الباحثون اكتشاف قضية وراثية التي تربط ضعف الانتصاب ومرض السكري من النوع 2

الباحثون اكتشاف قضية وراثية التي تربط ضعف الانتصاب ومرض السكري من النوع 2يمكن لضعف الانتصاب أن يخرج الضوء من حياة الرجال. غراهام أوكس / شترستوك

بالنسبة لأولئك الرجال الذين يعانون من ذلك ، يمكن أن يسبب ضعف الانتصاب اضطرابات ذهنية استثنائية ، يمكن أن تدمر العلاقات ، ويمكن أيضا أن يكون علامة حمراء تشير إلى الظروف الصحية الأساسية الأخرى الخطيرة مثل الدورة الدموية أو مشاكل ضغط الدم.

جديدنا دراسة نشرت في المجلة الأمريكية لعلم الوراثة البشرية وقد أظهرت أن ضعف الانتصاب (ED) لديه مكون وراثي. وجدنا أدلة قوية على وجود صلة بين جزء معين من الحمض النووي لدينا والقدرة على تطوير والحفاظ على الانتصاب. في حين أن هذه القدرة تنخفض بشكل طبيعي مع التقدم في العمر - يقدر أن يؤثر على الضعف الجنسي 20-40٪ من الرجال بين عمر 60 و 69 - يمكن أن يكون مشكلة تؤثر على الرجال الأصغر سنا.

وجدنا أيضا أن وجود خطر متزايد من مرض السكري نوع - 2 (على أساس عدد من الجينات المختلفة) يسبب الضعف الجنسي.

استندت دراستنا على البيانات في البنك الحيوي في المملكة المتحدة من الرجال من أصل أوروبي ، وقمنا بعد ذلك بجمع وجمع نتائجنا مع بيانات الرجال المستمدة من مركز الجينوم الإستوني من جامعة تارتو ، و الشركاء برنامج HealthCare Biobank في الولايات المتحدة من أجل استخلاص النتائج من عينة أوسع.

UK Biobank هو مخزن مذهل للبيانات الجينية والطبية المتاحة للعلماء. تم تمويل 500,000 من 40 69 من 2006 و 2010 من جميع أنحاء البلاد بتمويل من المؤسسات الخيرية والحكومية. أكمل هؤلاء المتطوعون عددا من الاستبيانات التفصيلية ، وقدموا القياسات ، عينات الدم والبول واللعاب ، وتعيَّنت لهم مواعيد المتابعة على مدار السنين.

هناك عدد كبير من الأشخاص يرتدون أجهزة مراقبة النشاط أو تم منحهم الفحص الطبي. وقد وافقوا أيضًا على السماح للباحثين بالوصول إلى سجلات المستشفى ومعلومات الوصفات الطبية الخاصة بهم. والنتيجة هي بيانات غنية للغاية يمكن استخدامها للإجابة على العديد من الأسئلة المتعلقة بالصحة والرفاهية ومخاطر الظروف الصحية في المستقبل.

حفر من خلال البيانات

نظرًا للطبيعة الحساسة لهذه المشكلة الطبية المعينة ، قد لا يكون من المستغرب العثور على عدد قليل من الأشخاص الذين أبلغوا عن وجود حالات ضعف في الذات. للحصول على أفضل فرصة للعثور على سبب وراثي ، قمنا بجمع الأشخاص الذين أبلغوا عن أنفسهم مع أولئك الذين يتناولون أدوية الضعف الجنسي مثل الفياجرا ، والذين لديهم إجراءات جراحية للتعامل مع القضايا الصحية المتعلقة بالضعف الجنسي. من خلال هذا النهج ، حددنا فقط رجال 6,175 الذين لديهم ED في البنك الأهلي في المملكة المتحدة - من المرجح جدا أن يكون أقل من الواقع.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ثم قمنا بعد ذلك بمقارنة الحمض النووي لهؤلاء المشاركين مع الرجال 223,805 الباقين في البنك الحيوي الذي لم يتم تصنيفه على أنه لديه ED لمعرفة فروق وأوجه التشابه التي يمكن أن نكتشفها. ما وجدناه كان دليلا قويا للغاية على أن الموقع الجيني كان مسؤولا عن زيادة طفيفة في خطر الضعف الجنسي. ومن المثير للاهتمام أيضًا أننا وجدنا أيضًا دليلاً على أن زيادة خطر الإصابة بسكري النوع 2 يؤدي أيضًا إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بالضعف الجنسي.

في الواقع ، يرتبط داء السكري نوع - 2 لفترة طويلة مع الضعف الجنسي ، ولكن ليس على المستوى الجيني. كان يعتقد عموما أن الرابط قد يكون بسبب السمنة والقضايا الأيضية الأخرى التي يميل السكري نوع - 2 إلى يستتبع، آثار هذا على الأوعية الدموية في القضيب ، وبالتالي الآثار على الحفاظ على الانتصاب. ما أظهرته دراستنا هو أن الأشخاص الذين لديهم مخاطر وراثية أعلى من مرض السكري من النوع 2 كانوا أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالضعف الجنسي ، مما يشير إلى أن من المحتمل أن يكون T2D سبباً في الضعف الجنسي. هذا يشير أيضا إلى أن علاج T2D قد تقدم فائدة من حيث خفض خطر الضعف الجنسي.

أي جين يزيد من خطر الضعف الجنسي؟

يسمى الجين الذي نعتقد أنه يسبب زيادة خطر الضعف الجنسي Sim1. على وجه التحديد ، هو تغيير في كيفية عمل هذا الجين الذي يزيد من خطر تطوير الضعف الجنسي. في السابق ، تم ربط التغييرات في هذا الجين بالسمنة الشديدة والقضايا مع الجهاز العصبي الذي يؤثر على ضغط الدم. لاحظنا هذه الشروط في مشاركينا ، أيضا ، تقديم المزيد من الأدلة التي تشارك هذا الجين في الضعف الجنسي.

هناك بعض الأدلة في دراسات الفئران أن خلايا الدماغ التي تفتقر إلى Sim1 هي المسؤولة عن الأداء الجنسي الضعيف. لذا ، فإن ما توصلت إليه دراستنا هو أن الخطر الجيني الذي حددناه قد يتسبب في الضعف الجنسي من خلال التأثير على الدماغ والجهاز العصبي - وتحديدًا المهاد ، الذي يتعامل مع العديد من وظائف الجسم اللاواعية مثل التنفس ومعدل ضربات القلب والاستجابة الجنسية - بدلًا من السمنة.

لماذا أي من هذه المسألة إذا كنت لا تستطيع تغيير جيناتك؟ حسنا ، فهم سبب وخطر تطوير حالة مثل الضعف الجنسي يساعدنا على التفكير في كيفية قد ننصح أو نعالج المرضى. قد توفر هذه النتيجة الجينية الجديدة فرصة لتطوير عقاقير جديدة لعلاج الضعف الجنسي ، لفحص كيفية استخدام الأدوية الحالية مع المرضى في وقت مبكر ، أو التنبؤ بفرص الرجل لتطوير الضعف الجنسي. التأثيرات المستقلة لمؤشر كتلة الجسم والضعف الجنسي تشير أيضًا إلى أن الرجال قد يكونون معرضين لخطر الإصابة بضعف الانتصاب بغض النظر عن وزنهم.

الباحثون اكتشاف قضية وراثية التي تربط ضعف الانتصاب ومرض السكري من النوع 2 في حين أن هناك عوامل أخرى تؤدي إلى الضعف الجنسي ، يبدو أن السبب الجيني هو المفتاح. nobeastsofierce / شترستوك

لسوء الحظ ، مثل هذه الغالبية العظمى من الدراسات الجينية ، فإن هذه النتائج قابلة للتطبيق بشكل أكثر ثقة للمرضى المنحدرين من أصول أوروبية لأن المجموعات المستخدمة لإجراء هذا البحث كانت في الأساس تتكون من هذه المجموعة من الأشخاص. تواتر التغيير الجيني الذي وجدناه هو حوالي 23٪ في عدد السكان الأوروبيين ، مع وجود مجموعات عرقية أخرى في أي مكان من تردد 0.1٪ -34٪. بالنظر إلى هذا التباين ، نحتاج إلى البنوك الحيوية مع بيانات من المتطوعين المستمدة من مجموعة أوسع من الخلفيات العرقية للحصول على الصورة الكاملة.

لحسن الحظ ، تم ملاحظة نتائجنا أيضًا من قبل مجموعة بحثية من الولايات المتحدة ، والتي تم أيضًا تنفيذها مؤخرًا تحديد Sim1 لتكون متورطة في الضعف الجنسي باستخدام البيانات من Kaiser Permanente شمال كاليفورنيا اﻟﺒﻨﻚ اﻟﺒﻴﻮﻟﻮﺟﻲ ، اﻟﺬي ﺷﻤﻞ ﺳﻜﺎﻧﺎ ﻣﺘﻌﺪد اﻷﻋﺮاق ، وإن آﺎن ﺑﺄﻋﺪاد ﺻﻐﻴﺮةالمحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

لي جاكسون ، محاضر في الطب الجينومي ، جامعة إكستر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Erectile Dysfunction؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Researchers Discover A Genetic Cause That Links Erectile Dysfunction And Type-2 Diabetes

Researchers Discover A Genetic Cause That Links Erectile Dysfunction And Type-2 DiabetesErectile dysfunction can take the light out of men’s lives. graham oakes/Shutterstock

For those men who suffer from it, erectile dysfunction can cause exceptional mental angst, can ruin relationships, and can also be a red flag that indicates other serious underlying health conditions such as circulation or blood pressure problems.

Our new study published in the American Journal of Human Genetics has shown that erectile dysfunction (ED) has a genetic component. We found strong evidence for a link between a particular part of our DNA and the capacity to develop and maintain an erection. While this capacity naturally decreases with age – ED is estimated to affect 20-40% of men between the ages of 60 and 69 – it can also be a problem that affects younger men.

We also found that having an increased risk of Type-2 diabetes (based on a number of different genes) causes ED.

Our study drew upon data in the UK Biobank of men of European ancestry, and we then compared and combined our findings with data of men drawn from the Estonian Genome Center of the University of Tartu, and the Partners HealthCare Biobank in the US in order to draw conclusions from a wider sample.

UK Biobank is an amazing store of genetic and medical data available to scientists. Funded by charitable and government organisations, 500,000 people aged 40-69 were recruited between 2006 and 2010 from across the country. These volunteers completed a number of detailed questionnaires, provided measurements, blood, urine and saliva samples, and have had follow-up appointments over the years.

A large number have worn activity monitors or been given medical scans. They have also consented to researchers having access to their hospital records and prescription information. The result is an extraordinarily rich trove of data that can be used to answer many questions related to health, well-being and the risk of future health conditions.

Digging through the data

Due to the sensitive nature of this particular medical issue, it might not be surprising to find that few people self-reported experiencing ED. To have the best chance of finding a genetic cause, we combined people who self-reported with those taking ED medications such as Viagra, and those who had surgical procedures to deal with ED-related health issues. With this approach we identified just 6,175 men with ED in UK Biobank – very likely an underestimate.

We then compared the DNA of those participants with the 223,805 remaining men in the biobank who weren’t classified as having ED to see what differences and similarities we could detect. What we found was extremely strong evidence that a genetic location was responsible for a slightly increased risk of ED. Interestingly, we also found evidence that an increased risk of Type-2 diabetes also causes an increased risk of ED.

In fact, Type-2 diabetes has long been associated with ED, but not on a genetic level. It has generally been thought that the link may be due to the obesity and other metabolic issues that Type-2 diabetes tends to entail, the effects of this on the blood vessels in the penis, and consequently the effects on maintaining an erection. What our study has shown is that people with a higher genetic risk of Type-2 diabetes were also at higher risk for ED, suggesting that T2D is likely a cause of ED. This also suggests that treatment of T2D may offer benefit in terms of lowering ED risk.

Which gene increases the risk of ED?

The gene we believe is causing the increased risk of ED is called Sim1. Specifically, it’s a change to how this gene operates that increases the risk of developing ED. Previously, changes to this gene have been linked to severe obesity and issues with the nervous system that affect blood pressure. We observed these conditions in our participants, too, providing further evidence that this gene is involved in ED.

There is some evidence in mice studies that brain cells lacking Sim1 are responsible for impaired sexual performance. So, taken together, what our study suggests is that the genetic risk we have identified may be causing ED through affecting the brain and nervous system – specifically the hypothalamus, which deals with many unconscious body functions such as breathing, heart rate, and sexual response – rather than due to obesity.

Why does any of this matter if you can’t change your genes? Well, understanding the cause and risk of developing a condition such as ED will help us to think about how we may advise or treat patients. This new genetic finding may provide an opportunity to develop new drugs to treat ED, to examine how existing medications could be used with patients earlier, or to predict men’s chances of developing ED. The independent effects of BMI and ED also suggest that men may be at risk of ED regardless of their weight.

Researchers Discover A Genetic Cause That Links Erectile Dysfunction And Type-2 Diabetes While there are other factors that lead to ED, the genetic cause seems key. nobeastsofierce/Shutterstock

Unfortunately, like the vast majority of genetic studies, these findings are most confidently applicable to patients of European descent because the groups used to conduct this research were primarily comprised of this group of people. The frequency of the genetic change we found is about 23% in the European population, with other ethnic groups having anywhere from 0.1%-34% frequency. Given that disparity, we need biobanks with data from volunteers drawn from a much wider range of ethnic backgrounds to get the full picture.

Fortunately, our results have also been observed by a research group from the US, which also recently identified Sim1 to be implicated in ED using data from the Kaiser Permanente Northern California biobank, which included a multi-ethnic population, albeit in small numbers.The Conversation

About The Author

Leigh Jackson, Lecturer in Genomic Medicine, University of Exeter

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Erectile Dysfunction;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

8 Must-see Films About Women That Are All By Women

Emily Spiers
It is no secret that women are still underrepresented in cinema – whether they work behind or in front of the camera.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.