Женские пожарные Defy старые идеи о том, кто может быть американским героем

Женские пожарные Defy старые идеи о том, кто может быть американским героем
Достаточно сильны, чтобы выполнять эту работу.
Перец Партенский / flickr, CC BY-SA

Пять женщин закончили Академию пожарной службы в Нью-Йорке в апреле 18, 2018, в результате чего число женщин, работающих в пожарной службе Нью-Йорка, до 72 - самый высокий в своей истории.

Выпускной класс FDNY 2018 также включает первого сына, который следит за своей матерью в профессию. Она была одной из женщин 41, нанятых в 1982 после отдел потерял судебный процесс по дискриминации по признаку пола и ему было приказано добавить к силе квалифицированных женщин.

Несмотря на эти вехи, женщины все еще составляют меньше 1 процентов от пожарных Нью-Йорка 11,000, Город проезжает в Миннеаполисе, Сан-Франциско, Сиэтле и Майами, где в последние годы пожарные отряды были больше, чем 10 процентов женщин, Национальный средний показатель составляет около 5 процентов.

Примерно Женщины 10,300 по всей стране работал в качестве полноправных пожарных в 2016, согласно последним данным, полученным от Департамента труда. В 1983 было только 1,700.

Эти женщины находятся на передовой, сражаются с огнем, помогают жертвы стихийных бедствий и борьба с терроризм.

Я опросил женщин-пожарных 100 для академического изучения женщин в традиционно мужских отраслях. мой исследование показывает, как женщины изменяют культуру firehouse и трансформируют то, как американцы видят героизм.

Два столетия службы

Женщины выжигание пожаров в США за 200 лет.

В 1815 Молли Уильямс присоединился к New York City's Oceanus Engine Company № 11. Уильямс была черной женщиной, порабощенной богатым нью-йоркским торговцем, который вызвался в пожарную палату. Уильямс будет сопровождать торговца на станцию, чтобы готовить и убирать для всей белой, все-мужской экипаж.

Однажды вечером в Океане № 11 раздался сигнал тревоги. Эти люди были выведены из строя от гриппа, поэтому Уильямс схватил ручной шланг и ответил на звонок один. Ее сила так впечатлила мужчин, что они предложили ей работу.

В 1926, 50-year-old Эмма Вернелл стал первым женским пожарным Нью-Джерси, когда ее муж, Гарри, волонтерский пожарник в городе Красное Банк, умер в должности.

Еще многие женщины забрали места своих мужей в службу пожарной службы во Франции Вторая мировая война, К середине 1940s два военных пожарных отдела штата Иллинойс были полностью «укомплектованы» женщинами.

Но профессия действительно открылась для женщин после прохождения Закон о гражданских правах 1964, что сделало незаконным для работодателей дискриминацию в отношении заявителей по признаку пола, расы, религии или национальности.

Сильный, смелый и невидимый

Несмотря на эту историю, я все еще слышу утверждения о том, что позитивные действия для женщин-пожарных is разбавления стандартов и подверженности общин риску.

Даже мои либеральные коллеги спрашивали меня, могут ли женщины действительно нести потерю бессознательной жертвы из-за огня, нося 100 фунтов снаряжения.

Ответ: да.

В 2008 почти 70 процентов всех стремящихся женщин-пожарных прошли национальную Проверка физических способностей кандидата, который проводит испытания на выносливость, прочность и сердечно-сосудистую систему. В том же году, Прошло 75 процентов мужчин-заявителей.

Уровень успеваемости женщин повышается, когда департаменты предлагают специальные программы подготовки женщин для работать вместе, получить практический опыт работы с оборудованием для пожаротушения и следовать индивидуальным силовым тренировкам.

Критики предположили мне, что женщин-пожарных больше нет, потому что женщины не заинтересованы в такой опасной и «грязной» работе.

Однако женщины гораздо лучше представлены в областях, требующих сопоставимого уровня прочности и выносливости, включая установку гипсокартона, лесозаготовки и сварки, хотя они остаются меньшинствами.

Женщины также добились большего успеха в других традиционно ориентированных на мужчин карьерах, таких как аэрокосмическая техника и медицина, Сегодня, спустя 150 лет после первая американка поступила в медицинскую школу, в 1911, почти 35 процентов врачей - женщины.

Страх перемен

Так почему же только 5 процент женщин-пожарных?

на основании исследования по гендерной интеграции в вооруженных силах США, Я считаю, что основным препятствием, стоящим перед женщинами в борьбе с пожарами, является его традиционная культура.

Как солдаты, пожарные рассматриваются как гордые воины, работающие на опасных линиях фронта. Это изображение поставляется с мощные стереотипы о том, кто лучше всего подходит для работы. Женские солдаты и пожарные бросают вызов культурному стандарту, что мужчины - герои, а женщины - зрителей, даже жертв.

Сначала военные добавила женщин в свои ряды в 1948, В декабре 2015, министр обороны Эш Картер снял запрет на женщин в боевых ролях - "[a] s, поскольку они соответствуют и соответствуют стандартам" - несмотря на оппозиция от морских пехотинцев.

Сегодня женщины по-прежнему составляют лишь 15 процентов активного военнослужащего.

Пожаротушение тоже традиционное поле, За последнее десятилетие многие департаменты были признаны виновными в дискриминации претенденты на цвет приказал переделать вступительные испытания, которые имели разный эффект, основанный на расе.

Женщины в некотором смысле еще более разрушительные новички в борьбе с пожарами, потому что они полностью воспитывают социальные гендерные нормы.

Насилие на рабочем месте

Интервьюируемые сказали мне, что они сталкиваются с серьезными преследованиями на работе.

Один обнаружил, что ее кислородный резервуар слит. Другой признался, что ее коллеги-мужчины настолько враждебны, что опасаются, что они оставят ее в покое.

Женские пожарные также борются с плохое приспособление, Они сообщают о длинных пальцах мужских перчаток. Сапоги и пальто слишком большие. Негабаритные дыхательные маски надавливают на их свободные шлемы вперед, блокируя их видение во время пожаров.

Станционные дома часто отсутствие личных мест для женщин, включая ванные комнаты, меняющиеся области и общежития.

В 2016, 34 лет после того, как женщины присоединились к пожарной службе в Нью-Йорке, город похвастался тем, что все его активные магии 214, наконец, имели отделенные от пола объекты, В течение трех десятилетий некоторые из самых храбрых из Нью-Йорка отправились в ванную комнату в соседних ресторанах.

Женщины, выигравшие

В любом случае, женщины-пожарные.

Несколько сотен поднялись до уровня лейтенанта или капитана. Другой 150 занимает высший ранг, начальник огня. Сюда входит начальник JoAnne Hayes-White, чей исторический наем 2004 сделал Сан-Франциско крупнейшим городским пожарным департаментом во главе с женщиной.

Между тем, эти женщины трансформируют то, как американцы представляют себе героизм.

Один пожарный в Висконсине сказал, что люди удивлены, когда ее экипаж всей жены подтягивается к пламени. Но она сказала мне: «Никто не заботится, если ты женщина, когда их дом горит».

Женщина в Сан-Франциско сказала, что она намеренно стоит за пределами станции во время простоя, так что дети из соседства понимают, что черные женщины могут быть пожарными.

Беседа«Вы должны это видеть», - сказала она.

Об авторе

Лоррейн Доулер, доцент кафедры географии и женских исследований, Университет штата Пенсильвания

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги этого автора:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Лорейн Даулер; maxresults = 2}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Безусловная любовь: способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
Безусловная любовь - это способ служить друг другу, человечеству и миру
by Эйлин Кэдди MBE и Дэвид Эрл Платтс, доктор философии.

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
Что работает для меня: 1, 2, 3 ... ДЕСЯТКИ
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

Female Firefighters Defy Old Ideas Of Who Can Be An American Hero

career

Female Firefighters Defy Old Ideas Of Who Can Be An American Hero
Strong enough to do the job.
Peretz Partensky/flickr, CC BY-SA

Five women graduated from New York City’s Fire Academy on April 18, 2018, bringing the number of women serving in the Fire Department of New York to 72 – the highest in its history.

The FDNY’s 2018 graduating class also includes the first son to follow his mother into the profession. She was one of the 41 women hired in 1982 after the department lost a gender discrimination lawsuit and was ordered to add qualified women to the force.

Despite these milestones, women still make up less than 1 percent of New York’s 11,000 firefighters. The city trails Minneapolis, San Francisco, Seattle and Miami, where in recent years fire squads have been more than 10 percent female. The national average hovers around 5 percent.

Approximately 10,300 women nationwide worked as full-time firefighters in 2016, according to the most recent data available from the Department of Labor. In 1983, there were just 1,700.

These women are on the front lines, fighting fires, helping victims of natural disasters and combating terrorism.

I interviewed over 100 female firefighters for an academic study of women in traditionally male industries. My research reveals how women are changing firehouse culture and transforming how Americans see heroism.

Two centuries of service

Women have been putting out fires in the U.S. for 200 years.

In 1815 Molly Williams joined New York City’s Oceanus Engine Company No. 11. Williams was a black woman enslaved by a wealthy New York merchant who volunteered at the firehouse. Williams would accompany the merchant to the station to cook and clean for the all-white, all-male crew.

One evening, the alarm rang at Oceanus No. 11. The men were incapacitated by the flu, so Williams grabbed the hand-pumped hose and answered the call alone. Her strength so impressed the men that they offered her a job.

In 1926, 50-year-old Emma Vernell became New Jersey’s first female firefighter when her husband, Harry, a volunteer fireman in the town of Red Bank, died in the line of duty.

Many more women took their husbands’ places in America’s volunteer fire service during World War II. By the mid-1940s, two Illinois military fire departments were “manned” entirely by women.

But the profession really opened up to women after the passage of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, which made it illegal for employers to discriminate against applicants based on sex, race, religion or nationality.

Strong, brave and invisible

Despite this history, I still hear claims that affirmative action for female firefighters is diluting standards and putting communities at risk.

Even my liberal colleagues have asked me whether women can really carry an unconscious victim out of a fire while wearing 100 pounds of gear.

The answer is yes.

In 2008, almost 70 percent of all aspiring female firefighters passed the national Candidate Physical Abilities Test, which tests for endurance, strength and cardiovascular health. The same year, 75 percent of male applicants passed.

Female success rates rise when departments offer specialized preparation programs for women to work out together, get hands-on experience with firefighting equipment, and follow individualized strength-training routines.

Critics have suggested to me that there aren’t more female firefighters because women are not interested in such a dangerous and “dirty” job.

Yet women are much better represented in fields that require a comparable level of strength and stamina, including drywall installation, logging and welding – though they remain minorities.

Women have also made more inroads in other historically male-dominated careers like aerospace engineering and medicine. Today, some 150 years after the first American woman entered medical school, in 1911, almost 35 percent of doctors are women.

Fear of change

So why are just 5 percent of firefighters female?

Based on research on gender integration in the U.S. military, I believe the main obstacle facing women in firefighting is its traditional culture.

Like soldiers, firefighters are viewed as proud warriors working on dangerous front lines. That image comes with powerful stereotypes about who’s best suited to do the work. Female soldiers and firefighters both challenge a cultural standard that men are heroes and women are onlookers, even victims.

The military first added women to its ranks in 1948. In December 2015, Secretary of Defense Ash Carter lifted the ban on women in combat roles – “[a]s long as they qualify and meet the standards” – despite opposition from the Marines.

Today, women still account for just 15 percent of active military personnel.

Firefighting too is a traditional field. Over the past decade, numerous departments have been found guilty of discriminating against applicants of color and ordered to retool entrance testing that had a disparate impact based on race.

Women are in some ways even more disruptive newcomers to firefighting because they entirely upend societal gender norms.

Workplace harassment

Interviewees have told me they face severe harassment on the job.

One found her oxygen tank drained. Another confided that her male colleagues are so hostile she fears they’ll leave her alone in a fire.

Female firefighters also contend with ill-fitting gear. The long fingers of male gloves affect their grip, they report. Boots and coats are too large. Oversized breathing masks push their loose helmets forward, blocking their vision during fires.

Station houses often lack of private spaces for women, including bathrooms, changing areas and dormitories.

In 2016, 34 years after women joined New York City’s fire department, the city boasted that all of its 214 active firehouses finally had gender-separated facilities. For three decades, some of New York’s bravest went to the bathroom in neighborhood diners.

Women winning

Female firefighters are succeeding anyway.

Several hundred have risen to the level of lieutenant or captain. Another 150 hold the highest rank, fire chief. That includes Chief JoAnne Hayes-White, whose historic 2004 hiring made San Francisco the world’s largest urban fire department led by a woman.

Meanwhile, these women are transforming how Americans imagine heroism.

One Wisconsin firefighter said people are surprised when her all-female crew pulls up to a blaze. But, she told me, “No one cares if you’re a woman when their house is on fire.”

A woman in San Francisco said she intentionally stands outside the station during down time so that neighborhood children realize that black women can be firefighters.

The Conversation“You have to see it to be it,” she said.

About The Author

Lorraine Dowler, Associate Professor of Geography and Women's Studies, Pennsylvania State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by this Author:

Geopolitics: An Introductory Reader

careerBinding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Jason Dittmer

Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

It has been increasingly impossible to think about our changing world without coming across the term 'geopolitics'. In the wake of the invasion and occupation of Iraq by the United States, United Kingdom, and others, geopolitics has been offered as an explanation for the occupation's failure to reinvent the Iraqi state and as a blueprint for future action. But what is 'geopolitics'?

Drawing both on academic and political material, this book introduces readers to the concept of geopolitics, from the first usage of the term to its more recent reconceptualisations. The concept of geopolitics is introduced through four thematic sections - Imperial Geopolitics, Cold War Geopolitics, Geopolitics after the Cold War and Reconceptualising Geopolitics. Each section includes key writings from a range of diverse and leading authors such as Said, Agnew, Dalby, O Tuathail, Gregory, Barnett and Kaplan, and is accompanied by a critical introduction by the editors to guide the reader through the material. This Reader establishes the foundations of geopolitics while also introducing readers to the continuing significance of the concept in the 21st century.

This Reader provides an essential resource that exposes students to original writing. The Editors provide a pathway through the material with Section Introductions to assist the readers understanding of the context of the material and impacts of the writings. The readings included draw from a range of authors, writing from a range of locations. The Reader concludes with the latest changes in geopolitical thought, incorporating feminist and other perspectives.





Gender and Landscape (Routledge International Studies of Women and Place)

careerBinding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Josephine Carubia
  • Lorraine Dowler
  • Bonj Szczygiel

Studio: Routledge
Label: Routledge
Publisher: Routledge
Manufacturer: Routledge

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Gender and Landscape is a feminist inquiry into a long-ignored area of study: the landscape. Although there has been an exhaustive investigation into issues of gender as they intersect with space and place, very little has been written about the gendering of the landscape. This volume provides a bridge between feminist discussions of space and place as something 'lived' and landscape interpretations as something 'viewed'.




career
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}