Warum putzen Sie wahrscheinlich Ihre Zähne falsch?

Gesundheit

Warum putzen Sie wahrscheinlich Ihre Zähne falsch?Zeit zum Auffrischen. WAYHOME Studio / Shutterstock

Wir alle kennen den Rat für gesunde Zähne - zweimal täglich putzen und nicht zu viel Zucker essen. Warum brauchen diejenigen von uns, die diese Anweisungen befolgen, manchmal eine Füllung, wenn wir den Zahnarzt besuchen? Die Wahrheit ist, es gibt etwas mehr, Karies zu verhindern, als diese Richtlinien vermuten lassen. Hier ist was Sie wissen müssen.

Trainieren Sie Ihre Fähigkeiten

Wie du bürstest, macht einen großen Unterschied. Das mechanische Bürsten entfernt den sehr klebrigen Zahnbelag - eine Mischung aus Bakterien, ihren Säuren und klebrigen Nebenprodukten und Speiseresten. Es bildet sich natürlich nach dem Zähneputzen auf den Zähnen, wird jedoch nicht böse und fängt an, die Zähne zu schädigen, bis es einen bestimmten Reifegrad erreicht. Die genaue Zeit, die dies dauert, ist nicht bekannt, beträgt jedoch mindestens mehr als 12-Stunden.

Bakterien konsumieren Zucker und produzieren als Nebenprodukt Säuren, die Mineralien aus den Zähnen lösen und mikroskopisch kleine Löcher hinterlassen, die wir nicht sehen können. Wenn der Prozess nicht angehalten wird und sie nicht repariert werden, können diese zu großen, sichtbaren Hohlräumen werden.

Warum putzen Sie wahrscheinlich Ihre Zähne falsch?Hohlräume treten auf, wenn Karies unbehandelt ist, und erfordern häufig eine Füllung. Sergii Kuchugurnyi / Shutterstock

Das Zähneputzen von zwei Minuten ist ein gutes Ziel, um Plaque zu entfernen, und Sie sollten nachts und einmal täglich putzen. Durch das Bürsten wird häufig verhindert, dass sich die Bakterien in einem Stadium entwickeln, in dem sich die Spezies etablieren kann, die am meisten Säure produziert.

Elektrische Zahnbürsten können sein effektiver als manuelles Bürsten Ein kleiner Zahnbürstenkopf hilft dabei, unangenehme Stellen im Mund zu erreichen, während die Borsten mit mittlerer Struktur das Reinigen effektiv unterstützen, ohne Zahnfleisch und Zähne zu schädigen. Die Hauptsache ist jedoch das Bürsten!

Verwenden Sie Fluoridzahnpasta und Tabletten

Der größte Nutzen beim Bürsten kommt von Zahnpasta. Der Schlüsselbestandteil ist Fluorid, was Beweise zeigt verhindert Karies. Fluorid ersetzt verlorene Mineralien in den Zähnen und macht sie auch stärker.

Für maximalen Nutzen Verwenden Sie Zahnpasta mit 1350-1500 ppmF - das ist eine Konzentration von Fluorid in parts per million - um Karies zu verhindern.

Überprüfen Sie die Konzentration Ihrer Zahnpasta, indem Sie die Zutaten auf der Rückseite der Tube lesen. Nicht alle Kinderzahnpasten sind stark genug damit sie maximalen Nutzen erzielen. Ihr Zahnarzt kann aufgrund seiner Beurteilung des Kariesrisikos Ihres Kindes oder Ihres Kindes eine fluoridhaltige Zahnpasta mit höherer Stärke verschreiben.

Plaque ist schwer zu sehen, weil es weißlich ist wie Ihre Zähne. Disclosing-Tabletten sind in Supermärkten und Drogerien erhältlich und machen Plaque besser sichtbar, wodurch Bereiche angezeigt werden, die Sie beim Putzen möglicherweise übersehen haben.

Warum putzen Sie wahrscheinlich Ihre Zähne falsch?Unsichtbare Plaques werden nach der Verwendung einer Tablette mit Entdeckung in hellem Rosa sichtbar. Weakiva / Shutterstock

Spucken, nicht spülen

Nachts produzieren Sie weniger Speichel als tagsüber. Aus diesem Grund schützen Ihre Zähne weniger vor Speichel und sind anfälliger für Säureangriffe. Deshalb ist es wichtig, vor dem Schlafengehen die Nahrung von den Zähnen zu entfernen, damit sich Plaquebakterien nicht über Nacht ernähren können. Nichts essen oder trinken außer Wasser nach dem Bürsten in der Nacht. Dies gibt auch Fluorid die längste Gelegenheit zu arbeiten.

Wenn Sie einmal gebürstet sind, spülen Sie Ihren Mund nicht mit Wasser oder Mundwasser ab - Sie spülen das Fluorid weg! Es kann schwierig sein, diese Gewohnheit zu brechen, kann aber reduzieren Karies um bis zu 25%.

Nicht mehr als vier "Zuckerhits"

Intrinsische Zuckerarten kommen natürlicherweise in Lebensmitteln wie Obst vor und verursachen weit weniger Karies als Zusatz oder Zusatz freie Zucker. Freie Zucker sind im Allgemeinen diejenigen, die von Herstellern zu Nahrungsmitteln hinzugefügt werden, aber auch Honig, Sirup und Fruchtsäfte.

Dies alles ist für Bakterien leicht zu verzehren, umzuwandeln und Säuren herzustellen. Es kann jedoch schwierig sein zu sagen, welcher der schlechteste Zucker für Zähne ist. Obwohl normale Mengen an Früchten fein sind, haben Fruchtsäfte beispielsweise Zucker, der aus den Pflanzenzellen freigesetzt wird, und starker Konsum kann zum Zerfall führen.

Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation und NHS Es wird empfohlen, dass freie Zucker idealerweise weniger als 5% Ihrer täglichen Kalorienzufuhr ausmachen. Wie sieht das aus? Für Erwachsene und Kinder ab etwa 11 ist dies täglich etwa 30g (oder 30 Teelöffel) Zucker.

Eine 330ml Dose Cola hat 35g Zucker). Die change4life-App ist hilfreich, um zu ermitteln, wie viel Zucker Sie in Ihrer Ernährung verbrauchen.

Warum putzen Sie wahrscheinlich Ihre Zähne falsch?Ein heißes Getränk ohne Zucker ist eine Möglichkeit, einen regelmäßigen Zuckerschlag auszuschalten. Eviart / Shutterstock

Obwohl es nicht so wichtig ist wie viel, spielt es auch eine Rolle, wie oft Sie Zucker essen. Einfache Kohlenhydrate wie Zucker sind für Bakterien leichter zu verdauen als Proteine ​​oder komplexe Kohlenhydrate. Bakterien produzieren Säuren, nachdem sie Zucker verstoffwechselt haben, was zu einer Entmineralisierung führt.

Glücklicherweise können sich Ihre Zähne durch die Wirkung von Fluorid-Zahnpasta und die remineralisierende Wirkung von Speichel von den frühen Stadien dieser Anfälle erholen. Es ist wie mit einer Waage - das Gleichgewicht zwischen Zucker auf der einen Seite, fluoridhaltiger Zahnpasta und der Reinigung auf der anderen Seite zu halten.

In der Regel können Ihre Zähne täglich vier „Zuckerhits“ - Episoden der Zuckereinnahme - ausgesetzt werden, ohne dass die Zähne irreversibel geschädigt werden. Warum zählst du nicht, wie viele zuckrige Treffer du am Tag hast? Dazu gehören Kekse, Tassen zuckerhaltiger Tee oder Kaffee und andere Snacks mit raffinierten Kohlenhydraten wie Chips. Ein einfacher Weg, um zu reduzieren, wäre zu stoppen, Zucker in heiße Getränke zu stecken und das Naschen einzuschränken.

Zweimal täglich mit fluoridhaltiger Zahnpasta bürsten, spucken, nichts essen und nichts trinken, und nicht mehr als viermal täglich Zucker. Einfach!Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Nicola Innes, Professor für Kinderzahnmedizin, University of Dundee und Clement Seeballuck, klinischer Dozent für pädiatrische Denistry, University of Dundee

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=teeth care;maxresults=3}

Gesundheit
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth Wrong

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongTime to brush up. WAYHOME Studio/Shutterstock

We all know the advice for healthy teeth – brush twice daily and don’t eat too much sugar. So why do those of us following these instructions find we sometimes need a filling when we visit the dentist? The truth is, there’s a little more to preventing tooth decay than these guidelines suggest. Here’s what you need to know.

Brush up on your skills

How you brush makes a big difference. The mechanical act of brushing removes the very sticky dental plaque – a mixture of bacteria, their acids and sticky byproducts and food remnants. It forms naturally on teeth immediately after you’ve brushed but doesn’t get nasty and start to cause damage to the teeth until it reaches a certain stage of maturity. The exact amount of time this takes isn’t known but is at least more than 12 hours.

Bacteria consume sugar and, as a byproduct, produce acids which dissolve mineral out of the teeth, leaving microscopic holes we can’t see. If the process isn’t stopped and they aren’t repaired, these can become big, visible cavities.

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongCavities emerge when tooth decay is untreated, and they often require a filling. Sergii Kuchugurnyi/Shutterstock

Taking two minutes to brush your teeth is a good target for removing plaque and you should brush at night and one other time daily. Brushing frequently stops the bacteria developing to a stage where the species which produce the most acid can become established.

Electric toothbrushes can be more effective than manual brushing and a small toothbrush head helps to reach awkward areas in the mouth, while medium-textured bristles help you clean effectively without causing harm to gums and teeth. The main thing, however, is to get brushing!

Use fluoride toothpaste and disclosing tablets

Most of the benefit from brushing comes from toothpaste. The key ingredient is fluoride, which evidence shows prevents tooth decay. Fluoride replaces lost minerals in teeth and also makes them stronger.

For maximum benefit, use toothpaste with 1350-1500 ppmF – that’s concentration of fluoride in parts per million – to prevent tooth decay.

Check your toothpaste’s concentration by reading the ingredients on the back of the tube. Not all children’s toothpastes are strong enough for them to gain maximum benefit. Your dentist may prescribe higher strength fluoride toothpaste based on their assessment of your or your child’s risk of tooth decay.

Plaque is difficult to see because it is whitish, like your teeth. Disclosing tablets are available in supermarkets and chemists and they make plaque more visible, showing areas you may have missed when brushing.

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongInvisible plaque is revealed in bright pink after using a disclosing tablet. Weakiva/Shutterstock

Spit, don’t rinse

At night, you produce less saliva than during the day. Because of this, your teeth have less protection from saliva and are more vulnerable to acid attacks. That’s why it’s important to remove food from your teeth before bed so plaque bacteria can’t feast overnight. Don’t eat or drink anything except water after brushing at night. This also gives fluoride the longest opportunity to work.

Once you’ve brushed, don’t rinse your mouth with water or mouthwash – you’re washing away the fluoride! This can be a difficult habit to break, but can reduce tooth decay by up to 25%.

No more than four ‘sugar hits’

Intrinsic sugars are found naturally in foods like fruit and they are far less likely to cause tooth decay than added or free sugars. Free sugars are generally those added to foods by manufacturers but also include honey, syrup and fruit juices.

These are all easy for bacteria to consume, metabolise and produce acids from. However, it can be difficult to tell which are the worst sugars for teeth. For example, although normal amounts of fruit are fine, fruit juices have sugar liberated from the plant cells and heavy consumption can cause decay.

The World Health Organization and NHS recommend free sugars should ideally make up less than 5% of your daily calorie intake. So what does this look like? For adults and children over about 11 years old, this is around 30g – or 30 teaspoons – of sugar daily.

A 330ml can of Coke has 35g of sugar). The change4life app is helpful to track how much sugar you consume in your diet.

Why You're Probably Brushing Your Teeth WrongHaving a hot drink without sugar is one way of cutting out a regular sugar hit. Eviart/Shutterstock

Although not as important as how much, how often you eat sugar also matters. Simple carbohydrates like sugar are easier for bacteria to digest than proteins or complex carbohydrates. Bacteria produce acids after they metabolise sugar which causes demineralisation.

Fortunately, through the actions of fluoride toothpaste and the remineralising effects of saliva, your teeth can recover from the early stages of these attacks. It’s like having a set of scales – trying to keep the balance between sugars on one side, fluoride toothpaste and cleaning on the other.

Typically, your teeth can be exposed to four “sugar hits” – episodes of sugar intake – daily without irreversible damage to the teeth. Why not try counting how many sugary hits you have a day? This includes biscuits, cups of sugary tea or coffee and other snacks with refined carbohydrates like crisps. A simple way of cutting down would be to stop putting sugar in hot drinks and limiting snacking.

Brush twice daily with fluoride toothpaste, spit don’t rinse, eat and drink nothing after brushing, and don’t have sugar more than four times daily. Easy!The Conversation

About The Authors

Nicola Innes, Professor of Paediatric Dentistry, University of Dundee and Clement Seeballuck, Clinical Lecturer in Paediatric Denistry, University of Dundee

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=teeth care;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.