هل يجب أن نضع الناس في السجون على الإطلاق؟

هل يجب أن نضع الناس في السجون على الإطلاق؟

لقطات بثت الأسبوع الماضي من الأطفال الذين يتعرضون لسوء المعاملة في سجن الإقليم الشمالي أرسلت موجات صادمة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. أجبرتنا هذه الصور على التعامل مع المشكلة كما لو كانت أخبارًا متقطعة ، على الرغم من حقيقة أن الكثير من الناس كانوا يعرفون الكثير عنها طوال هذا الوقت.

مع ذلك، لجنة ملكية ويجري إنشاء ، وعلى الرغم من أن الكثيرين يودون رؤية نطاق أوسع ، يجب أن تكون المساءلة عن الانتهاكات من هذا النوع هي النتيجة النهائية.

ولكن هناك سؤال أوسع نطاقاً يتم طرحه حول استخدام الحبس في ظروف كهذه. عندما نعرف أن السجن يكرس الأذى ، وكذلك الجريمة ، من الصعب تخيل كيف أن الحرمان من الحرية في شكله الحالي - ناهيك عن الحرمان التام داخل جدران دون دايل - يمكن حقا تصحيح أو إعادة تأهيل أي شخص.

هناك سبب يجعل القانون الدولي يطالب بأن يكون الحبس أو الاحتجاز خيارًا أخيرًا مطلقًا حيث يكون الأطفال معنيين. عندما تصبح نسبة كبيرة من جميع الجناة رهن الاحتجاز بشكل كبير - ويصابون بصدمة نفسية - بطريقة ما ، فإن حبسهم لا يؤدي إلا إلى مضاعفة هذه الآثار.

لا شك أن هناك مجرمين متحصنين لا يبدو أن أمامهم خيارات أخرى غير السجن. وهذا ينطبق على أقلية صغيرة ويعني أنه يجب القيام بالمزيد من العمل حول توفير الإشراف والدعم بشكل فعال في المجتمع بمجرد إطلاق سراح السجناء.

والجدير بالملاحظة أن عدداً قليلاً جداً - إن وجد - من المجرمين الأكثر صلابة هم من النساء أو الأطفال. في الواقع ، السجن هو سياسة مصممة بشكل رئيسي حول الرجال ، مع النساء والأطفال الأضرار الجانبية في معركة عمرها قرون لاحتواء آثار الفقر ، والحفاظ على سلطة بعض الرجال ومعاقبة مخالفات الآخرين.

هذا ليس بيانًا أساسيًا أو متعاطفًا. والحقيقة هي أنه مع بعض الاستثناءات القليلة ، فإن المرأة مهينة يختلف عن الرجال. تعتبر جرائم المخدرات منخفضة المستوى وجرائم الممتلكات والسرقة هي الجرائم الرئيسية التي ترتكبها النساء. يتم تصنيف معظمها على أنها الحد الأدنى من الأمن وتحكم على فترات احتجاز قصيرة مما يجعلها غير مؤهلة للحصول على خدمات إعادة التأهيل المحدودة المتاحة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ومع ذلك ، قد يتعرضون أثناء وجودهم في السجن لعمليات التفتيش الشريطية وغيرها من عمليات المراقبة والتقييد. في فيكتوريا إلى ما يزيد قليلاً على عقد من الزمان ، كان من المحتمل أن يشمل ذلك النساء المقيدين أثناء وضعهن ، كما يبدو أن صناع القرار الذكور يعتبرون النساء العاملات عرضة لخطر الطيران.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، نعرف أن غالبية النساء المسجونات يقعن ضحايا لنوع ما من العنف الجنسي. وهذا بدوره يساهم في إهمالهم ، إما من خلال ارتباطه بالمرض العقلي أو التشرد أو غيره من أشكال الحرمان أو من خلال فرض الدين أو الذنب عليهم من قبل المسيئين.

ثم يتبخر تعاطفنا ونرسلهم إلى بيئة ترسخ سيطرة الآخرين على أجسادهم. الميزة الوحيدة هي أنه في بعض الأحيان يقدم فترة قصيرة من الراحة من الناس الذين أضر بهم في الخارج.

بعبارة أخرى ، نحن ننفق مبالغ طائلة من المال على حبس النساء والشباب الذين يحتاجون ، في أغلب الأحيان ، إلى حماية أكثر من المجتمع مما يحتاجه المجتمع منهم.

أيضا ، يثير انتشار الإيذاء السابق للمرأة السؤال عما إذا كنا بحاجة إلى سجن للنساء - أو احتجاز الأحداث - على الإطلاق لو لم يكن استخدام الرجال للعنف الجندري؟

طرح هذا السؤال ليس عن تشويه صورة الرجال. إن الحبس ليس استجابة ذكية لمعظم الناس في سجوننا - ذكور أو إناث أو متحولين جنسياً. نسبة كبيرة من جميع السجناء هم من خلفيات للفقر بين الأجيال وانخفاض التحصيل العلمي ، أو الذين يعيشون مع مرض عقلي أو إصابة الدماغ المكتسبة.

بالنظر إلى أن الغالبية العظمى من الجناة العنيفين - الذين تريد الجماعة بحقهم الحماية - هم من الرجال ، ونحن نعرف الآثار الجنائية للسجن - ليس فقط على المحتجزين ، بل على الأطفال الذين تركوا وراءهم - استخدام هذا كسياسة عامة الاستجابة تبدو أكثر غرابة.

ونادرا ما يشكك المجتمع في استخدام الحبس كرد على الجريمة. ولكن هذه فرصة لأن نسأل أنفسنا ما هو الغرض الحقيقي من نظام الإصلاحيات. هل هو معاقبة؟ احتجاز؟ إعادة تأهيل؟ تعلقت مشاكل المستعصية؟

أو ينبغي أن يعمل كتدخل إيجابي يحمي الضعفاء من المزيد من الضرر؟

قد يكون السجن سياسة مفيدة لأولئك الذين يتمتعون بمواقف متميزة على مر العصور الذين كانوا حريصين على تأمين سلطة الدولة. ومع ذلك ، فقد أصبح في معظم الحالات حجرًا حول أعناقنا - غير مناسب للغرض بالنسبة لغالبية من يقطنونها ، وبالتأكيد غير لائقين للنساء والأطفال الذين نتجنبهم بشكل متزايد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

روب هالز ، مدير ، مركز العدالة المبتكرة ، جامعة RMIT

إلينا كامبل ، مديرة السياسات والبحوث ، مركز العدالة المبتكرة ، جامعة RMIT

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = prison reform؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

Should We Be Locking People Up In Prisons At All?

Should We Be Locking People Up In Prisons At All?

Footage aired last week of children being abused in a Northern Territory prison sent shockwaves around the nation. These images forced us to grapple with the problem as if it were breaking news, despite the fact that so many people knew so much about it for so long.

Nevertheless, a royal commission is being established, and although many would like to see a wider scope, accountability for abuses of this nature must be the ultimate result.

But there is a much broader question to be asked about the use of incarceration in circumstances such as these. When we know that prison entrenches harm, as well as crime, it is hard to imagine how the deprivation of liberty in its current form – let alone the unmitigated deprivation within the walls of Don Dale – could really correct or rehabilitate anyone.

There is a reason why international law demands that incarceration or detention be an option of absolute last resort where children are concerned. When a significant proportion of all offenders come into custody profoundly disadvantaged – and traumatised – in some way, imprisoning them only compounds these effects.

Without doubt, there are hardened offenders for whom there seem no other options but incarceration. This applies to a small minority and means that more work has to be done around providing effective supervision and support in the community once prisoners are released.

Notably, very few – if any – of the most-hardened offenders are women or children. In fact, incarceration is a policy designed mainly around men, with women and children the collateral damage in a centuries-old battle to contain the impacts of poverty, maintain the authority of some men and punish the infractions of others.

This is not an essentialist or patronising statement. The reality is that, with few exceptions, women’s offending differs from men’s. Low-level drug offences, property crimes and theft are the primary offences committed by women. Most are categorised as minimum security and are sentenced to short custodial periods that leave them ineligible for the limited rehabilitation services available.

Nevertheless, while in prison they may be exposed to strip searches and other intrusive surveillance and restriction. In Victoria until just over a decade ago, this potentially included shackling women while they gave birth, as apparently male decision-makers considered labouring women a flight risk.

Meanwhile, we know that the majority of incarcerated women are victims of some kind of gendered violence. This in turn contributes to their offending, either through its association with mental illness, homelessness and other forms of disadvantage or through the foisting of debt or culpability on them by their abusers.

Then our sympathy evaporates and we send them to an environment that entrenches others’ control over their bodies. The only advantage is that it sometimes offers a brief period of respite from the people who have hurt them outside.

In other words, we are spending vast amounts of money on incarcerating women and young people who, for the most part, need more protection from the community than the community needs from them.

Also, the prevalence of women’s prior victimisation raises the question of whether would we need a women’s prison – or juvenile detention – at all were it not for men’s use of gendered violence?

Posing this question is not about demonising men. Incarceration is not a smart response for most of the people in our prisons – male, female, or transgender. A significant proportion of all prisoners are from backgrounds of intergenerational poverty and low educational attainment, are living with mental illness or an acquired brain injury.

Given the vast majority of violent offenders – from whom the community rightly wants protection – are men, and we know the criminogenic effects of prison – not only on those in custody, but on the children left behind – the use of this as a mainstream policy response seems even more bizarre.

The community rarely questions the use of incarceration as a response to crime. But this is an opportunity to ask ourselves what the purpose of a corrections system really is. Is it to punish? Detain? Rehabilitate? Shelve intractable problems?

Or should it function as a positive intervention which protects the vulnerable from further harm?

Incarceration may have been a useful policy for those in privileged positions down the ages who were keen to secure the authority of the state. For the most part, however, it’s become a stone around our necks – unfit for purpose for the majority of those it houses, and definitely unfit for the women and children we’re increasingly locking away.

About The Author

Rob Hulls, Director, Centre for Innovative Justice, RMIT University

Elena Campbell, Manager, Policy and Research, Centre for Innovative Justice, RMIT University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Prison-wise: The Psychology of Incarceration, The Potential for Change
justiceAuthor: Dr. Jack Jaffe
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $14.99

Buy Now

The Politics of Punishment: Prison Reform in Russia, 1863-1917 (Russian Studies Series)
justiceAuthor: Bruce F. Adams
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Northern Illinois University Press
List Price: $38.50

Buy Now

School and Prison Reform
justiceAuthor: Leonard H. Beck Ph.D.
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $5.00

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}