سجين تشغيل الكوب يخفض معدل النكوص بنسبة تزيد على 80٪ في بورتوريكو

سجين تشغيل الكوب يخفض معدل النكوص بنسبة تزيد على 80٪ في بورتوريكو

انه ليس سرا أن نظام السجون في الولايات المتحدة هو الفشل. الإحصاءات الكئيبة وتكثر حول تزايد عدد نزلاء السجون. على الرغم من وجود نسبة 5 فقط من سكان العالم ، فإن الولايات المتحدة تحتجز ربع السجناء في العالم ، خبير اقتصادي.

مع هذا العدد الهائل من السكان يأتي الكثير من المشاكل: اكتظاظ، عرقية فاضحة تباين في معدلات الحبس ، وأموال أقل تنفق على التعليم والبنية التحتية العامة. مجموع التكلفة النقدية المباشرة لدافعي الضرائب هو المقدرة بـ 39 مليار دولارالأموال التي يمكن إنفاقها على التعليم العام والبنية التحتية التي تمس الحاجة إليها.

ولكن من بين جميع الإحصاءات ، ربما يكون معدل العودة إلى الإجرام هو الأكثر قتامة. وفقا للمعهد الوطني للعدالة ، 76.6 في المئة إطلاق سراح السجناء المفرج عنهم في غضون خمس سنوات في الولايات المتحدة.

قارن ذلك مع معدل عودة السجناء الذين شاركوا في أول تعاونية منظمة في العالم بين السجناء والمملوكة في بورتوريكو: Cooperativa de Servicios ARIGOS. تم إعادة اعتقال ستة بالمائة فقط من المشاركين في السنوات العشر الماضية. معدل النكوص العام في بورتوريكو هو 50 في المائة.

تأسست الجمعية التعاونية من قبل السجناء الذين كانوا يبحثون عن سوق للحرف اليدوية، وفقا ل POLICYLINK. نجحت المجموعة في الضغط على حاكم بورتوريكو ، سيلا ماريا كالديرون ، لتغيير التشريع للسماح لأولئك المدانين بجرائم المشاركة في التعاونيات.

كل سجين يحصل على صوت وتصويت في جميع القرارات التي اتخذتها التعاونية. إن جهودهم تجلب إيرادات للسجن ، لكن الأهم من ذلك ، أنهم يبنون المهارات والشعور بالاستثمار الشخصي واحترام الذات. يمكن للسجناء أن يكسبوا أكثر في التعاونية أكثر من عملهم في السجن ، مما يفيد حياتهم ويسمح لهم بالمساعدة في إعالة أسرهم أثناء وجودهم في السجن. وتمنحهم المهارات التي اكتسبوها موطئ قدم للحياة خارج القضبان.

البعض شبهوا النموذج المهيمن لعمل السجون في الولايات المتحدة بـ "العبودية للشركاتيتم الافراج ". السجناء مرة أخرى في المجتمع مع بعض المهارات وقليل الثقة أو الرؤية في إمكانية الاستثمار في أنفسهم ومجتمعاتهم. والنتائج واضحة في العود عالية وعموما معدل حبس المتنامية.

روبرتو لويس رودريغيز روزاريو ، أحد أصحاب التعاونيات في بورتوريكو ، يخبر PolicyLink:

"لقد تعلمنا كيف ندير أعمالاً تجارية ، وبعض السجناء السابقين لديهم الآن أعمالهم الصغيرة الخاصة بهم في الخارج نتيجة لذلك. إذا كان بإمكانك تغيير الطريقة التي يفكر بها الناس في السجن ، يمكنك فعل أي شيء. إنه نموذج للتغيير الاجتماعي. "

لمعرفة المزيد عن تجربة Rosario مع حظيرة ، تحقق من المقابلة الأخيرة هنا من مركز القانون الاقتصادي المستدام.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ignaczak نيناتكتب نينا ميزوراكا اجنازاك وتحرر قصصا عن كل جوانب الناس والمكان: التنمية ، ريادة الأعمال ، النقل ، التعليم ، الطاقة ، السياسة ، التكنولوجيا ، اقتصاد المشاركة ، الأغذية والزراعة المحلية ، والبيئة. أيضا أحب قول (وتصور) القصص وراء البيانات

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على وللمشاركة

كتاب ذات الصلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1626562695. maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
by يوهانا ليسيو ، دكتوراه

Prisoner Run Coop Slashes Recidivism Rate By Over 80% In Puerto Rico

Prisoner Run Coop Slashes Recidivism Rate By Over 80% In Puerto Rico 

It's no secret that the United States prison system is a failure. Dismal statistics abound about the growing prison population. Despite having only 5 percent of the world's population, the United States incarcerates a quarter of the world's prisoners, according to the Economist.

With that massive population comes a litany of woes: overcrowding, egregious racial disparity in incarceration rates, and less money spent on education and public infrastructure. The total direct monetary cost to taxpayers is estimated at $39 billion, money that could be spent on badly needed public education and infrastructure.

But of all the statistics, the recidivism rate is perhaps the most bleak. According to the National Institute of Justice, 76.6 percent of released prisoners are rearrested within five years in the United States.

Compare that with the recidivism rate of prisoners who have participated in the world's first prisoner-organized-and-owned cooperative in Puerto Rico: Cooperativa de Servicios ARIGOS. Only six percent of participants were rearrested in the past ten years. The general recidivism rate in Puerto Rico is 50 percent.

The cooperative was established by prisoners who were looking for a market for their crafts, according to PolicyLink. The group successfully lobbied then governor of Puerto Rico, Sila Maria Calderon, to change legislation to allow those convicted of crimes to participate in cooperatives.

Each prisoner gets a voice and a vote in all decisions made by the cooperative. Their efforts bring in revenue for the prison, but more importantly, they build skills, a sense of personal investment and self-respect. Prisoners can earn more in the cooperative than they can working for the prison, that benefits their lives and allows them to help support their families while in prison. And the skills they gain give them foothold for life outside of bars.

Some have likened the dominant paradigm of prison labor in the United States to "corporate slavery." Prisoners are released back into society with few skills and little confidence or vision in the possibility of investing in themselves and their communities. The results are clear in high recidivism and the overall growing incarceration rate.

Roberto Luis Rodriguez Rosario, one of the cooperative owners in Puerto Rico, tells PolicyLink:

"We've learned how to run a business, and some former inmates now have their own small businesses outside as a result. If you can change the way people think in prison, you can do anything. It is a model for social change."

For more on Rosario's experience with the coop, check out the recent interview here from the Sustainable Economies Law Center.

About The Author

ignaczak ninaNina Misuraca Ignaczak writes and edits stories about all aspects of people and place: development, entrepreneurship, transportation, education, energy, policy, tech, the sharing economy, local food and agriculture, and the environment. Also love telling (and visualizing) the stories behind the data

This article originally appeared on Shareable

Related Book:

Locked Down, Locked Out: Why Prison Doesn't Work and How We Can Do Better (UK Professional Business Management / Business)
justiceAuthor: Maya Schenwar
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}