such as improving housing, education and health care. When households can meet their basic needs for food and shelter, their ability to invest improves.

Migrant diaspora clearly provide a safety net for their home communities, particularly in the wake of natural disasters. In Haiti, the value of remittances from Haitians abroad quadrupled between 1999 and 2013, from US$422 million to over US$1.78 billion. And it surged by 20% following the 2010 earthquake, yielding an extra US$360 million.

Migrants can also effectively pass on the skills and knowledge they acquired while away (social remittances), to help improve households and communities in their home countries.

In the study, at least two out of five migrant households surveyed reported learning new skills; in the case of Vietnam, the figure was as high as 82%. Migrant households’ reported ability to apply new skills upon return was 45% in Haiti, more than 70% in Kenya, and more than 80% in the rest of the countries surveyed.

Raising all boats

Remittance flows to developing countries have declined for two years in a row for the first time in history. This represents a potential loss of about US$29.8 billion (estimated remittances totalled $429 billion in 2016, compared to $429.8 billion in 2015 and $444.3 billion in 2014).

A World Bank report suggests the perception of rising xenophobia or xenophobic attitudes and policies discouraging migration are partially to blame.

This is significant as remittance flows have historically been resistant to significant decline even in times of global economic downturn. We saw this most recently after the 2008 financial crisis when remittances dipped slightly (6%) for a year and then rebounded in 2010-11.

In fact, remittances have stably dwarfed official development aid by a factor of three over two decades.

Remittances are used to care for sick or elderly family members, to bolster communities following crises, and for capital investments. They are a robust source of economic development. In our globalised world, development in these countries spurs the economic machinery that raises the standard of living in developed countries, too.

The effects of climate change – increased intensity and frequency of extreme weather, significant warming in some hotspots and extreme temperatures, rising sea level, more erratic and unpredictable rain patterns, among other things – will influence the scale, duration, location and distance of pre-existing migration patterns.

Families affected by environment-related shocks have a difficult time regaining their footing – and become more vulnerable with each successive hazard.

The findings outlined above reinforce the importance of migration for low-income and less-skilled households. Migrants respond to labour shortages, often putting themselves in risky situations.

But countries such as Canada, Australia and the United States are exploring ways to reduce their imports of migrants to only the most qualified applicants, developing points-based calculators. While the merits of defining a “desirable” migrant in economic terms are questionable at best, states retain the sovereign right to set migration quotas.

Unfortunately, this approach has the potential to reinforce inequality and undermine the positive outcomes of migration worldwide.

As UN states develop a global compact on migration in 2017, there should be less of a focus on reducing complex migration phenomena to their “root causes” and more on the potential of migration as a win-win.

In a changing global environment, migration can be a greater-than-ever contributor to development for communities of origin, destination areas, and for the migrants themselves.

The ConversationThe complexity and wide spectrum of migration – both the highly skilled expat and the less-skilled migrant – should remain a part of these discussions, with a focus on harnessing the power of migration to fuel development and reduce global inequality.

About The Author

Julia Blocher, Research Officer, United Nations University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Seeking Refuge: On the Shores of the Global Refugee Crisis
refugee crisisAuthor: Stephan Bauman
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Seeking Refuge On the Shores of the Global Refugee Crisis

Publisher: Moody Publishers
List Price: $13.99

Buy Now

The New Odyssey: The Story of the Twenty-First Century Refugee Crisis
refugee crisisAuthor: Patrick Kingsley
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Liveright Publishing Corporation

Publisher: Liveright
List Price: $26.95

Buy Now

Cast Away: True Stories of Survival from Europe's Refugee Crisis
refugee crisisAuthor: Charlotte McDonald-Gibson
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: The New Press
List Price: $25.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}