منازل صغيرة تبدو رائعة ولكن لها جانب مظلم كذلك

الصفحة الرئيسية

منازل صغيرة تبدو رائعة ولكن لها جانب مظلم كذلكالغرفة والظلام؟

منازل صغيرة في كل مكان. لقد تلقوا الثقيلة تغطية in وسائل الاعلام و ها هم ملايين of أتباع على عشرات الصفحات على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. في حين أنه لا يوجد إحصاء لهذه المنازل ، فقد شهدوا ارتفاعًا في شعبية العقد منذ الركود العظيم - شاهد نمو غزير من مصنعي المنازل الصغيرة ، على سبيل المثال. نشأت في الولايات المتحدة ، وقد ظهرت المنازل الصغيرة أيضا في جميع أنحاء كندا واستراليا و المملكة المتحدة.

يتم الترويج للمنازل الصغيرة إجابة لأزمة السكن الميسور التكلفة ؛ بديل مرغوب فيه من المنازل التقليدية والرهون العقارية. ومع ذلك ، هناك العديد من التعقيدات والتناقضات التي تحيط بهذه المساحات الصغيرة ، كما اكتشفت عندما بدأت التحقيق فيها.

لقد قمت بجولة في المنازل ، وحضرت مهرجانات منزلية صغيرة ، وبقيت في مجتمع منزلي صغير وأجريت مقابلات مع عشرات الأشخاص الذين يعيشون داخلها. استغرقني بحثي في ​​جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، من وحدة ملحقة تم تحويلها محشورة بين منزلين متوسطي الحجم في جزيرة ستاتن إلى مجتمع في فلوريدا مليء بهياكل صغيرة جميلة وذات ألوان زاهية - تقع بشكل مناسب على الطريق من ديزني لاند. إليك ثلاثة أشياء اكتشفتها بشكل غير متوقع على طول الطريق.

1. منازل صغيرة وسلم الإسكان

الألفية لديهم علاقة معقدة مع ملكية المنازل. انهم في كثير من الاحيان لا يزال تريد امتلاك منزل ولكن ببساطة لا يمكن القيام به بنفس الطريقة مع والديهم ، وتعرف باسم "جيل الايجار" كنتيجة ل.

جميع الألفيين من أصحاب الأفلام الصغيرة الذين قابلتهم أرادت أن تمتلك منازل أكبر في المستقبل. رأوا حياة صغيرة كوسيلة لامتلاك شيء الآن والقدرة على الادخار في نفس الوقت. خطط العديد من الأزواج الشباب للترقية بمجرد إنجاب الأطفال ، وبيع منازلهم الصغيرة أو حتى الاحتفاظ بها كبيت ضيافة.

ولكن إذا رأوا هذه المنازل كخيار مؤقت ، فإنهم سيتخلون عن حياتهم مع تقدم حياتهم ، ولكنها ليست دائما سهلة في الممارسة العملية. وبصرف النظر عن التحدي الواضح المتمثل في توفير ما يكفي لتوفير مكان أكبر ، فليس من السهل بيع منازل صغيرة منذ ذلك الحين عادة ما تنخفض في القيمة. ولأنها غير مرتبطة بالأرض ، فغالبًا ما تكون هناك علامة استفهام حول جدواها على المدى الطويل أيضًا.

2. لا أساس

منازل صغيرة تميل إلى أن تكون على عجلات كوسيلة للالتفاف على الحكومة قوانين على الحد الأدنى لحجم مسكن للسكن. هذا غالبا ما يجعل سكانها يشعرون بعدم الاستقرار. في تجربتي الخاصة البقاء في منزل صغير ، أذكر شعور الوعي العام للعجلات تحت وتهتز طفيف كما قفزت من سلم الوصول إلى السرير العلوي.

وكما قال لي أحد الذين أجرى معهم مقابلة مع شريكه وصغيره في أرض خاصة في ولاية واشنطن الريفية:

لا يشعر أن يرتكز. يبدو أننا مفصولون عن الأرض بسبب وجود عجلات تحتنا ... إنه تذكير دائم ... أنت في حالة الإسكان الهشة هذه.

كانت غالبية السكان الذين تحدثت إليهم متحمسين للعيش على أساس متين في المستقبل. قابلت أحد الألفين الذين استخدموا تمويل كليتها لبناء منزل صغير مصمم بشكل جميل ومخصص ، لكنهم شعروا بأنهم لا أساس لهم من الصحة بعد سنة من العيش على عجلات كانت تحاول بيعها.

هذا يشير إلى أن قوانين البناء ستحتاج إلى الاسترخاء للسماح لمزيد من المساكن الصغيرة بالعيش على أسس. بعض الأماكن أخذت زمام المبادرة في هذا بالفعل - مثال واحد هي سبور ، تكساس ، التي غيرت قوانين الإسكان ذات الصلة بها ، مع نية صريحة لجذب المساكن الصغيرة استجابةً لانخفاض عدد السكان. سبور هو نصب نفسها كأول مدينة صغيرة صديقة في أمريكا.

على نطاق أوسع ، ومع ذلك ، القانونية حول منازل صغيرة لا تزال معقدة. استمروا لتقييد القدرة على نمط الحياة هذا في الولايات المتحدة وأماكن أخرى. في المملكة المتحدة ، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تكون هناك مشكلات في قوانين التخطيط التي تتطلب أن تحتوي جميع المساكن الجديدة على أكثر من مساحة سرير واحد. في جنوب غرب انجلترا ، مجلس مدينة بريستول نقض مؤخرا مثل هذه القواعد للسماح ببناء العديد من المنازل الصغيرة في الحديقة الخلفية لمنزل مدرج في الضواحي ، معتبرة أنه كان من الضروري المساعدة في التخفيف من أزمة الإسكان المحلية.

3. منازل صغيرة ≠ استهلاك صغير

كثيرا ما يتم طرح المنازل الصغيرة كخيار إسكان أكثر استدامة. هم بالتأكيد فحص محتمل على مواصلة البحث عن منازل أكبر واستهلاك أكبر للطاقة ومواد البناء وما إلى ذلك. ومع ذلك ، فإن تقليل تأثيرك البيئي عن طريق الذهاب إلى الحد الأدنى ليس بالأمر البسيط وقد ادعى.

جئت عبر العديد من الأسر الصغيرة التي كانت تستخدم مساحات تخزين خارجية للعناصر التي لا تتناسب في المنزل ، على سبيل المثال. يشار إلى أنه آخر "سِرًا قذرًا" من قِبل أحد الأشخاص الذين أجريت معهم مقابلة ، فشرح لها رغبتها في الاحتفاظ بمواد من منزلها السابق في حالة أنها غيرت رأيها بشأن الحياة الصغيرة.

منازل صغيرة تبدو رائعة ولكن لها جانب مظلم كذلك صفقة عجلة القيادة. بول فاندرف, CC BY-SA

أكثر من نصف من أجريت معهم المقابلات كان لديهم عقلية "واحدة في الداخل والخارج" ، حيث كانوا يرمون أو يتبرعون بقطعة واحدة لإفساح المجال لشيء جديد. كما قال أحد ساكنيها في وقت متأخر من 30s ، الذي يعيش في منزل حديث للغاية في حديقة قافلة في ريف نيو هامبشاير ، وقال: "لدي إدمان TK Maxx. ما زلت أخرج كل بضعة أشهر وأشتري مجموعة من الأشياء ثم أعود إلى المنزل وأقرر أي الأشياء للتخلص منها. "

وبغض النظر عن كيفية تسويق عشاق الحياة الصغيرة لهم ، لم تكن الاستدامة المحرك الرئيسي لمعظم المشاركين في دراستي. بدلا من ذلك كان ما يقرب من التفكير. يبدو أن الأمر يتطلب أكثر من تغيير حجم المنزل لتغيير عقلية الناس الذين يعيشون في الداخل.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ميغان كاراس ، باحثة الدكتوراه ، الجغرافيا والتنمية المستدامة ، جامعة سانت اندروز

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الصفحة الرئيسية
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Tiny Houses Look Marvelous But Have A Dark Side As Well

home

Tiny Houses Look Marvelous But Have A Dark Side As WellRoom and gloom?

Tiny houses are everywhere. They’ve received heavy coverage in the media and there are millions of followers on dozens of pages on social media. While there is no census for these homes, they have seen a surge in popularity in the decade since the Great Recession – witness the prolific growth of tiny house manufacturers, for instance. Originating in the US, tiny homes have also been popping up across Canada, Australia and the UK.

Tiny houses are promoted as an answer to the affordable housing crisis; a desirable alternative to traditional homes and mortgages. Yet there are many complexities and contradictions that surround these tiny spaces, as I discovered when I began investigating them.

I have toured homes, attended tiny house festivals, stayed in a tiny house community and interviewed several dozen people who live inside them. My research took me throughout the US, from a converted accessory unit squeezed between two average size homes on Staten Island to a community in Florida full of cute and brightly coloured tiny structures – appropriately located just down the road from Disneyland. Here are three things I unexpectedly discovered along the way.

1. Tiny homes and the housing ladder

Millenials have a complicated relationship with home ownership. They often still want to own a home but are simply not able to do it in the same way as their parents, and are known as “Generation Rent” as a result.

All the tiny-houser millenials that I interviewed wanted to own bigger houses in future; they saw tiny living as a means of owning something now and being able to save at the same time. Several young couples planned to upgrade once they had children, selling their tiny homes or even keeping them as guesthouses.

But if they saw these homes as a temporary option they would abandon as their lives progressed, it’s not always so straightforward in practice. Apart from the obvious challenge of saving enough to afford a bigger place, it’s not easy to sell tiny homes since they usually depreciate in value. And because they are not attached to land, there is often a question mark about their long-term viability as well.

2. Groundlessness

Tiny homes tend to be on wheels as a way of getting around government regulations on minimum habitable dwelling size. This often makes their inhabitants feel unsettled. In my own experience staying in a tiny home, I recall feeling a general awareness of the wheels underneath and a slight swaying as I jumped from the ladder that accessed the lofted bed.

As one interviewee who lives with his partner and small child on private land in rural Washington State told me:

It doesn’t feel that grounded; it feels like we are detached from the earth because there are wheels underneath us… It’s a constant reminder… you are in this fragile state of housing.

The majority of dwellers that I talked to were eager to live on a solid foundation in future. I met one millennial who used her college fund to build a beautifully crafted and customised tiny home, but felt so groundless after only a year of living on wheels that she was trying to sell.

This suggests that building codes will need to be relaxed to allow more tiny housers to live on foundations. Some places have taken the lead on this already – one example is Spur, Texas, which has changed its relevant housing laws with the express intention of attracting tiny housers in response to a declining population. Spur is pitching itself as the first tiny house friendly town in America.

More broadly, however, the legalities around tiny homes remain complicated. They continue to restrict the potential for this lifestyle both in the US and elsewhere. In the UK, for instance, there can be issues with planning laws that require all new dwellings to have more than one bed space. In southwest England, Bristol City Council recently overruled such rules to allow several tiny homes to be built in the back garden of a terraced house in the suburbs, reckoning that it was necessary to help alleviate a local housing crisis.

3. Tiny homes ≠ tiny consumption

Tiny houses are often put forward as a more sustainable housing option. They are certainly a potential check on the continued pursuit of bigger houses and greater consumption of energy, building materials and so forth. Yet reducing your environmental impact by going tiny is not as simple as some have claimed.

I came across several tiny households that were using external storage spaces for items that wouldn’t fit in the home, for example. Referred to as a “dirty secret” by one interviewee, another explained her desire to keep items from her previous home in case she changed her mind about tiny living.

Tiny Houses Look Marvelous But Have A Dark Side As Well The wheel deal. Paul VanDerWerf, CC BY-SA

Over half of my interviewees had a “one in, one out” mentality, where they would throw away or donate one item to make space for something new. As one dweller in her late 30s, who lives in a state-of-the-art home in a caravan park in rural New Hampshire, said, “I have a TK Maxx addiction. I still go out every couple months and buy a bunch of stuff then come home and decide which things to get rid of.”

Regardless of how tiny living is marketed by the enthusiasts, sustainability was not a major driver for most of the participants in my study. Instead it was almost an afterthought. It seemingly takes more than changing the size of a home to change the mentality of the people who live inside.The Conversation

About The Author

Megan Carras, Doctoral Researcher, Geography and Sustainable Development, University of St Andrews

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Tiny House Design & Construction Guide
homeAuthor: Dan S Louche
Binding: Paperback
Format: Unabridged
Publisher: Tilt Development
List Price: $29.99

Buy Now

Country Living Tiny Homes: Living Big in Small Spaces
homeAuthor: Country Living
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Hearst
List Price: $24.95

Buy Now

Tiny House Designing, Building, & Living (Idiot's Guides)
homeAuthor: Andrew Morrison
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Alpha
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

home
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}