كيف كاليفورنيا ونيفادا وواشنطن تشديد الأسلحة النارية اللوائح

كيف كاليفورنيا ونيفادا وواشنطن تشديد الأسلحة النارية اللوائح

حول 1.5 مليون شخص تم اطلاق النار ببندقية ، 468,758 قاتلة، في الولايات المتحدة على مدى السنوات الماضية 15. الغالبية ، ما يقرب من ثلثي وفيات البنادق ، هي الانتحار. أكثر من الثلث هي طلقات نارية بسبب الاعتداء.

مع القليل من العمل من الحكومة الفيدرالية بشأن السيطرة على الأسلحة ، دخلت الولايات في هذا الفراغ ، وأصدرت التشريعات بما في ذلك القوانين التي تحاول لملء ثغرات التحقق من الخلفية في القانون الاتحادي.

في تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) 8 ، كاليفورنيا, نيفادا . واشنطن اجتازت مبادرات الاقتراع التي تقيد بيع الأسلحة النارية بطريقة ما. سنلقي نظرة على ما تفعله هذه القوانين الجديدة ، وما إذا كانت ستقلل من عدد ضحايا العنف.

كاليفورنيا: التحقق من خلفية الذخيرة

الاقتراح 63 ، أو "مبادرة السلامة للجميع"، التي وافق عليها الناخبون في نوفمبر 8 ، تحظر المجلات ذات السعة العالية ، وتعتبر سرقة الأسلحة جريمة ، وتطلب من المالكين والبائعين الإبلاغ عما إذا كانت أسلحتهم إما مسروقة أو مفقودة.

الاقتراح 63 أيضا استبعاد الأشخاص الذين لديهم تاريخ من سرقة الأسلحة من امتلاك بندقية وخلق نظام لمصادرة البنادق التي يملكها المجرمين. كما يتطلب من الناس الحصول على تصريح لمدة أربع سنوات والخضوع لفحص خلفي لشراء ذخيرة. وسيتم على مراحل هذه المتطلبات على مدى السنوات القليلة المقبلة.

انها تعزز فواتير وقعت في القانون من قبل جيري براون حاكم الولاية في يوليو / تموز 2016 التي تتطلب إجراء فحوصات خلفية لمشتريات الذخيرة ، والحد من قدرات المجلة وتقييد إقراض الأسلحة النارية. بموجب هذه القوانين ، يجب على الأفراد والشركات الحصول على ترخيص لمدة سنة واحدة من وزارة العدل في ولاية كاليفورنيا من أجل بيع الذخيرة. كما يتطلب التشريع من البائعين إجراء فحوصات خلفية للمشترين لدى وزارة العدل.

كاليفورنيا فريدة من نوعها في تمرير مثل هذا التنظيم الشامل للذخيرة. بينما هناك العديد من الدول الأخرى التي تنظيم الذخيرة المبيعات والتحويلات ، وقوانينهم ليست واسعة مثل تلك التي مرت كاليفورنيا في يوليو ونوفمبر.

نظرا لوجود ما يكفي من الأسلحة في البلاد تسليح كل المقيمينقد يمثل تنظيم الذخيرة بديلاً معقولاً لتنظيم الأسلحة النارية نفسها.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


توسيع الشيكات الخلفية: مرت في ولاية نيفادا ، ورفض في ولاية ماين

الـ برادي بيل من 1993 يتطلب إجراء فحوصات خلفية لجميع مبيعات الأسلحة التي يتم إجراؤها من قبل تجار السلاح المرخصين ، ولكن لا يتم إجراء جميع مبيعات الأسلحة أو عمليات النقل من قبل التجار المرخصين.

هناك دعم الجمهور الساحق للحصول على فحوصات خلفية عامة ، بغض النظر عمن يجري البيع. ومع ذلك ، الجهود الاتحادية المتكررة لجعل الشيكات الخلفية شاملة قد اجتمع مع المقاومة.

اعتبارًا من 2016 ، تطلب ثماني ولايات ومنطقة كولومبيا إجراء فحوصات خلفية لجميع أنواع مبيعات الأسلحة وعمليات النقل بما في ذلك المعاملات الخاصة وغير المرخصة.

لمين سؤال شنومكسالتي كانت مهزومة ، كانت ستحتاج إلى فحص الخلفية قبل بيع أو نقل بندقية بين أولئك الذين ليسوا مرخصين لبيع الأسلحة النارية ، مثل المبيعات الخاصة والمبيعات عبر الإنترنت ، والبائعين غير المرخصين.

في ولاية نيفادا سؤال شنومكسيتطلب المصادقة عليه بشكل ضيق من قبل الناخب ، أن الشخص غير المرخص الذي يرغب في بيع أو نقل سلاح ناري إلى شخص آخر سيتعين عليه إجراء النقل من خلال تاجر السلاح المرخص له الذي يتعين عليه إجراء فحص الخلفية. على سبيل المثال ، يتم الإعفاء من عمليات النقل والتحويلات المؤقتة بين أفراد العائلة المباشرين.

سيُسمح لهذا الوكيل المرخص بتحصيل "رسوم معقولة" مقابل خدمته. سيعتبر انتهاك القانون جنحة فادحة ، مع غرامة تصل إلى 2,000 دولار أمريكي ، أو حتى السجن لمدة سنة واحدة بعد محاكمة من قبل هيئة محلفين ، أو كليهما.

واشنطن: تقييد الوصول إلى الأسلحة النارية

في 2014 ، وافق الناخبون في ولاية واشنطن مبادرة 594، الأمر الذي يتطلب إجراء اختبارات خلفية على كل شخص يشتري بندقية ، بغض النظر عن نوع الشراء.

الناخبون في الولاية مرّوا للتو مبادرة 1491، والذي يسمح لأحد أفراد العائلة أو أعضاء إنفاذ القانون بتقديم التماس لتحديد ما إذا كان الشخص الذي يمتلك بندقية يشكل تهديدًا خطيرًا للعنف لنفسه أو لنفسه أو للآخرين.

بمجرد تقديم التماس ، ستقوم المحكمة بإخطار الموضوع وستعقد جلسة استماع. يجوز للقاضي إصدار أمر بتقييد وصول الشخص إلى الأسلحة النارية لمدة تصل إلى عام واحد ، أو إحالة الشخص الذي يواجه أزمة لتقييمه لتلقي المساعدة اللازمة ، أو كليهما. سيستمر أمر التقييد سنة واحدة ويمكن تجديده سنويًا.

سيتعين على المتهم الانتظار لمدة عام لطلب جلسة لإلغاء الأمر ، وسيترتب على أي انتهاك خلال الفترة عقوبة جنائية. تقديم زور عريضة سيحمل عقوبة جنائية أيضًا.

منطلق المبادرة هو أن أفراد العائلة أو سلطات إنفاذ القانون غالباً ما يكونون في أفضل وضع لرؤية علامات التحذير من العنف.

هل سيكون لهذه القوانين تأثير على العنف في مجال الأسلحة النارية؟

في مايو 2016 ، نشرنا دراسة في مجلة The Lancet تقييم تأثير أنواع مختلفة من تشريعات الأسلحة النارية على وفيات البنادق. في تحليلنا وجدنا أن قوانين التحقق من الخلفية ، على غرار تلك التي صدرت مؤخرا في كاليفورنيا ونيفادا ، يمكن أن تقلل من وفيات الأسلحة النارية.

بينما كانت تحليلاتنا أولية بشكل كبير ، فإنها توفر الأمل المبكر في أن بعض التشريعات الجديدة قد تخفض ، في السنوات القليلة المقبلة ، عبء العنف من الأسلحة النارية في هذه الدول.

ويمكن مثل هذه القوانين ، على الأقل من الناحية النظرية ، تمهيد الطريق لتشريع شامل لفحص الخلفية على المستوى الاتحادي لكل من مشتريات الأسلحة النارية والذخيرة التي تغطي جميع المبيعات غير المرخصة والخاصة.

لكن العمل الفيدرالي يبدو الآن غير مرجح في ظل انتخاب دونالد ترامب. وهذا يجعل التنظيم الخاص بالدولة أكثر أهمية بكثير في التخفيف من وباء الأسلحة النارية.

المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

بيندو كاليسان ، مدير مركز إيفانز لأبحاث الوبائيات المتعدية وأبحاث فعالية المقارنة ، جامعة بوسطن ساندرو غاليا ، عميد كلية الصحة العامة ، جامعة بوسطن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = fearearm violence؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How California, Nevada And Washington Tightened Firearms Regulations

How California, Nevada And Washington Tightened Firearms Regulations

About 1.5 million people have been shot by a gun, 468,758 fatally, in the United States over the past 15 years. The majority, nearly two-thirds of gun deaths, are suicides; more than a third are gunshots due to assault.

With little action from the federal government on gun control, states have stepped into this void, passing legislation including laws that attempt to fill the background check loopholes in federal law.

On Nov. 8, California, Nevada and Washington passed ballot initiatives that restrict the sale of firearms in some way. We’ll take a look at what do these new laws do, and whether they might lower the toll of firearms violence.

California: Background checks for ammunition

Proposition 63, or the “Safety For All Initiative,” which voters approved on Nov. 8, bans high-capacity ammunition magazines, deems gun theft a felony and requires both owners and sellers to report if their guns are either stolen or lost.

Proposition 63 also disqualifies people with a history of gun theft from owning a gun and creates a system to confiscate guns owned by felons. It also requires people to obtain a four-year permit and to undergo a background check to purchase ammunition. These requirements will be phased in over the next few years.

It bolsters bills signed into law by Gov. Jerry Brown in July 2016 requiring background checks for ammunition purchases, limiting magazine capacities and restricting lending of firearms. Under those bills individuals and businesses must obtain a one-year license from the California Department of Justice in order to sell ammunition. The legislation also requires sellers to conduct background checks of purchasers with the Department of Justice.

California is unique in passing such comprehensive ammunition regulation. While there several other states that regulate ammunition sales and transfers, their laws are not as extensive as the ones California passed in July and November.

Given that there are enough guns in the country to arm each and every resident, ammunition regulation may represent a sensible alternative to regulating firearms themselves.

Expanding background checks: Passed in Nevada, rejected in Maine

The Brady Bill of 1993 requires background checks for all gun sales conducted by licensed gun dealers, but not all gun sales or transfers are conducted by licensed dealers.

There is overwhelming public support for requiring universal background checks, regardless of who is conducting the sale. However, repeated federal efforts to make background checks comprehensive have met with resistance.

As of 2016, eight states and the District of Columbia require background checks for all type of gun sales and transfers including private and unlicensed transactions.

Maine’s Question 3, which was defeated, would have required background checks before sale or transfer of a gun between those who are not licensed to sell firearms, such as private and online sales, and unlicensed sellers.

Nevada’s Question 1, which was narrowly approved by voters, requires that an unlicensed person who wishes to sell or transfer a firearm to another person will have to conduct the transfer through a licensed gun dealer who has to conduct a background check. Temporary transfers and transfers between immediate family members, for example, are exempt.

This licensed dealer will be allowed to charge a “reasonable fee” for his or her service. A violation of the law will be considered a gross misdemeanor, with a fine up to US$2,000, or up to one-year imprisonment after a trial by jury, or both.

Washington: Restricting access to firearms

In 2014, voters in Washington state approved Initiative 594, which requires background checks to be run on every person buying a gun, regardless of the type of purchase.

Voters in the state just passed Initiative 1491, which allows a family member or members of law enforcement to file a petition to determine whether a person who possesses a gun poses a serious threat of violence to himself or herself, or to others.

Once a petition is filed, the court will notify the subject and a hearing will be held. A judge may issue an order to restrict the person’s access to firearms for up to one year, or refer the person in crisis for evaluation to receive necessary help, or both. The restriction order would last one year and can be renewed annually.

The accused will have to wait a year to request to a hearing to rescind the order, and any violation during the period will carry a criminal penalty. Falsely filing a petition will also carry a criminal penalty.

The premise of the initiative is that family members or law enforcement are often in the best position to see warning signs of violence.

Will these laws have an affect on firearms violence?

In May 2016, we published a study in The Lancet evaluating the effect of different types of firearms legislation have on gun deaths. In our analysis we found that background check laws, similar to the ones recently passed in California and Nevada, can reduce firearms mortality.

While our analyses were very much preliminary, they provide early hope that some of the new legislation may, in the next few years, lower the burden of firearm violence in these states.

Laws like these could, at least in theory, pave the way for comprehensive federal-level background check legislation for both firearm and ammunition purchases covering all unlicensed and private sales.

But federal action now seems unlikely given the election of Donald Trump. This makes state-specific regulation that much more important in mitigating the firearms epidemic.

The Conversation

About The Author

Bindu Kalesan, Director, Evans Center for Translational Epidemiology and Comparative Effectiveness Research, Boston University and Sandro Galea, Dean, School of Public Health, Boston University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.


Related Books

Firearms and Violence in American Life : A Staff Report to the National Commission on the Causes and Prevention of Violence
justiceAuthor: George D. Newton Jr.
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: National Commission

Buy Now

Firearms and Violence: A Critical Review
justiceAuthor: National Research Council
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: National Academies Press
List Price: $54.95

Buy Now

American Gun: A History of the U.S. in Ten Firearms (P.S.)
justiceAuthor: Chris Kyle
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • American Gun A History of the U S in Ten Firearms

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now