لماذا سرطان الجلد المتكرر قد يكون علامة تحذير ضخمة

لماذا سرطان الجلد المتكرر قد يكون علامة تحذير ضخمة

أظهرت دراسة أولية جديدة أن الأشخاص الذين يصابون بحالات متكررة غير عادية من سرطان الجلد المعروف باسم سرطان الخلايا القاعدية يبدو أنهم معرضون بشكل كبير لخطر الإصابة بأنواع أخرى من السرطان ، بما في ذلك سرطان الدم والصدر والقولون والبروستات.

"[الجلد هو] أفضل جهاز للكشف عن المشاكل الوراثية التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى السرطان".

يقول الباحثون إن التحولات في لوحة من البروتينات المسؤولة عن إصلاح تلف الحمض الخلوي الصبغي (DNA) من المحتمل أن تتسبب في زيادة الحساسية.

"لقد اكتشفنا أن الأشخاص الذين يطورون ستة أو أكثر من سرطانات الخلايا القاعدية خلال فترة السنة 10 هي أكثر احتمالية بنحو ثلاثة أضعاف من السكان العاديين لتطوير سرطانات أخرى غير ذات صلة" ، كما يقول كبير الباحثين Kavita Sarin ، الأستاذ المساعد في الأمراض الجلدية بجامعة ستانفورد. .

"نأمل أن تكون هذه النتيجة وسيلة للتعرف على الأشخاص المعرضين لخطر الإصابة بأورام خبيثة مهددة للحياة قبل أن تنمو تلك السرطانات".

يظهر البحث في JCI Insight.

الكناري في منجم الفحم

الجلد هو أكبر عضو في الجسم وأكثر عرضة لأضرار الحمض النووي الناجمة عن أشعة الشمس فوق البنفسجية. حاول كما لو كان واحدًا ، ليس من الممكن تجنب التعرض للشمس تمامًا ، وهذا هو السبب في أن البروتينات التي تقوم بإصلاح تلف الحمض النووي مهمة لمنع سرطانات الجلد مثل سرطان الخلايا القاعدية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


معظم الوقت يعمل هذا النظام بشكل جيد. لكن في بعض الأحيان لا يمكن لفريق الإصلاح مواكبة. تعتبر سرطانات الخلايا القاعدية شائعة - أكثر من 3 مليون حالة يتم تشخيصها سنويا في الولايات المتحدة وحدها - وعادة ما تكون قابلة للعلاج بشكل كبير.

"حول 1 في 3 سيطور القوقازيين سرطان الخلايا القاعدية في مرحلة ما من حياتهم ..."

وتساءل سارين وكاتبه الرئيسي هايونج جو ، وهو طالب طب ، عما إذا كان الجلد يمكن أن يخدم كنوع من أنواع الكناري في منجم الفحم للكشف عن حساسية السرطان الكلية للفرد. يقول سارين: "إن الجلد هو في الأساس اختبار طفرات المشي". "إنه أفضل جهاز لكشف المشاكل الوراثية التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى الإصابة بالسرطان".

درس سارين و تشو الأشخاص 61 الذين عولجوا من سرطانات الخلايا القاعدية المتكررة بشكل غير عادي - بمعدل 11 لكل مريض خلال فترة 10-year. لقد قاموا بالتحري ما إذا كان هؤلاء الأشخاص لديهم طفرات في جينات 29 التي ترمز إلى بروتينات إصلاح الحمض النووي-الأضرار.

"وجدنا أن حوالي 20 في المئة من الأشخاص المصابين بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية المتكرر لديهم طفرة في أحد الجينات المسؤولة عن إصلاح تلف الحمض النووي ، مقابل حوالي 3 في المئة من عامة السكان. هذا أمر مروع للغاية ، "يقول سارين.

علاوة على ذلك ، أفاد 21 من الأشخاص 61 عن تاريخ من السرطانات الإضافية ، بما في ذلك سرطان الدم ، سرطان الجلد ، سرطان البروستاتة ، سرطان الثدي ، وسرطان القولون - وهو انتشار يشير إلى أن مرضى سرطان الخلايا القاعدية المتكرر أكثر عرضة بثلاث مرات من عموم السكان تطوير السرطان.

"علاقة قوية"

لتأكيد النتائج ، قام الباحثون بتطبيق تحليل مشابه لقاعدة بيانات مطالبات التأمين الطبي الكبيرة. أكثر من 13,000 الناس في قاعدة البيانات لديهم ستة أو أكثر من سرطانات الخلايا القاعدية. كان هؤلاء الأشخاص أكثر عرضة للإصابة بسرطانات أخرى ثلاث مرات ، بما في ذلك القولون ، الورم الميلانيني ، وسرطان الدم.

وأخيراً ، حدد الباحثون اتجاهاً تصاعدياً: فكلما زاد عدد سرطانات الخلايا القاعدية التي أبلغ عنها الفرد ، زاد احتمال إصابة الشخص بالأنواع الأخرى من السرطان.

"لقد فوجئت برؤية مثل هذه العلاقة القوية ،" يقول سارين. "لكنه أيضا مرضية للغاية. الآن يمكننا أن نطلب من المرضى المصابين بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية المتكررة ما إذا كان لديهم أفراد من العائلة مع أنواع أخرى من السرطانات ، وربما يقترحون أنهم يفكرون في الاختبارات الجينية وزيادة الفحص. "

ويستمر الباحثون في تسجيل المرضى في الدراسة ، التي لا تزال مستمرة ، لمعرفة ما إذا كانت طفرات معينة في الجينات المسؤولة عن إصلاح أضرار الحمض النووي ترتبط بتطوير أورام خبيثة محددة. كما أنهم يرغبون في إجراء دراسة مماثلة في المرضى الذين يعانون من الأورام الميلانينية المتكررة. لكنهم شددوا على أنه لا يوجد سبب للقلق من الأشخاص المصابين بسرطان الخلايا القاعدية.

"حول 1 في 3 سيطور القوقازيين سرطان الخلايا القاعدية في مرحلة ما من حياتهم" ، يقول Sarin. "هذا لا يعني أن لديك خطر متزايد من أنواع السرطان الأخرى. ولكن ، إذا تم تشخيص العديد من سرطانات الخلايا القاعدية في غضون بضع سنوات ، فقد تحتاج إلى التحدث مع طبيبك حول ما إذا كان يجب إجراء فحص مكثف أو أكثر كثافة للسرطان ".

دعمت مؤسسة الأمراض الجلدية ، والمعاهد الوطنية للصحة ، وجمعية ستانفورد لعلماء الطب ، والجمعية الأمريكية للبشرة ، وشركة Pellepharm. كما دعم قسم الأمراض الجلدية في جامعة ستانفورد هذا العمل.

اثنان من coauthors هما المؤسسين ، والمخرجين ، وضباط Pellepharm ، وهي شركة التكنولوجيا الحيوية التي تركز على الأمراض الجلدية النادرة.

مصدر: جامعة ستانفورد

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = skin cancer؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Frequent Skin Cancer May Be A Huge Warning Sign

health

Why Frequent Skin Cancer May Be A Huge Warning Sign

People who develop abnormally frequent cases of a skin cancer known as basal cell carcinoma appear to be at significantly increased risk for the development of other cancers, including blood, breast, colon, and prostate cancers, according to a new, preliminary study.

“[Skin is] the best organ to detect genetic problems that could lead to cancers.”

Mutations in a panel of proteins responsible for repairing DNA damage likely cause the increased susceptibility, researchers say.

“We discovered that people who develop six or more basal cell carcinomas during a 10-year period are about three times more likely than the general population to develop other, unrelated cancers,” says senior author Kavita Sarin, assistant professor of dermatology at Stanford University.

“We’re hopeful that this finding could be a way to identify people at an increased risk for a life-threatening malignancy before those cancers develop.”

The research appears in JCI Insight.

Canary in the coal mine

The skin is the largest organ of the body and the most vulnerable to DNA damage caused by the sun’s ultraviolet rays. Try as one might, it’s just not possible to completely avoid sun exposure, which is why proteins that repair DNA damage are important to prevent skin cancers like basal cell carcinoma.

Most of the time this system works well. But sometimes the repair team can’t keep up. Basal cell carcinomas are common—more than 3 million cases a year are diagnosed in the United States alone—and usually highly treatable.

“About 1 in 3 Caucasians will develop basal cell carcinoma at some point in their lifetime…”

Sarin and lead author Hyunje Cho, a medical student, wondered whether the skin could serve as a kind of canary in the coal mine to reveal an individual’s overall cancer susceptibility. “The skin is basically a walking mutagenesis experiment,” Sarin says. “It’s the best organ to detect genetic problems that could lead to cancers.”

Sarin and Cho studied 61 people treated for unusually frequent basal cell carcinomas—an average of 11 per patient over a 10-year period. They investigated whether these people may have mutations in 29 genes that code for DNA-damage-repair proteins.

“We found that about 20 percent of the people with frequent basal cell carcinomas have a mutation in one of the genes responsible for repairing DNA damage, versus about 3 percent of the general population. That’s shockingly high,” Sarin says.

Furthermore, 21 of the 61 people reported a history of additional cancers, including blood cancer, melanoma, prostate cancer, breast cancer, and colon cancer—a prevalence that suggests the frequent basal cell carcinoma patients are three times more likely than the general population to develop cancers.

‘A strong correlation’

To confirm the findings, the researchers applied a similar analysis to a large medical insurance claims database. Over 13,000 people in the database had six or more basal cell carcinomas; these people also were over three times more likely to have developed other cancers, including colon, melanoma, and blood cancers.

Finally, the researchers identified an upward trend: the more basal cell carcinomas an individual reported, the more likely that person was to have had other cancers as well.

“I was surprised to see such a strong correlation,” Sarin says. “But it’s also very gratifying. Now we can ask patients with repeated basal cell carcinomas whether they have family members with other types of cancers, and perhaps suggest that they consider genetic testing and increased screening.”

The researchers are continuing to enroll patients in the study, which is ongoing, to learn whether particular mutations in genes responsible for repairing DNA damage are linked to the development of specific malignancies. They’d also like to conduct a similar study in patients with frequent melanomas. But they emphasized that there’s no reason for people with occasional basal cell carcinomas to worry.

“About 1 in 3 Caucasians will develop basal cell carcinoma at some point in their lifetime,” Sarin says. “That doesn’t mean that you have an increased risk of other cancers. If, however, you’ve been diagnosed with several basal cell carcinomas within a few years, you may want to speak with your doctor about whether you should undergo increased or more intensive cancer screening.”

The Dermatology Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the Stanford Society of Physician Scholars, the American Skin Association, and Pellepharm Inc. supported the research. Stanford’s dermatology department also supported the work.

Two of the coauthors are cofounders, directors, and officers of Pellepharm, a biotechnology company focused on rare dermatological conditions.

Source: Stanford University

Related Books

A Practical Guide to Skin Cancer
healthBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $129.00

Buy Now

Fast Facts: Skin Cancer
healthAuthor: Karen L Agnew
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Health Press Limited
List Price: $25.00

Buy Now

The Skin Cancer Answer: The Natural Treatment for Basal and Squamous Cell Carcinomas and Keratoses
healthAuthor: I. William Lane
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Avery Publishing Group
List Price: $9.95

Buy Now

health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}