لماذا قد يزيد الطعام الخالي من الغلوتين من خطر الإصابة بمرض السكري

لماذا قد يزيد الطعام الخالي من الغلوتين من خطر الإصابة بمرض السكري
بدعة صحية خطيرة. Teri Virbickis / Shutterstock.com

من الصعب عدم ملاحظة أن مجموعة الأطعمة الخالية من الغلوتين المتوفرة في محلات السوبر ماركت قد زادت بشكل كبير في السنوات الأخيرة. هذا هو جزئيا بسبب ارتفاع في عدد الأشخاص الذين تم تشخيص إصابتهم بمرض الاضطرابات الهضمية حساسية الغلوتين ، وجزئيا لأن المشاهير مثل غوينيث بالترو ، مايلي سايروس وفيكتوريا بيكهام أشادوا بالنظم الغذائية الخالية من الغلوتين. ما اعتاد أن يكون الطعام الوصفات الطبية هو الآن بدعة صحية عالمية. ولكن الى أي مدى؟ الجديد بحث من جامعة هارفارد وجدت صلة بين الوجبات الغذائية الخالية من الغلوتين وزيادة خطر تطوير نوع مرض السكري 2.

الغلوتين هو البروتين الموجود في الحبوب مثل القمح والجاودار والشعير. انها مفيدة بشكل خاص في إنتاج الغذاء. على سبيل المثال ، يعطي المرونة للعجين ، مما يساعده على الارتفاع والحفاظ على شكله ، وتوفير ملمس مطاطي. أنواع كثيرة من الأطعمة تحتوي على الغلوتين ، بما في ذلك أقل وضوحا مثل صلصة السلطة والحساء والبيرة.

نفس البروتين الذي هو مفيد جدا في إنتاج الغذاء هو كابوس للأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية. مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية هو اضطراب في المناعة الذاتية يتفاعل فيه الجسم عن طريق الخطأ مع الغلوتين كما لو كان يشكل تهديدًا للجسم. الشرط شائع جدا ، تؤثر على واحد في 100 الناسلكن تم تشخيص ربع المصابين فقط.

هناك أدلة على أن شعبية الوجبات الغذائية الخالية من الغلوتين قد ارتفعت ، على الرغم من أن ظلت نسبة الإصابة بمرض الاضطرابات الهضمية مستقرة. هذا يحتمل أن يكون بسبب زيادة أعداد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الاضطرابات الهضمية الغلوتين حساسية. في هذه الحالات ، تظهر لدى الناس بعض أعراض مرض coelaic ولكن بدون استجابة مناعية. في كلتا الحالتين ، تجنب الغلوتين في الأطعمة هو الطريقة الوحيدة الموثوقة للتحكم في الأعراض ، والتي قد تشمل الإسهال وآلام البطن والانتفاخ.

وبدون أي دليل على الآثار المفيدة ، فإن العديد من الأشخاص الذين لا يعانون من مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية أو حساسية الغلوتين يتحولون الآن إلى أنظمة غذائية خالية من الغلوتين بديل "صحي" لنظام غذائي عادي. تفاعلت محلات السوبرماركت لتلبية هذه الحاجة عن طريق التخزين نمت من أي وقت مضى "خالية من" نطاقات. ومع ذلك ، توحي نتائج هذه الدراسة الأخيرة أنه قد يكون هناك عيب كبير في تبني نظام غذائي خالٍ من الغلوتين لم يكن معروفًا من قبل.

جمعية عكسية

الغلوتين يعطي العجين مرونته. (لماذا قد يزيد الطعام الخالي من الغلوتين من خطر الإصابة بالسكري)الغلوتين يعطي العجين مرونته. Marko Poplasen / Shutterstock.com

ما أفادت به مجموعة هارفارد وراء هذه الدراسة هو أن هناك علاقة عكسية بين تناول الغلوتين ونوع مرض السكري من النوع 2. وهذا يعني أن أقل من الغلوتين الموجود في نظام غذائي يزيد من خطر الإصابة بنوع السكر 2.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تأتي بيانات هذا الاستنتاج المثير من ثلاث دراسات منفصلة كبيرة شملت جماعيًا تقريبًا أشخاص 200,000. من بين هؤلاء الأشخاص 200,000 ، تم تأكيد حالات 15,947 من نوع مرض السكري 2 خلال فترة المتابعة. أظهر التحليل أن أولئك الذين تناولوا أعلى جرعة من الغلوتين لديهم فرصة أقل بنسبة 80٪ في تطوير نوع 2 السكري مقارنة بمن لديهم أدنى مستويات من تناول الغلوتين.

هذه الدراسة لها آثار مهمة بالنسبة لأولئك الذين إما تجنب أو اختيار تجنب الغلوتين في نظامهم الغذائي. نوع مرض السكري 2 هو حالة خطيرة تؤثر على أكثر من 400M الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم - عدد من المؤكد أن يزيد لسنوات عديدة قادمة.

بشكل جماعي ، يكون مرض السكري مسؤولاً عن نسبة 10٪ من ميزانية NHS بأكملها ، وأدوية علاج السكري وحده ما يقرب من £ 1 مليار سنويًا. لا يوجد علاج لداء السكري من نوع 2 ومغفرة هو نادر للغاية. وهذا يعني أنه بمجرد تشخيص مرض السكري من النوع 2 ، يصبح من المستحيل تقريباً العودة إلى الصحة.

من المهم ملاحظة أن بيانات هذه الدراسة جمعت بأثر رجعي. ويسمح ذلك بإدراج أعداد كبيرة للغاية ، لكنها تعتمد على استبيانات حول التغذية الغذائية التي يتم جمعها كل عامين إلى أربعة أعوام ، ونزاهة هؤلاء المعينين للدراسة. نادراً ما يكون هذا النوع من تصميم الدراسة جيدًا كدراسة مستقبلية حيث تتبع مجموعات من الأشخاص المعينين عشوائياً إما لوجود حمية غذائية منخفضة أو عالية الغلوتين على مدى سنوات عديدة. ومع ذلك ، فإن الدراسات المستقبلية مكلفة للغاية ، ومن الصعب العثور على عدد كافٍ من الأشخاص المستعدين للمشاركة فيها.

في حين أن هناك بعض الأدلة على وجود صلة بين مرض الاضطرابات الهضمية ونوع مرض السكري 1، هذه هي الدراسة الأولى التي تبين وجود صلة بين استهلاك الغلوتين وخطر الإصابة بنوع 2 السكري. هذا اكتشاف مهم. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يختارون حمية خالية من الغلوتين لأنهم يعتقدون أنها صحية ، فقد يكون الوقت قد حان لإعادة النظر في اختياراتك الغذائية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيمس براون ، محاضر في علم الأحياء والعلوم الطبية الحيوية ، جامعة أستون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الوقاية من السكري ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Gluten-Free Food Might Increase Your Risk Of Diabetes

Why Gluten-Free Food Might Increase Your Risk Of Diabetes
A dangerous health fad. Teri Virbickis/Shutterstock.com

It’s hard not to notice that the range of gluten-free foods available in supermarkets has increased massively in recent years. This is partly because the rise in the number of people diagnosed with coeliac disease and gluten sensitivity, and partly because celebrities such as Gwyneth Paltrow, Miley Cyrus and Victoria Beckham have praised gluten-free diets. What used to be prescription-only food is now a global health fad. But for how much longer? New research from Harvard University has found a link between gluten-free diets and an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

Gluten is a protein found in cereals such as wheat, rye and barley. It is particularly useful in food production. For example, it gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and keep its shape, and providing a chewy texture. Many types of foods contain gluten, including less obvious ones such as salad dressing, soup and beer.

The same protein that is so useful in food production is a nightmare for people with coeliac disease. Coeliac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a threat to the body. The condition is quite common, affecting one in 100 people, but only a quarter of those who have the disease have been diagnosed.

There is evidence that the popularity of gluten-free diets has surged, even though the incidence of coeliac disease has remained stable. This is potentially due to increasing numbers of people with non-coeliac gluten sensitivity. In these cases, people exhibit some of the symptoms of coelaic disease but without having an immune response. In either case, avoiding gluten in foods is the only reliable way to control symptoms, which may include diarrhoea, abdominal pain and bloating.

Without any evidence for beneficial effects, many people without coeliac disease or gluten sensitivity are now turning to gluten-free diets as a “healthy” alternative to a normal diet. Supermarkets have reacted to meet this need by stocking ever growing “free from” ranges. The findings of this recent study, however, suggest that there could be a significant drawback to adopting a gluten-free diet that was not previously known.

Inverse association

Gluten gives dough its elasticity. (why gluten free food might increase your risk of diabetes)Gluten gives dough its elasticity. Marko Poplasen/Shutterstock.com

What the Harvard group behind this study have reported is that there is an inverse association between gluten intake and type 2 diabetes risk. This means that the less gluten found in a diet the higher the risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

The data for this exciting finding comes from three separate, large studies which collectively included almost 200,000 people. Of those 200,000 people, 15,947 cases of type 2 diabetes were confirmed during the follow-up period. Analysis showed that those who had the highest intake of gluten had an 80% lower chance of developing type 2 diabetes compared to those who had the lowest levels of gluten intake.

This study has important implications for those who either have to avoid or choose to avoid gluten in their diet. Type 2 diabetes is a serious condition that affects more than 400m people worldwide – a number which is certain to increase for many years to come.

Collectively, diabetes is responsible for around 10% of the entire NHS budget and drugs to treat diabetes alone cost almost £1 billion annually. There is no cure for type 2 diabetes and remission is extremely rare. This means that once diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, it is almost impossible to revert back to being healthy.

It is important to note that the data for this study was retrospectively gathered. This allows for very large numbers to be included but relies on food-frequency questionnaires collected every two to four years and the honesty of those recruited to the study. This type of study design is rarely as good as a prospective study where you follow groups of people randomly assigned to either have low- or high-gluten diets over many years. However, prospective studies are expensive to run and it’s difficult to find enough people willing to take part in them.

While there is some evidence for a link between coeliac disease and type 1 diabetes, this is the first study to show a link between gluten consumption and the risk of type 2 diabetes. This is an important finding. For those who choose a gluten-free diet because they believe it to be healthy, it may be time to reconsider your food choices.The Conversation

About The Author

James Brown, Lecturer in Biology and Biomedical Science, Aston University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=diabetes prevention;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.