Chemisch oder natürlich: Was ist der beste Weg, um Moskitos abzuwehren?

Chemisch oder natürlich: Was ist der beste Weg, um Moskitos abzuwehren?

Mücken stören nicht nur. Jedes Jahr werden 5,000-Australier nach einem Mückenstich krank. Am häufigsten ist die Infektion Ross River-Virus aber es gibt eine jährliche Tätigkeit von Dengue-Viren in Nord-Queensland und es gibt gelegentlich Fälle von seltenen, aber möglicherweise tödlichen Murray-Valley-Enzephalitis-Virus.

Das Sprühen von Insektiziden kann zwar einige Mücken in unseren Hinterhöfen töten, wird uns aber nicht vollständig vor Mozzie-Bissen schützen.

Durch Herauskippen, Wegwerfen oder Abdecken von wasserdichten Behältern rund um den Hinterhof können sich die Tiere in unseren Hinterhöfen züchten. Wenn Sie jedoch aus nahegelegenen Feuchtgebieten fliegen, können Sie nicht viel tun.

Moskitos gehen nirgendwohin. Sie sind ein natürlicher Teil unserer Umwelt und finden zunehmend eine Zuhause in unseren Städten. Wir müssen lernen, mit ihnen zu leben und die Herausforderung anzunehmen, um ihre Bisse zu vermeiden.

Die erste Verteidigungslinie

Durch die Vermeidung von Feuchtgebieten oder Buschland in der Morgendämmerung werden Sie die Zeit und den Ort verpassen, an dem die Mücken am aktivsten sind.

Das Tragen von hellen, langärmligen Hemden und Hosen stößt keine Moskitos ab, aber Sie werden weniger anziehen. Diejenigen, die landen, werden weniger wahrscheinlich durchbeißen, wenn Kleidung locker anliegt. Sie können auch berücksichtigen Behandlung der Kleidung mit Insektizid für zusätzlichen Schutz.

Für freiliegende Haut gibt es wirklich keine Alternative zu topischen Insektenschutzmitteln. Es gibt nichts, was Sie essen oder trinken können, um Mückenstiche zu verhindern, also müssen Sie Ihre Lieblingsabwehrformulierung auswählen.

Jedes in Australien verkaufte Produkt, das Moskitos abwehren will, muss beim registriert werden Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority. Auf dem Etikett Ihres Abwehrmittels sehen Sie, welche Bestandteile in jeder Formulierung enthalten sind. Aber nicht alle Repellentien sind gleich.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Chemische Abwehrmittel

Die am effektivsten topische Repellentien sind diejenigen, die entweder enthalten DEET oder Picaridin. Es wurde immer wieder gezeigt, dass diese beiden Produkte vor Bissen schützen, und trotz des weit verbreiteten Missverständnisses haben sie sich gezeigt sicher zu benutzen, auch für Kinder über drei Monate.

Während es noch ist einige Debatte Ob Produkte wie DEET und Picaridin Moskitos aktiv auf die Suche nach Blut abstoßen oder einfach verwirren, ist unbestritten, wenn sie auf exponierte Haut aufgetragen werden und sie nicht mehr von Moskitos beißen.

Es ist jedoch wichtig zu verstehen, was die Stärke einer Formulierung Ihnen sagt, wie gut sie Mücken abstoßen kann.

Nehmen wir als Beispiel DEET. Die "Stärke" des Abwehrmittels (die Konzentration von DEET in der kommerziellen Formulierung) bestimmt, wie lange das Stechen von Mozzies verhindert wird. Dies bedeutet, dass ein Abwehrmittel mit „niedriger Dosis“ für kurze Zeit, z. B. etwa zwei Stunden, genauso viele Moskitos anbeißen kann wie ein Abwehrmittel mit hoher Dosis (oft als tropische Stärke bezeichnet).

Während das Abwehrmittel mit niedriger Dosis nach einigen Stunden aufhört zu arbeiten, bietet das Abwehrmittel mit hoher Dosis Schutz für viele, viele Stunden. Die gleiche Gleichung gilt für Abwehrmittel auf Picaridin-Basis.

In Australien enthält das Depot mit der höchsten Dosis 80% DEET und Laborstudien haben über zehn Stunden Schutz bewiesen von beißenden Mücken.

Wenn Sie jedoch nur für kurze Zeit im Freien sind, besteht keine Notwendigkeit, eine Formulierung mit hoher Dosis zu verwenden.

Botanische Repellentien

Auszüge aus vielen verschiedenen Pflanzen sollen Moskitos abwehren. In vielen Kulturen wurden schwelende aromatische Blätter verwendet, um Moskitos mit einigem Erfolg abzuwehren. Aber was ist mit pflanzlichen topischen Repellentien?

Einige der am häufigsten erhältlichen "botanischen" Repellentien enthalten ein oder eine Mischung aus Citronella-, Teebaum-, Eukalyptus-, Lavendel- oder Katzenminzenöl. Ätherische Öle aus Australische einheimische Pflanzen sind auch beliebt.

Chemisch oder natürlich: Was ist der beste Weg, um Moskitos abzuwehren?Citronella-Brenner können zwar dazu beitragen, die Anzahl der beißenden Mozzies zu reduzieren, bieten jedoch keinen vollständigen Schutz. iko / flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Aber selten Bieten diese Repellentien die gleiche Schutzdauer wie DEET- oder Picaridin-basierte Repellentien?

Wenn Sie nur für kurze Zeit draußen sind, ist dies möglicherweise kein Problem. Wenn Sie einen Buschspaziergang unternehmen, ein Picknick in der Nähe von Feuchtgebieten machen oder am späten Nachmittag ein bisschen im Garten arbeiten, müssen Sie die „botanischen“ Formulierungen erneut anwenden drei bis viermal so oft als niedrig dosierte Abwehrmittel auf der Basis von DEET.

Es ist auch wichtig zu bedenken, dass diese „pflanzlichen“ Repellentien oft als sicherer in der Anwendung wahrgenommen werden, es gibt jedoch viele Beispiele dafür unerwünschte Hautreaktionen resultiert aus dem übermäßigen Auftragen ätherischer Öle auf die Haut.

Sogar registrierte botanische Produkte werden generell nicht für Kinder unter 12 empfohlen.

Es gibt viele Moskitospiralen und -stäbchen, die Abwehrmittel auf pflanzlicher Basis wie Zitronengras enthalten. Während diese helfen zu reduzieren Die Anzahl der beißenden Mücken bietet nicht den vollständigen Schutz, den ein aktuelles Abwehrmittel auf DEET-Basis bietet.

Es ist nicht nur das, was Sie wählen, sondern wie Sie es verwenden

Es ist egal, welche Art von Abwehrmittel Sie wählen, es sei denn, es gibt eine vollständige Anwendung auf alle freiliegenden Hautstellen, Sie sind nicht vollständig geschützt. Moskitos sind hochqualifiziert, wenn es darum geht, die kleinsten Ritzen in Ihrer abwehrenden Rüstung zu finden.

Das Absprühen von Kleidung auf die Kleidung oder ein Tupfen „hier und da“ bietet keinen Schutz. Sie müssen es wie Sonnencreme auftragen, aber wahrscheinlich nicht so viel. Eine dünne Abdeckung reicht für kurze Schutzzeiten.

Natürlich ist nach dem Schwimmen oder Schwitzen eine erneute Anwendung erforderlich.

Was ist mit diesen Armbändern?

An einem heißen und feuchten Sommernachmittag ist das Reiben einer etwas klebrigen Substanz über die Haut alles andere als reizvoll. Es ist kein Wunder, dass es ein großes Interesse an Armbändern und Aufnähern gibt, die vor Mückenstichen schützen sollen.

Aber sie arbeiten nur für wenige Millimeter auf jeder Seite der Band. Laboruntersuchungen von Armbändern, die ein ätherisches Öl enthielten, deuteten darauf hin, dass die Anzahl der Moskitos, die nahe am Band zu beißen versuchten, verringert wurde, der Oberarm jedoch wenig geschützt war. Sie bieten keinen „ganzen Körper“ Schutz vor beißenden Mücken und nicht eine effektive Alternative zu aktuellen Repellentien.

Botanische Produkte und Armbänder werden als „sicherer“, „natürlicher“ oder „bequemer zu handhaben“ vermarktet. Die Benutzer setzen sich jedoch möglicherweise aus Versehen dem Risiko einer durch Stechmücken übertragenen Krankheit aus. Abweisende Formulierungen auf der Basis von DEET oder Picaridin bieten den besten Schutz.

Über den Autor

Cameron Webb, Clinical Lecturer und Principal Hospital Scientist, Universität von Sydney

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; keywords = Mosquitoes abweisen; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

health

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite. Most commonly the infection is Ross River virus but there is annual activity of dengue viruses in north Queensland and there are occasional cases of the rare, but potentially fatal, Murray Valley encephalitis virus.

Spraying insecticides may kill some mosquitoes around our backyards but it won’t completely protect us from mozzie bites.

Tipping out, throwing away or covering up any water-holding containers around the backyard will take away opportunities for them to breed in our backyards. But there isn’t much you can do if they’re flying in from nearby wetlands.

Mosquitoes aren’t going anywhere. They’re a natural part of our environment and they’re increasingly finding a home within our cities. We’re going to have to learn to live with them, and take on the challenge to avoid their bites.

The first line of defence

Avoiding wetlands or bushland at dawn and dusk will ensure you’re missing the time and place where mosquitoes are most active.

Wearing light-coloured long-sleeved shirts and pants won’t repel mosquitoes but you’ll attract fewer to you. Those that do land will be less likely to bite through if clothing is loose-fitting. You can also consider treating the clothing with insecticide for added protection.

For exposed skin, there really isn’t an alternative to topical insect repellents. There is nothing you can eat or drink that will prevent mosquito bites so you’ll need to pick out your favourite repellent formulation.

Any product for sale in Australia purporting to repel mosquitoes must be registered with the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority. The label on your repellent will tell you what the ingredients are in each formulation. But not all repellents are equal.

Chemical repellents

The most effective topical repellents are those that contain either DEET or picaridin. These two products have repeatedly been shown to protect against bites and, despite the common misconception, have shown to be safe to use, including on children over the age of three months.

While there is still some debate about whether products such as DEET and picaridin actively repel or simply confuse mosquitoes looking for blood, there is no doubt that when applied to exposed skin, they stop biting by mosquitoes.

It is, however, important to understand what the “strength” of a formulation tells you about how well it will repel mosquitoes.

Let’s take DEET as an example. The “strength” of the repellent (the concentration of DEET in the commercial formulation) will determine for how long mozzies are prevented from biting. This means that for short periods, say around two hours, a “low dose” repellent will stop just as many mosquitoes from biting as a “high dose” (often called tropical strength) repellent.

But while that “low dose” repellent may stop working after a few hours, the “high dose” repellent will provide protection for many, many hours. The same equation applies to picaridin-based repellents.

In Australia, the highest-dose repellent contains 80% DEET and laboratory studies have demonstrated over ten hours protection from biting mosquitoes.

But if you’re only going to be outside for a short period, there is really no need to use a “high dose” formulation.

Botanical repellents

Extracts from many different plants have been purported to repel mosquitoes. In many cultures, smouldering aromatic leaves have been used to repel mosquitoes with some success. But what about plant-based topical repellents?

Some of the most widely available “botanical” repellents contain one or a blend of citronella, tea-tree, eucalyptus, lavender or catmint oils. Essential oils from Australian native plants are also popular.

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?Citronella burners may help reduce the number of biting mozzies but they won’t provide complete protection. i k o/Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

But rarely do these repellents provide the same duration of protection as DEET or picaridin-based repellents.

If you’re only outside for a short time, this may not be a problem. If you’re heading out for a bush walk, picnic near local wetlands or a stint of gardening in the late afternoon, you’ll need to reapply “botanical” formulations three to four times as frequently as low dose DEET-based repellents.

It’s also important to remember that although these “botanical” repellents are often perceived to be safer to use, there are plenty of examples of adverse skin reactions resulting from the over application of essential oils to skin.

Even registered botanical products are generally not advised for use on children under 12 months of age.

There are plenty of mosquito coils and sticks available that contain plant-based repellents such as citronella. While these help reduce the number of biting mosquitoes, they won’t provide the complete protection that a topical DEET-based repellent will.

It’s not just what you choose but how you use

It doesn’t matter what type of repellent you choose, unless there is a complete application to all exposed skin, you won’t be completely protected. Mosquitoes are highly skilled at finding the smallest chinks in your repellent armour.

Spraying repellent on clothes or giving a dab “here and there” won’t provide protection. You need to apply it like you would sunscreen but probably not quite so much. A thin cover is enough for short periods of protection.

Obviously, reapplication is required after swimming or sweating.

What about those wrist bands?

In the middle of a hot and humid summer afternoon, rubbing a somewhat sticky substance over your skin is far from appealing. It’s little wonder that there is great interest in wrist bands and patches that purport to protect against mosquito bites.

But they only work for a few millimetres either side of the band. Laboratory testing of wrist bands containing an essential oil indicated that while there was a reduction in the number of mosquitoes attempting to bite close to the band, there was little protection on the upper arm. They don’t provide “whole body” protection against biting mosquitoes and aren’t an effective alternative to topical repellents.

Botanical products and wristbands are marketed as “safer”, “more natural” or “more convenient to use”. But users may be inadvertently putting themselves at risk of mosquito-borne disease. DEET- or picaridin-based repellent formulations provide the best protection.

About The Author

Cameron Webb, Clinical Lecturer and Principal Hospital Scientist, University of Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Outsmart Mosquito Bite Allergy Now: How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, The Natural Way!

healthAuthor: M.J. van der Heijden
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Virtualbytes LLC
Label: Virtualbytes LLC
Publisher: Virtualbytes LLC
Manufacturer: Virtualbytes LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Exclusively on Kindle, ours is an eBook which tells you everything you need to know on How to Repel Mosquitoes and Remedy Mosquito Bites, the Natural Way! After all, there are natural ways by which you can outsmart mosquitoes instead of them outwitting you. With plenty of useful information, you will not make the same mistakes others have already made.

Designed for anyone who has had trouble dealing with mosquito bites and allergies, what this eBook proposes are real solutions that work! Simple yet effective, these solutions come in the form of mosquito-repelling foods and herbs, insect-repelling garden plants, natural essential oils, and therapeutic remedies which drive mosquitoes away for good. Safe and practical, they also include preventive measures which you can apply in your daily life as part of smart, mosquito-free living.

Ultimately, the mosquito problem is one that is never too big to handle or face, not when you have natural mosquito repellents and remedies behind you. In the battle between man and mosquito, you can rise above infection and win over disease. Suffer no more from the symptoms and effects of mosquito bites and allergies, now that the problem has become something which you can treat, control, and prevent!




101 Amazing Ways to Use Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More! (101 Amazing Uses)

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Brand: AMERICAN WEST BOOKS
Studio: Familius
Label: Familius
Publisher: Familius
Manufacturer: Familius

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Essential Oils have been used for thousands of years in various cultures for a variety of health purposes. These ancient oils act as a natural medicine that contains the most proven therapeutic compounds in the world. This book will provide you with 101 ways to use these natural oils to alleviate stress, repel mosquitos, calm an upset child, reduce wrinkles and so much more. This step by step guide will provide the basic knowledge needed for naturally healing a variety of common ailments.





101 Amazing Uses for Essential Oils: Reduce Stress, Boost Memory, Repel Mosquitoes and 98 More!

healthAuthor: Susan Branson
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Familius India
Label: Familius India
Publisher: Familius India
Manufacturer: Familius India

Buy Now
Editorial Review: BRAND NEW, Exactly same ISBN as listed, Please double check ISBN carefully before ordering.




health
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}