Produit chimique ou naturel: quel est le meilleur moyen de repousser les moustiques?

Produit chimique ou naturel: quel est le meilleur moyen de repousser les moustiques?

Les moustiques ne sont pas simplement ennuyeux. Chaque année, autour de 5,000, les Australiens tombent malades à la suite d’une piqûre de moustique. Le plus souvent, l'infection est Virus de la rivière Ross mais il y a une activité annuelle de virus de la dengue dans le nord du Queensland et il y a des cas occasionnels de la rare, mais potentiellement mortelle, Virus de l'encéphalite de Murray Valley.

La pulvérisation d'insecticides peut tuer certains moustiques autour de notre cour, mais cela ne nous protégera pas complètement des piqûres de mozzie.

Donner des pourboires, jeter ou couvrir tous les récipients contenant de l'eau autour de la cour leur coupera l'occasion de se reproduire dans notre cour. Mais vous ne pouvez pas faire grand chose s'ils arrivent par avion des zones humides à proximité.

Les moustiques ne vont nulle part. Ils font naturellement partie de notre environnement et ils trouvent de plus en plus un la maison dans nos villes. Nous allons devoir apprendre à vivre avec eux et à relever le défi d'éviter leurs piqûres.

La première ligne de défense

Éviter les zones humides ou les broussailles à l'aube et au crépuscule vous assurera de rater l'heure et le lieu où les moustiques sont les plus actifs.

Le port de chemises et de pantalons clairs à manches longues ne repoussera pas les moustiques, mais vous attirerez moins de personnes. Ceux qui atterriront auront moins tendance à se frayer un chemin si les vêtements sont amples. Vous pouvez aussi envisager traiter les vêtements avec un insecticide pour une protection supplémentaire.

Pour les peaux exposées, il n'y a pas vraiment d'alternative aux insectifuges topiques. Il n'y a rien que vous puissiez manger ou boire qui prévienne les piqûres de moustiques, vous devrez donc choisir votre formule répulsive préférée.

Tout produit vendu en Australie et censé repousser les moustiques doit être enregistré auprès du Autorité australienne des pesticides et des médicaments vétérinaires. L'étiquette sur votre répulsif vous dira quels sont les ingrédients dans chaque formulation. Mais tous les répulsifs ne sont pas égaux.

Répulsifs chimiques

Le le plus efficace répulsifs topiques sont ceux qui contiennent soit DEET ou picaridine. Il a été démontré à maintes reprises que ces deux produits protégeaient contre les piqûres et, malgré l’idée fausse commune, sûr à utiliser, y compris chez les enfants de plus de trois mois.

Tant qu'il y a encore un débat que des produits tels que le DEET et la picaridine repoussent activement ou simplement confondent les moustiques à la recherche de sang, il ne fait aucun doute que, appliqués sur une peau exposée, ils cessent de se faire mordre par les moustiques.

Cependant, il est important de comprendre ce que la «force» d'une formulation vous dit à quel point elle repoussera les moustiques.

Prenons le DEET comme exemple. La «force» du répulsif (la concentration de DEET dans la formulation commerciale) déterminera pendant combien de temps les mozzies ne pourront pas être mordus. Cela signifie que pendant de courtes périodes, environ deux heures environ, un répulsif «à faible dose» empêchera autant de moustiques de mordre qu'un répulsif «à forte dose» (souvent appelé résistance tropicale).

Mais si ce répulsif «à faible dose» peut cesser de fonctionner après quelques heures, le répulsif «à forte dose» assurera une protection pendant de nombreuses heures. La même équation s'applique aux répulsifs à base de picaridine.

En Australie, le répulsif à la dose la plus élevée contient 80% DEET et des études de laboratoire ont démontré plus de dix heures de protection de mordre les moustiques.

Mais si vous ne restez à l’extérieur que pendant une courte période, il n’est vraiment pas nécessaire d’utiliser une formulation «à dose élevée».

Répulsifs botaniques

Des extraits de nombreuses plantes différentes ont été supposés repousser les moustiques. Dans de nombreuses cultures, les feuilles aromatiques fumantes ont été utilisées pour repousser les moustiques avec un certain succès. Mais qu'en est-il des répulsifs topiques à base de plantes?

Certains des répulsifs «botaniques» les plus répandus contiennent un ou un mélange d’huiles de citronnelle, d’arbre à thé, d’eucalyptus, de lavande ou de menthe cat. Huiles essentielles de Plantes indigènes australiennes sont également populaires.

Produit chimique ou naturel: quel est le meilleur moyen de repousser les moustiques?Les brûleurs à la citronnelle peuvent aider à réduire le nombre de mozzies mordants, mais ils ne fourniront pas une protection complète. iko / Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Mais rarement Ces répulsifs offrent-ils la même durée de protection que les répulsifs à base de DEET ou de picaridine?

Si vous ne restez que peu de temps à l’extérieur, cela n’est peut-être pas un problème. Si vous partez pour une promenade dans la brousse, un pique-nique près des zones humides locales ou un jardinage en fin d’après-midi, vous devrez faire une nouvelle demande de formulation «botanique». trois à quatre fois plus souvent comme répulsifs à faible dose à base de DEET.

Il est également important de se rappeler que, bien que ces répulsifs «botaniques» soient souvent perçus comme étant plus sûrs à utiliser, il existe de nombreux exemples de réactions cutanées indésirables résultant de l'application excessive d'huiles essentielles sur la peau.

Même les produits botaniques enregistrés ne sont généralement pas recommandés pour une utilisation chez les enfants de moins de 12.

Il existe de nombreuses bobines et bâtons anti-moustiques contenant des répulsifs à base de plantes tels que la citronnelle. Alors que ces aider à réduire En raison du nombre de moustiques piquants, ils ne fourniront pas la protection complète qu’aura un insectifuge topique à base de DEET.

Ce n'est pas seulement ce que vous choisissez mais comment vous utilisez

Peu importe le type d'insectifuge que vous choisissez, à moins d'une application complète sur toutes les peaux exposées, vous ne serez pas complètement protégé. Les moustiques sont très habiles à trouver les plus petites failles dans votre armure répulsive.

Pulvériser de l'insectifuge sur les vêtements ou appliquer une touche «ici et là» ne fournira aucune protection. Vous devez l'appliquer comme un écran solaire, mais probablement pas autant. Une fine pellicule suffit pour de courtes périodes de protection.

De toute évidence, une nouvelle application est nécessaire après la baignade ou la transpiration.

Qu'en est-il de ces poignets?

Au milieu d'un après-midi d'été chaud et humide, appliquer une substance collante sur votre peau est loin d'être attrayant. Il n’ya donc rien d’étonnant à ce que les bracelets et les patchs qui protègent contre les piqûres de moustiques suscitent un vif intérêt.

Mais ils ne travaillent que pour quelques millimètres de chaque côté du groupe. Les tests de laboratoire La présence de serre-poignets contenant une huile essentielle indique que, malgré la réduction du nombre de moustiques essayant de mordre près du bracelet, le niveau de protection du haut du bras est faible. Ils n'offrent pas de protection «corps entier» contre les moustiques piqueurs et ne sont pas une alternative efficace aux répulsifs topiques.

Les produits et bracelets botaniques sont commercialisés comme «plus sûrs», «plus naturels» ou «plus pratiques à utiliser». Mais les utilisateurs peuvent s'exposer par inadvertance à des maladies transmises par les moustiques. Les formulations répulsives à base de DEET ou de picaridine offrent la meilleure protection.

A propos de l'auteur

Cameron Webb, conférencier clinique et chercheur principal en milieu hospitalier, Université de Sydney

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = Repousser les moustiques; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

health

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite. Most commonly the infection is Ross River virus but there is annual activity of dengue viruses in north Queensland and there are occasional cases of the rare, but potentially fatal, Murray Valley encephalitis virus.

Spraying insecticides may kill some mosquitoes around our backyards but it won’t completely protect us from mozzie bites.

Tipping out, throwing away or covering up any water-holding containers around the backyard will take away opportunities for them to breed in our backyards. But there isn’t much you can do if they’re flying in from nearby wetlands.

Mosquitoes aren’t going anywhere. They’re a natural part of our environment and they’re increasingly finding a home within our cities. We’re going to have to learn to live with them, and take on the challenge to avoid their bites.

The first line of defence

Avoiding wetlands or bushland at dawn and dusk will ensure you’re missing the time and place where mosquitoes are most active.

Wearing light-coloured long-sleeved shirts and pants won’t repel mosquitoes but you’ll attract fewer to you. Those that do land will be less likely to bite through if clothing is loose-fitting. You can also consider treating the clothing with insecticide for added protection.

For exposed skin, there really isn’t an alternative to topical insect repellents. There is nothing you can eat or drink that will prevent mosquito bites so you’ll need to pick out your favourite repellent formulation.

Any product for sale in Australia purporting to repel mosquitoes must be registered with the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority. The label on your repellent will tell you what the ingredients are in each formulation. But not all repellents are equal.

Chemical repellents

The most effective topical repellents are those that contain either DEET or picaridin. These two products have repeatedly been shown to protect against bites and, despite the common misconception, have shown to be safe to use, including on children over the age of three months.

While there is still some debate about whether products such as DEET and picaridin actively repel or simply confuse mosquitoes looking for blood, there is no doubt that when applied to exposed skin, they stop biting by mosquitoes.

It is, however, important to understand what the “strength” of a formulation tells you about how well it will repel mosquitoes.

Let’s take DEET as an example. The “strength” of the repellent (the concentration of DEET in the commercial formulation) will determine for how long mozzies are prevented from biting. This means that for short periods, say around two hours, a “low dose” repellent will stop just as many mosquitoes from biting as a “high dose” (often called tropical strength) repellent.

But while that “low dose” repellent may stop working after a few hours, the “high dose” repellent will provide protection for many, many hours. The same equation applies to picaridin-based repellents.

In Australia, the highest-dose repellent contains 80% DEET and laboratory studies have demonstrated over ten hours protection from biting mosquitoes.

But if you’re only going to be outside for a short period, there is really no need to use a “high dose” formulation.

Botanical repellents

Extracts from many different plants have been purported to repel mosquitoes. In many cultures, smouldering aromatic leaves have been used to repel mosquitoes with some success. But what about plant-based topical repellents?

Some of the most widely available “botanical” repellents contain one or a blend of citronella, tea-tree, eucalyptus, lavender or catmint oils. Essential oils from Australian native plants are also popular.

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?Citronella burners may help reduce the number of biting mozzies but they won’t provide complete protection. i k o/Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

But rarely do these repellents provide the same duration of protection as DEET or picaridin-based repellents.

If you’re only outside for a short time, this may not be a problem. If you’re heading out for a bush walk, picnic near local wetlands or a stint of gardening in the late afternoon, you’ll need to reapply “botanical” formulations three to four times as frequently as low dose DEET-based repellents.

It’s also important to remember that although these “botanical” repellents are often perceived to be safer to use, there are plenty of examples of adverse skin reactions resulting from the over application of essential oils to skin.

Even registered botanical products are generally not advised for use on children under 12 months of age.

There are plenty of mosquito coils and sticks available that contain plant-based repellents such as citronella. While these help reduce the number of biting mosquitoes, they won’t provide the complete protection that a topical DEET-based repellent will.

It’s not just what you choose but how you use

It doesn’t matter what type of repellent you choose, unless there is a complete application to all exposed skin, you won’t be completely protected. Mosquitoes are highly skilled at finding the smallest chinks in your repellent armour.

Spraying repellent on clothes or giving a dab “here and there” won’t provide protection. You need to apply it like you would sunscreen but probably not quite so much. A thin cover is enough for short periods of protection.

Obviously, reapplication is required after swimming or sweating.

What about those wrist bands?

In the middle of a hot and humid summer afternoon, rubbing a somewhat sticky substance over your skin is far from appealing. It’s little wonder that there is great interest in wrist bands and patches that purport to protect against mosquito bites.

But they only work for a few millimetres either side of the band. Laboratory testing of wrist bands containing an essential oil indicated that while there was a reduction in the number of mosquitoes attempting to bite close to the band, there was little protection on the upper arm. They don’t provide “whole body” protection against biting mosquitoes and aren’t an effective alternative to topical repellents.

Botanical products and wristbands are marketed as “safer”, “more natural” or “more convenient to use”. But users may be inadvertently putting themselves at risk of mosquito-borne disease. DEET- or picaridin-based repellent formulations provide the best protection.

About The Author

Cameron Webb, Clinical Lecturer and Principal Hospital Scientist, University of Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Outsmart Mosquito Bite Allergy Now: How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, The Natural Way!

healthAuthor: M.J. van der Heijden
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Virtualbytes LLC
Label: Virtualbytes LLC
Publisher: Virtualbytes LLC
Manufacturer: Virtualbytes LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Exclusively on Kindle, ours is an eBook which tells you everything you need to know on How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, the Natural Way! After all, there are natural ways by which you can outsmart mosquitoes instead of them outwitting you. With plenty of useful information, you will not make the same mistakes others have already made.

Designed for anyone who has had trouble dealing with mosquito bites and allergies, what this eBook proposes are real solutions that work! Simple yet effective, these solutions come in the form of mosquito-repelling foods and herbs, insect-repelling garden plants, natural essential oils, and therapeutic remedies which drive mosquitoes away for good. Safe and practical, they also include preventive measures which you can apply in your daily life as part of smart, mosquito-free living.

Ultimately, the mosquito problem is one that is never too big to handle or face, not when you have natural mosquito repellents and remedies behind you. In the battle between man and mosquito, you can rise above infection and win over disease. Suffer no more from the symptoms and effects of mosquito bites and allergies, now that the problem has become something which you can treat, control, and prevent!




101 Amazing Ways to Use Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More! (101 Amazing Uses)

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Brand: AMERICAN WEST BOOKS
Studio: Familius
Label: Familius
Publisher: Familius
Manufacturer: Familius

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Essential Oils have been used for thousands of years in various cultures for a variety of health purposes. These ancient oils act as a natural medicine that contains the most proven therapeutic compounds in the world. This book will provide you with 101 ways to use these natural oils to alleviate stress, repel mosquitos, calm an upset child, reduce wrinkles and so much more. This step by step guide will provide the basic knowledge needed for naturally healing a variety of common ailments.





101 Amazing Uses for Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More!

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Familius India
Label: Familius India
Publisher: Familius India
Manufacturer: Familius India

Buy Now
Editorial Review: BRAND NEW, Exactly same ISBN as listed, Please double check ISBN carefully before ordering.




health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}