هل تتعارض فقرات عدم التوافق مع قوانين العمل الأمريكية؟

هل تتعارض فقرات عدم التوافق مع قوانين العمل الأمريكية؟

يعمل معظم الأميركيين الذين لديهم وظائف "عند الإرادة": يجوز لأي من الطرفين إنهاء الترتيب في أي وقت لسبب جيد أو سيء أو لا شيء على الإطلاق. أرباب العمل مدينون لموظفيهم لا شيء في العلاقة والعكس صحيح.

تمشيا مع تلك الروح التي لا علاقة لها ، قد ينتقل الموظفون حسب ما يرونه مناسبًا ، ما لم يحدث أن يكونوا من بين الأشخاص تقريباً واحد من كل خمسة عمال ملزمة بعقد يحظر صراحة الحصول على توظيف من قبل منافس. هذه "شروط noncompete"قد يكون منطقياً بالنسبة للمدراء التنفيذيين وكبار التنفيذيين الآخرين الذين يمتلكون أسرار التجارة ولكنهم يبدون غير منطقيين عندما يتم التقديم لهم العمال منخفضي الأجر مثل الرسامين في صناعة البناء.

بصفتي باحثًا في قانون وسياسة التوظيف ، لديّ الكثير من المخاوف بشأن البنود غير المتعلقة بالمواضيع - مثل كيف تميل إلى جعل العلاقة بين العمال ورؤساء الأعمال غير متوازنة للغاية ، قمع الأجور وتثبيط حركة سوق العمل. بالإضافة إلى تتبع تاريخهم القانوني والتشريعي ، توصلت إلى طريقة للحد من هذا العائق أمام حراك العمال.

كيف وصلنا الى هنا

بدأت المحاكم في ترسيخ مبدأ الإرادة في القرن 19th ، مما يجعل الاستثناءات فقط للموظفين الذين لديهم عقود محددة المدة. في باين ضد شركة السكك الحديدية الغربية والأطلسيةحكمت المحكمة العليا في تينيسي بأن رئيس عمال السكك الحديدية في تشاتانوغا كان له الحق في منع عماله من شراء الويسكي من تاجر يدعى L. Payne.

كان باين قد رفع دعوى قضائية على خط السكة الحديدية ، مدعيا أنه لا يمكن أن يهدد بإطلاق النار على الموظفين لثنيهم عن شراء بضائع من طرف ثالث. وقد عارضت المحكمة ذلك ، قائلة إن السكك الحديدية لها الحق في إنهاء أي عمل لأي سبب - حتى لو كان ذلك.

وسرعان ما ارتفع مفهوم التوظيف عند الاقتضاء وما يرتبط به من عدم توفير الحماية الوظيفية إلى مستوى الولاية الدستورية. 1894 إضراب بولمانالتي عطلت حركة السكك الحديدية الوطنية ، دفع الكونجرس لتمرير قانون اردمان بعد اربع سنوات. يضمن هذا القانون حق عمال السكك الحديدية في الانضمام إلى النقابات وتشكيلها والدخول في مساومات جماعية.

لكن المحكمة العليا أسقطت هذا القانون في 1908. الكتابة للأغلبية في أدير ضد الولايات المتحدةأوضح القاضي جون مارشال هارلان أنه طالما كان أصحاب العمل أحراراً في استخدام ممتلكاتهم كما يشاءون ، يمكنهم فرض وتطبيق قواعد العمل الخاصة بهم. كان الموظفون ، بدورهم ، أحراراً في الإقلاع. كتب هارلان:

"إن حق الشخص في بيع عمله وفق الشروط التي يراها مناسبة هو ، في جوهره ، نفس حق المشتري في العمل في تحديد الشروط التي يقبل بها هذا العمل من الشخص الذي يعرض للبيع". ذلك ".

قد يبدو ذلك معقولاً ، لكن حكم أدير أدى إلى انتشار عقود "الكلاب الصفراء" التي تهدد العمال بإطلاق النار إذا انضموا أو نظموا نقابات. هذا المصطلح يسيء إلى الأشخاص الذين قبلوا مثل هذه الشروط ، لكن المبدأ كان واسع الانتشار موافقة قانونية.

على مدى ثلاثة عقود ، حذر عقيدة الوصية من تشريع كان من شأنه حماية حقوق العمال. حتى عندما قال أحد المشرفين لموظف طويل الأجل إنه سيتم طرده ما لم يكن كانت زوجته تمارس الجنس مع المشرفرفضت المحاكم حماية الرجل من فقدان وظيفته.

حقوق العمل والقانون

مع مرور ال قانون علاقات العمل الوطنية (فاغنر) في 1935 ، جميع عمال القطاع الخاص والنقابات اكتسبوا القدرة على المساومة الجماعية مع أصحاب العمل. اتفاقيات العمل اللاحقة ، مثل واحد لجنة تنظيم عمال الصلب تم التفاوض مع شركة US Steel في 1937 ، مما جعل أصحاب العمل يبرهنون "السبب العادل" قبل إطلاق أي شخص.

الـ حقوق مدنيه أضافت أعمال 1964 و 1991 إجراءات حماية العمل التي تحظر التمييز على أساس العرق والجنس والدين والأصل القومي.

قانون الأمريكيين المعاقينالتي أقرها الكونغرس في 1990 ، ضمنت حصول الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة على وظائف مع أو بدون سكن معقول.

هذه القوانين والتدابير الأخرى ، بما في ذلك الاستثناءات الحديثة لحكم الوصية ، توفر للعمال بعض الأمن. لكنهم لا يوفرون الحماية على المستوى الفيدرالي من الشروط غير المتعلقة بالمواضيع.

إدفع إلى الخلف

الفسحة لأصحاب العمل لفرض هذه الأحكام يختلف بشكل كبير من ولاية إلى أخرى وهو في حالة تغير مستمر. فمثلا، ألاباما وأوريجون سعت في السنوات الأخيرة للحد من نطاقها ، في حين جورجيا و ايداهو جعلت من السهل على الشركات فرضها. يمكن لقاعدة اتحادية موحدة توضيح الموقف ومصلحة كل من الموظفين وأصحاب العمل.

وقد أشار النقاد إلى عيوب البنود noncompete إلى العمالة غير الماهرة. وقالت المدعية العامة في ولاية إيلينوي ليزا ماديجان عندما رفعت دعوى قضائية ضدها: "من خلال إغلاق العمال ذوي الأجور المتدنية في وظائفهم وحظرهم عن البحث عن وظائف ذات رواتب أفضل في أماكن أخرى (الشركات) ليس لديهم سبب لزيادة أجورهم أو منافعهم". جيمي جون امتياز للوجبات السريعة في العام الماضي لجعل موظفيها يوقعون عبارات غير احتكارية.

سلسلة لاحقا وافقت على إسقاط غير مكترثالتي تعرضت أيضًا لإطلاق نار في نيويورك. وقد حظرت هذه الشروط عمال مصنع الساندويتش من العمل في شركات أخرى كسبت أكثر من 10 من إيراداتهم من "الغواصة ، البطل ، أو النمط التقليدي ، أو الشطائر ، أو السندويتشات الملفوفة أو الملفوفة" لمدة عامين بعد مغادرة جيمي رواتب جون.

عرض

في 2015 ، السناتور آل فرانكن أدخلت تشريعات لحظر بنود عدم الاحتفال بالعمال ذوي الأجور المتدنية. فشل مشروع قانون مينيسوتا الديمقراطي في الحصول على الدعم الكافي ليصبح قانونًا ، وفي ضوء هدف الرئيس دونالد ترامب في تقليل عدد الأنظمة الاتحاديةلا يوجد شيء يقف حاليًا في طريق الدول التي تريد ذلك توسيع هذه الممارسات العمالية التقييدية.

أقترح نهجًا متوازنًا بين التيار الحالي للجميع بين الولايات وحظر هذه البنود تمامًا: يمكن للكونغرس تعديل قانون نوريس - لاجارديا. بعد إقراره في 1932 ، منع هذا القانون الأوامر الصادرة ضد أنشطة نقابية محددة عن طريق إزالة الاختصاص القضائي الفدرالي على هذه النزاعات.

وبالمثل ، يمكن للكونغرس أن يجعل الأحكام غير القابلة للامتثال غير قابلة للتنفيذ في المحاكم الفدرالية ما لم توفر عقود التوظيف إجراءات التقاضي السليمة ، مثل التحكيم ، ضد تصرفات الموظفين المتقلبة أو غير العادلة. في مقابل الأمن الوظيفي ، قد يكون العامل على استعداد للالتزام ببعض تقليص فرص العمل الأخرى.

ومن شأن هذا النهج أن يوازن بين حقوق العمال والإدارة من خلال السماح للعمال بالتداول في بعض حقوق الوصول بحرية إلى أسواق العمل من أجل تحسين الأمن الوظيفي.

أي أن العمال سيكون لديهم خيار الأمن أو التنقل. يمكن لأصحاب العمل اختيار جذب الموظفين الحوافز ، مثل المرتبات الأعلى أو المزيد من الاستقرار الوظيفي.

المحادثةالعقود التنفيذية مع شروط noncompete عادة تشمل أحكام الاستحواذ مربحة والحماية من المعاملة التعسفية. إذا كان الموظفون ذوو الأجور المنخفضة والهيبة الأقل ليسوا أحراراً في الحصول على وظائف جديدة ، فإن رؤساءهم عليهم واجب مواظب على منحهم الحقوق التي يتمتع بها الأشخاص فوق سلم الشركات.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ريمون هوغلر ، أستاذ الإدارة ، جامعة ولاية كولورادو

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

الكتب المطبوعة من قبل المؤلف:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Raymond Hogler؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Do Noncompete Clauses Clash With US Labor Laws?

Do Noncompete Clauses Clash With US Labor Laws?

Most Americans with jobs work “at-will”: Either party may terminate the arrangement at any time for a good or bad reason or none at all. Employers owe their employees nothing in the relationship and vice versa.

In keeping with that no-strings-attached spirit, employees may move on as they see fit – unless they happen to be among the nearly one in five workers bound by a contract that explicitly forbids getting hired by a competitor. These “noncompete clauses” may make sense for CEOs and other top executives who possess trade secrets but seem nonsensical when they are applied to low-wage workers such as draftsmen in the construction industry.

As a scholar of employment law and policy, I have many concerns about noncompete clauses – such as how they tend to make the relationship between workers and bosses too lopsided, suppress wages and discourage labor market mobility. In addition to tracing their legal and legislative history, I have come up with a way to limit this impediment to worker mobility.

How we got here

Courts began to enshrine the at-will doctrine in the 19th century, making exceptions only for employees with fixed-term contracts. In Payne v. Western & Atlantic Railroad Co., the Tennessee Supreme Court ruled that a railway foreman in Chattanooga had the right to forbid his workers from buying whiskey from a merchant named L. Payne.

Payne had sued the railroad, claiming it couldn’t threaten to fire employees to discourage them from buying goods from a third party. The court disagreed, arguing that the railroad had a right to terminate employees for any reason – even that one.

The notion of at-will employment and its associated lack of job protections soon rose to the level of constitutional mandate. The 1894 Pullman strike, which disrupted national rail traffic, prompted Congress to pass the Erdman Act four years later. That law guaranteed the right of rail workers to join and form unions and to engage in collective bargaining.

But the Supreme Court struck down that law in 1908. Writing for the majority in Adair v. United States, Justice John Marshall Harlan explained that since employers were free to use their property as they wished, they could impose and enforce their own labor rules. Employees, in turn, were free to quit. Harlan wrote:

“The right of a person to sell his labor upon such terms as he deems proper is, in its essence, the same as the right of the purchaser of labor to prescribe the conditions upon which he will accept such labor from the person offering to sell it.”

That might sound reasonable, but the Adair ruling led to the proliferation of “yellow dog” contracts threatening workers with firing if they joined or organized unions. The term disparaged people who accepted such conditions, but the principle had widespread legal approval.

For three decades, the at-will doctrine stymied legislation that would have protected labor rights. Even when a supervisor told a long-term employee he would be fired unless his wife had sex with the supervisor, courts refused to protect the man from losing his job.

Labor rights and the law

With the passage of the National Labor Relations (Wagner) Act in 1935, all private sector workers and unions gained the power to collectively bargain with employers. Subsequent labor agreements, such as the one the Steel Workers Organizing Committee negotiated with U.S. Steel in 1937, made employers prove “just cause” before firing anyone.

The Civil Rights acts of 1964 and 1991 added employment protections prohibiting discrimination based on race, gender, religion and national origin.

The Americans with Disabilities Act, which Congress passed in 1990, ensured that persons with disabilities would have access to jobs with or without reasonable accommodation.

Those laws and other measures, including modern exceptions to the at-will rule, offer workers some security. But they provide no protection at the federal level from noncompete clauses.

Push-back

The leeway for employers to impose these provisions varies widely from state to state and is in flux. For example, Alabama and Oregon have sought in recent years to limit their scope, while Georgia and Idaho have made it easier for companies to enforce them. A uniform federal rule could clarify the situation and benefit both employees and employers.

Critics have pointed out the disadvantages of noncompete clauses to unskilled labor. “By locking low-wage workers into their jobs and prohibiting them from seeking better-paying jobs elsewhere (companies) have no reason to increase their wages or benefits,” Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan said when she sued the Jimmy John’s fast-food franchise last year for making its employees sign noncompete clauses.

The chain subsequently agreed to drop its noncompetes, which had also come under fire in New York. The clauses had barred the sandwich maker’s workers from working for other firms earning more than 10 percent of their revenue from “submarine, hero-type, deli-style, pita, and/or wrapped or rolled sandwiches” for two years after leaving the Jimmy John’s payroll.

A proposal

In 2015, Sen. Al Franken introduced legislation to ban noncompete clauses for low-wage workers. The Minnesota Democrat’s bill failed to gain enough support to become law, and, in light of President Donald Trump’s goal of reducing the number of federal regulations, nothing presently stands in the way of states that want to expand these restrictive labor practices.

I propose a balanced approach between the current free-for-all among the states and outlawing these clauses altogether: Congress could modify the Norris-LaGuardia Act. Passed in 1932, this law banned injunctions against specified union activities by removing federal court jurisdiction over those disputes.

Similarly, Congress could render noncompete clauses unenforceable in federal courts unless employment contracts provide due process protections, such as arbitration, against capricious or unjust discharges of employees. In exchange for job security, a worker might be willing to commit to some curtailment of other employment opportunities.

This approach would balance the rights of workers and management by allowing workers to trade some rights of freely accessing labor markets against better job security.

That is, workers would have a choice of security or mobility. Employers could choose to attract employees with incentives, such as higher salaries or more job stability.

The ConversationExecutive contracts with noncompete clauses typically include lucrative buyout provisions and protections from arbitrary treatment. If employees with lower pay and less prestige aren’t free to get new jobs, their bosses have a corresponding duty to extend to them the rights enjoyed by people atop the corporate ladder.

About The Author

Raymond Hogler, Professor of Management, Colorado State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by this Author:

Employment Relations in the United States: Law, Policy, and Practice
economyAuthor: Raymond L. (Louis) Hogler
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: SAGE Publications, Inc
List Price: $102.00

Buy Now

Employment Relations and Human Resource Management: Readings, Cases, and Materials
economyBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Cognella
List Price: $79.95

Buy Now

The End of American Labor Unions: The Right-to-Work Movement and the Erosion of Collective Bargaining
economyAuthor: Raymond L. Hogler
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Praeger
List Price: $37.00

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}