كيف يدمن إدمان المواد الأفيونية أدمغتنا لنتريد المزيد

كيف يدمن إدمان المواد الأفيونية أدمغتنا لنتريد المزيد

في جلسة استماع في الكابيتول هيل في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، السيناتور الأمريكي لامار الكسندر سأل سؤال مهم: لماذا معظم العلاج لإدمان المواد الأفيونية أكثر من المواد الأفيونية؟

ردا على ذلك ، قامت نورا فولكو ، مديرة المعهد الوطني لتعاطي المخدرات ، وولتر كوروشيتز ، مدير المعهد الوطني للاضطرابات العصبية والسكتة الدماغية ، ببذل قصارى جهدها لتأكيد عضو مجلس الشيوخ - وبالتالي الأمة - أن العلماء يعملون بجد لتطوير العلاجات للمدمنين التي ليست فقط أكثر من نفسه.

ولكن حتى مع عدد من المشاريع البحثية تطوير بدائل للأفيونيات، الحقيقة هي أن أدمغتنا لا تترك الإدمان على المواد الأفيونية بسهولة ، على كل حال.

ليس الأمر فقط أن عقلك يحب المواد الأفيونية - سواء كانت مسكنات الألم الطبية أو الهيروين أو المواد الأفيونية الاصطناعية مثل الفنتانيل - ويستجيب لها بمشاعر النشوة والدفء ، مما يساعدك على التغلب على الألم. تعمل المواد الأفيونية على تعطيل الأداء الطبيعي للدماغ ، مما يجعل من الصعب على الأشخاص الإقلاع عن التدخين وأكثر عرضة للانتكاس.

قرصنة الدماغ البشري

الأخبار المفعمة بالأمل فيما يتعلق بالأزمة الأفيونية هي أن العلماء يبحثون عن أهداف واعدة في تطوير العلاجات غير الأفيونية للإدمان. على سبيل المثال ، هذا العام أ صوت لجنة استشارية لإدارة الغذاء والدواء للموافقة على ارتفاع ضغط الدم lofexidine كأول دواء غير الأفيون لعلاج أعراض انسحاب الأفيونية.

ولكن من أجل تحقيق إنجاز إنتاج شيء يبدو كإجابة طويلة الأمد على إدمان المواد الأفيونية ، سيكون على العلماء اختراق علوم العقل البشري. في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، أطلقت NIH مبادرة تسمى Helping to End Addiction Long-term (الشفاء) يأخذ خطوة مهمة إلى الأمام في فعل ذلك. انها تمول البحوث في العلاجات المحتملة الجديدة التي تهدف إلى المسار مكافأة الدماغ - مناطق الدماغ حيث تقوم العصبونات بإطلاق الدوبامين الناقل العصبي ، والذي يعطيك هزة من المتعة ، ويجعلك تشعر بالرضا ويشيرك إلى تكرار هذا السلوك الممتع في المستقبل. من خلال تطوير هذه البدائل الأفيونية ، فإن الإستراتيجية هي منع الإدمان على الأفيون ، والاعتماد عليه ، والانتكاس.

في الوقت الراهن ، مع ذلك ، نحن أمة عالقة في حلقة مفرغة. الأدوية الأكثر شيوعا الموصوفة لعلاج إدمان المواد الأفيونية هي الميثادون والبوبرينورفين ، التي ترتبط بنفس مستقبلات الدماغ (µ) مثل الأشكال غير المشروعة للدواء.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الميثادون هو ناهض ، وهذا يعني أنه يرتبط بالمستقبلات الأفيونية الموضوعة ، ووظائفه طويلة الأمد ترضي حنين المدمن على الهيروين دون التسبب في الارتفاع الشديد للشكل غير المشروع للأفيونيات. البوبرينورفين يعمل أيضا على مستقبل الأفيون ، ولكن على عكس الميثادون أو الهيروين ، فهو ناهض جزئي يقلل من أعراض الانسحاب المؤلمة بينما ينتج نسخة محدودة من التأثيرات البغيضة للأدوية الأفيونية. في الجرعة الصحيحة ، يمكن أن البوبرينورفين قمع الرغبة الشديدة وأعراض الانسحاب ومنع آثار المواد الأفيونية الأخرى ، وإعطاء الوقت لإعادة تجديد الدماغ و تعلم آليات التعامل للجوانب الاجتماعية والعاطفية للإدمان.

في حين أن علاج إدمان المواد الأفيونية بمزيد من المواد الأفيونية ليس أمراً مثالياً ، إلا أن المدمنين الذين لا يتلقون تلك الأدوية ويعالجون فقط بالدعم النفسي هم: ضعف احتمال الموت من جرعة زائدة الانتكاس.

إن أكثر العلاجات غير الأفيونية المعروفة للإدمان على الأفيون هي النالتريكسون ، وتباع تحت الأسماء التجارية Vivitrol و ReVia. يرتبط النالتريكسون بالمستقبلات الأفيونية ويمنع تخفيف الألم وتأثير الابتهاج من المواد الأفيونية - ولكنه ليس علاجًا شاملًا. أبلغت الدراسات عن أعداد كبيرة من المتسربين من العلاج لأن المدمنين لا يمكنهم البدء باستخدام النالتريكسون حتى انهم لم يعودوا يعانون من أعراض الانسحاب الجسدي من المواد الأفيونية. كثير لا يصل إلى تلك النقطة.

كيف تقوم المواد الأفيونية بإعادة توصيل الدماغ

ما الذي يجعل الدماغ عرضة للأدوية الأفيونية على عكس أدوية إساءة الاستخدام الأخرى؟

وقد وجد أن المواد الأفيونية عبر عبور بسهولة حاجز الدم في الدماغوالتي تتكون من خلايا معبأة بإحكام والتي تبطن الأوعية الدموية وتبقي معظم الجزيئات خارج الدماغ. هذا ما يجعل تأثير المواد الأفيونية قوياً بشكل لا يصدق إعطاء المستخدم شعوراً بـ "المكافأة الفورية".

مع مرور الوقت ، يؤدي استخدام المواد الأفيونية إلى حدوث تغيرات في فسيولوجيا الدماغ عن طريق تغيير معالجة المكافآت ، وإعاقة الاتصالات العصبية ، وخفض حجم الدماغ في نهاية المطاف. يعرف العلماء أن مستقبلات الأفيون (MORs) منتشرة جدًا في الخلايا في قرن آمون (hippocampus) ، منطقة الدماغ المسؤولة عن التعلم والذاكرة. يبدو أن المواد الأفيونية لها تأثير قوي على التعلم والذاكرة ، مما يجعل الإدمان في نهاية المطاف أكثر قوة ويخلق قبضة قوية أخرى على الدماغ.

كيف يدمن إدمان المواد الأفيونية أدمغتنا لنتريد المزيدكان الارتفاع الحاد في الجرعات الزائدة في السنوات الأخيرة من الأشخاص الذين تناولوا المواد الأفيونية الاصطناعية. مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وجد الباحثون أن المواد الأفيونية تغير معالجة المكافئات العصبية. يتم التحكم في اللوزة المخية - مركز العاطفة وتجهيز المكافأة في الدماغ - من قبل القشرة المخية قبل الجبهية أو "مركز المنطق". وتُشير الوصلات العصبية من مشروع اللوزة إلى القشرة المخية قبل الجبهية - لذلك عندما يكون لدى الإنسان دفعة أولية ، فإن وظيفتنا التنفيذية أو "التفكير العالي" يبدأ في تنظيم سلوكنا العاطفي والمكافأة.

تؤدي المواد الأفيونية إلى تعطيل هذه العملية ويبدأ السلوك الذي يسعى إلى المكافأة في الهيمنة. ومن المعروف أن مدمني الأفيون ل تفقد المادة الرمادية في اللوزة، الذي يدفع شهوة المخدرات والاعتماد عليها. يمكن أن تسبب المواد الأفيونية مزيدًا من المناطق في الجسم إلى فقدان الحجم ، وقد ثبت أن هذه التغيرات تستمر حتى بعد توقف تعاطي المخدرات. هذا يشير إلى أن العقول تفقد المرونة العصبية - طريقة الدماغ لإصلاح نفسه.

نتيجة هذه التغييرات لكيمياء الدماغ هي أن الناس متصلين للاستجابة للأفيونيات ويتوقون إليها عند مستويات أعلى بشكل متزايد طالما يتم استخدامها. وهذا أحد الأسباب التي جعلت الوفيات الناتجة عن الهيروين قد ارتفعت أكثر من خمس مرات منذ 2010 ، إدارة مكافحة المخدرات تقارير. يسعى المستخدمون بشكل متزايد إلى الحصول على أشكال أكثر تطرفًا من قطع المخدرات باستخدام الفنتانيل أو نظائرها - شكل من أشكال DEA يشير إلى الهيروين "الساخن" لزيادة قوتها.

ما بعد علاج الإدمان

وبسرعة وغضب مثلما حدث الوباء الأفيوني ، يجب على أمتنا أن تستعد لاستثمار مليارات الدولارات على مدى عقود قادمة من أجل تطوير علاجات أكثر أمانًا وأكثر فعالية ، فضلاً عن تلك التي ستعالج الأضرار الدماغية المعقدة التي تسببها المواد الأفيونية. .

المحادثةوبالنظر إلى أن دماغ الإنسان لا يزال يشكل حدًا كبيرًا للاكتشاف العلمي ، فإن ما يتعلمه العلماء من خلال هذا البحث قد يكون له تطبيقات مفيدة أبعد من علاج الإدمان. قد تكون هذه هي النتيجة الوحيدة المأمولة من هذه المأساة الوطنية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بول ر. سانبرغ ، نائب الرئيس الأول للبحوث والابتكار والمعرفة ، جامعة جنوب فلوريدا وسامانثا بورتيس ، مرشح الدكتوراه ، العلوم الطبية (علم الأعصاب) ، جامعة جنوب فلوريدا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Addio Addiction؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Opioid Addiction Alters Our Brains To Always Want More

addiction

How Opioid Addiction Alters Our Brains To Always Want More

At a hearing on Capitol Hill earlier this year, U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander asked an important question: Why is most of the treatment for opioid addiction more opioids?

In response, Nora Volkow, director of the National Institute on Drug Abuse, and Walter Koroshetz, director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, did their best to assure the senator – and thus the nation – that scientists are hard at work developing treatments for addicts that are not just more of the same.

But even with a number of research projects to develop alternatives to opioids, the reality is that our brains don’t let go of an opioid addiction easily, if at all.

It’s not just that your brain likes opioids – whether it’s prescription pain relievers, heroin or synthetic opioids such as fentanyl – and responds to them with feelings of euphoria and warmth, helping you overcome pain. Opioids disrupt the normal functioning of your brain, making it harder for people to quit and more vulnerable to relapse.

Hacking the human brain

The hopeful news regarding the opioid crisis is that scientists are searching for promising targets in developing non-opioid treatments for addiction. For example, this year a Food and Drug Administration advisory committee voted to approve the high blood pressure medicine lofexidine as the first non-opioid medication to treat opioid withdrawal symptoms.

But in order to accomplish the feat of producing something that looks like a long-term answer to opioid addiction, scientists will have to hack the science of the human brain. Earlier this year, the NIH launched an initiative called Helping to End Addiction Long-term (HEAL) that takes an important step forward in doing just that. It funds research into potential new treatments aimed at the brain reward pathway – the regions of the brain where neurons release the neurotransmitter dopamine, which gives you a jolt of pleasure, makes you feel good and signals you to repeat this pleasurable behavior in the future. By developing these opioid alternatives, the strategy is to prevent opioid abuse, dependence and relapse.

For now, though, we are a nation caught in a vicious cycle. The most common drugs prescribed to treat opioid addiction are methadone and buprenorphine, which bind to the same mu (µ) brain receptors as the illicit forms of the drug.

Methadone is an agonist, meaning it binds to the mu opioid receptors and its long-acting function satisfies an addict’s craving for heroin without causing the intense high of the illicit form of opioids. Buprenorphine also acts on the mu opioid receptor, but unlike methadone or heroin, it is a partial agonist that lessens the painful symptoms of withdrawal while producing a limited version of the euphoric effects of opioid drugs. At the correct dose, buprenorphine can suppress cravings and withdrawal symptoms and block the effects of other opioids, giving time to recondition the brain and learn coping mechanisms for the social and emotional aspects of addiction.

While treating opioid addiction with more opioids isn’t ideal, addicts who don’t receive those medicines and are treated with only psychological support are twice as likely to die of a relapse overdose.

The most commonly known non-opioid treatment for opioid addiction is naltrexone, sold under the brand names Vivitrol and ReVia. Naltrexone binds to opioid receptors and blocks the pain relief and euphoric effect of opioids – but it’s not a cure-all. Studies have reported large numbers of dropouts from treatment because addicts can’t begin using naltrexone until they are no longer experiencing the physical withdrawal symptoms from opioids. Many never get to that point.

How opioids rewire the brain

What is it that makes the brain so vulnerable to opioid drugs as opposed to other drugs of abuse?

It has been found that opioids readily cross the blood-brain barrier, which is composed of tightly packed cells that line blood vessels and keep most molecules out of the brain. This is what makes the effect of opioids incredibly potent, giving the user a feeling of “instant reward.”

Over time, use of opioids also triggers changes in the physiology of the brain by altering reward processing, disrupting neural connections and ultimately decreasing brain volume. Scientists know that µ-opioid receptors (MORs) are quite prevalent in cells in the hippocampus, the brain region responsible for learning and memory. Opioids seem to have a robust impact on learning and memory, ultimately making the addiction more powerful and creating another strong hold on the brain.

How Opioid Addiction Alters Our Brains To Always Want MoreThe sharpest rise in overdoses in recent years has been from people who took synthetic opioids. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Additionally, researchers have found that opioids alter neural reward processing. The amygdala – the emotional and reward-processing center of the brain – is governed by the prefrontal cortex or the “logic center.” Neural connections from the amygdala project signals to the prefrontal cortex – so when humans have an initial impulse, our executive function or “higher thinking” kicks in to regulate our emotional and reward-seeking behavior.

Opioids disrupt this process and the reward-seeking behavior begins to dominate. Opioid addicts are known to lose gray matter in the amygdala, which drives drug craving and dependence. Opioids can further cause areas of the cortex to lose volume, and these changes have been found to persist even after drug use ceases. This suggests that brains lose neuroplasticity – the brain’s way of repairing itself.

The result of these changes to brain chemistry is that people are wired to respond to opioids and crave them at increasingly higher levels as long as they are used. That’s one reason why heroin deaths have surged more than five-fold since 2010, the Drug Enforcement Administration reports. Users increasingly seek more extreme forms of the drug cut with fentanyl or its analogues – a form the DEA refers to as “hot” heroin for its increasing potency.

Beyond treating addiction

As fast and as furious as the opioid epidemic has come upon us, our nation should brace itself for potentially investing billions of dollars over decades to come to develop safer and more effective treatments, as well as ones that will address the complex brain damage opioids cause.

The ConversationGiven that the human brain remains very much a frontier for scientific discovery, what scientists learn through this research may have beneficial applications far beyond treating addiction. That might be the only hopeful outcome from this national tragedy.

About The Author

Paul R. Sanberg, Senior Vice President for Research, Innovation & Knowledge Enterprise, University of South Florida and Samantha Portis, Doctoral candidate, medical sciences (neuroscience), University of South Florida

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Overcoming Opioid Addiction: The Authoritative Medical Guide for Patients, Families, Doctors, and Therapists
addictionAuthor: Adam Bisaga MD
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: The Experiment
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

What I Couldn't Tell You: One Man's Struggle with Opioid Addiction
addictionAuthor: Matthew Edwards
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Funk Communication
List Price: $20.00

Buy Now

American Fix: Inside the Opioid Addiction Crisis - and How to End It
addictionAuthor: Ryan Hampton
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: All Points Books
List Price: $27.99

Buy Now

addiction
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}