خدر مريح - لماذا يتحول بعض كبار السن إلى الحشيش لتخفيف الآلام

خدر مريح - لماذا يتحول بعض كبار السن إلى الحشيش لتخفيف الآلام
"لا تمانعني يا عزيزي ، لدي مشاكل مشتركة."

عندما يفكر معظم الناس في مستخدمي القنب ، ربما يفكرون بشكل أساسي في الأجيال الشابة. ولكنها في الواقع الفئة العمرية من 45 إلى 64 والتي تظهر أعلى نسبة من الإنفاق الأسري على الحشيش.

تم العثور على الأرقام الأخيرة عن تعاطي القنب في كندا ما يقرب من 5M من الأشخاص بين 15 و 64 أنفقت مبلغًا يقدر بـ 5.7 مليار دولار على الحشيش خلال 2017. هذا واحد من كل خمسة أشخاص في هذه الفئة العمرية. وأنفق معظم هذا على المخدرات للترفيه بدلا من الطبية ، وهو غير قانوني حاليا في كندا. (ويكيبيديا: "في أبريل 13 ، 2017 ، مشروع قانون لإضفاء الشرعية على الحشيش بحلول شهر يوليو 1 ، تم تقديم 2018 إلى البرلمان [الكندي].")

ليس من المستغرب إذن أن صناعة القنب في كندا أكبر الآن من صناعة البيرة والتبغ.

حسناً ، هذا فقط كندا ، قد تفكر ، لكنك ستكون على خطأ. في أستراليا ، يستخدم القنب مدى الحياة أكثر من تضاعف بين 2004 و 2013 في 50s. شهدت المملكة المتحدة اتجاهات مماثلة ، مع استخدام القنب مدى الحياة في المجموعة العمرية 65 إلى 74 يرتفع أكثر من سبعة أضعاف بين 2000 و 2014. في الولايات المتحدة ، معدل استخدام القنب المبلغ عنه ذاتيًا خلال الأشهر 12 السابقة في الأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 65 وما فوقها كما قفزت بشكل كبير بين 2003 و 2014.

الحاجة للأعشاب الضارة

لقد نمت هذه الفئة العمرية في العقود التي شهدت ارتفاع شعبية استخدام الحشيش الترفيهية. لذلك فهم على دراية بالعقار وربما أقل إعاقة لاستخدامه أثناء تطوير مشاكل صحية متعلقة بالعمر.

قد لا يكون الأمر مفاجئًا تمامًا البحوث التي أجريت مؤخرا سلط الضوء على الكيفية التي يتحول بها كبار السن إلى الحشيش لتخفيف الآلام أثناء تطورهم لمشاكل تتعلق بالسن - وللمساعدة في نهاية العمر. في المملكة المتحدة ، آلام أسفل الظهر والرقبة هي السبب الأكثر شيوعًا للإعاقة، لا سيما في مواليد الطفل.

مع تزايد الإمكانات لسوء استخدام مسكنات الألم مثل المواد الأفيونية . gabapentinoidsمن المحتمل جداً أن ينمو استخدام القنب لدى كبار السن. وذلك لأن تخفيف البلى والتلف اليومي للرقبة والوركين والركبتين في مجتمع من المتوقع أن يتضاعف حجمه في جميع أنحاء البلدان المتقدمة ، سيكون صعباً.

حان الوقت للتغيير؟

بالكاد يمر شهر دون أن تعلن أي دولة أو دولة عن خطط لتغيير سياستها بشأن الحشيش. تسمح بعض الولايات الأمريكية لـ 30 الآن بالوصول إلى الحشيش بطريقة أو بأخرى. لكن مجموعة من التنظيم عارضات ازياء تبين أن الأمر لا يقتصر على كونه مجرد "إضفاء الشرعية" على الحشيش - لأن بعض السلطات القضائية لن تسمح إلا بالوصول إلى الحشيش لأسباب طبية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هناك أيضا قيود على أنواع المشاكل الصحية التي تمت الموافقة عليها أو الذين يمكن أن يصف ويوزع القنب الطبي. في الوقت الحاضر ، يتم ترخيص العقاقير التي تحتوي على القنب فقط لعدد محدود من المشاكل الصحية. واحد من هؤلاء هو الألم من تلف الأعصاب ، ولكن فقط في العديد من الأوهام.

لكن الدليل على علاج هذا الألم عبر مجموعة من الاضطرابات الطبية المؤلمة يظل ضعيف. ثم هناك أيضا قضية مخاطر صحية إضافية التي تأتي مع استخدام القنب - والذي يمكن أن يجعله خيارًا خطيرًا كمسكن للألم - خاصة عند كبار السن.

لا راحة في القنب

يرتبط القنب بمجموعة من المشاكل الصحية العقلية والبدنية من التسمم والانسحاب والاستخدام على المدى الطويل. كما أن الأشخاص الأكبر سنا هم أكثر احتمالاً لأن يتناولوا مجموعة من الأدوية - كيف أن هذه التفاعلات مع الحشيش لا تزال غير معروفة. وبالمثل ، قد يكون خطر تطوير مشاكل القلب والأوعية الدموية زيادة باستخدام القنب.

المحادثةوبالاقتران مع عدد من الظروف الطويلة الأجل الأخرى لدى كبار السن ، يبدو أن مخاطر استخدام القنب كمسكن للألم تفوق الأدلة المحدودة والضعيفة حالياً على أي فوائد حقيقية. ما هو مطلوب إذن هو معلومات تستند إلى أدلة موثوقة حول الفوائد وكذلك مخاطر استخدام الحشيش لكبار السن. لأنه حتى ذلك الحين ، كيف سيؤثر ذلك على شخص ما يمكن أن يكون مجرد مسألة حظ.

عن المؤلفين

توني راو ، محاضر زائر في الطب النفسي للشيخوخة ، كينجز كوليدج لندن وإيان هاملتون ، محاضر في الصحة العقلية والإدمان ، جامعة يورك

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = الماريجوانا للألم ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Comfortably Numb – Why Some Older People Turn To Cannabis For Pain Relief

herbs

Comfortably Numb – Why Some Older People Turn To Cannabis For Pain Relief
‘Don’t mind me dear, I’ve got joint problems.’ 

When most people think of cannabis users, they probably think mainly of the younger generations. But it’s actually the 45 to 64 age group who show the highest proportion of household spending on cannabis.

Recent figures on cannabis use in Canada found nearly 5m people aged between 15 and 64 spent an estimated 5.7 billion dollars on cannabis during 2017. That’s one in five people in this age group. Most of this was spent on the drug for recreational rather than medical, which is currently illegal in Canada. (Wikipedia: "On April 13, 2017, a bill to legalize cannabis by July 1, 2018 was introduced to [Canadian] Parliament.")

No surprise then that the cannabis industry in Canada is now bigger than the beer and tobacco industry.

Well, that’s just Canada, you might think, but you would be wrong. In Australia, lifetime cannabis use more than doubled between 2004 and 2013 in the over 50s. The UK has seen similar trends, with lifetime use of cannabis in the 65 to 74 age group rising more than sevenfold between 2000 and 2014. In the US, the rate of self-reported cannabis use over the previous 12 months in people aged 65 and above also jumped massively between 2003 and 2014.

The need for weed

This age group have grown up in the decades that witnessed the rising popularity of recreational cannabis use. So they are familiar with the drug and maybe less inhibited about using it as they develop age-related health problems.

It may not be totally surprising then that recent research has highlighted how older people are turning to cannabis for pain relief as they develop age-related health problems – and for end-of-life care. In the UK, lower back and neck pain is the most common cause of disability, particularly in Baby Boomers.

With the growing potential for the misuse of painkillers such as opioids and gabapentinoids, it is quite possible that cannabis use in older people will grow. This is because easing the everyday wear and tear of the neck, hips and knees of a population that is expected to double in size across developed countries, will be challenging.

High time for change?

Barely a month goes by without a country or state announcing plans to change their policy on cannabis. Some 30 US states now permit access to cannabis in one way or another. But the array of regulatory models shows it is not simply a case of just “legalising” cannabis – as some jurisdictions will only allow access to cannabis for medicinal reasons.

There are also restrictions on the types of health problems that are approved or who can prescribe and dispense medical cannabis. At present, drugs that contain cannabis are only licensed for a limited number of health problems. One of these is pain from nerve damage, but only in multiple scelorosis.

But the evidence for the treatment of such pain across a range of painful medical disorders remains weak. Then there is also the issue of additional health risks that come with the use of cannabis – which can make it a risky choice as a painkiller – particularly in older people.

No comfort in cannabis

Cannabis is associated with a range of both mental and physical health problems from intoxication, withdrawal and long-term use. Older people are also more likely to be taking a range of medications – how these interact with cannabis is still unknown. Likewise, the risk of developing cardiovascular problems may be increased by using cannabis.

The ConversationCombined with a number of other long-term conditions in older people, the risks from using cannabis as a painkiller appear to outweigh the limited and currently weak evidence for any real benefits. What is needed then is credible evidence based information on the benefits as well as risks of using cannabis for older people. Because until then, how it’s going to affect someone can simply be a matter of pot luck.

About The Authors

Tony Rao, Visiting Lecturer in Old Age Psychiatry, King's College London and Ian Hamilton, Lecturer in mental health and addiction, University of York

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Cannabis for Chronic Pain: A Proven Prescription for Using Marijuana to Relieve Your Pain and Heal Your Life
herbsAuthor: Dr. Rav Ivker
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Touchstone
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

Pain Free Forever!: The Secrets of Medicinal Marijuana and Lifelong Pain Management (Pain, Pain Management, Marijuana, Cancer, Fibromyalgia, Medical Marijuana, ... Medicinal Marijuana, Pain Free, Holistic)
herbsAuthor: Juergen Maslow
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

Pain Relief Cream: Your Guide to Making Marijuana Pain Cream
herbsAuthor: Billie Bianca
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

herbs
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}