كيف يمكن للمزارعين الربح اقتصاديا وسياسيا من خلال معالجة تغير المناخ

كيف يمكن للمزارعين الربح اقتصاديا وسياسيا من خلال معالجة تغير المناخ

الرئيس ترامب ، الجمهوريون في الكونغرس و معظم المزارعين الأمريكيين يشتركون في المواقف المشتركة بشأن تغير المناخ: يشككون في العلم الذي يظهر أن النشاط البشري يغير المناخ العالمي ويشككون في استخدام السياسة العامة للحد من تلوث غازات الاحتباس الحراري. المحادثة

لكن المزارعين في وضع فريد لمعالجة تغير المناخ. لدينا القوة السياسية والحوافز الاقتصادية وأدوات السياسة للقيام بذلك. ما ليس لدينا بعد هو الإرادة السياسية.

كمزارع من الجيل الخامس في ولاية ايوا ومنسق الزراعة المرنة في مركز القانون الزراعي في جامعة دريكأتعامل مع تحديات وفرص تغير المناخ. كما أرى ضرورة أن يتخذ المجتمع الزراعي خيارات صعبة بشأن أولويات سياسته في مواجهة التحولات السياسية المثيرة في واشنطن.

وقد حدد الخبراء والمجموعات الزراعية والرئيس ترامب المزارعين على أنهم الديموغرافية الرئيسية في انتصار الجمهوريين. كيف نستفيد من هذا التأثير يبقى أن نرى. التجارة والهجرة والسياسة اقتراح ميزانية 2018 المالية للرئيس خلق بالفعل خلافات بين المزارعين وإدارة ترامب. سوف نحتاج لأن نكون إستراتيجيين في استخدام قوتنا السياسية لتشكيل السياسة الزراعية.

إن خبرتي البحثية والزراعية تقنعني أنه حتى في الظروف السياسية غير المواتية اليوم ، يمكن للزراعة أن تلعب دوراً هاماً في معالجة تغير المناخ. يمكن للمزارعين الأميركيين أن يصبحوا قادة عالميين في إنتاج ما يحتاجه العالم بقدر ما يحتاجه الغذاء الغزير: مناخ مستقر.

المزارعين يتصارعون مع تغير المناخ

قبل 2009 ، شارك الآلاف من المزارعين في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة في مشروعين كبيرين يهدفان إلى الحفاظ على تخزين الكربون أو زيادته في الأراضي الزراعية: برنامج ائتمان الكربون التابع للاتحاد الوطني للمزارعين و ال ايوا مزرعة مكتب اغراغات برنامج. دفعت هذه البرامج المزارعين للحد من عدد الأفدنة التي يحرثونها وللمحافظة على الأراضي العشبية أو إقامتها. وجاءت المدفوعات من خلال بورصة شيكاغو للمناخ (CCX) ، وهي سوق طوعي حيث يمكن للشركات شراء وبيع ائتمانات الكربون.

ولكن بعد أن أصبح باراك أوباما رئيسًا في 2009 ، انضم المزارعون بشكل ساحق إلى معارضة إجراءات تغير المناخ. كما يوثق الصحفي الزراعي كريس كلايتون في كتابه 2015 "الفيل في الذرة"ينظر المزارعون إلى استراتيجية أوباما المناخية - وخاصة الدفع من أجلها تشريعات الحد الأقصى والتجارة في 2009-2010 - كتجاوزات تنظيمية من قبل الكونغرس الديمقراطي والرئيس.

على سبيل المثال ، بعد أن ذكرت وكالة الحماية البيئية لفترة قصيرة ذكر الثروة الحيوانية في تقرير 2008 بشأن تنظيم غازات الدفيئة بموجب قانون الهواء النقي ، اندلع المزارعون والمجموعات التجارية الزراعية في غضب من احتمال وجود "ضريبة البقرة"على إطلاق الميثان من طرفي الحيوان. عندما فشل الكونجرس في سن مشروع قانون الحد الأقصى للتجارة في 2010 ، خرج CCX من العمل.

يؤدي انتخاب الرئيس ترامب والأغلبية الجمهورية في مجلسي الكونجرس إلى القضاء على "البعبع" التنظيمي الذي نظمه العديد من المزارعين للرفض في 2009. في معارضتنا ، رفض المزارعون فرصة الحصول على أجر مقابل تقديم الخدمات البيئية. قد يكون جعل مصادر الدخل الجديدة منطقية من الناحية الاقتصادية خلال التاريخ ازدهار السلع بين 2009 و 2013 ، ولكنه لم يعد كذلك.

في الآونة الأخيرة توتر الاقتصاد الزراعي. بعد عدة سنوات من الربحية التاريخية ، يبدو أن 2017 هو السنة الرابعة على التوالي من انخفاض الدخل. يواجه المزارعون الأمريكيون توقعات الركود إلى انخفاض الإيرادات.

قد يكون المزارعون الآن على استعداد للنظر في طرق جديدة لتوليد الدخل من خلال تبني ممارسات صديقة للبيئة ، مثل زراعة محاصيل الغطاء أو مد المحاصيل الزراعية أو القضاء على الحراثة. يستخدم العديد من المزارعين هذه الممارسات بالفعل على نطاق ضيق. لمكافحة تغير المناخ ، نحن بحاجة إلى تطبيقها على كل فدادين تقريبا. ونحن بحاجة إلى تطوير ممارسات جديدة صديقة للبيئة.

يتم تحفيز المزارعين من خلال الحوافز الاقتصادية لتنفيذ الممارسات البيئية. على سبيل المثال ، قاموا مؤخرا بتسجيل ما يقرب من فدان 400,000 في برنامج احتياطي الحفاظ على وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية CP-42 التي تدفع المزارعين إلى إخراج الأرض من الإنتاج وتأسيس موطن للملقحات. ومن المفارقات ، أننا قد نحتاج اليوم إلى احتضان مصدر للدخل بدا قبل ثماني سنوات وكأنه مثل التوعية التنظيمية.

الفرص بموجب اتفاقية باريس

جاء العالم معا في ديسمبر 2015 لإكمال اتفاق باريس، مما يشير إلى تقدم كبير في الالتزامات العالمية للتصدي لتغير المناخ. تلتزم جميع الدول المشاركة بتخفيض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة لديها. بدأ عدد من الشركات الأمريكية في تقديم الدعم وضع سعر على الكربون.

كانت الزراعة بشكل ملحوظ غائبة عن مناقشات المناخ العالميةولكن يمكن أن يستفيد المزارعون من السياسات التي تسيِّر الكربون إلى السوق وتخلق أسواقًا جديدة لبدائل انبعاث الكربون. في مؤتمر باريس ، قدمت الحكومة الفرنسية 4 لكل مبادرة 1000التي تتحدى المزارعين لزيادة الكربون في تربتهم. وقد انضمت حكومات وطنية أخرى ، وجامعات ومنظمات زراعية إلى هذا الجهد لتعزيز الزراعة التي تلتقط وتخزن الكربون.

الآن المزارعين الأميركيين يواجهون خيارًا. هل نريد استكشاف طرق لتوفير الخدمات البيئية لمكافحة تغير المناخ؟ أم سنجلس ونسمح للمزارعين في أجزاء أخرى من العالم بتطوير هذه الحلول الزراعية؟ كاليفورنيا تظهر بالفعل الطريق من قبل دعوة المزارعين للمشاركة في الجهود العامة والخاصة لمعالجة تغير المناخ.

الاستفادة من مشروع قانون مزرعة 2018

ترفض إدارة ترامب جهود السياسة لحماية المناخ وتشير إلى أن الولايات المتحدة قد تنسحب من اتفاقية باريس. لذلك ، سيحتاج المزارعون إلى استعراض عضلاتنا السياسية لدعم حلول المناخ. لحسن الحظ ، لدينا أدوات سياسية قوية تحت تصرفنا.

تقوم منظمات الزراعة والمشرعون بتطوير مشروع قانون زراعة 2018 ، والذي سيقود سياسة الزراعة الأمريكية لعدة سنوات ، على الأرجح من خلال 2022. يمكن للمزارعين الفكر استخدام هذا التشريع لتطوير برامج لدفع ثمن الخدمات البيئية الصديقة للبيئة دون تغيير جذري في الطريقة التي نزرع بها. يمكن للابتكارات الصغيرة نسبياً أن تقدم مدفوعات مقابل الخدمات البيئية ، التي سيدعمها في البداية دافعو الضرائب الأمريكيون ، لكن فيما بعد يمكن تمويلها من أسواق الكربون.

على سبيل المثال ، تستهدف برامج المحافظة حاليًا تآكل التربة. سيحتاج صانعو السياسات إلى إضافة مكافآت لتقليل الانبعاثات وتقييد الكربون. كنقطة انطلاق ، يمكن لمشروع قانون المزرعة التالي تحديد الممارسات التي تنتج هذه النتائج ودمجها في البرامج الحالية. يمكن لمشروع القانون أيضا تطوير برامج جديدة لتسريع ابتكار المزارعين.

يمتلك المزارعون تاريخًا في العمل معًا. البرامج الفيدرالية التي تدعم إنتاج الإيثانول والديزل الحيوي وتوربينات الرياح في الأراضي الزراعية جاءت كلها بسبب تقدم المزارعين السياسات العامة لدعم هذه المنتجات قبل وجود طلب واضح على السوق. وبنفس الطريقة ، يمكننا استخدام فاتورة المزرعة لزيادة دخل المزرعة عن طريق تحويل الفوائد العامة للخدمات المناخية إلى نقد.

كيف يمكن للمزارعين أن يقودوا

عندما انهار CCX في 2010 ، مجموعات زراعية فقد بالفعل أموالاً تحاول تطوير برنامج قبل وجود دعم عام كافٍ للحفاظ عليه. علمنا أنها تتطلب العمل الحكومي والقيادة التجارية على حد سواء لمكافأة المزارعين بنجاح على الخدمات البيئية.

من خلال الدفع بالمدفوعات مقابل الخدمات المناخية في فاتورة المزرعة القادمة ، يمكننا أن نجعل مزارعنا أكثر مرونة ومحاذاة الزراعة الأمريكية مع المصالح التجارية العالمية. إذا كان التاريخ مؤشرا جيدا لمستقبلنا ، فلن يقوم أحد بذلك للمزارعين. سيكون علينا القيام بذلك لأنفسنا.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماثيو راسل ، منسق الزراعة المرن ، جامعة دريك

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ Keywords = farming and climate change؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

How Farmers Can Profit Economically And Politically By Addressing Climate Change

How Farmers Can Profit Economically And Politically By Addressing Climate Change

President Trump, congressional Republicans and most American farmers share common positions on climate change: They question the science showing human activity is altering the global climate and are skeptical of using public policy to reduce greenhouse gas pollution. The Conversation

But farmers are in a unique position to tackle climate change. We have the political power, economic incentive and policy tools to do so. What we don’t yet have is the political will.

As a fifth-generation Iowa farmer and the resilient agriculture coordinator at the Drake University Agricultural Law Center, I deal with both the challenges and opportunities of climate change. I also see a need for the agriculture community to make tough choices about its policy priorities in the face of dramatic political shifts in Washington.

Pundits, agriculture groups and President Trump have identified farmers as a key demographic in the Republican victory. How we leverage this influence remains to be seen. Trade and immigration policy and the president’s fiscal 2018 budget proposal are already creating disagreements between farmers and the Trump administration. We will need to be strategic in using our political power to shape agriculture policy.

My research and farming experience convince me that even in today’s unpromising political conditions, agriculture can play an important role in addressing climate change. American farmers can become global leaders in producing what the world needs as much as abundant food: a stable climate.

Farmers wrestle with climate change

Prior to 2009, thousands of farmers across the United States participated in two large-scale projects designed to maintain or increase carbon storage on farmlands: the National Farmers Union Carbon Credit Program and the Iowa Farm Bureau AgraGate program. These programs paid farmers for limiting the number of acres they tilled and for maintaining or establishing grasslands. Payments came through the Chicago Climate Exchange (CCX), a voluntary market in which businesses could buy and sell carbon credits.

But after Barack Obama became president in 2009, farmers overwhelmingly joined the opposition to climate change action. As agriculture journalist Chris Clayton documents in his 2015 book “The Elephant in the Cornfield,” farmers viewed Obama’s climate strategy – especially the push for cap-and-trade legislation in 2009-2010 – as regulatory overreach by a Democratic Congress and president.

For example, after the Environmental Protection Agency briefly mentioned livestock in a 2008 report on regulating greenhouse gases under the Clean Air Act, farmers and agriculture trade groups erupted in outrage at the prospect of a “cow tax” on methane releases from both ends of the animal. When Congress failed to enact the cap-and-trade bill in 2010, the CCX went out of business.

The election of President Trump and Republican majorities in both houses of Congress eliminates the regulatory “bogeyman” that many farmers organized to reject in 2009. In our opposition, farmers rejected an opportunity to be paid for providing environmental services. Forgoing new sources of income might have made economic sense during the historic commodity boom between 2009 and 2013, but it no longer does.

Recently the farm economy has soured. After several years of historic profitability, 2017 looks to be the fourth straight year of declining income. American farmers face forecasts of stagnant to declining revenues.

Farmers may now be willing to consider new ways of generating income by adopting environmentally friendly practices, such as planting cover crops, extending crop rotations or eliminating tillage. Many farmers are already using these practices on a small scale. To combat climate change, we need to apply them on nearly all of our acres. And we need to develop new environmentally friendly practices.

Farmers are motivated by economic incentives to implement environmental practices. As an example, they recently enrolled nearly 400,000 acres in the USDA Conservation Reserve Program CP-42 which pays farmers to take land out of production and establish habitat for pollinators. Ironically, today we may need to embrace a source of revenue that just eight years ago seemed to many like regulatory overreach.

Opportunities under the Paris Agreement

The world came together in December 2015 to complete the Paris Agreement, which signals a major advance in global commitments to address climate change. All participating countries commit to lowering their greenhouse gas emissions. A number of American businesses have started to support putting a price on carbon.

Agriculture was noticeably absent from global climate discussions, but farmers could profit from policies that monetize carbon and create new markets for carbon emission allowances. At the Paris conference, the French government introduced the 4 per 1000 Initiative, which challenges farmers to increase the carbon in their soils. Other national governments, universities and agricultural organizations have joined this effort to advance agriculture that captures and stores carbon.

Now American farmers face a choice. Do we want to explore ways of providing environmental services to fight climate change? Or will we sit back and allow farmers in other parts of the world to develop these agricultural solutions? California is already showing the way by inviting farmers to participate in public-private efforts to address climate change.

Leveraging the 2018 Farm Bill

The Trump administration rejects policy efforts to protect the climate and indicates the United States may pull out of the Paris Agreement. Therefore, farmers will need to flex our political muscle to support climate solutions. Fortunately, we have powerful policy tools at our disposal.

Agriculture organizations and lawmakers are developing the 2018 farm bill, which will guide U.S. agriculture policy for several years, likely through 2022. Forward-thinking farmers can use this legislation to develop programs to pay for climate-friendly environmental services without radically changing the way we farm. Relatively small innovations can deliver payments for environmental services, which initially would be supported by American taxpayers but later could be funded by carbon markets.

For example, conservation programs currently target soil erosion. Policymakers would need to add rewards for reducing emissions and sequestering carbon. As a starting point, the next farm bill can identify practices that produce these outcomes and incorporate them into existing programs. The bill could also develop new programs to accelerate farmer innovation.

Farmers have a history of working together. Federal programs supporting ethanol and biodiesel production and wind turbines on farmlands all came about because farmers advanced public policies to support these products before clear market demand existed. In the same way, we can use the farm bill to increase farm income by monetizing the public benefits of climate services.

How farmers can lead

When the CCX collapsed in 2010, farm groups had already lost money trying to develop a program before there was enough public support to sustain it. We learned that it requires both government action and business leadership to successfully reward farmers for environmental services.

By advancing payments for climate services in the next farm bill, we can make our farms more resilient and align American agriculture with global business interests. If history is a good predictor of our future, no one is going to do this for farmers. We will have to do it for ourselves.

About The Author

Matthew Russell, Resilient Agriculture Coordinator, Drake University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming
climateBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • PENGUIN

Publisher: Penguin Books
List Price: $22.00

Buy Now

Climate Change and Insect Pests (CABI Climate Change Series)
climateBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: CABI
List Price: $145.00

Buy Now

The Biochar Solution: Carbon Farming and Climate Change
climateAuthor: Albert Bates
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: New Society Publishers
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}