يرتبط انخفاض قوة العضلات إلى أقصر الحياة

يرتبط انخفاض قوة العضلات إلى أقصر الحياة

وفقا لدراسة جديدة ، فإن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من قلة العضلات لا يعيشون عادة ما دام أقرانهم الأقوى. بعد ضبط العوامل الاجتماعية والديموغرافية ، والحالات الصحية المزمنة ، وتاريخ التدخين ، وجد الباحثون أن الأشخاص ذوي القوة العضلية المنخفضة هم أكثر عرضة للوفاة في وقت سابق من 50.

... قد تكون قوة العضلات مؤشرا أكثر أهمية للصحة العامة وطول العمر من كتلة العضلات.

"إن الحفاظ على قوة العضلات طوال الحياة - وخاصة في الحياة المتأخرة - أمر مهم للغاية بالنسبة لطول العمر والشيخوخة بشكل مستقل" ، تقول الباحثة الرائدة كيت دوشوفني ، التي أكملت مؤخرًا شهادة الدكتوراه في علم الأوبئة في كلية الصحة العامة بجامعة ميتشيغان.

وقد أشارت مجموعة متزايدة من الأبحاث إلى أن قوة العضلات قد تكون مؤشرا أكثر أهمية للصحة العامة وطول العمر من كتلة العضلات.

علاوة على ذلك ، تم العثور على قوة قبضة اليد على وجه التحديد لتكون مرتبطة عكسيا لحدود التنقل والإعاقة. ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من كونه اختبارًا بسيطًا نسبيًا وفعالًا من حيث التكلفة ، إلا أن قياس قوة القبضة ليس حاليًا جزءًا من معظم العمليات البدنية الروتينية ، كما يقول دوشوفني.

"هذه الدراسة تسلط الضوء على أهمية دمج قياسات مقاومة القبضة في الرعاية الروتينية - ليس فقط بالنسبة لكبار السن ولكن حتى في منتصف العمر" ، كما يقول دوشوفني ، الذي أصبح الآن باحثًا ما بعد الدكتوراه في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان فرانسيسكو.

"إن وجود قوة قبضة اليد كجزء لا يتجزأ من الرعاية الروتينية سيسمح بالتدخلات السابقة ، مما قد يؤدي إلى زيادة طول العمر واستقلال الأفراد".

للدراسة التي تظهر في مجلة علم الشيخوخة: العلوم الطبيةقام الباحثون بتحليل بيانات عينة تمثيلية على المستوى الوطني من رجال ونساء 8,326 والذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 65 وكبار السن الذين هم جزء من دراسة الصحة والتقاعد بجامعة ميتشيغان.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"... ضعف العضلات هو مصدر قلق خطير على الصحة العامة ..."

يمكن قياس قوة القبضة باستخدام جهاز يسمى مقياس القوة الدافعة ، والذي يعصره المريض لقياس قوته بالكيلوغرام. استخدم الباحثون "نقاط القطع" أو العتبات لتحديد مستويات القوة. على سبيل المثال ، حدد الباحثون ضعف العضلات حيث أن قوة قبضة اليد أقل من 39 كجم للرجال و 22 كغم للنساء.

لقد استمدوا هذه العتبات بناءً على العينة التمثيلية الوطنية ، وهو أمر يقول دوشوفني إنه فريد من نوعه لهذه الدراسة.

بناءً على البيانات ، تم اعتبار نسبة 46 في العينة السكانية ضعيفة في الأساس. بالمقارنة ، كانت نسبة 10 إلى 13 فقط تعتبر ضعيفة باستخدام نقاط قطع أخرى مشتقة من عينات أقل تمثيلاً.

يقول دوشوفني: "نعتقد أن نقاط القطع لدينا تعكس بدقة الاتجاهات السكانية المتغيرة للأميركيين الأكبر سنا ، وأن ضعف العضلات هو مصدر قلق خطير على الصحة العامة".

"العديد من دراسات الشيخوخة - وليس فقط تلك التي على قوة العضلات - تتم على مجموعات سكانية بيضاء إلى حد كبير. ومع ذلك ، ومع تزايد تنوع سكان الولايات المتحدة ، فمن الأهمية بمكان استخدام بيانات تمثيلية على المستوى الوطني لهذه الأنواع من الدراسات ".

مصدر: جامعة ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = muscle boost؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
by ريتو كنوتي وسيباستيان سيبل
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
by إيان هاميلتونك وسالي مارلو

Low Muscle Strength Is Linked To Shorter Life

Low Muscle Strength Is Linked To Shorter Life

People with low muscle strength don’t typically live as long as their stronger peers, according to a new study. After adjusting for sociodemographic factors, chronic health conditions, and smoking history, researchers found that people with low muscle strength are 50 percent more likely to die earlier.

…muscle strength may be an even more important predictor of overall health and longevity than muscle mass.

“Maintaining muscle strength throughout life—and especially in later life—is extremely important for longevity and aging independently,” says lead researcher Kate Duchowny, who recently completed her doctorate in epidemiology at the University of Michigan School of Public Health.

A growing body of research has indicated that muscle strength may be an even more important predictor of overall health and longevity than muscle mass.

Further, hand grip strength specifically has been found to be inversely related to mobility limitations and disability. However, despite being a relatively simple and cost-effective test, grip strength measurement is not currently part of most routine physicals, Duchowny says.

“This study further highlights the importance of integrating grip strength measurements into routine care—not just for older adults but even in midlife,” says Duchowny, who is now a postdoctoral scholar fellow at the University of California, San Francisco.

“Having hand grip strength be an integral part of routine care would allow for earlier interventions, which could lead to increased longevity and independence for individuals.”

For the study, which appears in the Journal of Gerontology: Medical Sciences, researchers analyzed data of a nationally representative sample of 8,326 men and women ages 65 and older who are part of the University of Michigan’s Health and Retirement Study.

“…muscle weakness is a serious public health concern…”

Grip strength can be measured using a device called a dynamometer, which a patient squeezes to measure their strength in kilograms. Researchers used “cut-points,” or thresholds, to define levels of strength. For example, researchers identified muscle weakness as having a hand grip strength less than 39 kg for men and 22 kg for women.

They derived those thresholds based on the nationally representative sample, something Duchowny says is unique to this study.

Based on the data, 46 percent of the sample population was considered weak at baseline. By comparison, only about 10 to 13 percent were considered weak using other cut-points derived from less representative samples.

“We believe our cut-points more accurately reflect the changing population trends of older Americans and that muscle weakness is a serious public health concern,” Duchowny says.

“Many aging studies—not just those on muscle strength—are conducted on largely white populations. However, as the US population becomes increasingly diverse, it is critical to use nationally representative data for these types of studies.”

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=muscle strengthening;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.