8 Benefits of Strength Training for Healthier Aging

8 Benefits of Strength Training for Healthier Aging

في حالة عدم وجود مشاكل صحية كبيرة، تدريب القوة المنتظم يؤدي إلى عضلات أقوى بشكل ملحوظ في فقط ستة الى ثمانية اسابيع، بغض النظر عن عمرك. وجدت دراسة واحدة من تدريب القوة في كبار السن من الرجال أن المشاركين تضاعف من قوة عضلات الفخذ بهم بعد ثلاثة أشهر فقط. في عضلة الفخذ، الذي يمتد على طول الجزء الأمامي من الفخذ، أمر بالغ الأهمية للذهاب إلى أعلى وأسفل الدرج وارتفاع من على كرسي أو المرحاض. للحفاظ على (أو استعادة) على مستوى أساسي من الاستقلال، من الأهمية بمكان للحفاظ على هذه العضلات القوية.

تدريب القوة، وخصوصا عندما يقترن التمارين الرياضية، هو وسيلة مؤكدة النجاح في السيطرة على وزن الجسم. لماذا؟ لأن العضلات تحرق السعرات الحرارية والدهون. لمزيد من العضلات لدينا، ومزيد من السعرات الحرارية التي نحرقها. لكنها تركت لآلياتها الخاصة، يفقد الجسم حوالي نصف الجنيه من العضلات في كل عام بعد سن 30. إذا كنا لا تبقي أنفسنا قوي، ونحن اكتساب الوزن مع مرور كل سنة.

وتشير دراسة حديثة من كبار السن الأمريكيين وجد أن سبعة من كل عشر نساء فوق سن 70 غير قادرين على رفع 10 جنيه. نعم، هذا صحيح. يمكن أن سبعة من أصل عشرة المسنات ليس رفع جنيه حتى 10! وهذه ليست مجرد "أنثى" المشكلة. سبعة من أصل 20 من الرجال فوق سن 70 ليست سوى واهية كما. اعتقد من الأنشطة، العادية اليومية التي أصبح من الصعب إن لم يكن مستحيلا عندما لم تتمكن من رفع جنيه 10 من الوزن: شراء البقالة، وكنس، العاملة في الساحة، والقيام الغسيل، ويحمل حقيبة أو محفظة الثقيلة، ويحمل الأطفال، وفتح الحاويات، والدخول والخروج من كرسي الحمام أو عميقة، وفتح نافذة، نقل القدور والمقالي، ووضع الجدول، وسقي النباتات، والمشي الكلب، جرف الثلوج، وتغيير الفراش. والقائمة تطول وتطول. ماذا يحدث عندما لا تستطيع أن تفعل هذه الأنشطة من نفسك؟ كنت تعتمد على الآخرين للقيام بها نيابة عنك. و، في بعض الحالات، وتفقد المتع والفوائد المترتبة على هذه الأنشطة تماما.

كل منا يريد ان تبقى نشطة ومستقلة قدر الإمكان لطالما ما في وسعنا. كل منا يريد للحفاظ على نوعية عالية من الحياة مع تقدمنا ​​في العمر. والسؤال هو، يمكننا ان نفعل ذلك، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، فكيف؟

دوروثي هو 75 عاما مدرس متقاعد الذي يحافظ على الحياة الاجتماعية النشطة. فهي تشارك جدا في كنيستها، ويحب السفر، بعد أن اتخذت 2 صفقات الشراء رحلات الى افريقيا فى السنوات القليلة الماضية. باستثناء استبدال مفصل الورك الأخيرة، دوروثي لا يوجد لديه مخاوف صحية كبرى أو مزمن. تزور بانتظام من بيوت التمريض، ويصفق لشاغلي مع نظرتها الإيجابية والطاقة مندفعا. التمارين الرياضية وتدريب القوة هي جزء من روتين الاسبوع دوروثي.

لماذا بعض الناس، مثل دوروثي، والحفاظ على صحة جيدة وأسلوب حياة نشط بشكل جيد على التقاعد، في حين أن كثيرين آخرين تواجه اعتلال الصحة وفقدان الاستقلال؟

في العقد الماضي تعلمنا أن الشيخوخة الصحية ليست مجرد مسألة مصير أو الوراثة جيد. وأظهرت أدلة علمية وافرة على أن الحفاظ على قوة العضلات تلعب دورا هاما في الشيخوخة الناجحة. لأن دوروثي يختار لجعل قوة التدريب جزءا من حياتها الروتينية العادية، وقالت انها تتمتع صحي، ونمط الحياة النابضة بالحياة التي اتخذت لها في منتصف الطريق في جميع أنحاء العالم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ما هو تدريب القوة؟

يذكر تدريب القوة والرؤية لهيئات الشباب رفع الحدائد كبير يتبادر إلى الذهن. قلة من الناس المنتسبين تدريب القوة مع كبار السن. ولكن مع بعض التعديلات الطفيفة، العضلة ذات الرأسين تجعيد الشعر والساق ملحقات هي كل شيء حسب مقتضى الحال بالنسبة لنا، نحن لدينا في العقد السادس والسابع، أو الثامن والتاسع حتى من الحياة. والفوائد الصحية هائلة. مفهوم بسيط: تدريب القوة هي كل نشاط يمكن أن ينتقل جزء من الجسم ضد المقاومة. قد تكون المقاومة متساوي القياس (عند شد العضلات والاحتفاظ بها لعدة ثوان)، أو انها قد تنطوي على الوزن صغير، كائن المنزلية، أو ممارسة الفرقة (فرقة 3 أو 4 القدم مرنة مصممة لممارسة الرياضة).

تدريب قوة لا يحتاج الى صالة الالعاب الرياضية أو عضوية في ناد صحي. فإنه ليس من الضروري اشراك معدات باهظة الثمن أو الثقيلة. إذا كنا نعرف بضعة مبادئ بسيطة وتعلم بعض التمارين الأساسية، ويمكننا أن نفعل تدريب القوة في المنزل، في الحديقة، أو مع مجموعة من الأصدقاء.

لماذا قوة القطار؟

بعض كبار السن ممارسة لتبدو جيدة في ملابس السباحة. بالنسبة لمعظمنا، وتدريب قوة أمر بالغ الأهمية للحفاظ على صحتنا واستقلالنا. فوائد تدريب القوة هي لا يستهان بها - وهذه الفوائد تصبح واضحة في وقت قصير جدا.

1. أكبر ، عضلات أقوى

عندما نصل الى منتصف العمر، أن نبدأ في فقدان كتلة العضلات. عضلاتنا يبدأ حرفيا إلى تقليص وإضعاف. هذه هي عملية طبيعية وذلك في المهن الطبية استدعاء sarcopenia. وبمجرد أن تصل إلى سن 70، وفقدان العضلات لدينا تسارع. ونحن قد تجد صعوبة في الصعود والهبوط على الدرج. ويجوز للكيس بقالة أو سلة الغسيل أصبح جدا ثقيلة. قد نشعر متهاد عند المشي عبر الغرفة.

ضعف، صعوبة مع النشاطات اليومية، والأسلحة واهية والساقين - هذه ليست نتيجة حتمية للعصر. عندما يتعلق الأمر الى العضلات والشيخوخة، قول مأثور ينطبق: "استخدامها أو فقدانها".

Hilmer هو سنة متقاعد 65 مدير المدرسة الثانوية ومدرب كرة السلة. على الرغم من أن يمشي لمدة ثلاثين دقيقة، ثلاث أو أربع مرات كل أسبوع، وقد لاحظ في الآونة الأخيرة تغييرات كبيرة في قدراته البدنية. تسلق السلالم يتطلب مزيدا من الجهد. ساعة واحدة من الحدائق يترك له قرحة وتصلب في اليوم التالي. فقد أصبح من الصعب على رفع حقيبة الجولف. في تقريره المقبل المادية، Hilmer يناقش مخاوفه مع طبيبه. الطبيب تثني Hilmer للمشي بشكل منتظم، لكنه يوصي ممارسة برنامج بسيط لتقوية بعض العضلات الهامة.

Hilmer يلي توصية طبيبه. بعد ستة أسابيع وهو يلاحظ أن المهام اليومية البسيطة، مثل رفع وعاء من الفرن ودفع جزازة العشب في جميع أنحاء، يتم الحصول على أكثر سهولة. الآن، فيما يواصل تعزيز له يمارس مرتين في الأسبوع، Hilmer ورفع حقيبته الجولف بسهولة كما كان يفعل منذ خمسة عشر عاما.

2. أقوى العظام

تدريب القوة هي واحدة من أهم الخطوات التي يمكننا اتخاذها لمنع ترقق العظام والكسور لاحق. ترقق العظام، أو فقدان كثافة العظام، هي مصدر قلق رئيسي لصحة كبار السن، ولا سيما النساء. عندما تفقد العظام كثافتها، فإنها تصبح أضعف، مما يجعلها أكثر عرضة للكسور. كسور في العظام ليست فقط مؤلمة، فإنها يمكن أن تهدد الحياة كذلك.

على مدى العقد الماضي، وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن تدريب القوة المنتظم يمكن أن تساعدنا على تقوية عظامنا وتجنب هذا المرض الموهن محتملة. وبالنسبة لأولئك منا الذين لديهم بالفعل مرض هشاشة العظام، ويمكن تدريب قوة تساعدنا في الحفاظ على أو إعادة بناء كتلة العظام في العمود الفقري لدينا، والوركين، والرسغين - المناطق الأكثر عرضة للكسر.

3. رصيد محسّن

مع تقدمنا ​​في العمر، ونحن قد بدأت تشعر متهاد أو غير متوازنة، وهي حالة يمكن ان تؤدي الى اصابة في السقوط وخطيرة. بالنسبة للبعض منا، قد المشي، والاستحمام، والانحناء حتى خلال لالتقاط كتاب تجعلنا نفقد توازننا.

التوازن هو عملية معقدة تنطوي على العضلات والأعصاب، والجهاز الدهليزي (جزءا هاما من الأذن الداخلية). مشاكل في التوازن وغالبا ما تكون علامة على ضعف العضلات - كما نمارس وإعادة بناء قوتنا في العضلات، والتوازن لدينا تحسن عموما. توازن أفضل يقلل من فرصنا في هبوط، ويجعل المهام اليومية البسيطة، مثل المشي والاستحمام أكثر أمنا،.

4. شلالات أقل

السقوط هي واحدة من المشاكل الطبية الخطيرة والشائعة التي يعاني منها كبار السن. في كل عام، حوالي ثلث الاشخاص الذين تجاوزت تجربة 65 السقوط. يقع كدمات القضية، الكسور، وإصابات أخرى. وبعد أن نكون قد عانت من سقوط، ونحن نطور في كثير من الأحيان الخوف من الوقوع أن يمنعنا من المشاركة في النشاطات الاعتيادية لدينا.

عضلات قوية تقلل من فرصنا للهبوط. إذا كان سقوط لا يحدث، وعضلات قوية تساعد على حماية عظامنا، مما يجعلنا أقل احتمالا للتعرض لكسر أو إصابة خطيرة أخرى.

5. المهام اليومية أسهل

معظم من قطار قوة لنا لأننا نريد لتحسين لدينا "قوة وظيفية". قوة وظيفي هو مقدار قوة نحن بحاجة لإنجاز المهام اليومية. على سبيل المثال، إذا كانت الغسالة هو في الطابق السفلي، ونحن بحاجة إلى أن تكون قوية بما يكفي لتحمل شحنة من الملابس إلى أعلى وأسفل الدرج. عندما تسوق البقالة، ويجب أن نكون أقوياء بما فيه الكفاية لحمل البقالة إلى المنزل من السيارة.

واحد وجدت الدراسة أن الناس بين 75 وسنوات من العمر والذين 80 نمط حياتهم تطلب جلوسا تستخدم أكثر من نصف وقوة العضلات لمجرد الاستحمام. هذه ليست علامة لا مفر منه من العمر - وهذا هو علامة على ضعف العضلات. سوف العادية تدريب قوة منع أو عكس هذه الخسارة في العضلات، وهذا يعطينا القوة التي نحتاجها في حياتنا اليومية.

6. تحسين التنقل

عبور الشارع قبل التغييرات الخفيفة، وتسلق الدرج إلى شقة في الطابق الثالث لدينا، والمشي إلى علبة البريد بدون ينفد في التنفس - عندما أهداف متواضعة مثل هذه يصبح من الصعب، فإنها تهدد استقلالنا.

من خلال تدريب القوة، يمكننا تحسين سرعة المشي لدينا، فضلا عن قدرتنا على تسلق السلالم. في الواقع، وتدريب قوة يسمح للكثيرين منا على الاستمرار في العيش في بيوتنا بعد فترة طويلة أقراننا انتقلوا إلى المرافق بمساعدة المعيشة.

7. زيادة مستوى النشاط

بالنسبة للكثيرين منا، وقال: "يا للحصول على متابعة وتذهب، نهض وذهب" هو قليلا مألوفة جدا. الشعور بالتعب والضعف، ونحن قد نقتصر على الأنشطة المستقرة، مثل مشاهدة التلفزيون أو قراءة على الأريكة. ولكن عندما نبدأ تدريب القوة، ونحن بالدهشة لتجد أن نرى مثل فعل أكثر من ذلك. نحن لدينا إعادة اكتشاف "للحصول على متابعة وتذهب."

في دراسة واحدة، بدأت مجموعة من سكان بيت التمريض العادية قوة التدريب الدورات. بدأوا بسرعة شعور أقوى وبذل المزيد من الجهد. في الواقع، وزادوا نشاطهم البدني عفوية من قبل في المئة 30 تقريبا. بدأوا يفضلون المشي على الجلوس، ونقل أكثر من كونه لا يزال.

8. تحكم أفضل في الوزن

إذا كان هدفك هو لانقاص وزنه أو المحافظة على الرقم الخاص بك، ويمكن تدريب القوة مساعدة بطريقتين. أولا، وجسمك يحرق السعرات الحرارية والدهون أثناء ممارسة الرياضة. الثانية، عندما عضلات قوية وجيدة منغم، زيادة التمثيل الغذائي الخاص بك، مما تسبب في الجسم على حرق السعرات الحرارية والدهون أكثر حتى اليوم جميع طويلة.

يمكنك التفكير في عملية التمثيل الغذائي وكيف جسمك يحرق الوقود (الدهون والسعرات الحرارية) خلال النهار. يمكنك حرق وقود كلما تحرك، ولكن أيضا عندما كنت في راحة. (تخيل محرك سيارة تسكع - حتى عندما لا تتحرك، انها تحتاج الى وقود للحفاظ على التوالي) والعضلات تصبح أقوى، ويجب أن جسمك على حرق المزيد من الوقود. حتى لو كان لديك قوة للتدريب على الدورات الأخيرة فقط 30 دقيقة كل يوم، ويمكن رفع التمثيل الغذائي الخاص بك على مدار اليوم كله، كل يوم. يمكنك حرق المزيد من السعرات الحرارية حتى في نومك!

لكن تذكر، والعضلات تزن أكثر من الدهون. وهذا يعني أنك قد تفقد بوصة، ولكن ليس بالضرورة جنيه. كما يذوب في الدهون، يتم استبداله مع العضلات، قوي منغم، لذلك قد الأخبار من حجم الحمام لا تبدو مشجعة. لا اليأس. سوف تفقد على الأرجح بوصة في أماكن حرجة، مثل الخصر والوركين. سوف ننظر أرق ويشعر على نحو أفضل، حتى لو كنت لا تفقد كثيرا من وزنه. نثق كيف كنت تشعر وتبدو - لا تقيس نجاحك مع حجم الحمام.

عندما قرر جورج تلقت إشعارا لله 40 سنة لم شمل الصف، أن الإطارات حول خصره، وقليل هؤلاء - حسنا، أكثر من بضعة - جنيه اضافية كان عليه أن يذهب. فحص جورج مع طبيبه وبدأ برنامج تدريب للتقوية. ولكن لأنه وصل على مقياس من كل أسبوع، وكان لا انزال جنيه كما كان متوقعا. وقال انه بدأ عندما بدأ للتو للحصول على الإحباط، لسماع المديح من أصدقائه وأفراد الأسرة: "جورج، كنت تبحث جيدة". "هل فقدان الوزن، وجورج"؟

ذهب جورج لله فئة شعور جيد حول لم شمل ظهوره. وكان قد انخفض عدة بوصات حول الخصر، على الرغم من انه قد يلقي بعض جنيه فقط.

أسئلة وأجوبة

هذا يبدو جيدا جدا ليكون صحيحا. لماذا لم أسمع به من قبل؟

علم الشيخوخة، أو لدراسة الشيخوخة، هي علم جديد نسبيا. لبعض الوقت، ركز علم الشيخوخة على المرض وتدهور الصحة - الشروط المرتبطة بالشيخوخة. لكن في العقد الماضي أو نحو ذلك، بدأت العلوم للتركيز على شيخوخة صحية. ومنذ ذلك الحين، وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن خيارات نمط الحياة تلعب دورا حاسما في تحديد صحتنا، بغض النظر عن عصرنا.

تدريب القوة هو واحد من أهم الخيارات يمكننا أن نجعل. في الواقع، التي تراكمت لديها أدلة كثيرة على ذلك لدعم العلاقة بين قوة خير وصحة جيدة أن الكلية الأمريكية للطب الرياضي مؤخرا بتنقيح التوصيات ممارستها لأول مرة في أكثر من عقد. يوصون الآن أن كل الكبار المشاركة في برنامج تدريب للتقوية العادية.

هو قوة آمن التدريب؟

تدريب القوة هو آمن للجميع تقريبا. ولكن، كما هو الحال مع أي برنامج رياضي، من المهم أن تحقق مع الطبيب قبل البدء. إذا كنت تأخذ أدوية معينة أو تعاني من حالة طبية معينة، قد تتسبب في تدريب قوة غير مرغوب فيها - أو حتى خطرة - الأعراض.

إذا قمت بإجراء التمارين بشكل صحيح، من خطر الإصابة هو الحد الأدنى. السبب الأكثر شيوعا للإصابة، بغض النظر عن عمر الشخص، ويحاول التقدم بسرعة كبيرة جدا.

هو تدريب قوة كل ما عليك القيام به؟

تدريب القوة ليست سوى جزء واحد من اتباع أسلوب حياة صحي. ربما كنت معتادا على أجزاء أخرى: التغذية الجيدة والتمارين الرياضية (مثل المشي)، وتمارين التمدد. من بين الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم 65 إلى 74، الثلثين من النساء وثلاثة أرباع الرجال المشاركة في نوع من النشاط البدني المنتظم. لكن في المئة فقط من الرجال و7 3 في المئة من النساء المشاركة في برنامج تدريب للتقوية العادية. حان الوقت للحصول على كلمة: كما كبار السن، ونحن بحاجة إلى تدريب قوة للحفاظ على (أو استعادة) صحتنا.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
فيرفيو الصحافة. © 2000.
http://www.FairviewPress.org

المادة المصدر

ابق قويا،البقاء قوية: دليل كبار لحياة أكثر نشاطا واستقلالية
حرره لوري أ. شليك، MA، حزب العمال.

يقدم هذا الكتاب تمارين ممتعة وسهلة في المنزل تساعد كبار السن.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

لوري أ. شليك هو العلاج الطبيعي في خدمات إعادة التأهيل فيرفيو. نالت شهادتها بكالوريوس في العلاج الطبيعي من جامعة مينيسوتا، ولها درجة الماجستير في الإرشاد وعلم النفس من جامعة سانت ماري في ولاية مينيسوتا. انها نشرت العديد من المقالات في العلاج الطبيعي واللياقة البدنية، هو محرر الكتاب البقاء قوي ويعتبر المؤلف المشارك ل Shapewalking: ست خطوات لحياة أكثر صحة.

كتب لوري شليك

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Lorie Schleck؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
by فيليب روسو وبريت ميتشل

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

8 Benefits of Strength Training for Healthier Aging

fitness

8 Benefits of Strength Training for Healthier Aging

In the absence of major health problems, regular strength training leads to noticeably stronger muscles in only six to eight weeks, no matter what your age. One study of strength training in older men found that participants doubled the strength of their quadriceps after just three months. The quadriceps muscle, which runs along the front of the thigh, is critical for going up and down stairs and rising from a chair or toilet. To maintain (or regain) a basic level of independence, it is crucial to keep this muscle strong.

Strength training, especially when combined with aerobic exercise, is a surefire way to control body weight. Why? Because muscle burns calories and fat. The more muscle we have, the more calories we burn. But left to its own devices, the body loses about a half pound of muscle every year after age 30. If we don't keep ourselves strong, we gain weight with each passing year.

A recent study of older Americans found that seven out of ten women over age 70 are unable to lift 10 pounds. Yes, that's right. Seven out of ten older women cannot lift even 10 pounds! And this is not just a "female" problem. Seven out of twenty men over age 70 are just as frail. Think of the normal, everyday activities that become difficult if not impossible when you can't lift 10 pounds of weight: grocery shopping, vacuuming, working in the yard, doing the laundry, carrying a suitcase or heavy purse, holding a child, opening containers, getting in and out of a bathtub or deep chair, opening a window, moving pots and pans, setting the table, watering plants, walking a dog, shoveling snow, changing bedding. The list could go on and on. What happens when you can't do these activities by yourself? You depend on others to do them for you. And, in some cases, you lose the pleasures and benefits of these activities altogether.

All of us want to remain as active and independent as possible for as long as we can. All of us want to maintain a high quality of life as we age. The question is, can we do it, and if so, how?

Dorothy is a 75 year-old retired school teacher who maintains an active social life. She is very involved at her church and loves to travel, having taken two longs trips to Africa in the last few years. Except for a recent hip replacement, Dorothy has no major or chronic health concerns. She regularly visits nursing homes, cheering the occupants with her positive outlook and exuberant energy. Aerobic exercise and strength training are a routine part of Dorothy's week.

Why do some people, like Dorothy, maintain good health and an active lifestyle well into retirement, while many others experience ill health and loss of independence?

In the last decade we have learned that healthy aging is not simply a matter of fate or good genetics. Abundant scientific evidence has shown that maintaining muscular strength plays an important role in successful aging. Because Dorothy chooses to make strength training a part of her regular routine, she enjoys a healthy, vibrant lifestyle that has taken her halfway around the world.

WHAT IS STRENGTH TRAINING?

Mention strength training and a vision of youthful bodies lifting big barbells comes to mind. Few people associate strength training with older adults. But with some minor modifications, biceps curls and leg extensions are every bit as appropriate for those of us in our sixth, seventh, or even eighth and ninth decade of life. And the health benefits are tremendous. The concept is simple: Strength training is any activity that moves a body part against resistance. Resistance may be isometric (when you tighten a muscle and hold it for several seconds), or it might involve a small weight, a household object, or an exercise band (a 3- or 4-foot elastic band designed for exercise).

Strength training does not require a gym or membership in a health club. It need not involve expensive or heavy equipment. If we know a few simple principles and learn some basic exercises, we can do strength training at home, at the park, or with a group of friends.

WHY STRENGTH TRAIN?

Few older adults exercise to look good in a swimsuit. For most of us, strength training is critical to maintaining our health and our independence. The benefits of strength training are considerable -- and these benefits become evident in a very short time.

1. Bigger, Stronger Muscles

When we reach middle age, we begin to lose muscle mass. Our muscles literally begin to shrink and weaken. This is a natural process that medical professionals call sarcopenia. Once we hit age 70, our muscle loss accelerates. We may find it difficult to go up and down the stairs. A grocery bag or laundry basket may become too heavy. We might feel wobbly when walking across the room.

Weakness, difficulty with everyday activities, frail arms and legs -- these are not the inevitable results of age. When it comes to aging muscles, an old saying applies: "Use it or lose it."

Hilmer is a 65 year-old retired high school principal and basketball coach. Although he walks for thirty minutes, three or four times each week, he has recently noticed little changes in his physical abilities. Climbing the stairs requires greater effort. An hour of gardening leaves him sore and stiff the next day. It has become difficult to lift a golf bag. At his next physical, Hilmer discusses his concerns with his physician. The doctor commends Hilmer for walking regularly, but he recommends a simple exercise program to strengthen some important muscles.

Hilmer follows his doctor's recommendation. After six weeks he notices that simple daily tasks, like lifting a pan from the oven and pushing the mower across the lawn, are getting easier. Now, as he continues his strengthening exercises twice a week, Hilmer is lifting his golf bag as easily as he did fifteen years ago.

2. Stronger Bones

Strength training is one of the most important steps we can take to prevent osteoporosis and subsequent fractures. Osteoporosis, or loss of bone density, is a major health concern for older adults, particularly women. When bones lose density, they become weaker, making them more susceptible to fractures. Broken bones are not only painful, they can be life threatening as well.

Over the last decade, research has shown that regular strength training can help us strengthen our bones and avoid this potentially debilitating disease. And for those of us who already have osteoporosis, strength training can help us maintain or rebuild bone mass in our spine, hips, and wrists -- the areas most susceptible to fracture.

3. Improved Balance

As we age, we may begin to feel wobbly or off-balance, a condition that could lead to falls and serious injury. For some of us, walking, showering, even bending over to pick up a book may cause us to lose our balance.

Balance is a complex process involving muscles, nerves, and the vestibular system (an important part of the inner ear). Balance problems are often a sign of muscle weakness -- as we exercise and rebuild our muscle strength, our balance generally improves. Better balance reduces our chances of falling and makes simple daily tasks, like walking and showering, safer.

4. Fewer Falls

Falls are one of the most serious and common medical problems suffered by older adults. Every year, about one-third of people over 65 experience a fall. Falls cause bruises, fractures, and other injuries. And, once we have suffered a fall, we often develop a fear of falling that prevents us from participating in our normal activities.

Strong muscles decrease our chances of falling. If a fall does occur, strong muscles help protect our bones, making us less likely to experience a fracture or other serious injury.

5. Daily Tasks Are Easier

Most of us strength train because we want to improve our "functional strength." Functional strength is the amount of strength we need to accomplish our daily tasks. For example, if the washing machine is in the basement, we need to be strong enough to carry a load of laundry up and down the stairs. When grocery shopping, we must be strong enough to carry the groceries into the house from the car.

One study found that people between 75 and 80 years of age who led sedentary lives used more than half their muscular strength just to take a shower. This is not an inevitable sign of age -- this is a sign of muscle weakness. Regular strength training will prevent or reverse this muscle loss, giving us the strength we need in our daily lives.

6. Improved Mobility

Crossing the street before the light changes, climbing the stairs to our third-floor apartment, walking to the mailbox without running out of breath -- when modest goals like these become difficult, they jeopardize our independence.

Through strength training, we can improve our walking speed as well as our ability to climb stairs. In fact, strength training allows many of us to continue living in our homes long after our peers have moved to assisted living facilities.

7. Increased Activity Level

For many of us, the saying: "My get-up-and-go, got up and went" is a little too familiar. Feeling tired and weak, we might limit ourselves to sedentary activities, like watching television or reading on the couch. But when we begin strength training, we are surprised to find that we feel like doing more. We rediscover our "get-up-and-go."

In one study, a group of nursing home residents began regular strength-training sessions. They quickly started feeling stronger and doing more. In fact, their spontaneous physical activity increased by almost 30 percent. They began to prefer walking over sitting, and moving over being still.

8. Better Weight Control

If your goal is to lose weight or maintain your figure, strength training can help in two ways. First, your body burns calories and fat while you exercise. Second, when your muscles are strong and well-toned, your metabolism increases, causing your body to burn even more calories and fat all day long.

You can think of metabolism as how your body burns fuel (fat and calories) during the day. You burn fuel whenever you move, but also when you're at rest. (Imagine an idling car engine -- even when it isn't moving, it needs fuel to keep running.) As your muscles become stronger, your body must burn more fuel. Even if your strength-training sessions last only thirty minutes every other day, your metabolism can be elevated throughout the whole day, every day. You can even burn more calories in your sleep!

But remember, muscle weighs more than fat. This means that you may lose inches, but not necessarily pounds. As the fat melts away, it is replaced with strong, toned muscles, so the news from the bathroom scale may not seem encouraging. Do not despair. You will likely lose inches in critical places, like the waist and hips. You will look thinner and feel better, even if you don't lose much weight. Trust how you feel and look -- don't measure your success with the bathroom scale.

When George received a notice for his forty year class reunion, he decided that the tire around his waist and those few -- well, more than a few -- extra pounds had to go. George checked with his doctor and started a strength-training program. But as he stepped on the scale each week, the pounds weren't dropping off as he had expected. Just when he started to get frustrated, he began to hear compliments from his friends and family: "George, you're looking good. " "Are you losing weight, George?"

George went to his class reunion feeling good about his appearance. He had dropped several inches around the waist, even though he had shed only a few pounds.

COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS

This sounds too good to be true. Why haven't I heard it before?

Gerontology, or the study of aging, is a relatively new science. For a time, gerontology focused on disease and declining health -- conditions associated with aging. But in the last decade or so, science has begun to focus on aging healthily. Since then, research has shown that lifestyle choices play a critical role in determining our health, no matter what our age.

Strength training is one of the most important choices we can make. In fact, so much evidence has accumulated to support the link between good strength and good health that the American College of Sports Medicine recently revised its exercise recommendations for the first time in over a decade. They now recommend that every adult participate in a regular strength-training program.

Is strength training safe?

Strength training is safe for almost everyone. But, as with any exercise program, it's important to check with your doctor before you begin. If you take certain medications or suffer from a specific medical condition, strength training may cause undesirable -- or even dangerous -- symptoms.

If you perform your exercises correctly, the risk of injury is minimal. The most common reason for injury, regardless of a person's age, is trying to progress too quickly.

Is strength training all I need to do?

Strength training is just one part of a healthy lifestyle. You're probably familiar with the other parts: good nutrition, aerobic exercise (such as walking), and stretching exercises. Among people aged 65 to 74, two-thirds of women and three-fourths of men participate in some type of regular physical activity. But only 7 percent of men and 3 percent of women participate in a regular strength-training program. It's time to get the word out: As older adults, we need strength training to maintain (or regain) our health.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Fairview Press. ©2000.
http://www.FairviewPress.org

Article Source

Staying Strong,Staying Strong: A Senior's Guide to a More Active and Independent Life
edited by Lorie A. Schleck, MA, PT.

This book presents fun, easy, in-home exercises that will help seniors.

Info/Order this book.

About the Author

Lorie A. Schleck is a physical therapist at Fairview Rehabilitation Services. She received her BS degree in physical therapy from the University of Minnesota and her MA degree in counseling psychology from St. Mary's University of Minnesota. She has published numerous articles on physical therapy and fitness, is the editor of the book Staying Strong and is the coauthor of Shapewalking: Six Steps to a Healthier Life.

Books by Lorie Schleck

Staying Strong: A Senior's Guide to a More Active and Independent Life

fitnessBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Fairview Press
Creator(s):
  • Lorie A. Schleck

Studio: Fairview Press
Label: Fairview Press
Publisher: Fairview Press
Manufacturer: Fairview Press
List Price: $14.95
Offers - Buy New From: $12.07 Used From: $3.74
Buy Now



Shapewalking: Six Easy Steps to a Healthier Life

fitnessAuthor: Marilyn L. Bach
Binding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Anna I. Esser

Studio: Heel to Toe Pubns
Label: Heel to Toe Pubns
Publisher: Heel to Toe Pubns
Manufacturer: Heel to Toe Pubns
List Price: $19.95
Offers - Buy New From: $2.99 Used From: $0.68
Buy Now



ShapeWalking: Six Easy Steps to Your Best Body

fitnessAuthor: Marilyn L. Bach
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Hunter House
Label: Hunter House
Publisher: Hunter House
Manufacturer: Hunter House
List Price: $14.95
Offers - Buy New From: $10.58 Used From: $4.44
Buy Now



fitness
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}