فوائد و مطبات العمل في العزلة

فوائد و مطبات العمل في العزلة

توفر القليل من البيئات العاملة عزلاً أكبر من القطب الجنوبي. شترستوك

في أكتوبر / تشرين الأول ، قام باحث في محطة بيلنجسهاوزن النائية في أنتاركتيكا بطعن زميل له. نسبت بعض التقارير الحادث إلى الضحية التخلي عن النهايات من الكتب كان المهاجم يقرأ.

تقارير أخرى التعرف على حمى المقصورة تأثير كعامل المساهمة المحتملة. خلال الفترات الممتدة في العزلة والظروف المحصورة ، كما هو الحال في محطة في أنتاركتيكا ، يمكن للناس أن يشعروا بالملل والضجر والمضايقة.

غير أن هذه التأثيرات لا تقتصر على العدد القليل من العلماء الذين يعيشون في بيئات تشبه الكبائن في المواقع النائية. يمكن العزلة بنفس السهولة التي تؤثر على الناس أثناء التنقل ، مثل السائقين لل 3.5 مليون سيارة الشحن مسجل في أستراليا. دراسات ذكر العزلة الاجتماعية كموضوع متكرر وسبب لمشاكل الصحة العقلية والعلاقات الأسرية المختلة لسائقي الشاحنات.

ومن المثير للاهتمام أن العاملين في مجال المعرفة أصبحوا أكثر عرضة للمعاناة من العزلة. هذا لأن القدرة على العمل "في أي مكان وفي أي وقت" قد أدت إلى تطوير هياكل تنظيمية جديدة زادت من آثار العزلة عن طريق زيادة المسافة الاجتماعية داخل القوى العاملة الموزعة.

الاكتئاب ، والتوتر ، وعدم وجود الحافز والاحتراق في النهاية كلها العواقب المحتملة للعزلة. وتشمل التأثيرات الأخرى المخاوف من فقدان الأحداث أو القرارات المهمة التي يقوم بها الآخرون في أماكن أخرى - والتي تُعرف بالعامية الشعور بعيدا عن الأنظار ، من العقل.

تم مقارنة تأثير العزلة في الصحة على انخفاض في عمر مشابه لذلك الناجمة عن تدخين السجائر 15 في اليوم. إذا كان مكتب الاعتصام هو الرد على شعار "الجلوس هو التدخين الجديد" ، فإن العمل المشترك هو الرد على العزلة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


جلب نمو الاقتصاد أزعج من المخاوف من زيادة احتمال الناس يعملون في عزلة ما وراء ذلك من العاملين عن بعد التي نوقشت بالفعل أعلاه. في هذا الصدد ، لا ينبغي أن يكون تكاثر بيئات العمل المتعاونة مفاجئًا. يعود ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى قدرتها على توفير بيئة اجتماعية للممارسين الوحيدين الذين كانوا يعملون في عزلة.

في السعي وراء العزلة

العزلة هي تفسير لشعور المرء بالوحدة. إنه شعور مستقل عن حالة الخلوة. في حين أن الوحدة هي الحالة الموضوعية لعدم وجود أي شخص حولها ، يمكن أن تعاني العزلة في وسط الحشد - إذا ، على سبيل المثال ، ليس لديك شيء مشترك معهم ، أو لا تشارك لغة مشتركة.

العزلة هي الجانب السلبي للوحدة ، مما يؤدي إلى الشعور بالوحدة.

من ناحية أخرى ، فإن العزلة هي المظهر الإيجابي للوحدة. أحد العوامل المهمة في تحويل الوحدة إلى وحدة هو أنها طوعية ، بدلاً من فرضها. على هذا النحو ، وصف الفنانون والكتاب والعلماء العزلة بأنها الدولة الأكثر إبداعًا وإنتاجية.

الاختلافات بين الوحدة والعزلة يمكن أن تكون خفية. دراسة واحدة حددنا أن فهمنا لهذه الفروق يتطور مع التقدم في العمر.

الوحده كأداة تفكير

لدي اهتمام خاص بالوحدة ، سواء أكان أكاديميًا أو مهندسًا معماريًا. أنا متخصص في دراسة العمل والبيئات التي تحتوي عليه. على وجه التحديد ، أنا مهتم بالوحدة كآلية لزيادة تنوع الأفكار.

قد يبدو هذا خلافًا مع تفكير الأوقات التي تم تقدير قيمة العمل التعاوني في أستراليا فيها ألف دولار 46 مليار سنويًا. ومع ذلك ، فإن رسالة "أكثر ، أكثر مرحا" عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتعاون يجري بشكل متزايد المؤهلة والجانب السلبي من التعاون الزائد ناقش.

مستوحاة من تطوير التنوع في الأنواع المنسوبة للعزلة (انظر إغوانة في جزر غالاباغوس) ، مشيت لوحدها من ملبورن إلى سيدني على أمل أن أتمكن من احتضان فكرة عن مدة رحلة 42-day. كنت أحضن فكرة إحساس جديد بالهدف في عالم ذكي بعد مصطنع.

حملت حقيبتين تحملان وزنًا يصل إلى 20kg ، اعتمادًا على كمية الطعام والماء التي أحتاجها ، أو إذا أصبحت خيمتي مبللة. أنا معسكر ، أو بقيت في الحانات ، Airbnbs والموتيلات على جانب الطريق من حقبة ماضية.

فوائد و مطبات العمل في العزلةالتخييم بين ملبورن وسيدني. اجوستين شيفيز, مؤلف المنصوص

معظم الناس سألوا "لماذا؟" و ما هي الصدقة التي كنت أسير من أجلها (لم أكن). ما تعلمته أكثر تعقيدًا. ولكن ، نعم ، وجدت أن المشي في العزلة يمكن أن يكون أداة تفكير عظيمة. ومع ذلك ، من الضروري أن نكون قادرين على تجاوز الضجر - وهذا ليس بالأمر السهل.

أنا في الغالب تمتعت بعزلتي ، لكنني شعرت بالوحدة أثناء رحلتي. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن الأدبيات تشير إلى أن العزلة يمكن أن تؤدي أيضًا إلى نقص "البارومترات الاجتماعية" ، مما يجعل من الصعب على الأشخاص تحديد كيفية التصرف في بيئة العمل. لقد اختبرت نسخة من هذا بمجرد مشاركتي لوجبتي الأولى في "الحضارة" وأدركت كم استرخيت آكلتي في تناول الطعام.

إن طبيعة العمل المحدد ، مثل عالم في أنتاركتيكا أو سائق شاحنة ، قد يفرض الوحدانية ، وإلا فقد يكون أحد الآثار الجانبية للتكنولوجيات المتنقلة أو ظهور الاقتصاد أزعج وأنماط العمل الحديثة الأخرى. في مثل هذه الحالات ، يجب إدارة عواقب العزلة.

ولكن في الوقت نفسه ، يجب أن نخلق فرصًا للوحدة في إعدادات العمل ، من خلال تصميم المساحة أو وظائفنا. في القيام بذلك ، قد نزيد تنوع الأفكار وفي النهاية فرصنا في الابتكار.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

Agustin Chevez ، زميل الأبحاث المساعد ، مركز الابتكار في التصميم ، جامعة سوينبرن للتكنولوجيا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = العزلة، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Benefits And Pitfalls Of Working In Isolation

The Benefits And Pitfalls Of Working In Isolation

Few work environments offer greater isolation than Antarctica. Shutterstock

In October a researcher at the remote Bellingshausen Station in Antarctica allegedly stabbed a colleague. Some reports attributed the incident to the victim giving away the endings of books the attacker was reading.

Other reports identify the cabin fever effect as a possible contributing factor. During extended periods in isolation and confined conditions, such as at a station in Antarctica, people can become restlessness, bored and irritated.

These effects, however, are not limited to the small number of scientists living in cabin-like environments in remote locations. Isolation can just as easily affect people on the move, such as the drivers of the 3.5 million freight vehicles registered in Australia. Studies cite social isolation as a recurring theme and a cause of mental health problems and dysfunctional family relationships for truck drivers.

Interestingly, knowledge workers are also increasingly prone to suffering from isolation. This is because the ability to work “anywhere, anytime” has led to the development of new organisational structures that have increased the effects of isolation by increasing the social distance within a distributed workforce.

Depression, stress, lack of motivation and eventually burnout are all possible consequences of isolation. Other effects include experiencing fears of missing out on crucial events or decisions being made by others elsewhere – colloquially known as the feeling of out of sight, out of mind.

The impact of isolation in health has been compared to the reduction in lifespan similar to that caused by smoking 15 cigarettes a day. If the sit-to-stand desk was the response to the “sitting is the new smoking” motto, co-working is the response to isolation.

The growth of the gig economy brought concerns of increased likelihood of people working in isolation beyond that of teleworkers already discussed above. In this regard, the proliferation of co-working environments should not be surprising. To a large extent it’s due to their ability to provide a social environment for sole practitioners who would otherwise be working in isolation.

In pursuit of solitude

Isolation is an interpretation of one’s sense of aloneness. It is a feeling independent of the condition of being alone. While aloneness is the objective state of not having anyone around, isolation can be experienced in the middle of a crowd – if, for example, you have nothing in common with them, or do not share a common language.

Isolation is the negative side of aloneness, which leads to loneliness.

On the other hand, solitude is the positive manifestation of aloneness. An important factor in converting aloneness into solitude is that it is voluntary, instead of imposed. As such, artists, writers and scientists have described solitude as their most creative and productive state.

The differences between loneliness and solitude can be subtle. One study has identified that our understanding of these nuances develops with age.

Aloneness as a thinking tool

I have a particular interest in aloneness, both as an academic and architect. I specialise in the study of work and the environments that contain it. Specifically, I am interested in aloneness as a mechanism to increase the diversity of ideas.

This might seem at odds with the thinking of times when the value of collaborative work in Australia has been estimated at A$46 billion per year. However, the message of “the more, the merrier” when it comes to collaboration is increasingly being qualified and the downside of collaboration overload discussed.

Inspired by the development of diversity in species attributed to isolation (see iguanas at the Galapagos Islands), I walked alone from Melbourne to Sydney in the hope that I could incubate an idea for the duration of the 42-day journey. I was incubating the idea of a new sense of purpose in a post-artificially intelligent world.

I carried two backpacks weighting up to 20kg, depending on the amount of food and water I needed, or if my tent got wet. I camped, or stayed in pubs, Airbnbs and roadside motels from a bygone era.

The Benefits And Pitfalls Of Working In IsolationCamping between Melbourne and Sydney. Agustin Chevez, Author provided

Most people asked “why?” and what charity I was walking for (I wasn’t). What I learned is more complicated. But, yes, I did find that walking in solitude can be a great thinking tool. It is necessary, however, to be able to go past boredom – and that is not easy.

I mostly enjoyed my solitude, but I did experience loneliness during my trek. Interestingly, the literature suggests that isolation can also lead to lack of “social barometers”, making it difficult for people to determine how they should behave in work settings. I experienced a version of this as soon as I shared my first meal back in “civilisation” and realised how much I had relaxed my eating etiquette.

The nature of a specific job, like a scientist in Antarctica or a truck driver, might impose aloneness, or else it might be a side effect of mobile technologies or the emergence of the gig economy and other modern working styles. In such cases, the consequences of isolation must be managed.

At the same time, however, we should create opportunities for solitude in work settings, by the design of the space or of our jobs. In doing so, we might increase the diversity of ideas and ultimately our chances to innovate.The Conversation

About The Author

Agustin Chevez, Adjunct Research Fellow, Centre For Design Innovation, Swinburne University of Technology

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=isolation;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

Emily Spiers
It is no secret that women are still underrepresented in cinema – whether they work behind or in front of the camera.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.