Является ли яблочный уксус хорошим для вас?

Является ли яблочный уксус хорошим для вас?Уксус стал столь же популярен для некоторых, как нектар богов. У этого есть долгая история больших надежд на исцеление. Koy_Hipster / Shutterstock.com

Когда мы с братом были детьми в «80s», мы любили ходить в Long John Silver's.

Но это было не только для рыбы.

Это было для уксуса - солодового уксуса. Мы расстелили бутылку за столом и вытащили этот острый, восхитительный нектар богов прямо.

Большинство из вас отбили? Вероятно. Мы были впереди нашего времени? По всей видимости.

Некоторые социальные сети и онлайн-поиски заставили бы нас поверить, что употребление уксуса - это лекарство. Наши друзья и коллеги расскажут нам истории об исцеляющей способности яблочного уксуса для любой проблемы, о которой мы могли только что упомянуть. «О, эта боль в спине от кошения? Уксус. - Это последние килограммы 10? Уксус немедленно растает. - Сифилис, опять? Вы это знаете - уксус.

Как практикующий врач и профессор медицины, люди спрашивают меня о преимуществах употребления яблочного уксуса все время. Мне нравятся эти моменты, потому что мы можем говорить о (обширной) истории уксуса, а затем перегонять разговоры о том, как это возможно, возможно, приносить им пользу.

Лечение от простуды, чумы и ожирения?

Исторически сложилось, что уксус используется для многих заболеваний. Несколько примеров - это известный греческий врач Гиппократ, который рекомендовал уксус для лечения кашля и простуды, и итальянского врача Томмазо Дель Гарбо, который во время вспышки чумы в 1348, вымыл руки, лицо и рот уксусом в надежде предотвратить инфекцию.

Уксус и вода были освежающим напитком со времен римских солдат в современные спортсмены, которые пьют его чтобы утолить свою жажду. Древние и современные культуры во всем мире нашли хорошее применение для «кислого вина».

Хотя есть много исторических и анекдотических свидетельств о достоинствах уксуса, что медицинские исследования должны сказать по поводу уксуса и здоровья?

Является ли яблочный уксус хорошим для вас?Некоторые люди любят яблочный уксус и считают, что это помощь в потере веса. Мадлен Штейнбах / Shutterstock.com

Самые надежные доказательства пользы для здоровья уксуса приходят из нескольких исследований человека с использованием яблочного уксуса. Одно исследование показало, что яблочный уксус может улучшать уровень глюкозы в крови после приема пищи у пациентов с резистентностью к инсулину, В 11 люди, которые были «преддиабетическими», употребляли миллионы миллиметров 20, немного больше одной столовой ложки яблочного уксуса, понизили уровень сахара в крови 30-60 через несколько минут после еды больше, чем плацебо. Это хорошо, но это было продемонстрировано только у людей с диабетом 11.

В другом исследовании, посвященном ожирению взрослых, было продемонстрировано значительное снижение вес, массу жира и триглицериды, Исследователи выбрали 155, страдающих ожирением, взрослых японцев, чтобы глотать либо 15 мл, примерно одну столовую ложку, либо 30 мл, а чуть больше двух столовых ложек, уксуса ежедневно или плацебо-напитка, и следовали их весу, массе жиров и триглицеридам. Как в группе 15 мл, так и в группе 30 мл, исследователи увидели уменьшение всех трех маркеров. Хотя эти исследования нуждаются в подтверждении более крупными исследованиями, они обнадеживают.

Исследования на животных, в основном крысы, показывают, что уксус может потенциально снизить артериальное давление и брюшных жировых клеток. Они помогают построить случай для последующих исследований у людей, но любые претензии на получение пособий, основанные только на исследованиях на животных, являются преждевременными.

В целом, польза для здоровья, которую мы подозреваем в уксусе, должна быть подтверждена более крупными исследованиями человека, и это, безусловно, произойдет, когда исследователи построят на том, что изучалось на людях и животных на сегодняшний день.

Есть ли в этом вред?

Есть ли доказательства того, что уксус вреден для вас? На самом деле, нет. Если вы не пьете чрезмерное количество (duh) или не пьете высокий концентрация уксусной кислоты уксус, такой как дистиллированный белый уксус, используемый для уборки (содержание уксусной кислоты в потребляемом уксусе составляет всего 4 до 8 процентов), или протирает его в ваших глазах (ох!), или нагревая его в свинцовом вате, как это делали римляне, чтобы сделать его сладким. Тогда, да, это нездорово.

Кроме того, не нагревайте какие-либо продукты в свинцовых чанах. Это всегда плохо.

Так что у вас есть рыба, чипсы и уксус. Это не больно. Возможно, вам не все хорошо, что вы надеетесь, что так оно и будет; и это, конечно же, не лекарство. Но это то, что люди во всем мире будут наслаждаться с вами. Теперь поднимите со мной бутылку солодового уксуса, и давайте напиться нашему здоровью.Беседа

Об авторе

Габриэль Нил, клинический ассистент профессора семейной медицины, Texas A & M University

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = яблочный уксус; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Следуйте за InnerSelf

Google плюс значокfacebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ПОСЛЕДНИЕ СТАТЬИ

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Следуйте за InnerSelf

Google плюс значокfacebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

Is Apple Cider Vinegar Good For You?

food

Is Apple Cider Vinegar Good For You?Vinegar has become as popular for some as nectar of the gods. It has a long history of high hopes for healing. Koy_Hipster/Shutterstock.com

When my brother and I were kids back in the ‘80s, we loved going to Long John Silver’s.

But it wasn’t just for the fish.

It was for the vinegar – malt vinegar. We would uncap a bottle at the table and swig that tangy, delicious nectar of the gods straight.

Are most of you repulsed? Probably. Were we way ahead of our time? Apparently.

Some social media and online searches would have us believe that drinking vinegar is a cure-all. Our friends and colleagues will regale us with stories of the healing power of apple cider vinegar for whatever problem we may have just mentioned. “Oh, that backache from mowing? Vinegar.” “That last 10 pounds? Vinegar will melt that right off.” “Syphilis, again? You know it – vinegar.”

As a practicing physician and professor of medicine, people ask me about the benefits of drinking apple cider vinegar all the time. I enjoy those moments, because we can talk about the (extensive) history of vinegar, and then distill the conversations to how it could, maybe, benefit them.

A cure for colds, the plague and obesity?

Historically, vinegar has been used for many ailments. A few examples are that of the famous Greek physician Hippocrates, who recommended vinegar for the treatment of cough and colds, and that of the Italian physician Tommaso Del Garbo, who, during an outbreak of plague in 1348, washed his hands, face and mouth with vinegar in the hopes of preventing infection.

Vinegar and water has been a refreshing drink from the time of Roman soldiers to modern athletes who drink it to slake their thirst. Ancient and modern cultures the world over have found good uses for “sour wine.”

While there is plenty of historical and anecdotal testimony to the virtues of vinegar, what does medical research have to say on the subject of vinegar and health?

Is Apple Cider Vinegar Good For You?Some people love apple cider vinegar and believe it to be an aid to weight loss. Madeleine Steinbach/Shutterstock.com

The most reliable evidence for the health benefits of vinegar come from a few humans studies involving apple cider vinegar. One study demonstrated that apple cider vinegar can improve after-meal blood glucose levels in insulin-resistant subjects. In 11 people who were “pre-diabetic,” drinking 20 milliliters, a little more than one tablespoon, of apple cider vinegar lowered their blood sugar levels 30-60 minutes after eating more than a placebo did. That’s good – but it was only demonstrated in 11 pre-diabetic people.

Another study on obese adults demonstrated a significant reduction in weight, fat mass and triglycerides. Researchers selected 155 obese Japanese adults to ingest either 15 ml, about one tablespoon, or 30 ml, a little more than two tablespoons, of vinegar daily, or a placebo drink, and followed their weight, fat mass and triglycerides. In both the 15 ml and 30 ml group, researchers saw a reduction in all three markers. While these studies need confirmation by larger studies, they are encouraging.

Studies in animals, mostly rats, show that vinegar can potentially reduce blood pressure and abdominal fat cells. These help build the case for followup studies in humans, but any benefit claims based only on animal studies is premature.

In all, the health benefits we suspect vinegar has need to be confirmed by larger human studies, and this will certainly happen as researchers build on what has been studied in humans and animals to date.

Is there any harm in it?

Is there any evidence that vinegar is bad for you? Not really. Unless you are drinking excessive amounts of it (duh), or drinking a high acetic acid concentration vinegar such as distilled white vinegar used for cleaning (consumable vinegar’s acetic acid content is only 4 to 8 percent), or rubbing it in your eyes (ouch!), or heating it in a lead vat as the Romans did to make it sweet. Then, yeah, that’s unhealthy.

Also, don’t heat any kind of food in lead vats. That’s always bad.

So have your fish and chips and vinegar. It’s not hurting you. It may not be doing you all the good that you’re hoping that it will; and it certainly is not a cure-all. But it is something that people all over the world will be enjoying with you. Now raise high that bottle of malt vinegar with me, and let’s drink to our health.The Conversation

About The Author

Gabriel Neal, Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine, Texas A&M University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Apple Cider Vinegar Cure: Essential Recipes & Remedies to Heal Your Body Inside and Out

foodAuthor: Madeline Given NC
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Sonoma Press
Label: Sonoma Press
Publisher: Sonoma Press
Manufacturer: Sonoma Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Your all-in-one guide to discovering the practical and versatile uses of apple cider vinegar

For centuries, apple cider vinegar has served as an indispensable health and beauty elixir. In The Apple Cider Vinegar Cure, holistic nutrition consultant Madeline Given shares some of the history and the science behind this superfood. She also provides instructions on how to make natural remedies to boost your gut and your glow, and brings this probiotic powerhouse to your plate with delicious, nourishing recipes for every meal of the day.

The Apple Cider Vinegar Cure contains:

  • An Overview explaining the role of apple cider vinegar in folklore medicine
  • Over 20 Healing Home Remedies helping alleviate common ailments
  • Over 25 Beauty Treatments including natural body and hair care treatments
  • 75 Delicious Recipes using apple cider vinegar in savory and sweet dishes

Apple cider vinegar recipes include: Bacon and Cheddar Breakfast Scones, Asian Asparagus Salad, Chicken Pot Pie, Apple Cider Vinegar Pie, and many more. Plus, remedies for: Sun Burn, Earache, Cold and Flu, Nausea and Morning Sickness, and much more!

Explore the dozens of uses for this multi-purpose tonic with The Apple Cider Vinegar Cure.





Apple Cider Vinegar: Miracle Health System (Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar Miracle Health System: With the Bragg Healthy Lifestyle)

foodAuthor: Patricia Bragg
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Explains all of the different health benefits apple cider vinegar offers

  • Over 6 million copies in print


Brand: AMERICAN WEST BOOKS
Studio: Bragg Health Sciences
Label: Bragg Health Sciences
Publisher: Bragg Health Sciences
Manufacturer: Bragg Health Sciences

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Explores the miracle health benefits of organic, raw apple cider vinegar, a natural detox, antibiotic and antiseptic that fights germs and bacteria.




81 Ways To Naturally Cleanse Your Body & House And More! The Apple Cider Vinegar Miracle

foodAuthor: The Alternative Daily
Binding: Paperback

Buy Now
Editorial Review: This paperback book "81 Ways To Naturally Cleanse Your Body & House and More" is preowned and is in like new condition. It is 2nd edition 2016. The cover has shelf wear. There are a few pages that the corner had been folded over. I do not see markings in the book but I did not look at each page.




food
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}