Peut Chérir Stuff avec une photo vous aider à laisser aller?

Peut Chérir Stuff avec une photo vous aider à laisser aller?

Imaginez votre animal en peluche d'enfance préféré. Vous y cramponnez-vous, même si ni vous ni quelqu'un d'autre dans votre foyer n'a joué avec cette créature depuis des années?

Si oui, vous n'êtes pas seul. Partir avec des possessions dont nous n'avons pas besoin est une lutte pour beaucoup d'Américains. Nous avons en moyenne au moins 50 articles inutilisés dans nos maisons, y compris les vêtements, les appareils électroniques et les jouets. Tout aussi commun: notre désir d'abandonner cet excédent de bagages qui a fait grimper le marché Les best-sellers de Marie Kondo, les blogs ainsi que d'un magazine appelé Real Simple consacré en partie à aider les gens à abandonner leur fouillis.

En tant que psychologues du consommateur, nous voulions savoir pourquoi les gens ont tant de mal à se séparer des biens qu'ils n'utilisent plus. Pour avoir un aperçu, nous nous sommes concentrés sur des articles à valeur sentimentale dans une série d'études publiées récemment dans le Journal du marketing.

Une vieille paire de baskets, acquise au collège, a inspiré cette recherche.

Stocker des souvenirs

Les choses qui sont liées à souvenirs émotionnellement significatifs peut représenter un morceau de votre identité. Quand vous avez du mal à vous séparer de ce maillot que vous portiez sur l'équipe de basketball junior, par exemple, vous n'êtes pas vraiment accro à la chemise elle-même. Au lieu de cela, vous êtes accroché aux souvenirs représentés par ce vêtement en lambeaux que vous ne porterez probablement plus. Sa valeur sentimentale peut donner l'impression d'abandonner un morceau de votre propre identité.

Nous avons essayé de tester des façons d'aider les gens à donner des biens qui leur sont significatifs. Dans des études menées en ligne et en personne, nous avons constaté que les participants ont déclaré qu'ils subiraient moins de perte d'identité en faisant don d'un objet chéri s'ils l'avaient photographié ou préservé la mémoire d'une autre façon.

Au départ, dans une étude en ligne, nous avons laissé nos sujets choisir comment gérer cela. Près de deux sur trois ont opté pour la photographie, de loin la méthode la plus populaire. Les autres techniques les plus courantes comprenaient la création d'une page de scrapbooking ou la réalisation d'une vidéo à ce sujet - l'approche adoptée par 22 pour cent de nos participants - et l'écriture d'une note ou la création d'une entrée de journal - sélectionné par 13%.

Étant donné la facilité avec laquelle les téléphones intelligents font de la photographie numérique, nos résultats ne devraient peut-être pas surprendre. Beaucoup d'entre nous comptent déjà sur nos téléphones pour "rappeler"Toutes sortes d'informations, allant des anniversaires à l'endroit où nous avons garé nos voitures.

Sauver des sentiments

Les résultats soutenus notre théorie que les photographies peuvent préserver les souvenirs liés aux objets sentimentaux et rendre les gens plus susceptibles de les donner. En d'autres termes, les gens ne veulent pas de ces choses - ils veulent juste garder les souvenirs qu'ils représentent intacts. Lorsque les adultes capturent les souvenirs qu'ils associent à leur animal en peluche préféré sur une photo, ils cessent souvent de craindre de perdre ces souvenirs et se sentent libres de lâcher l'objet.

Pour tester si la photographie d'objets à valeur sentimentale augmente réellement les dons, nous avons étudié le comportement de Pennsylvania State University élèves. D'abord, nous avons placé des signes pour un don pour les choses abandonnées à la fin de l'année scolaire dans huit dortoirs abritant un total de plus de 800 étudiants masculins et féminins de premier cycle. Dans quatre dortoirs, les enseignes suggéraient aux élèves de photographier des objets ayant une valeur sentimentale qu'ils n'utilisaient plus avant de les donner. Le reste avait des signes qui venaient de solliciter des dons.

Les étudiants qui ont été encouragés à photographier des choses avant de les donner ont donné 35 pour cent plus d'articles que dans les dortoirs où ils n'ont pas reçu cette invite. Nous avons compilé les objets 1,098 donnés dans les dortoirs où les étudiants étaient encouragés à prendre des photos de leurs affaires, par rapport aux objets 815 dans les autres dortoirs.

Nous avons répété cet exercice à la fin du semestre d'automne dans six dortoirs entièrement féminins de la même taille que l'étude précédente. Bien que moins de la moitié des étudiants déménageaient, le taux de don était encore 15 pourcentage plus élevé dans le dortoir où ils ont vu la suggestion de photographier des objets de valeur sentimentale - une différence statistiquement significative.

Nous avons également mené des recherches en dehors de l'université en demandant aux donateurs de déposer des Saint Vincent de Paul magasin d'épargne près du campus de Penn State pour voir si l'un des articles qu'ils donnaient avait une valeur sentimentale. Environ la moitié des donneurs ayant déposé des objets à valeur sentimentale ont reçu des photos de leurs biens donnés que nos assistants de recherche ont cassés avec un appareil photo instantané de style Polaroid alors que l'autre moitié n'a pas eu de photo.

Par la suite, nous avons demandé à ces donateurs s'ils avaient l'impression d'avoir perdu une part d'eux-mêmes lorsqu'ils se sont départis de leurs articles. Ceux qui ont pris les photos ont rapporté significativement moins de perte d'identité, suggérant que la photographie les a vraiment aidés à purger.

Pris ensemble, nos études suggèrent que la prise de photos peut aider les gens à se débarrasser des possessions avec une valeur sentimentale.

Autre encombrement

Nos résultats suggèrent également que la photographie n'est pas un remède universel pour le fouillis.

Par exemple, lorsque nous avons demandé à des personnes dans nos études de prendre des photos de ces articles avant de les vendre, cette action n'a pas aidé. L'idée de placer la valeur monétaire sur ces choses a semblé les éteindre, comme Recherche précédente suggère qu'il pourrait. Une explication possible: les consommateurs hésitent à monétiser les biens chéris.

Les participants étaient réticents à vendre des objets sentimentaux, qu'ils aient été invités à les photographier ou non.

De même, nous avons constaté que photographier des choses dépourvues de valeur sentimentale ne rendait pas les gens plus susceptibles de s'en débarrasser. Nous croyons que c'était parce que les images ne conservaient pas de souvenirs émotionnellement significatifs. Les consommateurs gardent souvent les choses sans valeur sentimentale d'un désir être frugal.

Bien sûr les organismes de bienfaisance ne prendront pas tout ce que les gens devraient jeter, y compris cet ours en peluche usé dans votre grenier. Bien que nous n'ayons pas cherché à savoir si la photographie permettait aux gens de chucker des choses avec une valeur sentimentale, nous soupçonnons que cela ne marcherait pas. Déchirer des biens précieux peut sembler trop éloigner les souvenirs que des photos d'eux pourraient aider à préserver.

Les plats à emporter

Beaucoup d'organismes sans but lucratif comme Bonne volonté dépend de dons de toutes sortes. Mais certains se spécialisent dans la tenue vestimentaire qui aura forcément une valeur sentimentale. Le placard de Becca, une organisation caritative qui distribue des robes de bal usagées, et S'habiller pour réussir, qui donne des vêtements professionnels de seconde main aux femmes à faible revenu, sont deux bons exemples.

Notre recherche suggère que les organismes de bienfaisance comme ceux-là pourraient obtenir plus de dons en encourageant les gens à photographier des objets significatifs pendant qu'ils purgent leurs placards.

La ConversationSi vous, comme la plupart des Américains, avez des douzaines - sinon des centaines - de choses excédentaires, vous devriez essayer vous-même. Permettre aux autres de profiter de vos affaires étendra son utilité tout en les aidant économiser de l'argent. D'ailleurs, vous vous sentirez sûrement plus heureux dans un maison moins encombrée.

À propos des auteurs

Rebecca Walker Reczek, professeure agrégée de marketing, The Ohio State University; Julie Irwin, Marlene et Morton Meyerson, professeure centenaire en affaires, département du marketing et ministère des Affaires, du gouvernement et de la société, Université du Texas à Austin, et Karen Winterich, professeure agrégée de marketing, chercheuse boursière Frank et Mary Smeal, Pennsylvania State University

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = se débarrasser de l'encombrement; maxresults = 3}

Can Cherishing Stuff With A Photo Help You Let Go Of It?

behavior

Can Cherishing Stuff With A Photo Help You Let Go Of It?

Picture your favorite childhood stuffed animal. Are you clinging to it even though neither you nor anyone else in your household has played with that creature in years?

If so, you’re not alone. Parting with possessions we don’t need is a struggle for many Americans. We have an average of at least 50 unused items in our homes, including clothing, electronic devices and toys. Just as common: our desire to ditch this excess baggage, which has fired up the market for Marie Kondo’s best-selling books, blogs and a magazine called Real Simple devoted in part to helping people ditch their clutter.

As consumer psychologists, we wanted to know why people have so much trouble parting with possessions they no longer use. To gain some insight, we zeroed in on items with sentimental value in a series of studies recently published in the Journal of Marketing.

An old pair of basketball shorts, acquired in junior high school, inspired this research.

Storing memories

Things that are tied to emotionally significant memories may represent a piece of your identity. When you struggle to part with that jersey you wore on the junior varsity basketball team, for example, you are not really clinging to the shirt itself. Instead, you’re hanging onto the memories represented by that now-tattered item of clothing you probably won’t wear again. Its sentimental value may make giving the jersey away feel like giving up a piece of your own identity.

We set out to test ways to help people donate goods that are meaningful to them. In studies conducted online and in person, we found that participants reported that they would experience less identity loss from donating a cherished item if they had photographed it or preserved the memory of it some other way.

Initially, in an online study, we let our subjects choose how to handle this. Nearly two out of three opted for photography, by far the most popular method. The other most common techniques included creating a scrapbook page or making a video about it – the approach taken by 22 percent of our participants – and writing a note or making a journal entry – selected by 13 percent.

Given how easy smartphones make digital photography, our results perhaps should come as no surprise. Many of us already rely on our phones to “remember” all kinds of information, ranging from birthdays to where we have parked our cars.

Saving sentiments

The findings supported our theory that photographs can preserve the memories tied to sentimental items and make people more likely to donate them. In other words, people don’t want these things – they just want to keep the memories they represent intact. When grownups capture the memories they associate with their favorite stuffed animal in a photograph, they often stop fearing they will lose those memories and feel free to let go of the item.

To test whether photographing objects with sentimental value actually increases donations, we studied the behavior of Pennsylvania State University students. First, we placed signs for a donation drive for discarded stuff at the end of the school year in eight dorms housing a total of more than 800 male and female undergraduate students. In four dorms, the signs suggested that students photograph items with sentimental value that they no longer used before donating them. The rest had signs that just solicited donations.

Students who were encouraged to photograph things before giving them away donated 35 percent more items than in the dorms where they didn’t get that prompt. We tallied 1,098 items donated in the dorms where students were encouraged to shoot photos of their stuff, versus 815 items in the other dorms.

We repeated this exercise at the end of the fall semester in six all-female dorms about the same size as the prior study. Though fewer than half of the students were moving out, the rate of donation was still 15 percent higher in the dorm where they saw the suggestion about photographing items of sentimental value – a statistically significant difference.

We also conducted research outside a university setting by asking donors dropping off items at a St. Vincent de Paul thrift store near the Penn State campus to see if any of the stuff they were donating had sentimental value. About half of the donors dropping off items with sentimental value received pictures of their donated goods that our research assistants snapped with a Polaroid-style instant camera while the other half did not get a picture.

Afterward, we asked these donors whether they felt like they had lost a piece of themselves when parting with their items. Those who got the photos reported significantly less identity loss, suggesting that the photography truly helped them purge.

Taken together, our studies suggest that shooting pictures can help people get rid of possessions with sentimental value.

Other clutter

Our findings also suggest that photography is no universal cure for clutter.

For example, when we asked people in our studies to take pictures of these items before selling them, that action didn’t help. The idea of placing monetary value on these things appeared to turn them off, as previous research suggests it might. One possible explanation: consumers are reluctant to monetize cherished possessions.

Participants were reluctant to sell sentimental items regardless of whether they were prompted to photograph them or not.

Similarly, we found that shooting photos of stuff lacking sentimental value didn’t make people more likely to get rid of it. We believe that was because the pictures didn’t preserve emotionally significant memories. Consumers often keep things without sentimental value out of a desire to be frugal.

Of course charities won’t take everything people should discard, including that worn-out teddy bear in your attic. Although we didn’t look into whether photography makes it easier for people to chuck stuff with sentimental value, we suspect that it wouldn’t work. Trashing prized possessions could feel too much like throwing out the memories that photos of them would help preserve.

The takeaway

Many nonprofits like Goodwill depend on donations of all kinds. But some specialize in attire that is bound to have some sentimental value. Becca’s Closet, a charity that distributes used prom dresses, and Dress for Success, which gives secondhand professional clothing away to low-income women, are two good examples.

Our research suggests that charities like those could glean more donations by encouraging people to photograph meaningful items as they purge their closets.

The ConversationIf you, like most Americans, have dozens – if not hundreds – of surplus things, you should try this yourself. Letting others benefit from your stuff will extend its usefulness while helping them save money. Besides, you’ll surely feel happier in a less cluttered home.

About The Authors

Rebecca Walker Reczek, Associate Professor of Marketing, The Ohio State University; Julie Irwin, Marlene and Morton Meyerson Centennial Professor of Business, Department of Marketing and Department of Business, Government and Society, University of Texas at Austin, and Karen Winterich, Associate Professor of Marketing, Frank and Mary Smeal Research Fellow, Pennsylvania State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing

behaviorAuthor: Marie Kondo
Binding: Audible Audiobook
Format: Unabridged
Creator(s):
  • Emily Woo Zeller
  • Tantor Audio

Studio: Tantor Audio
Label: Tantor Audio
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Manufacturer: Tantor Audio

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles? Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you'll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results. In fact, none of Kondo's clients have lapsed (and she still has a three-month waiting list).With detailed guidance for determining which items in your house "spark joy" (and which don't), this international bestseller featuring Tokyo's newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home-and the calm, motivated mindset it can inspire.





Getting Rid of It: The Step-by-step Guide for Eliminating the Clutter in Your Life (The Best is Yet to Come Book 2)

behaviorAuthor: Warren Talbot
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: You have too much stuff! Your closets are filled with clothes you never wear. You have not seen your kitchen counters in months. Your junk drawer has exploded into an entire room of things you don't use. How can we say that when we don't even know you? Well, because most people do and we were just like you.

In 2008 we put our decluttering and downsizing skills to the ultimate test: Get Rid of Everything we owned in order to follow our dream and travel around the world. From that experience we documented every step in the process to provide you with the comprehensive guide to decluttering your home and putting some extra cash in your packet.

How do you think your life could change if you got rid of some of the stuff tying you down? You don't have to go as far as we did, but you'll benefit from our extreme experience no matter big or small your decluttering project may be. We know decluttering inside and out, and you can take advantage of our experience to create your own clutter-free zone for relaxing, socializing, and spending time with family and friends.




The Life-Changing Manga of Tidying Up: A Magical Story

behaviorAuthor: Marie Kondo
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Ten Speed Press
Label: Ten Speed Press
Publisher: Ten Speed Press
Manufacturer: Ten Speed Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: From the #1 New York Times bestselling author and star of Netflix’s Tidying Up with Marie Kondo, this graphic novelization brings Kondo's life-changing tidying method to life with the fun, quirky story of a woman who transforms her home, work, and love life using Kondo's advice and inspiration.

Marie Kondo presents the fictional story of Chiaki, a young woman in Tokyo who struggles with a cluttered apartment, messy love life, and lack of direction. After receiving a complaint from her attractive next-door neighbor about the sad state of her balcony, Chiaki gets Kondo to take her on as a client. Through a series of entertaining and insightful lessons, Kondo helps Chiaki get her home--and life--in order. This insightful, illustrated case study is perfect for people looking for a fun introduction to the KonMari Method of tidying up, as well as tried-and-true fans of Marie Kondo eager for a new way to think about what sparks joy. Featuring illustrations by award-winning manga artist Yuko Uramoto, this book also makes a great read for manga and graphic novel lovers of all ages.




behavior
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}