لماذا تعتبر استعادة خصوبة التربة واحدة من أفضل الخيارات الإنسانية لتحقيق التقدم في مجال تغير المناخ

اجعل تربتنا رائعة مرة أخرى

معظمنا لا يفكر كثيرا في التربة ، ناهيك عن صحته. ولكن مع اقتراب يوم الأرض ، حان الوقت للتوصية ببعض العناية بالبشرة للطبيعة الأم. إن استعادة خصوبة التربة هي واحدة من أفضل الخيارات المتاحة أمام البشرية لإحراز تقدم في ثلاثة تحديات شاقة: تغذية الجميع والتغلب على تغير المناخ والحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي.

الميكنة على نطاق واسع واعتماد الأسمدة الكيماوية والمبيدات الحشرية ثورة في الزراعة. لكن الأمر استغرق خفية على التربة. لقد تدهور المزارعون في جميع أنحاء العالم وتخلوا عنهم الثلث من الأراضي الزراعية في العالم. في الولايات المتحدة ، فقدت تربطنا بالفعل حوالي النصف من محتوى المادة العضوية التي ساعدت على جعلها خصبة.

ما هو على المحك إذا لم نعكس هذا الاتجاه؟ نقاط الاضطراب الفقيرة مثل سوريا وليبيا والعراق هي من بين المجتمعات التي تعيش معها تراث التربة المتدهورة. وإذا استمر العالم في فقدان الأراضي الزراعية المنتجة ، فإن ذلك سيجعل من الصعب إطعام عدد متزايد من سكان العالم.

لكن من الممكن استعادة خصوبة التربة ، كما تعلمت السفر في جميع أنحاء العالم لمقابلة المزارعين الذين تبنوا ممارسات تجديدية في المزارع التجارية الكبيرة وصغيرة الكفاف أثناء البحث في كتابي الجديد ، زراعة ثورة: إعادة تربة التربة إلى الحياة. من بنسلفانيا إلى داكوتاس ومن إفريقيا إلى أمريكا اللاتينية ، رأيت أدلة دامغة على كيف يمكن لطريقة جديدة من الزراعة أن تعيد الصحة إلى التربة ، وأن تفعل ذلك بسرعة ملحوظة.

اعتمد هؤلاء المزارعين ممارسات تزرع حياة التربة المفيدة. توقفوا عن الحرث وتقليل الاضطراب الأرضي. قاموا بزراعة محاصيل الغطاء ، وخاصة البقوليات ، وكذلك المحاصيل التجارية. ولم يزرعوا الشيء نفسه مرارًا وتكرارًا. وبدلاً من ذلك ، زرعوا تنوعًا أكبر في المحاصيل في دورات أكثر تعقيدًا. ويجمع الجمع بين هذه التقنيات مجموعة متنوعة من الحياة الميكروبية والتربة المفيدة التي تعزز دورة المغذيات ، وتزيد من المواد العضوية للتربة ، وتحسن بنية التربة ، وبالتالي تقلل من الجريان السطحي التآكلي.

بدأ المزارعون الذين نفذوا جميع التقنيات الثلاثة بتجديد التربة الخصبة وبعد عدة سنوات انتهى بالمزيد من المال في جيوبهم. زادت غلات المحاصيل والمادة العضوية للتربة في حين انخفض استهلاك الوقود والأسمدة والمبيدات. كانت حقولهم باستمرار تحتوي على مزيد من الملقحات - الفراشات والنحل - مقارنة بالمزارع التقليدية المجاورة. استخدام كميات أقل من المبيدات الحشرية والاحتفاظ بالنباتات المحلية حول حقولها وترجمتها إلى المزيد من الأنواع المفترسة التي تدير الآفات الحشرية.

وبالمثل ، أظهر المزارعون المبتكرون أساليب تركت تربتهم أفضل حالاً. أبقت الأبقار في مزارعها على طريقة الجاموس مرة واحدة ، مع التركيز في منطقة صغيرة لفترة قصيرة تليها فترة انتعاش طويلة. هذا النمط يحفز النباتات لدفع المواد السكرية من جذورها. وهذا يغذي حياة التربة التي بدورها تزود النباتات بأشياء مثل الهرمونات التي تعزز النمو والمغذيات المعدنية. كما أن ترك الأبقار يرعى مادة عضوية للتربة عن طريق تفتيت السماد عبر الأرض ، بدلاً من تركيزها في بحيرات الصرف الصحي في حقول التسمين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


soils2 4 14USDA / ويكيبيديا

المواد العضوية في التربة هي أساس شبكة الغذاء في التربة ، وكان إجماع العلماء الذين تحدثت معهم هو أن المادة العضوية في التربة هي أفضل مؤشر على صحة التربة. ما مقدار الكربون الذي يمكن لمزارع ومربي الماشية في العالم أن يظلوا تحت الأرض من خلال ممارسات بناء التربة التي تتضمن بقايا النباتات وتحفز النشاط الميكروبي؟ تختلف التقديرات بشكل كبير ، ولكن المزارعين الذين زرتهم قاموا بأكثر من مضاعفة محتوى الكربون في تربتهم على مدار عقد أو اثنين. إذا فعل المزارعون في جميع أنحاء العالم هذا ، فيمكن أن يساعد ذلك جزئيًا في تعويض انبعاثات الوقود الأحفوري لعقود قادمة.

إن إصلاح التربة لن يحل مشكلة الجوع في العالم ، أو يوقف تغير المناخ ، أو يمنع المزيد من ضياع التنوع البيولوجي. لا يوجد شيء واحد يمكنه حل هذه المشاكل. لكن المزارعين الابتكاريين الذين قابلتهم أظهروا لي أن تبني مجموعة كاملة من ممارسات الزراعة المحافظة على الموارد يمكن أن توفر سبل معيشة أفضل ومزايا بيئية كبيرة في المزارع التقليدية والعضوية على حد سواء.

إن استعادة الخصوبة للتربة الزراعية المتدهورة هي واحدة من مشاريع البنية التحتية الطبيعية الأكثر إلحاحا والمعترف بها من قبل البشر ، وستؤتي ثمارها للأجيال القادمة. لقد حان الوقت لجهد يشبه الهائل لاستعادة جذور كل الحضارات المزدهرة: تربتنا ، جلد الأرض.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على المحادثة

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الحفاظ على التربة ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Restoring Soil Fertility Is One Of Humanity’s Best Options For Making Progress On Climate Change

Make our soil great again

Most of us don’t think much about soil, let alone its health. But as Earth Day approaches, it’s time to recommend some skin care for Mother Nature. Restoring soil fertility is one of humanity’s best options for making progress on three daunting challenges: Feeding everyone, weathering climate change and conserving biodiversity.

Widespread mechanization and adoption of chemical fertilizers and pesticides revolutionized agriculture. But it took a hidden toll on the soil. Farmers around the world have already degraded and abandoned one-third of the world’s cropland. In the United States, our soils have already lost about half of the organic matter content that helped make them fertile.

What is at stake if we don’t reverse this trend? Impoverished trouble spots like Syria, Libya and Iraq are among the societies living with a legacy of degraded soil. And if the world keeps losing productive farmland, it will only make it harder to feed a growing global population.

But it is possible to restore soil fertility, as I learned traveling the world to meet farmers who had adopted regenerative practices on large commercial and small subsistence farms while researching my new book, Growing A Revolution: Bringing Our Soil Back to Life. From Pennsylvania to the Dakotas and from Africa to Latin America, I saw compelling evidence of how a new way of farming can restore health to the soil, and do so remarkably fast.

These farmers adopted practices that cultivate beneficial soil life. They stopped plowing and minimized ground disturbance. They planted cover crops, especially legumes, as well as commercial crops. And they didn’t just plant the same thing over and over again. Instead they planted a greater diversity of crops in more complex rotations. Combining these techniques cultivates a diversity of beneficial microbial and soil life that enhances nutrient cycling, increases soil organic matter, and improves soil structure and thereby reduces erosive runoff.

Farmers who implemented all three techniques began regenerating fertile soil and after several years ended up with more money in their pocket. Crop yields and soil organic matter increased while their fuel, fertilizer, and pesticide use fell. Their fields consistently had more pollinators — butterflies and bees — than neighboring conventional farms. Using less insecticide and retaining native plants around their fields translated into more predatory species that managed insect pests.

Innovative ranchers likewise showed me methods that left their soil better off. Cows on their farms grazed the way buffalo once did, concentrating in a small area for a short period followed by a long recovery time. This pattern stimulates plants to push sugary substances out of their roots. And this feeds soil life that in return provides the plants with things like growth-promoting hormones and mineral nutrients. Letting cows graze also builds soil organic matter by dispersing manure across the land, rather than concentrating it in feedlot sewage lagoons. soils2 4 14USDA/Wikipedia

Soil organic matter is the foundation of the soil food web, and the consensus among scientists I talked with was that soil organic matter is the single best indicator of soil health. How much carbon could the world’s farmers and ranchers park underground through soil building practices that incorporate plant residue and stimulate microbial activity? Estimates vary widely, but farmers I visited had more than doubled the carbon content of their soil over a decade or two. If farmers around the world did this, it could help partially offset fossil fuel emissions for decades to come.

Soil restoration will not solve world hunger, stop climate change, or prevent further loss of biodiversity. No single thing can solve these problems. But the innovative farmers I met showed me that adopting the full suite of conservation agriculture practices can provide a better livelihood and significant environmental benefits on conventional and organic farms alike.

Restoring fertility to degraded agricultural soils is one of humanity’s most pressing and under-recognized natural infrastructure projects, and would pay dividends for generations to come. It’s time for a moonshot-like effort to restore the root of all prosperous civilizations: Our soil, the skin of the Earth.

This article originally appeared on The Conversation

Related Books

Agrosilvicultural Science: Manual on Forest Stand Conservation including Nursery Management and Soil Conservation Practices
soil conservationAuthor: Etomes Marcel Nnoko
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing
List Price: $91.00

Buy Now

Soil and Water Conservation Engineering, Seventh Edition
soil conservationAuthor: Rodney L. Huffman
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: American Society of Agricultural Engineers
List Price: $89.00

Buy Now

Field Book for Describing and Sampling Soils (Version 3.0)
soil conservationAuthor: National Soil Survey Center
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Books Express Publishing
List Price: $24.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}