زيادة قوة العضلات لخفض خطر مرض السكري

زيادة قوة العضلات لخفض خطر مرض السكريذكر باحثون أن بناء قوة العضلات قد يوفر وسيلة لتقليل مخاطر الإصابة بمرض السكري من النوع 2.

في دراسة جديدة لأكثر من 4,500 من البالغين ، وجد الباحثون أن كتلة العضلات المعتدلة تقلل من خطر الإصابة بداء السكري من النوع 2 بنسبة 32 في المئة. كانت الفوائد مستقلة عن اللياقة القلبية التنفسية. مستويات أعلى من قوة العضلات لم توفر حماية إضافية.

من 30 مليون أمريكي يعانون من مرض السكري ، 90 إلى 95 في المئة لديهم نوع 2 ، وفقا لمراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها.

ما هو المبلغ الصحيح؟

النتائج مشجعة لأن كميات صغيرة من تمارين المقاومة قد تحسن من قوة العضلات وتساعد على الوقاية من داء السكري من النوع 2 ، كما يقول دي سي (Duck-chul) Lee ، أستاذ مشارك في علم الحركة بجامعة ولاية أيوا والمؤلف المقابل للدراسة ، والذي يظهر في مايو كلينيك وقائع.

ومع ذلك ، من الصعب التوصية بمستوى مثالي لأنه لا توجد قياسات موحدة لقوة العضلات ، كما يقول.

يقول لي: "بطبيعة الحال ، سيرغب الناس في معرفة عدد المرات التي ترفع فيها الأوزان أو مقدار العضلات التي يحتاجون إليها ، لكن الأمر ليس بهذه البساطة".

"بصفتنا باحثين ، لدينا عدة طرق لقياس قوة العضلات ، مثل قوة السيطرة أو الضغط على مقاعد البدلاء. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العمل لتحديد الجرعة المناسبة من ممارسة المقاومة ، والتي قد تختلف باختلاف النتائج الصحية والسكان. "

أكمل المشاركون في الدراسة مكابس الصدر والساق لقياس قوة العضلات. قام الباحثون بتعديل هذه القياسات حسب العمر والجنس ووزن الجسم كمحيرة محتملة - مثال على السبب الذي يجعل الباحثين يقولون إنه من المعقول تقديم توصيات عامة.

"لن ترى بالضرورة نتائج تدريب المقاومة على مقياس الحمام الخاص بك ، ولكن هناك العديد من الفوائد الصحية."

من أجل الدراسة ، قام الباحثون بتحليل البيانات من الدراسة الطولية لمركز الأيروبيكس ، التي تم جمعها في عيادة كوبر في دالاس.

الدراسة الحالية هي واحدة من أولى الدراسات التي تدرس مخاطر الإصابة بداء السكري نوع 2 وقوة العضلات ، منفصلة عن اللياقة القلبية التنفسية. تراوحت أعمار المشاركين بين 20 و 100 من العمر. طلب الباحثون من جميع المشاركين إكمال الاختبارات الأولية والمتابعة.

تقول أنجيليك بريلينثين ، باحثة ما بعد الدكتوراه في علم الحركة ، إن القوة المعتدلة تقلل من خطر الإصابة بداء السكري من النوع 2 بغض النظر عن خيارات نمط الحياة مثل التدخين والشرب ، أو المشكلات الصحية مثل السمنة وارتفاع ضغط الدم.

وتقول إنه بينما تساهم عدة عوامل في قوة العضلات ، فإن ممارسة المقاومة مهمة. لم تكن المعلومات المتعلقة بممارسة المقاومة متاحة لمعظم المشاركين ، باستثناء مجموعة صغيرة ، والتي أظهرت وجود علاقة معتدلة بين قوة العضلات وتواترها أو أيام الأسبوع من ممارسة المقاومة.

أفضل من لا شيء

تشير الأبحاث السابقة إلى أن التدريب على المقاومة يحسن مستويات الجلوكوز ويقلل محيط الخصر - وهو مؤشر على الدهون الزائدة المرتبطة بمرض السكري من النوع 2 والقضايا الصحية الأخرى ، كما يقول Brellenthin.

يقول بريلينثين: "لن ترى بالضرورة نتائج تدريب المقاومة على مقياس الحمام الخاص بك ، ولكن هناك العديد من الفوائد الصحية". "قد يساعد ذلك على تقليل خطر الإصابة بداء السكري من النوع 2 على الرغم من أنك لا تفقد وزن الجسم ، ونحن نعرف أن الحفاظ على كتلة العضلات يساعدنا على البقاء مستقلاً عن وظائفنا طوال الحياة".

استنادًا إلى التقارير الذاتية ، يقول برنثين إن 20 فقط من الأمريكيين يستوفون الإرشادات (لمدة يومين في الأسبوع من أنشطة تقوية العضلات) لممارسة المقاومة.

في حين أن بيانات الدراسة ليست كافية لتقديم اقتراحات للتدريب على الأثقال ، فإن بعضها أفضل من لا شيء. لا تحتاج إلى عضوية في الصالة الرياضية أو معدات باهظة الثمن للبدء. في الواقع ، يمكنك البدء في المنزل عن طريق القيام بتمارين لوزن الجسم.

يقول بريلينثين: "نريد تشجيع كميات صغيرة من التدريب على المقاومة ولا يحتاج الأمر إلى التعقيد". "يمكنك الحصول على تمرين جيد للمقاومة باستخدام القرفصاء أو الألواح الخشبية أو الطعنات. ثم ، أثناء بناء القوة ، يمكنك التفكير في إضافة أوزان أو آلات وزن حرة. "

حول المؤلف

باحثون آخرون من جامعة ساوث كارولينا. مركز بينينجتون للبحوث الطبية الحيوية ؛ and Ochsner Clinical School-University of Queensland of Medicine.

مصدر: جامعة ولاية أيوا

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = prevent diabetes؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Boost Muscle Strength To Lower Diabetes Risk

health

 

Boost Muscle Strength To Lower Diabetes RiskBuilding muscle strength may offer a way to lower your risk of type 2 diabetes, researchers report.

In a new study of more than 4,500 adults, researchers found that moderate muscle mass reduced the risk for type 2 diabetes by 32 percent. The benefits were independent of cardiorespiratory fitness. Higher levels of muscle strength did not provide additional protection.

Of the 30 million Americans with diabetes, 90 to 95 percent have type 2, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

What’s the right amount?

The results are encouraging because even small amounts of resistance exercise may improve muscle strength and help prevent type 2 diabetes, says DC (Duck-chul) Lee, associate professor of kinesiology at Iowa State University and corresponding author of the study, which appears in Mayo Clinic Proceedings.

It’s difficult, however, to recommend an optimal level because there are no standardized measurements for muscle strength, he says.

“Naturally, people will want to know how often to lift weights or how much muscle mass they need, but it’s not that simple,” Lee says.

“As researchers, we have several ways to measure muscle strength, such as grip strength or bench press. More work is needed to determine the proper dose of resistance exercise, which may vary for different health outcomes and populations.”

Study participants completed chest and leg presses to measure muscle strength. Researchers adjusted those measurements for age, gender, and body weight as potential confounders—an example of why researchers say it’s complicated to provide general recommendations.

“You’re not necessarily going to see the results of resistance training on your bathroom scale, but there are several health benefits.”

For the study, researchers analyzed data from the Aerobics Center Longitudinal Study, collected at the Cooper Clinic in Dallas.

The current study is one of the first to look at the risk of type 2 diabetes and muscle strength, separate from cardiorespiratory fitness. Participants ranged in age from 20 to 100 years old. The researchers required all participants to complete initial and follow-up exams.

Moderate strength reduced the risk of type 2 diabetes regardless of lifestyle choices such as smoking and drinking, or health issues such as obesity and high blood pressure, says Angelique Brellenthin, a postdoctoral researcher in kinesiology.

While several factors contribute to muscle strength, resistance exercise is important, she says. Information on resistance exercise wasn’t available for most participants, with the exception of a small group, which showed a moderate correlation between muscle strength and frequency or days per week of resistance exercise.

Better than nothing

Previous research suggests that resistance training improves glucose levels and reduces waist circumference—an indicator of excess fat associated with type 2 diabetes and other health issues, Brellenthin says.

“You’re not necessarily going to see the results of resistance training on your bathroom scale, but there are several health benefits,” Brellenthin says. “It may help lower your risk for type 2 diabetes even though you do not lose body weight, and we know maintaining muscle mass helps us stay functional and independent throughout life.”

Based on self-reports, only 20 percent of Americans meet the guidelines (two days a week of muscle-strengthening activities) for resistance exercise, Brellenthin says.

While data for the study are not sufficient to provide suggestions for weight training, some is better than none. You don’t need a gym membership or expensive equipment to start. In fact, you can start at home by doing body-weight exercises.

“We want to encourage small amounts of resistance training and it doesn’t need to be complicated,” Brellenthin says. “You can get a good resistance workout with squats, planks, or lunges. Then, as you build strength, you can consider adding free weights or weight machines.”

About the Authors

Additional researchers are from the University of South Carolina; Pennington Biomedical Research Center; and Ochsner Clinical School-University of Queensland School of Medicine.

Source: Iowa State University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=preventing diabetes;maxresults=3}

health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}