لماذا اضطراب الهوية الانفصامية هو نتيجة لصدمة الطفولة

أرجوحة 10 6اضطراب الهوية الانفصامي هو مرض عقلي خطير وصحيح. Irudayam / فليكر, CC BY

ما كان يُعرف في السابق باضطراب تعدد الشخصية ، لا يزال اضطراب الهوية الانفصامية أحد أكثر الأمراض الذهنية إثارة للفضول ، ولكن غير مفهومة. أشارت البحوث . تجربة سريرية تشير إلى أن الأشخاص الذين تم تشخيص حالتهم كانوا ضحايا للإيذاء الجنسي أو أشكال أخرى من سوء المعاملة الجنائية.

لكن مجموعة صوتية من الأكاديميين والمهنيين الصحيين ادعت اضطراب الهوية الانفصالي ، والتقارير عن الصدمة المرتبطة بها ، تم إنشاؤها من قبل المعالجين ووسائل الإعلام. يقولون هذه لا تعكس الأعراض الحقيقية أو الذكريات الدقيقة.

الإشارات الإعلامية إلى إضطراب الهوية الانفصامية غالباً ما تكون شديدة الوصم. يصور فيلم سبليت الأخير شخصًا مصابًا بحالة القاتل سيكوباتي. فحتى الإبلاغ الواقعي المفترض يمكن أن يعرض الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب الهوية الانفصالي على أنهم غير جديرين بالثقة وعرضة للتخيلات البرية ذكريات زائفة.

لكن الأبحاث لم تجد أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذا الاضطراب هم أكثر عرضة "للذكريات الزائفة" من غيرها. وتظهر دراسات تصوير الدماغ اختلافات كبيرة في نشاط الدماغ بين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب الهوية الانفصالي والمجموعات الأخرى ، بما في ذلك أولئك الذين تم تدريبهم على محاكاة الفوضى.

ما هيا؟

تمت دراسة اضطراب الهوية الانفصالي من قبل الأطباء والعلماء خلال فترة 100. في 1980 ، كان يطلق عليه اضطراب الشخصية المتعدد في ال الدليل التشخيصي والإحصائي للاضطرابات العقلية (DSM) ، الذي يحدد أعراض الحالات النفسية. تم تغيير اسمها في الإصدار 1994 من DSM.يحدث اضطراب الهوية الانفصامي عندما يعطل النمو النفسي للطفل عن طريق الصدمة المتكررة المبكرة التي تمنع العمليات العادية لتوحيد الشعور الأساسي بالهوية. تقارير عن صدمة الطفولة في الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب الهوية الانفصامية (التي تم إثباتها) تشمل الحرق والتشويه والاستغلال. العنف الجنسي يتم الإبلاغ عنه بشكل روتيني ، إلى جانب الانتهاكات العاطفية والإهمال.

استجابةً للصدمة العارمة ، يطور الطفل دولًا أو هويات متعددة ، متضاربة في كثير من الأحيان. هذه تعكس التناقضات الجذرية في ارتباطاتها المبكرة وبيئاتها الاجتماعية والأسرية - على سبيل المثال ، الوالد الذي يتأرجح بشكل غير متوقع بين العدوان والرعاية.

وفقا ل DSM-5 ، و السمة الرئيسية لاضطراب الهوية الانفصامية هو اختلال في الهوية ، حيث يختبر الشخص دولتين أو أكثر من حالات الشخصية المميزة (أو ، في الثقافات الأخرى ، تجارب ما يسمى ملكية).


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تعرض هذه الدول اختلافات ملحوظة في سلوك الشخص ، ذكريات وآراء ، وطرق التعامل مع العالم والأشخاص الآخرين. يواجه الشخص في كثير من الأحيان فجوات في الذاكرة أو صعوبات تذكر الأحداث التي وقعت أثناء وجودهم في حالات شخصية أخرى.

مظاهر هذه الأعراض هي خفية وجيدة خفية بالنسبة لمعظم المرضى. ومع ذلك ، تميل الأعراض العلنية إلى السطح خلال أوقات الإجهاد ، أو إعادة الصدمة أو الخسارة.

عادةً ما يعاني الأشخاص المصابون بهذه الحالة من عدد من المشكلات الأخرى. وتشمل هذه الاكتئاب ، وإيذاء النفس ، والقلق ، والأفكار الانتحارية ، وزيادة القابلية للأمراض الجسدية. وكثيراً ما يواجهون صعوبات في المشاركة في الحياة اليومية ، بما في ذلك التوظيف والتفاعل مع الأسرة.

هذا ، ربما ، غير مفاجئ ، نظرا للأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب الهوية الانفصامية من ذوي الخبرة أكثر من الصدمة من أي مجموعة أخرى من المرضى الذين يعانون من صعوبات نفسية.

اضطراب الهوية الانفصامي هو اضطراب نفسي شائع نسبيا. البحث في العديد من البلدان وجد أنه يحدث في جميع أنحاء 1 ٪ من عموم السكان ، وفي ما يصل إلى خُمس المرضى في برامج العلاج للمرضى الداخليين والخارجيين.

الصدمة والانفصام

العلاقة بين الصدمة المبكرة الوخيمة والهوية الانفصالية كانت مثيرة للجدل. بعض الأطباء قد اقترحوا اضطراب الهوية الانفصامية هو نتيجة ل الخيال و الإيحاء بدلا من الإساءة والصدمة. لكن ال العلاقة السببية بين الصدمة والتفكك (تم عرض التغييرات في الهوية والذاكرة) بشكل متكرر في مجموعة من الدراسات باستخدام منهجيات مختلفة عبر الثقافات.

الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب الهوية الانفصامي لا يستجيبون بشكل عام (وقد يتدهور تحت) العلاج القياسي. قد يشمل ذلك العلاج السلوكي المعرفي ، أو العلاج بالتعرض لاضطراب الإجهاد اللاحق للصدمة.

علاج موجه الطور وقد تبين أن تتحسن اضطراب الهوية الانفصامية. هذه ينطوي على مراحل (أو مراحل) من العلاج، من التركيز الأولي على السلامة والاستقرار ، من خلال احتواء ومعالجة الذكريات والمشاعر الصدمة ، إلى المرحلة النهائية من التكامل وإعادة التأهيل. الهدف من العلاج هو أن يتحرك الشخص نحو الانخراط بشكل أفضل في الحياة دون أعراض موهنة.

دراسة دولية تبعت مرضى 280 الذين يعانون من اضطراب الهوية الانفصامية (أو أحد أشكاله ، وهو a اضطراب انفصامي لم يحدد خلاف ذلك) ومعالجي 292 بمرور الوقت ، وجد أن هذا المنهج مرتبط بالتحسينات عبر عدد من الوظائف النفسية والاجتماعية المناطق. أفاد المرضى والمعالجون بتقليل التفكك ، والاضطراب العام ، والاكتئاب ، وإيذاء النفس ، والأفكار الانتحارية.

الخلافات والنقاشات

وقد أشار النقاد إلى سوء الممارسة العلاجية مما تسبب في أعراض الانفصام وكذلك ذكريات زائفة والادعاءات الكاذبة عن سوء المعاملة. البعض مهتم بشكل خاص يركز المعالجون على استعادة الذكريات ، أو تشجيع المرضى على التكهن بأنهم تعرضوا للإساءة.

ومع ذلك، المسح المعاصر للممارسة السريرية بين المتخصصين من الهوية الانفصالية وجدت أن أولئك الذين يعالجون الاضطراب لم يركزوا على استرجاع الذكريات في أي مرحلة من مراحل العلاج.

A تحليل الأدب الحديث استنتجت أن انتقادات علاج إضطراب الهوية الانفصامية تستند إلى افتراضات غير دقيقة حول الممارسة السريرية ، وسوء فهم الأعراض ، والاعتماد المفرط على الحكايات والادعاءات التي لا أساس لها من الصحة.

وكثيرا ما يكون علاج اضطراب الهوية الانفصامي غير متاح في نظام الصحة العامة. وهذا يعني أن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذه الحالة لا يزالون معرضين بشكل كبير لمخاطر استمرار المرض والعجز وإعادة الإيذاء.

تم التغاضي إلى حد كبير عن السبب الكامن وراء هذا الاضطراب ، وهو الصدمة الشديدة ، مع القليل من النقاش حول الوقاية أو التحديد المبكر للإيذاء الشديد. يجب ألا تتناول الأبحاث المستقبلية فقط نتائج العلاج ، بل يجب أن تركز أيضًا على السياسة العامة حول الوقاية والكشف عن الصدمات الشديدة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

مايكل سالتر ، محاضر أول في علم الجريمة ، جامعة غرب سيدني. مارتن دوراهي ، أستاذ علم النفس العيادي ، ووارويك ميدلتون ، أستاذ مساعد ، جامعة كوينزلاند

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Faest identityative disorder؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Dissociative Identity Disorder Is The Result Of Childhood Trauma

swing 10 6Dissociative identity disorder is a serious and valid mental illness. Irudayam/Flickr, CC BY

Once known as multiple personality disorder, dissociative identity disorder remains one of the most intriguing but poorly understood mental illnesses. Research and clinical experience indicate people diagnosed with the condition have been victims of sexual abuse or other forms of criminal mistreatment.

But a vocal group of academics and health professionals have claimed dissociative identity disorder, and reports of trauma associated with it, are created by therapists and the media. They say these don’t reflect genuine symptoms or accurate memories.

Media references to dissociative identity disorder are also often highly stigmatising. The recent movie Split depicted a person with the condition as a psychopathic murderer. Even supposedly factual reporting can present people with dissociative identity disorder as untrustworthy and prone to wild fantasies and false memories.

But research hasn’t found people with the disorder are more prone to “false memories” than others. And brain imaging studies show significant differences in brain activity between people with dissociative identity disorder and other groups, including those who have been trained to mimic the disorder.

What is it?

Dissociative identity disorder has been studied by doctors and scientists for well over 100 years. In 1980, it was called multiple personality disorder in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), which outlines the symptoms of psychiatric conditions. Its name was changed in the 1994 edition of the DSM.Dissociative identity disorder comes about when a child’s psychological development is disrupted by early repetitive trauma that prevents the normal processes of consolidating a core sense of identity. Reports of childhood trauma in people with dissociative identity disorder (that have been substantiated) include burning, mutilation and exploitation. Sexual abuse is also routinely reported, alongside emotional abuse and neglect.

In response to overwhelming trauma, the child develops multiple, often conflicting, states or identities. These mirror the radical contradictions in their early attachments and social and family environments – for instance, a parent who swings unpredictably between aggression and care.

According to the DSM-5, the major characteristic of dissociative identity disorder is a disruption of identity, in which a person experiences two or more distinct personality states (or, in other cultures, experiences of so-called possession).

These states display marked differences in a person’s behaviour, recollections and opinions, and ways of engaging with the world and other people. The person frequently experiences gaps in memory or difficulties recalling events that occurred while they were in other personality states.

The manifestations of these symptoms are subtle and well concealed for most patients. However, overt symptoms tend to surface during times of stress, re-traumatisation or loss.

People with the condition typically have a number of other problems. These include depression, self-harm, anxiety, suicidal thoughts, and increased susceptibility to physical illness. They frequently have difficulties engaging in daily life, including employment and interactions with family.

This is, perhaps, unsurprising, given people with dissociative identity disorder have experienced more trauma than any other group of patients with psychiatric difficulties.

Dissociative identity disorder is a relatively common psychiatric disorder. Research in multiple countries has found it occurs in around 1% of the general population, and in up to one fifth of patients in inpatient and outpatient treatment programs.

Trauma and dissociation

The link between severe early trauma and dissociative identity has been controversial. Some clinicians have proposed dissociative identity disorder is the result of fantasy and suggestibility rather than abuse and trauma. But the causal relationship between trauma and dissociation (alterations of identity and memory) has been repeatedly shown in a range of studies using different methodologies across cultures.

People with dissociative identity disorder are generally unresponsive to (and may deteriorate under) standard treatment. This may include cognitive behavioural treatment, or exposure therapy for post-traumatic stress disorder.

Phase-orientated treatment has been shown to improve dissociative identity disorder. This involves stages (or phases) of treatment, from an initial focus on safety and stabilisation, through to containment and processing of trauma memories and feelings, to the final phase of integration and rehabilitation. The goal of treatment is for the person to move towards better engaging in life without debilitating symptoms.

An international study that followed 280 patients with dissociative identity disorder (or a variant of it, which is a dissociative disorder not otherwise specified) and 292 therapists over time, found this approach was associated with improvements across a number of psychological and social functioning areas. Patients and therapists reported reduction in dissociation, general distress, depression, self-harm and suicidal thoughts.

Controversies and debates

Critics have pointed to poor therapeutic practice causing dissociative symptoms as well as false memories and false allegations of abuse. Some are particularly concerned therapists are focused on recovering memories, or encouraging patients to speculate that they have been abused.

However, a contemporary survey of clinical practice among specialists of dissociative identity found those treating the disorder weren’t focused on retrieving memories at any phase of the treatment.

A recent literature analysis concluded that criticisms of dissociative identity disorder treatment are based on inaccurate assumptions about clinical practice, misunderstandings of symptoms, and an over-reliance on anecdotes and unfounded claims.

Dissociative identity disorder treatment is frequently unavailable in the public health system. This means people with the condition remain at high risk of ongoing illness, disability and re-victimisation.

The underlying cause of the disorder, which is severe trauma, has been largely overlooked, with little discussion of the prevention or early identification of extreme abuse. Future research should not only address treatment outcomes, but also focus on public policy around prevention and detection of extreme trauma.

About The Author

Michael Salter, Senior Lecturer in Criminology, Western Sydney University; Martin Dorahy, Professor of Clinical Psychology, and Warwick Middleton, Adjunct Professor, The University of Queensland

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Dissociative Identity Disorder Sourcebook (Sourcebooks)
healthAuthor: Deborah Bray Haddock
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education
List Price: $20.00

Buy Now

The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma
healthAuthor: Bessel van der Kolk M.D.
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Books
List Price: $18.00

Buy Now

Dear Little Ones: A book about Dissociative Identity Disorder for young alters
healthAuthor: Jade Miller
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $14.99

Buy Now

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}