ما هو الذي يبقي الاطفال unruly في المدرسة

إنه معلمون متعاطفون يبقون الأطفال الجامحين في المدرسة

"يتم القبض على المعلمين بين نموذجين ، نموذج عقابي ينص على أنه يجب عليك معاقبة الأطفال على حملهم على التصرف ونموذج قديم يذهب إلى قلب المهنة ، والذي يقول إن التدريس هو كل شيء لبناء علاقات قوية مع الأطفال ، وخاصة عندما يكافحون "، يقول غريغوري والتون.

يمكن لمدرسي المدارس المتوسطة الذين يستخدمون التعاطف ، وليس العقاب ، التأديب أن يقللوا إلى حد كبير عدد الطلاب المعلقين طوال العام.

يظهر تمرين جديد أن المقاربة الأقل تصادمية قللت بنسبة نصف النسبة المئوية للطلاب الذين تم تعليقهم - من 9.6 بالمائة إلى 4.8 بالمائة. التعليق يمكن أن يكون ضارًا للطلاب لأنه يحرمهم من فرص التعلم ، ويدمر العلاقات ، ويمكن أن يضعهم على مسارات خطرة أخرى.

هناك عقيدة مركزية في مهنة التدريس هي بناء علاقات إيجابية مع الطلاب ، لا سيما تلك التي تكافح. لكن بعض المعلمين يتعرضون إلى "عقلية عقابية افتراضية" في إعدادات المدرسة بسبب سياسات عدم التسامح مطلقا مع سلوك الطلاب.

يقول غريغوري والتون ، الأستاذ المساعد في علم النفس بجامعة ستانفورد: «إنه أمر محط أنظار القلب. "يتم ضبط المدرسين بين نموذجين ، نموذج عقابي ينص على أنه يجب معاقبة الأطفال على جعلهم يتصرفون ونموذجًا قديمًا يذهب إلى قلب المهنة ، والذي يقول إن التدريس هو كل شيء عن بناء علاقات قوية مع الأطفال ، وخاصة عندما يكافحون ".

علاقات الطلاب والمعلمين

لا أحد يدخل مهنة التدريس من أجل إرسال الأطفال إلى مكتب المدير لسوء سلوك بسيط ، كما يقول والتون. "لكن السياسات العقابية يمكن أن تؤدي إلى ضلال المعلمين. وهذا يجعل الأطفال يشعرون بعدم الاحترام ويساهم في نهاية المطاف في سلوك أسوأ ".

يقول جيسون أوكونوفوا ، زميل علم النفس بعد الدكتوراة والمؤلف الرئيسي للدراسة التي تنشر في مجلة "إن جميع الأطفال يحتاجون إلى علاقات داعمة وثقة لمساعدتهم على النمو والتحسن". وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم. "لقد ساعد تدخلنا المعلمين على إعادة الاتصال بهذه القيم ، والذين يريدون بالفعل أن يكونوا معلمين ، وكيف يريدون أن يتصلوا بطلابهم".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


للدراسة ، أجرى الباحثون ثلاث تجارب. اختبار أول ما إذا كان يمكن تشجيع المعلمين 39 لتبني عقلية التعاطف بدلا من عقابية حول الانضباط. كتب المعلمون بإيجاز عن "أهمية العلاقات بين المعلم والطالب بالنسبة للطلاب لتعلم ضبط النفس" (عقلية متعاطفة) أو "أهمية العقاب بالنسبة للمعلمين للسيطرة على الفصل الدراسي" (العقلية العقابية).

وأظهرت النتائج أن إعطاء المعلمين فرصة للتعبير عن قيم التعاطف لديهم - لفهم وجهات نظر الطلاب والحفاظ على علاقات إيجابية مع الطلاب عندما يسيئون التصرف - تحسين العلاقات بين الطلاب والمعلمين وانضباط النتائج.

في الواقع ، قال المعلمون الذين أعطوا عقوبة عقابية إنهم سيعاقبون طالب يسيء التصرف بشكل أكثر قسوة. كانوا أكثر عرضة لإرسال الطالب إلى مكتب المدير. لكن أولئك الذين حصلوا على قمة التعاطف كانوا أكثر احتمالا ليقولوا إنهم سيتحدثون مع الطالب عن سلوكه ، وأقل احتمالا أن يصفوه بأنه مثير للمشاكل.

يقول أوكونوفوا: "التركيز على العلاقات يساعد على إنسانية الطلاب." "بعد ذلك ، ترينهم ليسوا مجرد علامة ، بل أشخاص متنامون يمكنهم التغيير ، ومن يستطيع أن يتعلم التصرف بشكل أكثر ملاءمة ، بمساعدة".

في التجربة الثانية ، تخيل طلاب كلية 302 أنفسهم كطالب في المدارس المتوسطة الذين أزعجوا الصف. كانوا يتصورون أن يكونوا منضبطين في أي من الطرق التي وصفها المعلمون في التجربة الأولى ، أو العقابية أو التعاطف.

أظهرت النتائج أن المشاركين استجابوا بشكل أكثر إيجابية عندما اتخذ المعلم استجابة تعاطفية. وقالوا إنهم سيحترمون المعلم أكثر من ذلك بكثير ، وسيكونون أكثر تحفيزًا على التصرف بشكل جيد في الفصل في المستقبل.

عبر تحسينات المجلس

كما فحص الباحثون ما إذا كانت العقلية التعاطفية قد خلقت علاقات أفضل بين المعلمين والطلاب وخفضت تعليق الطلاب على مدار العام الأكاديمي. تضمنت هذه التجربة معلمي الرياضيات 31 وطلاب 1,682 في خمس مدارس متوسطة متنوعة عرقيًا في ثلاث مقاطعات تعليمية في كاليفورنيا.

استعرض المعلمون المقالات والقصص التي تصف كيف يمكن للمشاعر السلبية أن تقود الطلاب إلى إساءة التصرف في المدرسة ، وشددوا على أهمية فهم الطلاب والحفاظ على العلاقات الإيجابية مع الطلاب حتى عندما يسيئون التصرف.

ثم وصف المعلمون كيف يحافظون على علاقات إيجابية مع الطلاب عندما يسيئون التصرف ، في محاولة لمساعدة المعلمين في المستقبل على التعامل مع مشاكل الانضباط بشكل أفضل.

وكشفت النتائج أن الطلاب الذين أكمل المعلمون تمرين التفكير العقلي - بالمقارنة مع أولئك الذين أكملوا تمرين التحكم - كانوا أقل عرضة للتعليق خلال العام الدراسي ، من 9.6 بالمائة إلى 4.8 بالمائة.

كان الانخفاض كبيرًا جدًا للطلاب من المجموعات الأكثر عرضة للتعليق ، بما في ذلك الأولاد والطلاب الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي واللاتيني والطلاب الذين لديهم تاريخ في التعليق.

وعلاوة على ذلك ، أفاد الطلاب الأكثر عرضة للخطر ، الذين لديهم تاريخ في التعليق ، أنهم يشعرون باحترام أكبر لدى معلميهم بعد عدة أشهر من التدخل.

ويقول الباحثون إنه سيكون من السهل تقديم التدخل ، وممارسة على الإنترنت ، بتكلفة هامشية شبه تقريبًا إلى عينات كبيرة من المدرسين والطلاب ، ويمكن أن تمثل هذه النتائج نقلة نوعية في فهم المجتمع لأصول وعلاجات الانضباط. مشاكل.

استجاب المعلمون بشعور عندما طلب منهم الكتابة عن كيفية عملهم للحفاظ على العلاقات الإيجابية مع الأطفال المتعثرين ، يقول والتون. كتب أحد المدرسين: "أنا لا أحمل أي ضغائن. أحاول أن أتذكر أنهم كلهم ​​ابن أو ابنة شخص يحبهم أكثر من أي شيء في العالم. إنها نور حياة شخص ما ".

المصدر جامعة ستانفورد

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = المعلمون الجيدون ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
by ليزلي دوروف سميث
ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
by إيما سويني وإيان والش

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

What Is It That Keeps Unruly Kids In School

parenting

It's Empathetic Teachers That Keep Unruly Kids In School

"Teachers are caught between two models, a punitive model that says you have to punish kids to get them to behave and an older model that goes to the heart of the profession, which says that teaching is all about building strong relationships with children, especially when they struggle," says Gregory Walton.

Middle school teachers who use empathy, not punishment, to discipline can greatly reduce the number of students who are suspended throughout the year.

A new exercise shows that the less confrontational approach reduced by half the percentage of students who got suspended—from 9.6 percent to 4.8 percent. Suspension can be harmful to students because it denies them opportunities to learn, damages relationships, and can set them on other risky paths.

A central tenet of the teaching profession is to build positive relationships with students, especially those that are struggling. But some teachers are exposed to a “default punitive mindset” in school settings due to zero-tolerance policies on student misbehavior.

“It is heartbreaking,” says Gregory Walton, associate professor of psychology at Stanford University. “Teachers are caught between two models, a punitive model that says you have to punish kids to get them to behave and an older model that goes to the heart of the profession, which says that teaching is all about building strong relationships with children, especially when they struggle.”

Student-teacher relationships

No one enters the teaching profession in order to send kids to the principal’s office for minor misbehavior, Walton says. “But punitive policies can lead teachers astray. That makes kids feel disrespected and ultimately contributes to worse behavior.”

“All kids need supportive, trusting relationships to help them grow and improve,” says Jason Okonofua, psychology post-doctoral fellow and lead author of the study that is published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. “Our intervention helped teachers reconnect with those values, who they really want to be as a teacher, and how they want to relate to their students.”

For the study, researchers conducted three experiments. The first tested whether 39 teachers could be encouraged to adopt an empathic rather than punitive mindset about discipline. Teachers wrote briefly about how “good teacher-student relationships are critical for students to learn self-control” (empathic mindset) or how “punishment is critical for teachers to take control of the classroom” (punitive mindset).

The findings showed that giving teachers an opportunity to express their empathic values—to understand students’ perspectives and to sustain positive relationships with students when they misbehave—improved student-teacher relationships and discipline outcomes.

In fact, teachers given the punitive prime said they would punish a hypothetical misbehaving student more harshly. They were more likely to send the student to the principal’s office. But those given the empathic prime were more likely to say they would talk with the student about his behavior, and less likely to label him a troublemaker.

“A focus on relationships helps humanize students.” Okonofua says. “Then you see them as not just a label but as growing people who can change, who can learn to behave more appropriately, with help.”

In the second experiment, 302 college students imagined themselves as middle school students who had disrupted class. They imagined being disciplined in either of the ways the teachers in the first experiment described, punitive or empathic.

The results showed that participants responded far more favorably when the teacher took an empathic response. They said they would respect the teacher much more, and would be more motivated to behave well in class in the future.

Across the board improvements

The researchers also examined whether an empathic mindset created better relationships between teachers and students and reduced student suspensions over an academic year. This experiment involved 31 math teachers and 1,682 students at five ethnically diverse middle schools in three California school districts.

Teachers reviewed articles and stories that described how negative feelings can lead students to misbehave in school and emphasized the importance of understanding students and maintaining positive relationships with students even when they misbehave.

Then teachers described how they maintain positive relationships with students when they misbehave, in an effort to help future educators better handle discipline problems.

The findings revealed that students whose teachers completed the empathic mindset exercise—as compared to those who completed a control exercise–were half as likely to get suspended over the school year, from 9.6 percent to 4.8 percent.

The reduction was just as large for students from groups at higher risk of suspension, including boys, African American and Latino students, and students with a history of suspension.

Moreover, the most at-risk students, those with a history of suspension, reported feeling more respected by their teachers several months after the intervention.

It would be easy to deliver the intervention, an online exercise, at near-zero marginal cost to large samples of teachers and students, the researchers write, and the findings could mark a paradigm shift in society’s understanding of the origins of and remedies for discipline problems.

Teachers responded with feeling when asked to write about how they work to sustain positive relationships with struggling children, Walton says. One teacher wrote: “I never hold grudges. I try to remember that they are all the son or daughter of someone who loves them more than anything in the world. They are the light of someone’s life.”

Source: Stanford University

Related Books

The Good Teacher: A gripping thriller from the Kindle top ten bestselling author of ‘The Perfect Neighbours’

parentingAuthor: Rachel Sargeant
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Killer Reads
Label: Killer Reads
Publisher: Killer Reads
Manufacturer: Killer Reads

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Some people deserve to be taught a lesson…

A gripping thriller with a shocking twist, from the Top Ten Kindle bestselling author of The Perfect Neighbours. This riveting story about a murdered teacher is perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

Even the good have to die.
A beloved teacher is murdered and left in a ditch beside a country lane. His wife is found beaten and gagged in their suburban home.

Even the best schools have secrets.
New detective Pippa Adams learns that the teacher ran a homework club for vulnerable pupils. But what did he really teach them?

Even the perfect family has something to hide.
When Pippa scratches the surface of the school community, she meets families who’ve learned a shattering lesson. And finally uncovers the good teacher’s darkest secrets…

Previously published as LONG TIME WAITING, now fully updated.





The Good Teacher

parentingAuthor: P J Kelly
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: eText Press Publishing
Label: eText Press Publishing
Publisher: eText Press Publishing
Manufacturer: eText Press Publishing

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Marvale Primary School. A cloudy autumn sky. The day started with three hundred and sixty students and seventeen teachers. It ended with three people missing. Lisa and Jacob Johnstone had suffered a well-documented childhood of neglect and abuse. Everyone agreed that it needed to end. Jessica Bell was a kind and well-respected teacher. A strong and motivated woman, she only wanted the best for her students. Her own history of damage and pain had her believing that running away was the solution they had all been searching for. And so ensued a battle between right and wrong, good and evil, and common sense and the law. Miss Bell was not a bad woman. She was a good teacher. This is her story.




More Good Questions: Great Ways to Differentiate Secondary Mathematics Instruction

parentingAuthor: Marian Small
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Teachers College Press
Label: Teachers College Press
Publisher: Teachers College Press
Manufacturer: Teachers College Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

We know that Differentiated Instruction (DI) helps all students to learn. Yet DI challenges teachers, and nowhere more than in mathematics. In this new book, written specifically for secondary mathematics teachers, the authors cut through the difficulties with two powerful and universal strategies that teachers can use across all math content: Open Questions and Parallel Tasks. Showing teachers how to get started and become expert with these strategies, this book also demonstrates how to use more inclusive learning conversations to promote broader student participation. Strategies and examples are organized around Big Ideas within the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) content strands. With particular emphasis on Algebra, chapters also address Number and Operations, Geometry, Measurement, and Data Analysis and Probability, with examples included for Pre-Calculus.

To help teachers differentiate math instruction with less difficulty and greater success, this resource:

  • Underscores the rationale for differentiating secondary math instruction.
  • Provides specific examples for secondary math content.
  • Describes two easy-to-implement strategies designed to overcome the most common DI problems that teachers encounter.
  • Offers almost 300 questions and tasks that teachers and coaches can adopt immediately, adapt, or use as models to create their own, along with scaffolding and consolidating questions.
  • Includes Teaching Tips sidebars and an organizing template at the end of each chapter to help teachers build new tasks and open questions.
  • Shows how to create a more inclusive classroom learning community with mathematical talk that engages participants from all levels.

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT: Visit Marian Small’s website onetwoinfinity.ca for in-person and online professional development.





parenting
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}