كيف يمكن للوالدين قهر الذنب لمساعدة الأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل

كيف يمكن للوالدين قهر الذنب لمساعدة الأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات الأكل

تعاني ليديا من نقص حاد في الوزن وتعاني من مضاعفات طبية ناجمة عن اضطراب في الأكل. إنها في المستشفى. يقوم فريق علاجها بتجنيد أمها لمساعدة ليديا على زيادة الوزن من خلال دعم وجبة الطعام. تجلس ليديا ووالدتها لتناول الوجبة الأولى معًا.

في منتصف الوجبة ، تأخذ أمي قائمة العشاء من صينية ابنتها وتخفيها في حقيبتها. قالت لابنتها: "يمكنك تخطي الخبز اليوم. خطوة واحدة في وقت واحد."

هل أمي غير متحمسة لدعم انتعاش ابنتها؟ هل هي غير مهتمة؟ أم أنها فقط لا تحصل عليه؟

في سنوات 10 كنت أعمل كطبيب نفسي في مجال اضطرابات الأكل ، لقد واجهت العديد من الاختلافات في السيناريو الموضح أعلاه. باستخدام العدسة الخاطئة ، يمكننا أن نستنتج أن الأم لن تقطعها كحليف انتعاش. في الواقع ، ما يظهره بحثنا هو ذلك وراء هذه الأنماط الإشكالية للدعم هي مخاوف عميقة.

وليس فقط أي مخاوف. الآباء والأمهات مثل أمي ليديا يخشون أنه إذا فعلوا الشيء الخطأ ، أو إذا تم دفع طفلهم بشدة وبسرعة كبيرة مع الانتعاش ، وأنها سوف تعاني الكثير من الضيق. أن هذا سيؤدي إلى إصابتهم بالاكتئاب أو الأذى الذاتي أو كابوس كل أبوي - الانتحار. في أكثر الأحيان ، وبشكل واعي أم لا ، يشعر هؤلاء الوالدين بأنهم عالقون بين صخرة ومكان صعب.

يظهر بحثنا أيضًا أنه مع بعض الدعم المستهدف ، يمكن للعديد من الآباء تحويل مخاوفهم والسلوكيات المرتبطة بها للعب دور إيجابي جدًا في علاج اضطراب أكل الطفل - حتى لو كان الأمر يبدو في البداية.

النضال مع الخوف واللوم الذاتي

ترتبط اضطرابات الأكل ب معدلات عالية من المرض والوفاة المبكرة. هم على محمل الجد يضعف جودة الحياة وتعتبر من الصعب جدا لعلاج. على الرغم من اعتبار الآباء عوامل مهمة للشفاء عندما يكون المريض طفلًا أو مراهقًا، هذه ليست بالضرورة القاعدة عندما يكون الفرد المصاب باضطراب الأكل أكثر من عمر 18 أو عندما يعتقد أن الآباء يعانون من الانسداد ، كما هو الحال في حالة Lydia أعلاه.

في الواقع ، عندما يكون الآباء حرجين أو تمكينهم من الأعراض التي يشعرون بها ، فإنه ليس من غير المألوف إبقائها على مشارف عملية الإنعاش ، إذا كانت متورطة على الإطلاق.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يظهر بحثنا أن خوف الوالدين من سلامة أحد أفراد أسرته يمكن أن يخلق سلوكًا معوقًا. لذلك يمكن أن تشعر مشاعر اللوم الذاتي. في هذا المجال من البحث والممارسة السريرية ، نعرف الآن بثقة أن الآباء والأمهات لا يسبب اضطرابات الأكل. يمكن أن تلعب الأنماط الأسرية دورًا ، لكن ذلك ممكن تأثير علم الوراثة ، وسائل الإعلام ، الأقران والعديد من العوامل الأخرى بدأنا الآن فقط بالكشف. ثم هناك العلاقات المتبادلة بين هذه المتغيرات المختلفة. إنها معقدة على أقل تقدير.

وبغض النظر عن ذلك ، لا يزال معظم الآباء والأمهات يحملون في داخلهم قصة اللوم الذاتي لمرض أحبائهم. قد جيرانهم وأصدقائهم وأفراد الأسرة أيضا. اسأل نفسك هذا السؤال: إذا كنت تعتقد أنك مسؤول - حتى ولو قليلاً - عن مرض طفلك ، ألا تتردد في المشاركة؟ فقط في حالة؟ صخرة أخرى ومكان صعب.

يمكن لجميع الآباء أن يكونوا مدربي الانتعاش

وماذا تفعل؟ جنبا إلى جنب مع زميل ، طورت علاج عائلي يركز على العاطفة - نموذج علاج مصمم لمساعدة الوالدين على دعم تعافي طفلهما البدني والعاطفي من اضطرابات الأكل. يقوم الأطباء المدربون بتزويد الآباء بالاستراتيجيات الملموسة للرد على سلوكيات أطفالهم وعواطفهم ، بما في ذلك النوبات ، ومشاعر اليأس ، وحتى الصمت التام ، وعلى وجه الخصوص عندما يتعارض ذلك مع الوجبات.

عندما تكون تلك المشاعر من الخوف واللوم الذاتي تسيطر على الوالد ، ولا شك أنها تفعل في مرحلة ما خلال رحلة التعافي ، فإن الطبيب EFFT يجلب تقنيات محددة لمساعدة الوالدين على التحرك من خلال هذه "الكتل العاطفية". عودتهم إلى مسارهم لدعم أحبائهم بطريقة جيدة.

اختبرنا هذه العملية مؤخرًا أثناء تدخل قصير مع الآباء الذين لديهم أطفال مصابون باضطراب في الأكل. أكثر من الآباء 100 من جميع أنحاء كندا حضر ورشة عمل الرعاية لمدة يومين بدون حبيبهم الحاضرين. تم تعليمهم لدعم طفلهم مع وجبات الطعام والألم العاطفي الكامن وراء اضطراب الأكل ، بما في ذلك شفاء علاقاتهم الأسرية إذا لزم الأمر. كما تم دعمهم للتحرك من خلال مخاوفهم ولومهم.

من المؤكد أن المشاركة في ورشة العمل أدت إلى انخفاض في هذه المشاعر. وقد أدى ذلك إلى زيادة إيمان الوالدين بدورهم كمدربين على استعادة أطفالهم. والأهم من ذلك أنهم أبدوا استعدادهم للعودة إلى ديارهم وممارسة كل ما تعلموه وبثقة جديدة. نعتقد أن هذه أخبار رائعة للعملاء والعائلات وحتى للأطباء الذين يدعمونها.

في الواقع ، إنه يقدم دليلاً أكثر على أن الآباء يبذلون أقصى ما في وسعهم مع ما لديهم ، وأنهم يحتاجون - ولا يستحقون - الدعم المحترف عندما تتغلب عواطفهم ، وهي تجربة طبيعية جدًا عندما يواجهون مرضًا يهدد حياتهم.

سلك عصبي للحياة

الآباء والأمهات والأطفال السلكية والعصبية ، وللحياة. هذا يدعم فكرة أنه يجب علينا إشراك الآباء أكثر ، وليس أقل. لا يهم إذا كان الطفل هو 14 أو 40 ، وبغض النظر عما إذا كان الوالد قد ارتكب أخطاء في الماضي أو توترت العلاقة.

في الواقع ، عندما تكون التوترات عالية في الأسرة ، يمكن أن يكون التعافي أكثر صعوبة بالنسبة للفرد الذي يعاني من اضطراب الأكل - وهو سبب وجيه للعمل مع جميع المعنيين.

المحادثةويعني ذلك أيضًا أنه إذا كان من الممكن دعم الوالدين للعمل كمدرب للإنعاش لدى أطفالهم ، فإن جهودهم - حتى وإن كانت على نطاق أصغر بكثير وغير كاملة - ستكون أقوى بكثير من أي معالج نفسي. وهذا سبب رائع للعمل مع جميع المعنيين.

نبذة عن الكاتب

أديل لافيرانس ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس ، جامعة لورانس

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = eating disorder؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

هل أنت ممتن كما تستحق؟
هل أنت ممتن كما تستحق؟
by ريتشارد جوندرمان

How Parents Can Conquer Guilt To Help Kids With Eating Disorders

How Parents Can Conquer Guilt To Help Kids With Eating Disorders

Lydia is seriously underweight and suffering from medical complications from an eating disorder. She is in hospital. Her treatment team recruits her mom to help Lydia gain weight through meal support. Lydia and her mom sit down for their first meal together.

Halfway through the meal, mom anxiously takes the dinner roll from her daughter’s tray and hides it in her purse. She tells her daughter: “You can skip the bread today. One step at a time.”

Is Lydia’s mom unmotivated to support her daughter’s recovery? Is she uncaring? Or does she just not get it?

In the 10 years I’ve been working as a psychologist in the field of eating disorders, I have encountered all too many variations of the scenario described above. Using the wrong lens, we could conclude that mom is just not going to cut it as a recovery ally. Actually, what our research shows is that underlying these problematic patterns of support are deep fears.

And not just any fears. Parents like Lydia’s mom fear that if they do the wrong thing, or if their child is pushed too hard and too fast with recovery, that they will experience too much distress. That this will catapult them into depression, self-harm behaviours or every parent’s nightmare — suicide. More often than not, and consciously or not, these parents feel stuck between a rock and a hard place.

Our research also shows that with some targeted support, many parents can transform their fears and associated behaviours to play a very positive role in the treatment of their child’s eating disorder — even if at first, it doesn’t seem so.

Struggles with fear and self-blame

Eating disorders are associated with high rates of illness and premature death. They seriously impair one’s quality of life and are considered very difficult to treat. Although parents are regarded as important agents of healing when the patient is a child or adolescent, this is not necessarily the norm when the individual with the eating disorder is over the age of 18 or when parents are thought to be obstructive, as in Lydia’s case above.

In fact, when parents are critical or enabling of their loved one’s symptoms, it isn’t uncommon for them to be kept on the outskirts of the recovery process, if they’re involved at all.

Our research shows that a parent’s fear for their loved one’s safety can create obstructive behaviours. So can feelings of self-blame. In this field of research and clinical practise, we now know with confidence that parents do not cause eating disorders. Family patterns can play a role, yes, but so can the influence of genetics, the media, peers and many other factors we are just now beginning to uncover. And then there are the inter-relationships among these different variables. It is complicated to say the least.

Regardless, most parents still carry within them a story of self-blame for their loved one’s illness. Their neighbours, friends and family members may too. Ask yourself this question: If you thought you were responsible — even a little bit — for your child’s illness, would you not hesitate to be involved? Just in case? Another rock and a hard place.

All parents can be recovery coaches

And so what to do? Along with a colleague, I developed Emotion-Focused Family Therapy — a treatment model designed to help parents support their child’s physical and emotional recovery from an eating disorder. Trained clinicians equip parents with concrete strategies to respond to their child’s behaviours and emotions, including outbursts, feelings of despair, even total silence, and in particular when these interfere with meals.

When those feelings of fear and self-blame do take hold of the parent, and they undoubtedly do at some point throughout the recovery journey, the EFFT clinician brings in specific techniques to help parents to move through these “emotional blocks.” They then help them get back on track to supporting their loved one in a good way.

We recently tested this process during a brief intervention with parents who have children with an eating disorder. More than 100 parents from across Canada attended a two-day caregiver workshop without their loved one present. They were taught to support their child with meals and with the emotional pain underlying the eating disorder, including healing their family relationships if necessary. They were also supported to move through their fears and self-blame.

Sure enough, participation in the workshop led to a decrease in these feelings. This then led to an increase in the parents’ belief in their role as their children’s recovery coaches. Most importantly, they also expressed willingness to go home and practise all that they had learned, and with a newfound confidence. We believe this is great news for clients and families and even for the clinicians who support them.

In fact, it offers more proof that parents are doing the best they can with what they have, and that they need — no, deserve — professional support when their emotions take over, a very normal experience when faced with a life-threatening illness.

Neurologically wired for life

Parents and children are neurologically wired, and for life. This supports the idea that we should be involving parents more, not less. No matter if the child is 14 or 40, and no matter if the parent has made mistakes in the past or the relationship is strained.

In fact, when tensions are high in the family, recovery can be more challenging for the individual with the eating disorder — a good reason to work with all involved.

The ConversationIt also means though that if parents can be supported to act as their child’s recovery coach, their efforts — even if on a much smaller scale and imperfect — will be far more powerful than any therapist. And that’s a great reason to work with all involved.

About The Author

Adele Lafrance, Associate Professor of Psychology, Laurentian University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

8 Keys to Recovery from an Eating Disorder: Effective Strategies from Therapeutic Practice and Personal Experience (8 Keys to Mental Health)
healthy dietAuthor: Carolyn Costin
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

8 Keys to Recovery from an Eating Disorder Workbook (8 Keys to Mental Health)
healthy dietAuthor: Carolyn Costin
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

Help Your Teenager Beat an Eating Disorder, Second Edition
healthy dietAuthor: James Lock
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: The Guilford Press
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}