Химический или натуральный: как лучше отразить комаров?

Химический или натуральный: как лучше отразить комаров?

Комары не просто раздражают. Каждый год вокруг 5,000 австралийцы заболевают после укуса комара. Чаще всего инфекция Вирус реки росс но есть ежегодная активность вирусы денге в северном Квинсленде и есть редкие, но потенциально смертельные случаи, Вирус энцефалита долины Мюррея.

Распыление инсектицидов может убить некоторых комаров вокруг нашего двора, но это не полностью защитит нас от укусов моззи.

Опрокидывание, выбрасывание или укрытие любых водоудерживающих контейнеров вокруг заднего двора лишат их возможности размножаться на наших задних дворах. Но мало что можно сделать, если они прилетают с близлежащих водно-болотных угодий.

Комары никуда не денутся. Они являются естественной частью нашей окружающей среды, и они все чаще находят дом в наших городах, Нам нужно научиться жить с ними и принять вызов, чтобы избежать их укусов.

Первая линия обороны

Избегание заболоченных мест или кустарников на рассвете и в сумерках гарантирует, что вам не хватает времени и места, где комары наиболее активны.

Ношение светлых рубашек с длинными рукавами и брюк не отпугнет комаров, но привлечет к вам меньше. Те, кто приземлится, с меньшей вероятностью будут кусаться, если одежда будет свободна. Вы также можете рассмотреть обработка одежды инсектицидом для дополнительной защиты.

Для открытой кожи действительно нет альтернативы местным средствам от насекомых. Нет ничего, что можно было бы есть или пить, чтобы предотвратить укусы комаров, поэтому вам нужно выбрать свой любимый репеллентный состав.

Любой продукт для продажи в Австралии, предназначенный для отпугивания комаров, должен быть зарегистрирован в Австралийское управление по пестицидам и ветеринарным медикаментам, На этикетке вашего репеллента будет указано, какие ингредиенты содержатся в каждой рецептуре. Но не все репелленты равны.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Химические репелленты

Наиболее эффективный актуальные репелленты те, которые содержат либо DEET или Пикаридин, Эти два продукта неоднократно были показаны для защиты от укусов и, несмотря на распространенное заблуждение, показали, что безопасный в использованиив том числе на детей старше трех месяцев.

Пока еще есть некоторые дебаты Относительно того, активно ли отталкивают такие продукты, как DEET и пикаридин, или просто путают комаров, ищущих кровь, нет сомнений в том, что при нанесении на открытую кожу они перестают кусать комаров.

Однако важно понять, что говорит вам «сила» препарата о том, насколько хорошо он будет отталкивать комаров.

Давайте возьмем DEET в качестве примера. «Сила» репеллента (концентрация DEET в коммерческом составе) будет определять, как долго предотвращается укусы моцзы. Это означает, что в течение коротких периодов, скажем, около двух часов, репеллент «с низкой дозой» остановит столько же комаров от укуса, сколько репеллент с «высокой дозой» (часто называемый тропической силой).

Но хотя этот репеллент «с низкой дозой» может перестать работать через несколько часов, репеллент с «высокой дозой» обеспечит защиту на многие, многие часы. То же самое уравнение применимо к репеллентам на основе пикаридина.

В Австралии репеллент с самой высокой дозой содержит 80% DEET и лабораторные исследования продемонстрировали более десяти часов защиты от укусов комаров.

Но если вы собираетесь находиться на открытом воздухе только в течение короткого периода времени, нет необходимости использовать препарат «высокой дозы».

Ботанические репелленты

Экстракты из многих различных растений были предназначены для отпугивания комаров. Во многих культурах тлеющие ароматические листья были использованы для отпугивания комаров с некоторым успехом. Но как насчет растительных репеллентов?

Некоторые из наиболее широко доступных «ботанических» репеллентов содержат одно или смесь масел цитронеллы, чайного дерева, эвкалипта, лаванды или кошки. Эфирные масла от Австралийские аборигенные растения также популярны.

Химический или натуральный: как лучше отразить комаров?Сжигатели цитронеллы могут помочь уменьшить количество кусающих мокзи, но они не обеспечат полную защиту. IKO / Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Но редко обеспечивают ли эти репелленты такую ​​же продолжительность защиты, как DEET или репелленты на основе пикаридина.

Если вы только на короткое время на улице, это не может быть проблемой. Если вы собираетесь прогуляться по кустам, устроить пикник возле местных водно-болотных угодий или заняться садоводством во второй половине дня, вам придется повторно применять «ботанические» составы. в три-четыре раза чаще в качестве низкодозированных репеллентов на основе DEET.

Также важно помнить, что хотя эти «ботанические» репелленты часто считают более безопасными в использовании, существует множество примеров неблагоприятные кожные реакции в результате чрезмерного применения эфирных масел на кожу.

Даже зарегистрированные ботанические продукты, как правило, не рекомендуется использовать детям в возрасте до 12 месяцев.

Существует множество комаров и палочек, которые содержат растительные репелленты, такие как цитронелла. Хотя эти помочь уменьшить количество кусающих комаров, они не обеспечат полную защиту, которая будет актуальна репеллент на основе DEET.

Это не только то, что вы выбираете, но как вы используете

Неважно, какой тип репеллента вы выберете, если только вы не нанесете полное покрытие на все открытые участки кожи, вы не будете полностью защищены. Комары очень опытны в поиске мельчайших трещин в вашей репеллентной броне.

Распыление репеллента на одежду или нанесение мазка «здесь и там» не обеспечит защиту. Вы должны применять его, как солнцезащитный крем, но, вероятно, не так сильно. Тонкого покрытия достаточно для коротких периодов защиты.

Очевидно, повторное применение требуется после плавания или потоотделения.

А как насчет этих браслетов?

В середине жаркого и влажного летнего дня растирание несколько липких веществ на вашей коже не очень привлекательно. Неудивительно, что есть большой интерес к браслетам и патчам, предназначенным для защиты от укусов комаров.

Но они работают только на несколько миллиметров любая сторона группы. Лабораторные испытания браслеты, содержащие эфирное масло, указывали на то, что, хотя количество комаров, пытающихся укусить рядом с полосой, уменьшилось, защита на плече была слабой. Они не обеспечивают защиту всего тела от укусов комаров и не являются эффективная альтернатива Актуальные репелленты.

Ботанические продукты и браслеты продаются как «более безопасные», «более натуральные» или «более удобные в использовании». Но пользователи могут непреднамеренно подвергать себя риску болезней, передаваемых комарами. Композиции репеллента на основе DEET или пикаридина обеспечивают наилучшую защиту.

Об авторе

Кэмерон Уэбб, клинический лектор и главный научный сотрудник больницы, Университет Сиднея

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = отпугивать комаров; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
В поисках более осмысленной и целеустремленной жизни
by Фрэнк Паскиути, доктор философии

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

health

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite. Most commonly the infection is Ross River virus but there is annual activity of dengue viruses in north Queensland and there are occasional cases of the rare, but potentially fatal, Murray Valley encephalitis virus.

Spraying insecticides may kill some mosquitoes around our backyards but it won’t completely protect us from mozzie bites.

Tipping out, throwing away or covering up any water-holding containers around the backyard will take away opportunities for them to breed in our backyards. But there isn’t much you can do if they’re flying in from nearby wetlands.

Mosquitoes aren’t going anywhere. They’re a natural part of our environment and they’re increasingly finding a home within our cities. We’re going to have to learn to live with them, and take on the challenge to avoid their bites.

The first line of defence

Avoiding wetlands or bushland at dawn and dusk will ensure you’re missing the time and place where mosquitoes are most active.

Wearing light-coloured long-sleeved shirts and pants won’t repel mosquitoes but you’ll attract fewer to you. Those that do land will be less likely to bite through if clothing is loose-fitting. You can also consider treating the clothing with insecticide for added protection.

For exposed skin, there really isn’t an alternative to topical insect repellents. There is nothing you can eat or drink that will prevent mosquito bites so you’ll need to pick out your favourite repellent formulation.

Any product for sale in Australia purporting to repel mosquitoes must be registered with the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority. The label on your repellent will tell you what the ingredients are in each formulation. But not all repellents are equal.

Chemical repellents

The most effective topical repellents are those that contain either DEET or picaridin. These two products have repeatedly been shown to protect against bites and, despite the common misconception, have shown to be safe to use, including on children over the age of three months.

While there is still some debate about whether products such as DEET and picaridin actively repel or simply confuse mosquitoes looking for blood, there is no doubt that when applied to exposed skin, they stop biting by mosquitoes.

It is, however, important to understand what the “strength” of a formulation tells you about how well it will repel mosquitoes.

Let’s take DEET as an example. The “strength” of the repellent (the concentration of DEET in the commercial formulation) will determine for how long mozzies are prevented from biting. This means that for short periods, say around two hours, a “low dose” repellent will stop just as many mosquitoes from biting as a “high dose” (often called tropical strength) repellent.

But while that “low dose” repellent may stop working after a few hours, the “high dose” repellent will provide protection for many, many hours. The same equation applies to picaridin-based repellents.

In Australia, the highest-dose repellent contains 80% DEET and laboratory studies have demonstrated over ten hours protection from biting mosquitoes.

But if you’re only going to be outside for a short period, there is really no need to use a “high dose” formulation.

Botanical repellents

Extracts from many different plants have been purported to repel mosquitoes. In many cultures, smouldering aromatic leaves have been used to repel mosquitoes with some success. But what about plant-based topical repellents?

Some of the most widely available “botanical” repellents contain one or a blend of citronella, tea-tree, eucalyptus, lavender or catmint oils. Essential oils from Australian native plants are also popular.

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?Citronella burners may help reduce the number of biting mozzies but they won’t provide complete protection. i k o/Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

But rarely do these repellents provide the same duration of protection as DEET or picaridin-based repellents.

If you’re only outside for a short time, this may not be a problem. If you’re heading out for a bush walk, picnic near local wetlands or a stint of gardening in the late afternoon, you’ll need to reapply “botanical” formulations three to four times as frequently as low dose DEET-based repellents.

It’s also important to remember that although these “botanical” repellents are often perceived to be safer to use, there are plenty of examples of adverse skin reactions resulting from the over application of essential oils to skin.

Even registered botanical products are generally not advised for use on children under 12 months of age.

There are plenty of mosquito coils and sticks available that contain plant-based repellents such as citronella. While these help reduce the number of biting mosquitoes, they won’t provide the complete protection that a topical DEET-based repellent will.

It’s not just what you choose but how you use

It doesn’t matter what type of repellent you choose, unless there is a complete application to all exposed skin, you won’t be completely protected. Mosquitoes are highly skilled at finding the smallest chinks in your repellent armour.

Spraying repellent on clothes or giving a dab “here and there” won’t provide protection. You need to apply it like you would sunscreen but probably not quite so much. A thin cover is enough for short periods of protection.

Obviously, reapplication is required after swimming or sweating.

What about those wrist bands?

In the middle of a hot and humid summer afternoon, rubbing a somewhat sticky substance over your skin is far from appealing. It’s little wonder that there is great interest in wrist bands and patches that purport to protect against mosquito bites.

But they only work for a few millimetres either side of the band. Laboratory testing of wrist bands containing an essential oil indicated that while there was a reduction in the number of mosquitoes attempting to bite close to the band, there was little protection on the upper arm. They don’t provide “whole body” protection against biting mosquitoes and aren’t an effective alternative to topical repellents.

Botanical products and wristbands are marketed as “safer”, “more natural” or “more convenient to use”. But users may be inadvertently putting themselves at risk of mosquito-borne disease. DEET- or picaridin-based repellent formulations provide the best protection.

About The Author

Cameron Webb, Clinical Lecturer and Principal Hospital Scientist, University of Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Outsmart Mosquito Bite Allergy Now: How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, The Natural Way!

healthAuthor: M.J. van der Heijden
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Virtualbytes LLC
Label: Virtualbytes LLC
Publisher: Virtualbytes LLC
Manufacturer: Virtualbytes LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Exclusively on Kindle, ours is an eBook which tells you everything you need to know on How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, the Natural Way! After all, there are natural ways by which you can outsmart mosquitoes instead of them outwitting you. With plenty of useful information, you will not make the same mistakes others have already made.

Designed for anyone who has had trouble dealing with mosquito bites and allergies, what this eBook proposes are real solutions that work! Simple yet effective, these solutions come in the form of mosquito-repelling foods and herbs, insect-repelling garden plants, natural essential oils, and therapeutic remedies which drive mosquitoes away for good. Safe and practical, they also include preventive measures which you can apply in your daily life as part of smart, mosquito-free living.

Ultimately, the mosquito problem is one that is never too big to handle or face, not when you have natural mosquito repellents and remedies behind you. In the battle between man and mosquito, you can rise above infection and win over disease. Suffer no more from the symptoms and effects of mosquito bites and allergies, now that the problem has become something which you can treat, control, and prevent!




101 Amazing Ways to Use Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More! (101 Amazing Uses)

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Brand: AMERICAN WEST BOOKS
Studio: Familius
Label: Familius
Publisher: Familius
Manufacturer: Familius

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Essential Oils have been used for thousands of years in various cultures for a variety of health purposes. These ancient oils act as a natural medicine that contains the most proven therapeutic compounds in the world. This book will provide you with 101 ways to use these natural oils to alleviate stress, repel mosquitos, calm an upset child, reduce wrinkles and so much more. This step by step guide will provide the basic knowledge needed for naturally healing a variety of common ailments.





101 Amazing Uses for Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More!

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Familius India
Label: Familius India
Publisher: Familius India
Manufacturer: Familius India

Buy Now
Editorial Review: BRAND NEW, Exactly same ISBN as listed, Please double check ISBN carefully before ordering.




health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}