Kann Omega 3 Supplements gegen Herzerkrankungen schützen?

Kann Omega 3 Supplements gegen Herzerkrankungen schützen?R_Szatkowski / Shutterstock.com

Viele Menschen nehmen eine tägliche Omega-3-Ergänzung in der Überzeugung, dass es gut für ihr Herz ist. Aber unsere neueste Forschung, a systematische Überprüfung von 79 klinischen Studien, fanden keine Beweise für diese Überzeugung.

Wir untersuchten die Auswirkungen von Omega-3 auf Herzerkrankungen und Schlaganfälle, Todesfälle aufgrund von Herzerkrankungen und Schlaganfall sowie Todesfälle jeglicher Ursache. Unsere Analyse zeigte, dass Omega-3-Präparate das Risiko für keines dieser Medikamente reduzieren, aber auch nicht das Risiko erhöhen.

Seit Jahrzehnten werden Omega-3 und Fischöl-Nahrungsergänzungsmittel als Herz-Schutz-Mittel stark gefördert. Dank dieser starken Promotion bekommen die Menschen in den USA jetzt mehr EPA und DHA (Omega 3 Fette) aus Ergänzungen als sie von ihrer Diät tun.

Dieser starke Glaube an die Herzgesundheitsvorteile von Omega 3 Fett entsprang beobachtende Studien darauf hindeutet, dass die Inuit nicht an Herzkrankheiten leiden, und zwei früh Studien Vorschlagen Vorteile von Fisch zu essen und Fischöl Ergänzungen zu nehmen. In der Aufregung blieb diese Nachricht trotz Follow-up-Studien von beiden Forschungsgruppen, bei etwas anderen Teilnehmern, negativere Ergebnisse. In der Tat, in eine der StudienMänner mit Angina, die nach dem Zufallsprinzip Omega-3-Supplemente erhielten, waren einem höheren Risiko für einen "Herztod" ausgesetzt als solche, die nicht zur Einnahme des Supplements bestimmt waren.

Wer will das wissen

Wir wollten die gesundheitlichen Vorteile von Omega-3-Fetten verstehen und auch die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO), die ihre Leitlinien zu Fetten aktualisiert. Die WHO hat uns beauftragt, diese Überprüfung und Meta-Analyse als Teil einer Reihe von Übersichten über die Auswirkungen von Omega-3-Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln auf die Gesundheit durchzuführen. (Nachfolgende Übersichten werden ihre Auswirkungen auf Kognition, Diabetes, Krebs, Depression, entzündliche Darmerkrankungen und Körperfett untersuchen.)

Für diesen systematischen Review haben wir alle randomisierten kontrollierten Studien - den Goldstandard der klinischen Forschung - von Omega 3-Fetten mit einer Dauer von mindestens 12 Monaten betrachtet. Wir fanden 79-Studien, die zwischen ihnen 112,059-Teilnehmer hatten. Die Dauer des Follow-up reichte von einem Jahr bis zu acht Jahren.

In dieser Reihe von Studien starben 8,000-Patienten, 4,544 starb an einer Herzerkrankung, 5,469 hatte ein koronares Ereignis (Herzinfarkt oder Angina pectoris), 1,822 hatte einen Schlaganfall und 3,788 hatte Arrhythmie. Mit diesen großen Zahlen hatten wir robuste Statistiken - im Handel bekannt als "statistische Macht" - um die Auswirkungen von Omega 3 auf diese Ergebnisse zu bestimmen. Unsere Ergebnisse zeigten wenig oder keine Wirkung der zufallsbedingten Zuordnung von Omega-3-Ergänzungen zu irgendeinem dieser Ergebnisse.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Als wir die 25-Studien, die die besten Methoden verwendeten, wie "Verblindung" der Teilnehmer und der Forscher, zu welcher Gruppe das Omega-3 und welches das Placebo erhielten, getrennt hatten, war die Wirkung von Omega-3 auf die Ergebnisse noch schwächer. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass, wenn wir das Potenzial für Bias in Omega-3-Studien reduzieren, es noch deutlicher keine Wirkung von Omega-3-Ergänzungen gibt.

Das GesprächEs sieht so aus, als ob unser Glaube an Omega-3-Supplemente in all diesen Jahren von einigen fehlerhaften Studien und unserer eigenen Voreingenommenheit getrieben worden sein könnte.

Über den Autor

Lee Hooper, Reader in Forschung Synthese, Ernährung und Hydratation, University of East Anglia

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Omega 3; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Do Omega 3 Supplements Protect Against Heart Disease?

health

Do Omega 3 Supplements Protect Against Heart Disease?R_Szatkowski/Shutterstock.com

Many people take a daily omega 3 supplement in the belief that it is good for their heart. But our latest research, a systematic review of 79 clinical trials, found no evidence for this belief.

We examined the effects of omega 3 on heart disease and stroke, deaths from heart disease and stroke, and death from any cause. Our analysis showed that omega 3 supplements do not reduce the risk of any of these – but neither do they increase the risk.

For decades, omega 3 and fish oil supplements have been heavily promoted as being cardio-protective. Thanks to this heavy promotion, people in the US now get more EPA and DHA (omega 3 fats) from supplements than they do from their diet.

This strong belief in the heart health benefits of omega 3 fat sprang from observational studies suggesting that the Inuit don’t suffer from heart disease, and two early trials suggesting benefits of eating fish and of taking fish oil supplements. In the excitement, this message stuck, despite follow-up studies from both research groups, in slightly different participants, having more negative results. In fact, in one of the studies, men with angina who were randomly assigned to take omega 3 supplements were at greater risk of “cardiac death” than those who weren’t assigned to take the supplement.

WHO wants to know

We wanted to understand the health benefits of omega 3 fats, and so did the World Health Organisation (WHO), as it is updating its guidance on fats. The WHO commissioned us to carry out this review and meta-analysis as part of a series of reviews on the effects of omega 3 supplements on health. (Subsequent reviews will investigate their impact on cognition, diabetes, cancer, depression, inflammatory bowel disease and body fat.)

For this systematic review, we looked at all the randomised controlled trials – the gold standard of clinical research – of omega 3 fats, with a duration of at least 12 months. We found 79 trials, that between them had 112,059 participants. The duration of the follow-up ranged from one year to eight years.

Within this set of trials, over 8,000 people died, 4,544 died of heart disease, 5,469 had a coronary event (heart attack or angina), 1,822 had a stroke and 3,788 experienced arrhythmia. With these large numbers, we had robust statistics – known in the trade as “statistical power” – to determine the effects of omega 3 on these outcomes. Our results showed little or no effect of being randomly assigned to take omega 3 supplements on any of these outcomes.

When we separated out the 25 studies that used the best methods, such as “blinding” the participants and the researchers to which group was getting the omega 3 and which the placebo, the effect of omega 3 on the outcomes was even weaker. This suggests that when we reduce the potential for bias in omega 3 trials, there is even more clearly no effect of omega 3 supplements.

The ConversationIt looks as though our belief in omega 3 supplements over all these years may have been driven by a few flawed studies and our own bias.

About The Author

Lee Hooper, Reader in Research Synthesis, Nutrition and Hydration, University of East Anglia

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Omega-3 Effect: Everything You Need to Know About the Supernutrient for Living Longer, Happier, and Healthier

healthAuthor: William Sears
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Little, Brown and Company
Label: Little, Brown and Company
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Manufacturer: Little, Brown and Company
List Price: $12.99
Offers - Buy New From: $4.99 Used From: $1.27
Buy Now



LifePac, Grade 3, AOP 5-Subject Box Set - Math, Language, Science, Bible & History / Geography, Alpha Omega, 3rd GRADE, HomeSchooling CURRICULUM

healthBinding: Unknown Binding
Features:
  • Step-by-step, comprehensive curriculum
  • VEach subject contains ten separate worktexts and a teachers guide Each subject contains ten separate worktexts and a teachers guide Each subject contains ten separate worktexts and a teachers guide Each subject contains ten separate worktexts and a teachers guide
  • Based on mastery learning techniques, biblical integration, flexibility, and personalized instruction
  • Filled with motivating lessons

Brand: LifePac
Studio: Alpha Omega Publications
Label: Alpha Omega Publications
Publisher: Alpha Omega Publications
Manufacturer: Alpha Omega Publications
Offers - Buy New From: $314.95
Buy Now



Horizons Preschool for Three's (3) Curriculum Set AOP (Alpha Omega), PRESCHOOL, PRE K KINDERGARTEN HOMESCHOOLING CURRICULUM SET

healthAuthor: Alpha Omega Publications
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Alpha Omega Publications
Studio: Preschool
Label: Preschool
Publisher: Preschool
Manufacturer: Preschool
Offers - Buy New From: $66.55 Used From: $117.37
Buy Now



health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}