هل يؤدي تلوث الهواء إلى سلوك غير أخلاقي؟

الصحة البيئية

هل يؤدي تلوث الهواء إلى سلوك غير أخلاقي؟

ذكر بحث جديد أن القلق الناجم عن التعرض للتلوث قد يجعل الناس أكثر عرضة للغش والسلوك غير الأخلاقي. ويمكن أن يكون هذا المحرك وراء ارتفاع معدلات الجريمة في المناطق عالية التلوث.

"أردنا أن نعرف ما الذي يفسر هذه العلاقة بين تلوث الهواء والنشاط الإجرامي" ، تقول جوليا لي ، أستاذة مساعدة في الإدارة والمنظمات في كلية روس لإدارة الأعمال في جامعة ميشيغان. "لقد اختبرنا النظرية القائلة بأن التوتر والقلق الناتج عن العيش مع تلوث الهواء هو عامل مساهم. وتدعم نتائجنا الزعم بأن تلوث الهواء لا يفسد صحة الناس فحسب ، بل يمكن أن يلوث أخلاقهم أيضًا. "

لي coauthors على الدراسة ، التي ستنشر في مجلة علوم النفسيةهي جاكسون لو وآدام جالينسكي من جامعة كولومبيا و Francesca Gino من جامعة هارفارد.

حلل الباحثون أولاً بيانات تلوث الهواء لمدة تسع سنوات من وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية وإحصائيات الجريمة من مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي. أنها تسيطر على عوامل مثل المتغيرات الديمغرافية ، ومستويات إنفاذ القانون ، ومعدلات الفقر. وكشف التحليل أن مستويات عالية من تلوث الهواء في مقاطعة تنبأت بارتفاع حوادث الجريمة في كل فئة تقريبا.

وجدت سلسلة من التجارب في الولايات المتحدة والهند علاقة بين التلوث والقلق والسلوك غير الأخلاقي. وبما أنه من غير الأخلاقي الكشف عن الأشخاص مباشرة للتلوث ، فقد تم عرض مواضيع الاختبار على صور مشاهد ملوثة أو غير ملوثة بالمدينة. ثم طلب الباحثون منهم أن يصفوا أو يكتبوا عن كيفية رؤيتهم لتلك المنطقة وأن يفكروا في شعورهم وهم يسيرون في تلك المنطقة ويتنفسون الهواء.

قام الكوداء (المكفوفون من الغرض من الدراسة) بتقييم الأوصاف المكتوبة على ثمانية أبعاد - مكبوتة ، سريعة الانزعاج ، عصبية ، خائفة ، متحمس ، متحمس ، سعيد ، ومريح.

بعد وصف أو كتابة مشاعرهم ، طلب الباحثون من الأشخاص الخاضعين للاختبار إكمال المهام المفترض أنها غير ذات صلة بمكافآت مالية صغيرة للحصول على إجابات صحيحة أو نتائج ناجحة.

في إحدى التجارب ، أخبر الباحثون مواضيع خلل سمح لهم بالكشف عن إجابات صحيحة على اختبار اتحاد الكلمات. وفي لعبة أخرى ، تم إعطاؤهم لعبة رمي النرد وأخبروا أنفسهم بالإبلاغ عن النتيجة ، مع حصولهم على درجة أعلى من المال.

في كل دراسة ، كان الأشخاص الذين نظروا إلى الصورة الملوثة أكثر احتمالا بكثير للتعبير عن القلق والتوتر في أوصافهم ، والغش في المهام.

يقول لي: "ما يخبرنا به هذا هو أن هناك تكلفة أخلاقية تلوث الهواء." إنه يزيد من القلق وهذا يؤدي إلى سلوك غير أخلاقي. إنها آلية من علم السلوك يمكن أن تساعد في تفسير العلاقة بين تلوث الهواء وارتفاع معدلات الجريمة. "

مصدر: جامعة ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=effects of air polution;maxresults=3}

الصحة البيئية
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Does Air Pollution Lead To More Unethical Behavior?

environmental health

Does Air Pollution Lead To More Unethical Behavior?

Anxiety caused by exposure to pollution may make people more prone to cheating and unethical behavior, according to new research. And that can be a driver behind the higher crime rates in high-pollution areas.

“We wanted to know what explains this connection between air pollution and criminal activity,” says Julia Lee, assistant professor of management and organizations at University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business. “We tested the theory that the stress and anxiety that comes from living with air pollution is a contributing factor. Our results support the contention that air pollution not only corrupts people’s health, but can also contaminate their morality.”

Lee’s coauthors on the study, to be published in the journal Psychological Science, are Jackson Lu and Adam Galinsky of Columbia University and Francesca Gino of Harvard University.

The researchers first analyzed nine years’ worth of air pollution data from the US Environmental Protection Agency and crime statistics from the FBI. They controlled for factors such as demographic variables, law enforcement levels, and poverty rates. The analysis revealed high levels of air pollution in a county predicted higher incidents of crime in nearly every category.

A series of experiments in the United States and India found a connection among pollution, anxiety, and unethical behavior. Since it’s unethical to expose people directly to pollution, test subjects were shown pictures of either polluted or unpolluted city scenes. Then researchers asked them to describe or write about how they saw that area and reflect on how they would feel as they walk in that area and breathe the air.

Coders (blind to the purpose of the study) rated the written descriptions on eight dimensions—distressed, irritable, nervous, scared, enthusiastic, excited, happy, and relaxed.

After describing or writing their feelings, researchers asked the test subjects to complete supposedly unrelated tasks with small financial rewards for correct answers or successful outcomes.

In one experiment, researchers told subjects of a glitch that allowed them to uncover correct answers on a word association test. In another, they were given a dice-roll game and told to self-report the outcome, with a higher score earning them more money.

In each study, subjects who looked at the polluted photo were significantly more likely to both express anxiety and stress in their descriptions, and to cheat on the tasks.

“What this tells us is that there’s an ethical cost to air pollution,” Lee says. “It increases anxiety and this leads to unethical behavior. It’s a mechanism from behavioral science that can help explain the connection between air pollution and higher crime rates.”

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

General Technical Report RM-GTR-294 A Screening Procedure To Evaluate Air Polution Effects In Region 1 Wilderness Areas, 1991

environmental healthAuthor: Stanford Acheson Et All
Binding: Paperback
Studio: U. S. Department Of Agriculture, Forest SErvice
Label: U. S. Department Of Agriculture, Forest SErvice
Publisher: U. S. Department Of Agriculture, Forest SErvice
Manufacturer: U. S. Department Of Agriculture, Forest SErvice

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Quarto, , PP.34,




Environmental Biomedicine (Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology)

environmental healthBinding: Hardcover
Creator(s):
  • Mieczyslaw Pokorski

Studio: Springer
Label: Springer
Publisher: Springer
Manufacturer: Springer

Buy Now
Editorial Review: The book presents the latest advances in research into health effects of air pollution, with heavy motor vehicle traffic or cigarette smoke as the exemplar of pollution. The airways are the first-line defense system against pollution. The book focuses on respiratory ailments underlain by inflammation, increased susceptibility to infection, particularly acquired during harsh environmental conditions and exposures to particulate matter or pathogens. The importance of astute analysis of lung function for early diagnosis of disorders is underscored. A knowledge deficit concerning the aerosolized drug delivery through the airways also is addressed. Recent developments and viewpoints in the field of environmental health hazards as well as methodological advances in their assessment are provided. The book will be of interest to pulmonologists, healthcare providers, researchers and clinicians engaged in environment-related respiratory diseases, but also to policy makers concerned with clean ambient air quality.




The Effects of Air Polution on Plants and Soil

environmental healthAuthor: anon
Binding: Hardcover
Studio: Agricultural Research Council
Label: Agricultural Research Council
Publisher: Agricultural Research Council
Manufacturer: Agricultural Research Council

Buy Now



environmental health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}