Почему пища без глютена может увеличить риск диабета

Почему пища без глютена может увеличить риск диабета
Опасное здоровье увлечение. Тери Вирбицкис / Shutterstock.com

Трудно не заметить, что ассортимент безглютеновых продуктов, доступных в супермаркетах, значительно вырос за последние годы. Это отчасти потому, что рост количество людей с диагнозом целиакия и чувствительность к глютену, и отчасти потому, что такие знаменитости, как Гвинет Пэлтроу, Майли Сайрус и Виктория Бекхэм похвалили безглютеновые диеты. То, что раньше было пищей только по рецепту, теперь стало мировым увлечением. Но как долго? новый исследование Гарвардский университет обнаружил связь между безглютеновой диетой и повышенным риском развития диабета типа 2.

Глютен - это белок, содержащийся в таких злаках, как пшеница, рожь и ячмень, Это особенно полезно в производстве продуктов питания. Например, он придает эластичность тесту, помогает ему подниматься и сохранять форму, а также обеспечивает жевательную текстуру. Многие виды продуктов содержат глютен, в том числе менее очевидные, такие как заправка для салата, суп и пиво.

Тот же самый белок, который так полезен в производстве продуктов питания, является кошмаром для людей с целиакией. Целиакия - это аутоиммунное заболевание, при котором организм по ошибке реагирует на глютен, как если бы он представлял угрозу для организма. Состояние довольно распространенное, влияет на одного в людях 100, но только четверть из тех, у кого есть заболевание, были диагностированы.

Существует доказательство того, что популярность безглютеновых диет выросла, хотя заболеваемость целиакией остается стабильной, Это может быть связано с увеличением числа людей с не целиакией клейковины чувствительность, В этих случаях у людей проявляются некоторые симптомы кишечной болезни, но без иммунного ответа. В любом случае, избегание употребления глютена в продуктах питания является единственным надежным способом контроля симптомов, которые могут включать диарею, боль в животе и вздутие живота.

Без каких-либо доказательств полезных эффектов многие люди без глютеновой болезни или чувствительности к глютену в настоящее время обращаются к безглютеновой диете как «Здоровая» альтернатива нормальной диете, Супермаркеты отреагировали на эту потребность запасом постоянно растущий «свободный от» диапазонов, Результаты этого недавнего исследования, однако, предполагают, что может существовать существенный недостаток в принятии безглютеновой диеты, которая ранее не была известна.

Обратная связь

Глютен придает тесту эластичность. (почему безглютеновая пища может увеличить риск диабета)Глютен придает тесту эластичность. Марко Попласен / Shutterstock.com

Группа Гарварда за этим исследованием сообщила, что существует обратная связь между потреблением глютена и риском диабета типа 2. Это означает, что чем меньше глютена содержится в рационе, тем выше риск развития диабета типа 2.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Данные для этого захватывающего открытия получены из трех отдельных больших исследований, в которых участвовало почти 200,000 человек. Из этих людей 200,000, случаи 15,947 диабета типа 2 были подтверждены в течение периода наблюдения. Анализ показал, что у тех, кто имел наибольшее потребление глютена, вероятность развития диабета типа 80 на 2% была ниже, чем у тех, у кого был самый низкий уровень потребления глютена.

Это исследование имеет важные последствия для тех, кто должен либо избегать глютен в своей диете. Диабет типа 2 является серьезным заболеванием, которое поражает более 400m людей по всему миру - число, которое наверняка возрастет в течение многих лет.

В совокупности, на долю диабета приходится около 10% всего бюджета ГСЗ, а стоимость лекарств для лечения диабета одна. почти £ 1 млрд. в год, Существует не лекарство от диабета типа 2 и ремиссия невероятно редкий, Это означает, что после диагностики диабета типа 2 практически невозможно вернуться к здоровью.

Важно отметить, что данные для этого исследования были собраны ретроспективно. Это позволяет включать очень большие числа, но опирается на вопросники по частоте приема пищи, собираемые каждые два-четыре года, и честность тех, кто был набран для исследования. Этот тип дизайна исследования редко бывает так же хорош, как и проспективное исследование, в котором вы отслеживаете группы людей, случайно назначенных на диету с низким или высоким содержанием глютена в течение многих лет. Тем не менее, проспективные исследования дороги для проведения и трудно найти достаточно людей, желающих принять участие в них.

Хотя есть некоторые доказательства связи между целиакия и диабет типа 1Это первое исследование, которое показывает связь между потреблением глютена и риском диабета типа 2. Это важный вывод. Для тех, кто выбирает безглютеновую диету, потому что считает ее полезной для здоровья, возможно, пришло время пересмотреть свой выбор продуктов питания.Беседа

Об авторе

Джеймс Браун, преподаватель биологии и биомедицины, Aston University

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = профилактика диабета; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Why Gluten-Free Food Might Increase Your Risk Of Diabetes

Why Gluten-Free Food Might Increase Your Risk Of Diabetes
A dangerous health fad. Teri Virbickis/Shutterstock.com

It’s hard not to notice that the range of gluten-free foods available in supermarkets has increased massively in recent years. This is partly because the rise in the number of people diagnosed with coeliac disease and gluten sensitivity, and partly because celebrities such as Gwyneth Paltrow, Miley Cyrus and Victoria Beckham have praised gluten-free diets. What used to be prescription-only food is now a global health fad. But for how much longer? New research from Harvard University has found a link between gluten-free diets and an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

Gluten is a protein found in cereals such as wheat, rye and barley. It is particularly useful in food production. For example, it gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and keep its shape, and providing a chewy texture. Many types of foods contain gluten, including less obvious ones such as salad dressing, soup and beer.

The same protein that is so useful in food production is a nightmare for people with coeliac disease. Coeliac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten as if it were a threat to the body. The condition is quite common, affecting one in 100 people, but only a quarter of those who have the disease have been diagnosed.

There is evidence that the popularity of gluten-free diets has surged, even though the incidence of coeliac disease has remained stable. This is potentially due to increasing numbers of people with non-coeliac gluten sensitivity. In these cases, people exhibit some of the symptoms of coelaic disease but without having an immune response. In either case, avoiding gluten in foods is the only reliable way to control symptoms, which may include diarrhoea, abdominal pain and bloating.

Without any evidence for beneficial effects, many people without coeliac disease or gluten sensitivity are now turning to gluten-free diets as a “healthy” alternative to a normal diet. Supermarkets have reacted to meet this need by stocking ever growing “free from” ranges. The findings of this recent study, however, suggest that there could be a significant drawback to adopting a gluten-free diet that was not previously known.

Inverse association

Gluten gives dough its elasticity. (why gluten free food might increase your risk of diabetes)Gluten gives dough its elasticity. Marko Poplasen/Shutterstock.com

What the Harvard group behind this study have reported is that there is an inverse association between gluten intake and type 2 diabetes risk. This means that the less gluten found in a diet the higher the risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

The data for this exciting finding comes from three separate, large studies which collectively included almost 200,000 people. Of those 200,000 people, 15,947 cases of type 2 diabetes were confirmed during the follow-up period. Analysis showed that those who had the highest intake of gluten had an 80% lower chance of developing type 2 diabetes compared to those who had the lowest levels of gluten intake.

This study has important implications for those who either have to avoid or choose to avoid gluten in their diet. Type 2 diabetes is a serious condition that affects more than 400m people worldwide – a number which is certain to increase for many years to come.

Collectively, diabetes is responsible for around 10% of the entire NHS budget and drugs to treat diabetes alone cost almost £1 billion annually. There is no cure for type 2 diabetes and remission is extremely rare. This means that once diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, it is almost impossible to revert back to being healthy.

It is important to note that the data for this study was retrospectively gathered. This allows for very large numbers to be included but relies on food-frequency questionnaires collected every two to four years and the honesty of those recruited to the study. This type of study design is rarely as good as a prospective study where you follow groups of people randomly assigned to either have low- or high-gluten diets over many years. However, prospective studies are expensive to run and it’s difficult to find enough people willing to take part in them.

While there is some evidence for a link between coeliac disease and type 1 diabetes, this is the first study to show a link between gluten consumption and the risk of type 2 diabetes. This is an important finding. For those who choose a gluten-free diet because they believe it to be healthy, it may be time to reconsider your food choices.The Conversation

About The Author

James Brown, Lecturer in Biology and Biomedical Science, Aston University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=diabetes prevention;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.