فقط من هم الملايين من المجرمين ترامب يريد أن ترحل؟

فقط من هم الملايين من المجرمين ترامب يريد أن ترحل؟

في مقابلة من خلال محضر 60 CBS التابع لمجلس CBS ، سلط الرئيس الأمريكي المنتخب دونالد ترامب الضوء على بعض وعود الحملة التي يعتزم بالفعل الاحتفاظ بها. من بين أمور أخرى ، أكد أنه سيبني له الحائط الموعود على الحدود المكسيكية والترحيل ما يصل إلى ثلاثة ملايين مهاجر غير شرعي.

إذا كانت الولايات المتحدة جادة في طرد "hombres سيئة"من المكسيك وأمريكا اللاتينية ، فمن المهم أن نسأل: من ، في الواقع ، هؤلاء الناس؟

في نظر ترامب العالمي المروع ، هم عبارة عن مجموعة من "أعضاء العصابات" اللاتينيين و "تجار المخدرات" مع "السجلات الجنائية" الذين يغزون أمريكا. لكن التحليل يكشف أن الصورة بعيدة عن الواقع.

ما في الاسم؟

أولاً ، المكسيك وأمريكا اللاتينية ليست المصدر الوحيد للهجرة إلى الولايات المتحدة. حقيقة، منذ 2009 أكثر من المكسيكيين كانوا يغادرون الولايات المتحدة من المجيء إليها ، و الصين والهند منذ ذلك الحين تجاوزت المكسيك في تدفقات القادمين الجدد. آسيا وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء كما تضم ​​الآن نسبة كبيرة من المهاجرين غير الشرعيين في الولايات المتحدة.

ومع ذلك ، في مناظرة رئاسية ثالثة ، استخدم ترامب اللغة الإسبانية لتصوير المهاجرين غير الشرعيين باعتبارهم منتهكين للقانون. إن التأثير المنحرف الذي يسببه هراء "hombres" السيئ هو تشويه اللغة اللاتينية في لغتنا الخاصة - وإن كان بمثل هذا القدر من السوء الرديء لدرجة أنه بدا أكثر سوءًا hambres - "الجوع السيء".

هذا التعصب هو نسخة هاشتاج لتقليد أمريكي قديم وقبيح. في أقرب وقت 1829 ، Joel Poinsett ، أول سفير لأمريكا في المكسيك ، وصف المكسيكيين كشعب "جاهل وفجور". كان الخراب الأخلاقي والفكري المفترض للمكسيكيين النتيجة المتوقعة من "الجماع المستمر" للاسبان مع "السكان الأصليين". المولدين كانت الأصول سبب تخلف البلاد.

في وجهة نظر بوينت ، في حين كان المستوطنون الأسبان "من بين أكثر الجهلة والأشرار" من الأوروبيين المسيحيين ، كان السكان الأصليون في المكسيك "أدنى طبقة من البشر". وضعت التعميمات العنصرية لبوينسيت أسس الصور النمطية الأمريكية الحالية حول المكسيكيين والأمريكيين اللاتينيين.

تلبية hombres سيئة

بالنظر إلى الأسس البغيضة لشكوك بعض الأمريكيين بأن المهاجرين من أمريكا اللاتينية هم مجرمون عنيفون ، فمن الملح أن نفهم بدقة أي نوع من المهاجرين قد يرحلهم دونالد ترامب. يمكننا القيام بذلك عن طريق فحص الرقم القياسي 2.6 مليون عمليات الترحيل التي تضطلع بها الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية.

حاول باراك أوباما بالفعل تركيز تطبيق قوانين الهجرة على المجرمين المدانين ، ونهج ترامب هو ، إلى حد ما ، استمرار هذه السياسات. لكن أوباما كان ينوي أيضا بناء دعم سياسي لمراجعة قوانين الهجرة التي تهدف إلى خلق الطريق إلى المواطنة للمهاجرين غير الشرعيين في الولايات المتحدة.

قدرت إدارة أوباما بواسطة 2013 ذلك 1.9 مليون "كائنات إجرامية قابلة للإزالة" كانوا يعيشون في الولايات المتحدة.

هذا الرقم لا يقتصر على المهاجرين غير الشرعيين. وهي تشمل أولئك الذين لديهم غرينكاردز (للإقامة الدائمة القانونية) والذين لديهم تأشيرات مؤقتة. كما أنها لا تقتصر على المدانين بارتكاب جرائم خطيرة ؛ كما يشمل أيضًا الأشخاص الذين أدينوا بعدم الاتجار بالمخدرات أو نشاط العصابات ، ولكنهم ارتكبوا جرائم سرقة وجرائم أخرى غير عنيفة.

لذا سيكون من الخطأ الافتراض أن الأولويات الرئيسية لإنفاذ قوانين الهجرة هي المشتبهين بالإرهاب والجناة المدانين. في 2015 ، 59٪ من الأشخاص الذين رحلتهم أمريكا - 235,413 في مجموع - تمت إدانة المجرمين ، في حين تمت إزالة 41٪ لانتهاكات الهجرة مثل تجاوز مدة التأشيرة. الداخلين غير المسجلين تم القبض على الحدود أيضا في هذا الرقم.

لذا فإن الادعاء بأن ثلاثة ملايين مهاجر غير شرعي يعيشون في الولايات المتحدة هم مجرمون خطرون لا أساس له من الصحة - وغير مسؤول.

يتدفق تيار التاريخ إلى الولايات المتحدة

ومع ذلك ، فإن مئات الآلاف من المرحلين هم من المجرمين الفعليين. المذنبون اللاتينيون النمطيون الذين يستحوذون على ترامب وأمثاله هم في المقام الأول أعضاء عصابة وتجار مخدرات: زعماء كارتيلات مكسيكيون ، سلفادورية ماراس. أشياء مخيفة ، أليس كذلك؟

ربما ، لكن تحليلًا تاريخيًا دقيقًا يوضح أن الساسة الأمريكيين الأصليين أقل حرصًا على الإعلان: إن السياسات الأمريكية المعادية للشيوعية المنفذة في 1980s لعبت دورًا كبيرًا في تأجيج هذه الأنشطة الإجرامية.

رونالد ريغان ادعى الشهيرة في 1982 أن أولئك الذين اعتنقوا الشيوعية هاجموا "تيار التاريخ". وهكذا التزم ريغان نفسه بقيادة "حملة صليبية من أجل الحرية" ضد الشر الشيوعي. تحت قيادته ، كان المقصود من الولايات المتحدة تقديم "الحرية والكرامة الإنسانية" في جميع أنحاء العالم.

كانت المكسيك وأمريكا الوسطى ساحات قتال حاسمة. في 1979 ، أطاحت الجبهة اليسارية لتحرير الساندينستا بالحكومة الدكتاتورية للحكومة في نيكاراغوا.

وقدم ريجان على الفور الدعم المالي والمادي للقوات المناهضة لساندينستا المسماة "الكونترا" ، بما في ذلك أمر وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية لزراعة الألغام في موانئ نيكاراجوا ونشر الأموال التي تم الحصول عليها عن طريق بيع الأسلحة إلى إيران ، والتي تم حظرها بعد ذلك.

ومن الأهمية بمكان بالنسبة إلى واقع اليوم أن تقوم الولايات المتحدة بتوجيه مساعداتها إلى الكونترا من خلال المُتجِرين الذين تم اتهامهم بتهم المخدرات. 1989 لجنة مجلس الشيوخ من قبل السيناتور جون كيري ، كشف عن تواطؤ مروع بين الحكومة الأمريكية ومهربي المخدرات في أمريكا اللاتينية. وقد وجد التقرير ، على سبيل المثال ، أن وزارة الخارجية دفعت أكثر من دولار أمريكي 806,000 إلى مهربي المخدرات المشهورين ، بمن فيهم خوان رامون ماتا - باليستيروس ، وهو من تجار المخدرات في هندوراس.

في الوقت نفسه ، في السلفادور ، كانت الولايات المتحدة تحتضن أيضا مجلسا عسكريا في 1979 أطيح بالرئيس كارلوس هومبيرتو روميرو ، حيث عرض على قادته مساعدة عسكرية واقتصادية كبيرة من أجل منعنيكاراغوا آخر".

وبينما قام دكتاتوريو السلفادور بقمع الانتقاد السياسي والمعارضة بعنف ، تحولت المجموعات السياسية السلمية إلى قوات عصابات يسارية تسمى جبهة فارابندو مارتي للتحرير الوطني (FMLN).

في أيار / مايو ، اجتمعت قيادة جبهة فارابوندو مارتي للتحرير الوطني في هافانا ، كوبا ، لتثبت أنها أعداء للولايات المتحدة. مع توجيه الولايات المتحدة في التكتيكات المستفادة من فيتنام ، قمع الجيش السلفادوري بوحشية الشيوعيين في جبهة فارابوندو مارتي للتحرير الوطني. بالنسبة الى الأمريكتين ووتشهذه الاستراتيجية مترافقة مع التفجيرات والمذابح المدنية العرضية

وسرعان ما انتشر هذا العنف الذي رعته الولايات المتحدة في نيكاراغوا والسلفادور غواتيمالا و هندوراسويرجع ذلك جزئيا إلى التقارب الجغرافي ، ويعود ذلك جزئيا إلى أن جميع هذه البلدان تتميز تاريخيا بانعدام المساواة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الملحوظ.

ما علاقة كل هذا بالمتحاديين وأباطرة مخلوقات خيال ترامب؟ عقود من الحرب تركت الآلاف من أيتام أمريكا الوسطى. وفي نهاية المطاف ، هاجر الكثيرون منهم إلى الولايات المتحدة ، وانضموا إلى الأسرة التي كانت الشوارع لتقدمها: منظمات إجرامية مثل عصابات مارا سالفاتروتشا وعصابات 18th Street في لوس أنجلوس.

ومن ثم ، فإن مهربي المخدرات والعصابات في أمريكا اللاتينية تركة مهمة لإدارة ريغان.

وقت المقاومة

جون فورسيث كان وزير خارجية الولايات المتحدة من 1834 إلى 1841. في 1857 ، أشار في خطاب أن "السباقات الهجينة" للقارة الأمريكية "ستخضع إلى" المؤسسات "و" الطاقات الفائقة للرجل الأبيض "وتختفي قبلها.

الرئيس الحالي للولايات المتحدة ينتقد سياسات الهجرة الخاصة به على هذا التقليد الفكري ، وهو موقف إشكالي يفاقم بفشل أمريكي عام في فهم الأسباب التاريخية للمشاكل المتعلقة بالهجرة التي يسعى ترامب لمعالجتها.

وهكذا فقد حان الوقت لأمريكا اللاتينية لمقاومة التعصب العنصري والعنصرية. في هذه المهمة ، يجب ألا نلجأ إلى الخطابات القومية التي تعكس فقط ، من الجانب الآخر من الزجاج المنظور ، الصورة النمطية للشر المجانين الذين يكرهون hombres سيئة.

وبدلا من ذلك ، ينبغي أن تستمد استجابات أمريكا اللاتينية للعنصرية من النزعة الإنسانية والمعرفة الدقيقة بالماضي ، فضلا عن حقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي.

خطوتان إيجابيتان يمكن أن نتخذها هما معالجة الدولتين الخاصتين مشاكل الجريمة مع احترام الحقوق ومراعاة الأصول القانونية والعلاج بكرامة تقريبا 500,000 مهاجرو أمريكا الوسطى الذين يعبرون إلى المكسيك كل عام.

سواء أحببنا ذلك أم لا ، فإن التاريخ والجغرافيا جعلت المكسيكيين الآن طليعة المقاومة ، وسوف يراقب العالم.

المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

لويس غوميز روميرو ، محاضر أول في حقوق الإنسان ، القانون الدستوري والنظرية القانونية ، جامعة ولونغونغ

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الترحيل، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Just Who Are The Millions Of Criminals Trump Wants To Deport?

Just Who Are The Millions Of Criminals Trump Wants To Deport?

In an interview with CBS’s 60 Minutes, United States president-elect Donald Trump highlighted some campaign promises that he actually plans to keep. Among others, he confirmed that he will build his promised wall on the Mexican border and deport up to three million undocumented migrants.

If the United States is serious about kicking out the “bad hombres” from Mexico and Latin America, then it’s important to ask: who, in fact, are these people?

In Trump’s apocalyptic worldview, they’re a hoard of Latino “gang members” and “drug dealers” with “criminal records” who are invading America. But analysis reveals that image is far from reality.

What’s in a name?

First, Mexico and Latin America are not the only sources of immigration to the US. In fact, since 2009 more Mexicans have been leaving the US than coming to it, and China and India have since overtaken Mexico in flows of recent arrivals. Asia and Sub-Saharan Africa also now comprise a significant share of undocumented immigrants in the US.

Still, in his third presidential debate, Trump used Spanish to depict undocumented migrants as wicked lawbreakers. The perverse effect of the “bad hombres” quip is the vilification of Latinos in our own language – albeit with such humorously bad diction that it sounded more like bad hambres – “bad hunger”.

This bigotry is the hashtag version of an old and ugly American tradition. As early as 1829, Joel Poinsett, America’s first ambassador to Mexico, described Mexicans as an “ignorant and debauched people”. The supposed moral and intellectual ruin of Mexicans was the predictable outcome of the “constant intercourse” of Spaniards with “the aborigines.” That is, Mexico’s mestizo origins were the cause of the country’s backwardness.

In Poinsett’s view, whereas Spanish settlers were “among the most ignorant and vicious” of Christian Europeans, Mexico’s native people were “the very lowest class of human beings”. Poinsett’s racist generalisations established the foundations of current US stereotypes about Mexicans and Latin Americans.

Meeting the bad hombres

Given the unsavoury foundations of some Americans’ suspicion that Latin American migrants are violent criminals, it’s urgent to understand precisely what sort of migrants Donald Trump may deport. We can do so by examining the record-breaking 2.6 million deportations undertaken by the current American administration.

Barack Obama has actually tried to focus immigration enforcement on convicted criminals, and Trump’s approach is, to some extent, a continuation of these policies. But Obama also intended to build political support for revising immigration laws that aimed at creating a path to citizenship for illegal migrants in the US.

The Obama administration estimated by 2013 that 1.9 million “removable criminal aliens” were living in the US.

This figure is not limited to undocumented migrants. It includes those with greencards (for legal permanent residency) and those with temporary visas. Nor is it limited to those found guilty of serious crimes; it also includes people who have been convicted not of drug trafficking or gang activity but of theft and other non-violent crimes.

So it would be a mistake to assume that the key priorities of immigration enforcement are terrorism suspects and convicted felons. In 2015, 59% of the people America deported – 235,413 in total – were convicted criminals, while 41% were removed for immigration violations such as overstaying a visa. Undocumented entrants apprehended at the border are also included in this number.

So the claim that three million undocumented migrants living in the US are dangerous criminals is unsubstantiated – and irresponsible.

The tide of history flows back to the US

Still, hundreds of thousands of deportees are actual criminal offenders. The stereotypical Latino offenders that primarily obsess Trump and his ilk are gang members and drug dealers: Mexican cartel bosses, Salvadoran maras. Scary stuff, right?

Maybe, but a nuanced historical analysis shows something nativist US politicians are less keen to publicise: that American anti-Communist foreign policies implemented in the 1980s played a major role in fuelling these criminal activities.

Ronald Reagan famously claimed in 1982 that those who embraced communism ran against “the tide of history”. Reagan thus committed himself to lead a “crusade for freedom” against the communist evil. Under his watch, the US was meant to deliver “freedom and human dignity” across the world.

Mexico and Central America were crucial battlefields. In 1979, the leftist Sandinista National Liberation Front overthrew Anastasio Somoza’s dictatorial government in Nicaragua.

Reagan immediately offered financial and material support to anti-Sandinista forces called the Contras, including by ordering the CIA to plant mines in Nicaragua’s harbours and deploying funds obtained by selling weapons to Iran, which were then embargoed.

Critical to today’s reality, the US also channelled its assistance to the Contras through traffickers who had been indicted on drug charges. A 1989 senatorial committee lead by then-Senator John Kerry, revealed an appalling complicity between the US government and Latin American drug traffickers. The report found, for example, that the Department of State paid over US$806,000 to renowned drug traffickers, including Honduran drug lord Juan Ramón Matta-Ballesteros.

At the same time, in El Salvador, the US was also embracing a military junta that in 1979 had overthrown president Carlos Humberto Romero, offering its leaders substantial military and economic aid in order to prevent “another Nicaragua”.

As El Salvador’s dictators violently repressed political criticism and opposition, peaceful political groups metamorphosed into leftist guerrilla forces called the Farabundo Martí National Liberation Front (FMLN).

In May 1980, FMLN leadership met in Havana, Cuba, establishing themselves as US enemies. With US guidance in tactics learned from Vietnam, the Salvadoran army brutally suppressed the FMLN Communists. According to Americas Watch, this strategy involved, along with bombings, occasional civilian massacres.

This US-sponsored violence in Nicaragua and El Salvador soon spread to Guatemala and Honduras, in part due to geographic proximity and in part because as all these countries have historically been characterised by marked social and economic inequality.

What does all of this have to do with the gangbangers and drug lords of Trump’s imagination? Decades of war left thousands of Central American orphans. Many of them eventually migrated to the US and, parentless and penniless, joined what family the streets had to offer: criminal organisations such as Los Angeles’ Mara Salvatrucha and 18th Street gangs.

Latino drug traffickers and gangs are hence an important legacy of the Reagan administration.

Time for resistance

John Forsyth was US Secretary of State from 1834 to 1841. In 1857, he noted in a letter that “the hybrid races” of the American continent would “succumb to and fade away before” the “institutions” and “superior energies of the white man”.

The current president-elect of the US has ominously based his immigration policies on this tradition of thought, a problematic position further compounded by a general American failure to understand the historical causes of the immigration-related problems Trump seeks to address.

The time for Latin America to resist bigotry and racism has thus arrived. In this task, we must not resort to nationalist discourses that merely mirror, from the other side of the looking glass, the stereotype of evil gringos who hate bad hombres.

Rather, Latin American responses to racism should draw both from humanism and an accurate knowledge of the past, as well as of human rights and international law.

Two positive steps we could take are addressing the countries’ own crime problems while respecting rights and due process, and treating with dignity the approximately 500,000 Central American immigrants who cross into Mexico each year.

Like it or not, history and geography have now made Mexicans the vanguard of resistance, and the world will be watching.

The Conversation

About The Author

Luis Gómez Romero, Senior Lecturer in Human Rights, Constitutional Law and Legal Theory, University of Wollongong

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Deportation: The Origins of U.S. Policy
immigrationAuthor: Torrie Hester
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press
List Price: $45.00

Buy Now

The Deportation Regime: Sovereignty, Space, and the Freedom of Movement
immigrationBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Duke University Press Books
List Price: $31.95

Buy Now

The Deportation of Wopper Barraza: A Novel
immigrationAuthor: Maceo Montoya
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: University of New Mexico Press
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now