Warum glutenfreie Lebensmittel das Diabetesrisiko erhöhen könnten

Warum glutenfreie Lebensmittel das Diabetesrisiko erhöhen könnten
Eine gefährliche Modeerscheinung. Teri Virbickis / Shutterstock.com

Es ist kaum zu übersehen, dass das Angebot an glutenfreien Lebensmitteln in Supermärkten in den letzten Jahren massiv zugenommen hat. Dies liegt zum Teil daran, dass der Aufstieg im Anzahl der Menschen, bei denen Zöliakie diagnostiziert wurde und Glutensensibilität, und zum Teil weil Prominente wie Gwyneth Paltrow, Miley Cyrus und Victoria Beckham haben glutenfreie Diäten gelobt. Was früher als rezeptpflichtige Nahrung verwendet wurde, ist heute eine globale Modeerscheinung. Aber wie lange noch? Neu Forschung von der Harvard University hat einen Zusammenhang zwischen glutenfreien Diäten und einem erhöhten Risiko für die Entwicklung von Typ 2-Diabetes gefunden.

Gluten ist ein Protein, das in Getreide wie z Weizen, Roggen und Gerste. Es ist besonders nützlich in der Lebensmittelproduktion. Es verleiht dem Teig beispielsweise Elastizität, hilft ihm dabei, sich zu heben und seine Form zu behalten, und sorgt für eine zähe Textur. Viele Arten von Lebensmitteln enthalten Gluten, darunter auch weniger offensichtliche wie Salatdressing, Suppe und Bier.

Das gleiche Protein, das in der Lebensmittelproduktion so nützlich ist, ist ein Alptraum für Zöliakie-Betroffene. Die Zöliakie ist eine Autoimmunerkrankung, bei der der Körper irrtümlicherweise auf Gluten reagiert, als wäre dies eine Bedrohung für den Körper. Die Bedingung ist ziemlich üblich, einen in 100 Menschen betroffen, aber nur ein Viertel der Erkrankten wurde diagnostiziert.

Es gibt Hinweise darauf, dass die Beliebtheit von glutenfreien Diäten gestiegen ist, auch wenn die Die Inzidenz von Zöliakie ist stabil geblieben. Dies ist möglicherweise auf eine zunehmende Anzahl von Menschen mit Zöliakie zurückzuführen Glutenempfindlichkeit. In diesen Fällen zeigen Menschen einige der Symptome einer Coelain-Krankheit, jedoch ohne eine Immunreaktion. In beiden Fällen ist die Vermeidung von Gluten in Lebensmitteln der einzige verlässliche Weg, um die Symptome zu kontrollieren. Dazu gehören Durchfall, Bauchschmerzen und Blähungen.

Ohne Beweise für positive Wirkungen wenden viele Menschen ohne Zöliakie oder Gluten-Empfindlichkeit jetzt auf glutenfreie Diäten an "Gesunde" Alternative zu einer normalen Ernährung. Supermärkte haben darauf reagiert, indem sie Lagerbestände befüllten immer wachsende "frei von" Bereichen. Die Ergebnisse dieser kürzlich durchgeführten Studie legen jedoch nahe, dass die Einführung einer glutenfreien Diät, die bisher nicht bekannt war, einen erheblichen Nachteil haben könnte.

Inverse Verbindung

Gluten gibt Teig seine Elastizität. (Warum glutenfreie Lebensmittel das Diabetesrisiko erhöhen können)Gluten gibt Teig seine Elastizität. Marko Poplasen / Shutterstock.com

Die Harvard-Gruppe hinter dieser Studie berichtet, dass es einen umgekehrten Zusammenhang zwischen der Aufnahme von Gluten und dem Diabetes-Risiko des Typs 2 gibt. Das bedeutet, je weniger Gluten in einer Diät gefunden wird, desto höher ist das Risiko, an Typ 2-Diabetes zu erkranken.

Die Daten für diesen aufregenden Befund stammen aus drei separaten, großen Studien, an denen fast 200,000-Personen beteiligt waren. Von diesen 200,000-Patienten wurden 15,947-Fälle von Typ 2-Diabetes während der Nachbeobachtungszeit bestätigt. Die Analyse zeigte, dass diejenigen mit der höchsten Gluten-Aufnahme eine um 80% niedrigere Chance hatten, Typ-2-Diabetes zu entwickeln, im Vergleich zu denen mit der niedrigsten Gluten-Aufnahme.

Diese Studie hat wichtige Konsequenzen für diejenigen, die entweder Gluten in ihrer Ernährung vermeiden müssen oder sich dafür entscheiden. Typ 2 Diabetes ist eine schwere Erkrankung, die mehr als betrifft 400m Menschen weltweit - eine Zahl, die sich in den nächsten Jahren sicherlich noch erhöhen wird.

Insgesamt ist Diabetes für etwa 10% des gesamten NHS-Budgets und für Medikamente zur alleinigen Behandlung von Diabetes verantwortlich fast 1 Milliarden jährlich. Es gibt keine Heilung für Typ 2-Diabetes und eine Remission sehr selten. Dies bedeutet, dass es nach einer Diagnose mit Typ 2-Diabetes fast unmöglich ist, wieder gesund zu werden.

Es ist wichtig zu beachten, dass die Daten für diese Studie nachträglich erfasst wurden. Dies ermöglicht die Aufnahme sehr großer Zahlen, hängt jedoch von Fragebögen zur Häufigkeit der Nahrungsaufnahme ab, die alle zwei bis vier Jahre gesammelt werden, und der Ehrlichkeit derjenigen, die für die Studie rekrutiert wurden. Diese Art von Studiendesign ist selten so gut wie eine prospektive Studie, in der Sie Gruppen von Personen folgen, die zufällig entweder über Jahre hinweg Diäten mit niedrigem oder hohem Glutengehalt zugeordnet haben. Prospektive Studien sind jedoch teuer in der Durchführung und es ist schwierig, genügend Leute zu finden, die bereit sind, daran teilzunehmen.

Zwar gibt es einige Hinweise auf eine Verbindung zwischen Zöliakie und Typ 1 DiabetesDies ist die erste Studie, die einen Zusammenhang zwischen dem Konsum von Gluten und dem Risiko für Typ-2-Diabetes zeigt. Dies ist eine wichtige Erkenntnis. Für diejenigen, die sich für eine glutenfreie Diät entscheiden, weil sie der Meinung sind, dass sie gesund ist, kann es an der Zeit sein, Ihre Ernährungsgewohnheiten zu überdenken.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

James Brown, Dozent für Biologie und Biomedizin, Aston Universität

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = Diabetesprävention; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Gluten-Free Food Might Increase Your Risk Of Diabetes

Why Gluten-Free Food Might Increase Your Risk Of Diabetes
A dangerous health fad. Teri Virbickis/Shutterstock.com

It’s hard not to notice that the range of gluten-free foods available in supermarkets has increased massively in recent years. This is partly because the rise in the number of people diagnosed with coeliac disease and gluten sensitivity, and partly because celebrities such as Gwyneth Paltrow, Miley Cyrus and Victoria Beckham have praised gluten-free diets. What used to be prescription-only food is now a global health fad. But for how much longer? New research from Harvard University has found a link between gluten-free diets and an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

Gluten is a protein found in cereals such as wheat, rye and barley. It is particularly useful in food production. For example, it gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and keep its shape, and providing a chewy texture. Many types of foods contain gluten, including less obvious ones such as salad dressing, soup and beer.

The same protein that is so useful in food production is a nightmare for people with coeliac disease. Coeliac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a threat to the body. The condition is quite common, affecting one in 100 people, but only a quarter of those who have the disease have been diagnosed.

There is evidence that the popularity of gluten-free diets has surged, even though the incidence of coeliac disease has remained stable. This is potentially due to increasing numbers of people with non-coeliac gluten sensitivity. In these cases, people exhibit some of the symptoms of coelaic disease but without having an immune response. In either case, avoiding gluten in foods is the only reliable way to control symptoms, which may include diarrhoea, abdominal pain and bloating.

Without any evidence for beneficial effects, many people without coeliac disease or gluten sensitivity are now turning to gluten-free diets as a “healthy” alternative to a normal diet. Supermarkets have reacted to meet this need by stocking ever growing “free from” ranges. The findings of this recent study, however, suggest that there could be a significant drawback to adopting a gluten-free diet that was not previously known.

Inverse association

Gluten gives dough its elasticity. (why gluten free food might increase your risk of diabetes)Gluten gives dough its elasticity. Marko Poplasen/Shutterstock.com

What the Harvard group behind this study have reported is that there is an inverse association between gluten intake and type 2 diabetes risk. This means that the less gluten found in a diet the higher the risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

The data for this exciting finding comes from three separate, large studies which collectively included almost 200,000 people. Of those 200,000 people, 15,947 cases of type 2 diabetes were confirmed during the follow-up period. Analysis showed that those who had the highest intake of gluten had an 80% lower chance of developing type 2 diabetes compared to those who had the lowest levels of gluten intake.

This study has important implications for those who either have to avoid or choose to avoid gluten in their diet. Type 2 diabetes is a serious condition that affects more than 400m people worldwide – a number which is certain to increase for many years to come.

Collectively, diabetes is responsible for around 10% of the entire NHS budget and drugs to treat diabetes alone cost almost £1 billion annually. There is no cure for type 2 diabetes and remission is extremely rare. This means that once diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, it is almost impossible to revert back to being healthy.

It is important to note that the data for this study was retrospectively gathered. This allows for very large numbers to be included but relies on food-frequency questionnaires collected every two to four years and the honesty of those recruited to the study. This type of study design is rarely as good as a prospective study where you follow groups of people randomly assigned to either have low- or high-gluten diets over many years. However, prospective studies are expensive to run and it’s difficult to find enough people willing to take part in them.

While there is some evidence for a link between coeliac disease and type 1 diabetes, this is the first study to show a link between gluten consumption and the risk of type 2 diabetes. This is an important finding. For those who choose a gluten-free diet because they believe it to be healthy, it may be time to reconsider your food choices.The Conversation

About The Author

James Brown, Lecturer in Biology and Biomedical Science, Aston University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=diabetes prevention;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.