كيميائية أو طبيعية: ما هي أفضل طريقة لصد البعوض؟

الصحة

كيميائية أو طبيعية: ما هي أفضل طريقة لصد البعوض؟

البعوض ليس مجرد مزعج. كل عام حول 5,000 ، يصاب الأستراليون بالمرض بعد لسعة البعوض. الأكثر شيوعا هو العدوى فيروس نهر روس ولكن هناك نشاط سنوي لل فيروسات حمى الضنك في شمال كوينزلاند وهناك حالات عرضية نادرة ، لكن قاتلة ، موراي وادي التهاب الدماغ.

قد يؤدي رش المبيدات الحشرية إلى قتل بعض البعوض حول الأفنية الخلفية لدينا ، لكنه لن يحمينا تمامًا من لدغات الموزي.

إن التخلص من أو التخلص من أو التخلص من أي حاويات مملوءة بالماء حول الفناء الخلفي سوف يسلب لهم الفرص للتكاثر في الأفنية الخلفية. ولكن ليس هناك الكثير مما يمكنك القيام به إذا كانت تسير من الأراضي الرطبة القريبة.

البعوض لا يذهب إلى أي مكان. إنها جزء طبيعي من بيئتنا وتجد بشكل متزايد أ المنزل داخل مدننا. سيتعين علينا أن نتعلم كيف نتعايش معهم ، ونواجه التحدي لتجنب لدغاتهم.

خط الدفاع الأول

سيؤدي تجنب الأراضي الرطبة أو الأدغال عند الفجر والغسق إلى ضمان فقد الوقت والمكان الأكثر نشاطًا للبعوض.

إن ارتداء القمصان والسراويل ذات الألوان الفاتحة ذات الألوان الطويلة لن يصد البعوض ولكنك ستجذب عددًا أقل إليك. أولئك الذين يقومون بالأرض سيكونون أقل عرضة للعض إذا كانت الملابس غير مناسبة. يمكنك أن تنظر أيضا علاج الملابس بالمبيدات الحشرية لمزيد من الحماية.

بالنسبة للبشرة المكشوفة ، لا يوجد بديل عن المواد الطاردة للحشرات الموضعية. لا يوجد شيء يمكنك أن تأكله أو تشربه يمنع لدغات البعوض ، لذا ستحتاج إلى اختيار تركيبة طاردك المفضلة.

يجب أن يتم تسجيل أي منتج للبيع في أستراليا يدعى لصد البعوض لدى الهيئة الأسترالية لمبيدات الآفات والأدوية البيطرية. سيخبرك الملصق الموجود على طاردتك بالمكونات الموجودة في كل تركيبة. ولكن ليس كل المواد الطاردة متساوية.

المواد الكيميائية طارد

الفترة الزمنية الافتراضية الأكثر فعالية طارد الموضعية هي تلك التي تحتوي على إما ديت أو بيكاريدين. وقد ثبت أن هذين المنتجين مرارًا ما يحميان من اللدغات ، وعلى الرغم من الاعتقاد الخاطئ الشائع ، فقد ثبت أنهما كذلك آمنة للاستخدام، بما في ذلك على الأطفال فوق سن ثلاثة أشهر.

بينما لا يزال هناك بعض النقاش حول ما إذا كانت منتجات مثل DEET وبيكاريدين تتصدى بشكل نشط أو تخلط ببساطة بين البعوض بحثًا عن الدم ، فلا شك أنه عند تطبيقها على الجلد المكشوف ، يتوقفون عن العض عن طريق البعوض.

ومع ذلك ، من المهم أن نفهم ما تخبرك به "قوة" الصياغة عن مدى صد البعوض.

لنأخذ DEET كمثال. ستحدد "قوة" المادة الطاردة (تركيز DEET في الصيغة التجارية) إلى متى يتم منع mozzies من العض. هذا يعني أنه لفترات قصيرة ، لنحو ساعتين ، لن تتوقف طارد "الجرعة المنخفضة" تمامًا عن طارد البعوض مثل طارد "الجرعة العالية" (غالبًا ما يطلق عليه اسم القوة المدارية).

ولكن في حين أن طارد "الجرعة المنخفضة" قد يتوقف عن العمل بعد بضع ساعات ، فإن طارد "الجرعة العالية" سيوفر الحماية لساعات عديدة. تنطبق نفس المعادلة على المواد الطاردة المستندة إلى بيكاريدين.

في أستراليا ، يحتوي طارد الجرعة الأعلى على 80٪ DEET والدراسات المختبرية وقد أظهرت أكثر من عشر ساعات الحماية من لدغ البعوض.

ولكن إذا كنت ستظل بالخارج لفترة قصيرة فقط ، فليست هناك حاجة حقًا إلى استخدام تركيبة "جرعة عالية".

المواد الطاردة النباتية

يُزعم أن مقتطفات من نباتات مختلفة مختلفة لصد البعوض. في العديد من الثقافات ، استخدمت أوراق عطرية مشتعلة لصد البعوض ببعض النجاح. ولكن ماذا عن المواد الطاردة الموضعية القائمة على النبات؟

تحتوي بعض المواد الطاردة "النباتية" الأكثر انتشارًا على واحدة أو مزيج من السترونيلا أو شجرة الشاي أو الكافور أو زيت اللافندر أو النعناع. زيوت أساسية من النباتات المحلية الأسترالية هي أيضا شعبية.

كيميائية أو طبيعية: ما هي أفضل طريقة لصد البعوض؟قد تساعد شعلات السترونيلا في تقليل عدد الخنازير العضية لكنها لن توفر حماية كاملة. المنظمة الدولية للكاراتيه / فليكر, CC BY-NC-SA

لكن نادرا هل توفر هذه المواد الطاردة نفس مدة الحماية التي توفرها DEET أو المواد الطاردة للبيكاردين.

إذا كنت بالخارج لفترة قصيرة ، فقد لا تكون هذه مشكلة. إذا كنت متجهاً نحو نزهة شجرية أو نزهة بالقرب من الأراضي الرطبة المحلية أو فترة من الحدائق في وقت متأخر بعد الظهر ، فستحتاج إلى إعادة تطبيق المستحضرات "النباتية" ثلاث إلى أربع مرات في كثير من الأحيان كما طارد جرعة DEET مقرها منخفضة.

من المهم أيضًا أن تتذكر أنه على الرغم من أن هذه المواد الطاردة للنباتات "النباتية" غالبًا ما تعتبر أكثر أمانًا للاستخدام ، إلا أن هناك العديد من الأمثلة على ردود فعل الجلد الضارة الناتجة عن الإفراط في تطبيق الزيوت الأساسية على الجلد.

حتى المنتجات النباتية المسجلة عمومًا لا ينصح باستخدامها للأطفال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 12.

هناك الكثير من لفائف البعوض والعصي المتوفرة التي تحتوي على مواد طاردة للنباتات مثل السترونيلا. بينما هذه تساعد على تقليل عدد البعوض العض ، فإنها لن توفر الحماية الكاملة التي سوف طارد موضعي القائم على DEET.

ليس فقط ما تختاره ولكن كيف تستخدمه

لا يهم أي نوع من المواد الطاردة التي تختارها ، إلا إذا كان هناك تطبيق كامل لجميع البشرة المكشوفة ، فلن تكون محمية بالكامل. يتمتع البعوض بمهارة عالية في العثور على أصغر الثغرات الموجودة في دروعك الطاردة.

إن رش مادة الطارد على الملابس أو إعطاء ربت "هنا وهناك" لن يوفر الحماية. تحتاج إلى تطبيقه كما لو كنت واقٍ من الشمس ولكن ربما ليس كثيرًا. غطاء رفيع يكفي لفترات قصيرة من الحماية.

من الواضح أن إعادة التقديم مطلوبة بعد السباحة أو التعرق.

ماذا عن تلك العصابات المعصم؟

في منتصف فترة ما بعد الظهيرة الصيفية الحارة والرطبة ، يعد فرك مادة لزجة إلى حد ما على بشرتك بعيدًا عن الجاذبية. لا عجب في أن هناك اهتمامًا كبيرًا بأشرطة المعصم والبقع التي يزعم أنها تحمي من لدغات البعوض.

لكنهم يعملون فقط ل بضعة ملليمترات جانبي الفرقة. الفحوصات المخبرية أشارت عصابات الرسغ التي تحتوي على زيت أساسي إلى أنه بينما كان هناك انخفاض في عدد البعوض الذي يحاول العض بالقرب من الشريط ، كان هناك القليل من الحماية على الذراع العلوي. أنها لا توفر الحماية "الجسم كله" ضد البعوض العض وليس كذلك بديل فعال إلى طارد موضعي.

يتم تسويق المنتجات النباتية والأساور على أنها "أكثر أمانًا" أو "أكثر طبيعية" أو "أكثر ملاءمة للاستخدام". لكن المستخدمين قد يعرضون أنفسهم عن غير قصد لخطر الإصابة بالأمراض التي تنقلها البعوض. توفر تركيبات طارد DEET- أو بيكاريدين أفضل حماية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

كاميرون ويب ، محاضر سريري وعالم مستشفى رئيسي ، جامعة سيدني

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ الكلمات الأساسية = صد البعوض ؛ maxresults = 3}

الصحة
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

health

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite. Most commonly the infection is Ross River virus but there is annual activity of dengue viruses in north Queensland and there are occasional cases of the rare, but potentially fatal, Murray Valley encephalitis virus.

Spraying insecticides may kill some mosquitoes around our backyards but it won’t completely protect us from mozzie bites.

Tipping out, throwing away or covering up any water-holding containers around the backyard will take away opportunities for them to breed in our backyards. But there isn’t much you can do if they’re flying in from nearby wetlands.

Mosquitoes aren’t going anywhere. They’re a natural part of our environment and they’re increasingly finding a home within our cities. We’re going to have to learn to live with them, and take on the challenge to avoid their bites.

The first line of defence

Avoiding wetlands or bushland at dawn and dusk will ensure you’re missing the time and place where mosquitoes are most active.

Wearing light-coloured long-sleeved shirts and pants won’t repel mosquitoes but you’ll attract fewer to you. Those that do land will be less likely to bite through if clothing is loose-fitting. You can also consider treating the clothing with insecticide for added protection.

For exposed skin, there really isn’t an alternative to topical insect repellents. There is nothing you can eat or drink that will prevent mosquito bites so you’ll need to pick out your favourite repellent formulation.

Any product for sale in Australia purporting to repel mosquitoes must be registered with the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority. The label on your repellent will tell you what the ingredients are in each formulation. But not all repellents are equal.

Chemical repellents

The most effective topical repellents are those that contain either DEET or picaridin. These two products have repeatedly been shown to protect against bites and, despite the common misconception, have shown to be safe to use, including on children over the age of three months.

While there is still some debate about whether products such as DEET and picaridin actively repel or simply confuse mosquitoes looking for blood, there is no doubt that when applied to exposed skin, they stop biting by mosquitoes.

It is, however, important to understand what the “strength” of a formulation tells you about how well it will repel mosquitoes.

Let’s take DEET as an example. The “strength” of the repellent (the concentration of DEET in the commercial formulation) will determine for how long mozzies are prevented from biting. This means that for short periods, say around two hours, a “low dose” repellent will stop just as many mosquitoes from biting as a “high dose” (often called tropical strength) repellent.

But while that “low dose” repellent may stop working after a few hours, the “high dose” repellent will provide protection for many, many hours. The same equation applies to picaridin-based repellents.

In Australia, the highest-dose repellent contains 80% DEET and laboratory studies have demonstrated over ten hours protection from biting mosquitoes.

But if you’re only going to be outside for a short period, there is really no need to use a “high dose” formulation.

Botanical repellents

Extracts from many different plants have been purported to repel mosquitoes. In many cultures, smouldering aromatic leaves have been used to repel mosquitoes with some success. But what about plant-based topical repellents?

Some of the most widely available “botanical” repellents contain one or a blend of citronella, tea-tree, eucalyptus, lavender or catmint oils. Essential oils from Australian native plants are also popular.

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?Citronella burners may help reduce the number of biting mozzies but they won’t provide complete protection. i k o/Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

But rarely do these repellents provide the same duration of protection as DEET or picaridin-based repellents.

If you’re only outside for a short time, this may not be a problem. If you’re heading out for a bush walk, picnic near local wetlands or a stint of gardening in the late afternoon, you’ll need to reapply “botanical” formulations three to four times as frequently as low dose DEET-based repellents.

It’s also important to remember that although these “botanical” repellents are often perceived to be safer to use, there are plenty of examples of adverse skin reactions resulting from the over application of essential oils to skin.

Even registered botanical products are generally not advised for use on children under 12 months of age.

There are plenty of mosquito coils and sticks available that contain plant-based repellents such as citronella. While these help reduce the number of biting mosquitoes, they won’t provide the complete protection that a topical DEET-based repellent will.

It’s not just what you choose but how you use

It doesn’t matter what type of repellent you choose, unless there is a complete application to all exposed skin, you won’t be completely protected. Mosquitoes are highly skilled at finding the smallest chinks in your repellent armour.

Spraying repellent on clothes or giving a dab “here and there” won’t provide protection. You need to apply it like you would sunscreen but probably not quite so much. A thin cover is enough for short periods of protection.

Obviously, reapplication is required after swimming or sweating.

What about those wrist bands?

In the middle of a hot and humid summer afternoon, rubbing a somewhat sticky substance over your skin is far from appealing. It’s little wonder that there is great interest in wrist bands and patches that purport to protect against mosquito bites.

But they only work for a few millimetres either side of the band. Laboratory testing of wrist bands containing an essential oil indicated that while there was a reduction in the number of mosquitoes attempting to bite close to the band, there was little protection on the upper arm. They don’t provide “whole body” protection against biting mosquitoes and aren’t an effective alternative to topical repellents.

Botanical products and wristbands are marketed as “safer”, “more natural” or “more convenient to use”. But users may be inadvertently putting themselves at risk of mosquito-borne disease. DEET- or picaridin-based repellent formulations provide the best protection.

About The Author

Cameron Webb, Clinical Lecturer and Principal Hospital Scientist, University of Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Outsmart Mosquito Bite Allergy Now: How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, The Natural Way!

healthAuthor: M.J. van der Heijden
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Virtualbytes LLC
Label: Virtualbytes LLC
Publisher: Virtualbytes LLC
Manufacturer: Virtualbytes LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Exclusively on Kindle, ours is an eBook which tells you everything you need to know on How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, the Natural Way! After all, there are natural ways by which you can outsmart mosquitoes instead of them outwitting you. With plenty of useful information, you will not make the same mistakes others have already made.

Designed for anyone who has had trouble dealing with mosquito bites and allergies, what this eBook proposes are real solutions that work! Simple yet effective, these solutions come in the form of mosquito-repelling foods and herbs, insect-repelling garden plants, natural essential oils, and therapeutic remedies which drive mosquitoes away for good. Safe and practical, they also include preventive measures which you can apply in your daily life as part of smart, mosquito-free living.

Ultimately, the mosquito problem is one that is never too big to handle or face, not when you have natural mosquito repellents and remedies behind you. In the battle between man and mosquito, you can rise above infection and win over disease. Suffer no more from the symptoms and effects of mosquito bites and allergies, now that the problem has become something which you can treat, control, and prevent!




101 Amazing Ways to Use Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More! (101 Amazing Uses)

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Brand: AMERICAN WEST BOOKS
Studio: Familius
Label: Familius
Publisher: Familius
Manufacturer: Familius

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Essential Oils have been used for thousands of years in various cultures for a variety of health purposes. These ancient oils act as a natural medicine that contains the most proven therapeutic compounds in the world. This book will provide you with 101 ways to use these natural oils to alleviate stress, repel mosquitos, calm an upset child, reduce wrinkles and so much more. This step by step guide will provide the basic knowledge needed for naturally healing a variety of common ailments.





101 Amazing Uses for Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More!

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Familius India
Label: Familius India
Publisher: Familius India
Manufacturer: Familius India

Buy Now
Editorial Review: BRAND NEW, Exactly same ISBN as listed, Please double check ISBN carefully before ordering.




health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}