Niedrige Muskelkraft ist mit kürzerem Leben verbunden

Niedrige Muskelkraft ist mit kürzerem Leben verbunden

Menschen mit geringer Muskelkraft leben laut einer neuen Studie typischerweise nicht so lange wie ihre stärkeren Altersgenossen. Nach der Anpassung an soziodemographische Faktoren, chronische Gesundheitsprobleme und Rauchgewohnheiten fanden die Forscher heraus, dass Menschen mit geringer Muskelstärke 50-Prozent häufiger sterben.

... Muskelkraft kann ein noch wichtigerer Prädiktor für die allgemeine Gesundheit und Langlebigkeit als Muskelmasse sein.

"Die Aufrechterhaltung der Muskelkraft während des gesamten Lebens - und besonders im späteren Leben - ist für Langlebigkeit und Altern unabhängig von großer Bedeutung", sagt die leitende Forscherin Kate Duchowny, die kürzlich an der School of Public Health der Universität von Michigan ihre Doktorarbeit in Epidemiologie abgeschlossen hat.

Eine wachsende Zahl von Studien hat gezeigt, dass die Muskelkraft ein noch wichtigerer Prädiktor für die allgemeine Gesundheit und Langlebigkeit als die Muskelmasse sein kann.

Des Weiteren wurde festgestellt, dass die Handgrifffestigkeit speziell umgekehrt mit Mobilitätsbeschränkungen und Behinderung zusammenhängt. Obwohl es sich um einen relativ einfachen und kosteneffektiven Test handelt, ist die Messung der Griffkraft derzeit nicht Bestandteil der meisten Routineuntersuchungen, sagt Duchowny.

"Diese Studie unterstreicht, wie wichtig es ist, Messungen der Griffkraft in die Routineversorgung zu integrieren - nicht nur für ältere Erwachsene, sondern sogar in der Lebensmitte", sagt Duchowny, der jetzt Postdoc-Stipendiat an der Universität von Kalifornien in San Francisco ist.

"Wenn die Handkraft ein fester Bestandteil der Routineversorgung wäre, würde dies frühere Interventionen ermöglichen, die zu einer erhöhten Langlebigkeit und Unabhängigkeit für den Einzelnen führen könnten."

Für die Studie, die in der erscheint Zeitschrift für Gerontologie: Medizinische Wissenschaften, Forscher analysierten Daten einer national repräsentativen Probe von 8,326 Männer und Frauen Alter 65 und älter, die Teil der University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study sind.

"... Muskelschwäche ist ein ernstes Problem der öffentlichen Gesundheit ..."

Die Griffstärke kann mit einem Gerät gemessen werden, das Dynamometer genannt wird und von einem Patienten zusammengedrückt wird, um seine Stärke in Kilogramm zu messen. Die Forscher verwendeten "Cut-Points" oder Schwellenwerte, um Stärkegrade zu definieren. Zum Beispiel identifizierten die Forscher Muskelschwäche mit einer Griffstärke von weniger als 39 kg für Männer und 22 kg für Frauen.

Sie haben diese Schwellenwerte auf der Grundlage der national repräsentativen Stichprobe abgeleitet, was laut Duchowny für diese Studie einzigartig ist.

Basierend auf den Daten wurde 46 Prozent der Stichprobenpopulation zu Beginn als schwach angesehen. Im Vergleich dazu wurden nur etwa 10 bis 13 Prozent als schwach angesehen, wobei andere Schnittpunkte verwendet wurden, die von weniger repräsentativen Proben abgeleitet wurden.

"Wir glauben, dass unsere Cut-Points die sich verändernden Bevölkerungstrends älterer Amerikaner genauer widerspiegeln und dass Muskelschwäche ein ernsthaftes Problem für die öffentliche Gesundheit darstellt", sagt Duchowny.

"Viele Alterungsstudien - nicht nur solche zur Muskelstärke - werden an überwiegend weißen Populationen durchgeführt. Da die US-Bevölkerung jedoch immer vielfältiger wird, ist es entscheidend, für diese Art von Studien landesweit repräsentative Daten zu verwenden. "

Quelle: University of Michigan

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Muskelaufbau; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Low Muscle Strength Is Linked To Shorter Life

Low Muscle Strength Is Linked To Shorter Life

People with low muscle strength don’t typically live as long as their stronger peers, according to a new study. After adjusting for sociodemographic factors, chronic health conditions, and smoking history, researchers found that people with low muscle strength are 50 percent more likely to die earlier.

…muscle strength may be an even more important predictor of overall health and longevity than muscle mass.

“Maintaining muscle strength throughout life—and especially in later life—is extremely important for longevity and aging independently,” says lead researcher Kate Duchowny, who recently completed her doctorate in epidemiology at the University of Michigan School of Public Health.

A growing body of research has indicated that muscle strength may be an even more important predictor of overall health and longevity than muscle mass.

Further, hand grip strength specifically has been found to be inversely related to mobility limitations and disability. However, despite being a relatively simple and cost-effective test, grip strength measurement is not currently part of most routine physicals, Duchowny says.

“This study further highlights the importance of integrating grip strength measurements into routine care—not just for older adults but even in midlife,” says Duchowny, who is now a postdoctoral scholar fellow at the University of California, San Francisco.

“Having hand grip strength be an integral part of routine care would allow for earlier interventions, which could lead to increased longevity and independence for individuals.”

For the study, which appears in the Journal of Gerontology: Medical Sciences, researchers analyzed data of a nationally representative sample of 8,326 men and women ages 65 and older who are part of the University of Michigan’s Health and Retirement Study.

“…muscle weakness is a serious public health concern…”

Grip strength can be measured using a device called a dynamometer, which a patient squeezes to measure their strength in kilograms. Researchers used “cut-points,” or thresholds, to define levels of strength. For example, researchers identified muscle weakness as having a hand grip strength less than 39 kg for men and 22 kg for women.

They derived those thresholds based on the nationally representative sample, something Duchowny says is unique to this study.

Based on the data, 46 percent of the sample population was considered weak at baseline. By comparison, only about 10 to 13 percent were considered weak using other cut-points derived from less representative samples.

“We believe our cut-points more accurately reflect the changing population trends of older Americans and that muscle weakness is a serious public health concern,” Duchowny says.

“Many aging studies—not just those on muscle strength—are conducted on largely white populations. However, as the US population becomes increasingly diverse, it is critical to use nationally representative data for these types of studies.”

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=muscle strengthening;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.