Может ли Cherishing Stuff с помощью фотографии помочь вам отказаться от этого?

Может ли Cherishing Stuff с помощью фотографии помочь вам отказаться от этого?

Представьте свое любимое детское чучело животных. Вы цепляетесь за это, хотя ни вы, ни кто-либо еще в вашей семье не играли с этим созданием в течение многих лет?

Если это так, вы не одиноки. Прощание с владениями, которые нам не нужны, - это борьба за многих американцев. У нас в среднем не менее 50 неиспользованные элементы в наших домах, включая одежду, электронные устройства и игрушки. Точно так же, как и наше стремление избавиться от этого избыточного багажа, который Самые продаваемые книги Мари Кондо, блоги и журнал под названием Real Simple частично отчасти помогая людям сорвать их беспорядок.

Будучи психологами-потребителями, мы хотели знать, почему у людей так много проблем, когда они расстаются с вещами, которые они больше не используют. Чтобы получить некоторое представление, мы обнуляли предметы с сентиментальной ценностью в серии исследований, недавно опубликованных в Журнал маркетинга.

Старая пара шорт баскетбола, приобретенная в средней школе, вдохновила это исследование.

Хранение воспоминаний

Вещи, привязанные к эмоционально значимые воспоминания может представлять собой часть вашей личности. Когда вы пытаетесь расстаться с этой майкой, которую вы носили в баскетбольной команде младшего уровня, например, вы на самом деле не цепляетесь за рубашку. Вместо этого вы навешаетесь на воспоминания, представленные этим обрезанным предметом одежды, который вы, вероятно, не будете носить снова. Его сентиментальная ценность может заставить дать свитер чувствовать себя как отказ от части вашей собственной личности.

Мы решили проверить способы помочь людям жертвовать имеющимися для них товарами. В исследованиях, проводимых онлайн и лично, мы обнаружили, что участники сообщили, что они будут испытывать меньшую потерю идентичности от пожертвования заветной вещи, если бы они сфотографировали ее или сохранили память об этом по-другому.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Первоначально, в онлайн-исследовании, мы позволяем нашим субъектам выбирать, как с этим справиться. Почти два из трех выбрали для съемки, безусловно, самый популярный метод. Другие наиболее распространенные методы включали в себя создание страницы для вырезок или создание видеоролика об этом - подход, принятый 22 процентом наших участников, и запись заметки или запись в журнале, выбранную 13 процентом.

Учитывая, как простые смартфоны делают цифровую фотографию, наши результаты, возможно, не должны удивлять. Многие из нас уже полагаются на наши телефоны, чтобы "помнить«Все виды информации, начиная от дней рождения и до тех пор, пока мы припарковали наши машины.

Сохранение настроений

Полученные результаты наша теория что фотографии могут сохранить воспоминания, связанные с сентиментальными предметами, и сделать людей более вероятными, чтобы пожертвовать их. Другими словами, люди не хотят этих вещей - они просто хотят сохранить воспоминания, которые они представляют неповрежденными. Когда взрослые захватывают воспоминания, которые они ассоциируют со своим любимым чучелом животным на фотографии, они часто перестают бояться, что они потеряют эти воспоминания и не стесняются отпускать предмет.

Чтобы проверить, действительно ли фотографирование объектов со сентиментальным значением увеличивает пожертвования, мы изучили поведение Университет штата Пенсильвания студенты. Во-первых, мы разместили знаки за пожертвование для отброшенных вещей в конце учебного года в восьми общежитиях, где проживает в общей сложности больше, чем у студентов 800 и женщин-выпускников. В четырех общежитиях знаки указывали, что ученики фотографируют предметы со сентиментальной ценностью, которые они больше не используют до их сдачи. У остальных были признаки того, что они просто попросили пожертвования.

Студентам, которым было предложено сфотографировать вещи, прежде чем отдать их, пожертвовали на 35 больше предметов, чем в общежитиях, где они не получили этого приглашения. Мы подсчитали элементы 1,098, пожертвованные в общежитиях, где ученикам предлагалось снимать фотографии своих вещей по сравнению с элементами 815 в других общежитиях.

Мы повторили это упражнение в конце осеннего семестра в шести общежитиях общежития примерно того же размера, что и в предыдущем исследовании. Хотя менее половины студентов выезжали, ставка пожертвования по-прежнему была на 15 процентов выше в общежитии, где они увидели предложение о съемке предметов сентиментальной ценности - статистически значимое различие.

Мы также проводили исследования за пределами университета, прося доноров, которые бросали предметы на Сент-Винсент-де-Поль бережливый магазин рядом с кампусом штата Пенсильвания, чтобы увидеть, было ли какое-то вещество, которое они жертвовали, имело сентиментальную ценность. Около половины доноров, которые бросали предметы с сентиментальной ценностью, получали фотографии своих пожертвованных товаров, которые наши помощники-исследователи щелкнули с мгновенной камерой в стиле Полароид, в то время как другая половина не получила изображения.

Потом мы попросили этих доноров почувствовать, что они потеряли часть себя, расставаясь со своими вещами. Те, кто получил фотографии, сообщили о значительно меньшей потери идентичности, предполагая, что фотография действительно помогла им очистить.

Взятые вместе, наши исследования показывают, что съемка фотографий может помочь людям избавиться от имущества с чувственной ценностью.

Другие беспорядки

Наши результаты также показывают, что фотография не является универсальным лекарством от беспорядка.

Например, когда мы попросили людей в наших исследованиях сфотографировать эти предметы перед их продажей, это действие не помогло. Идея размещения денежной ценности на этих вещах, казалось, отвергла их, поскольку Прошлое исследование предполагает, что это возможно. Одно из возможных объяснений: потребители неохотно монетизируют заветные вещи.

Участники неохотно продавали сентиментальные предметы независимо от того, было ли им предложено их сфотографировать или нет.

Точно так же мы обнаружили, что съемка фотографий вещей, не имеющих сентиментальной ценности, не заставила людей с большей вероятностью избавиться от нее. Мы считаем, что это связано с тем, что фотографии не сохранили эмоционально значимых воспоминаний. Потребители часто оставляют вещи без сентиментальной ценности из желания быть экономным.

Конечно благотворительные организации не будут все люди должны отказаться, в том числе от изношенного плюшевого медведя на чердаке. Хотя мы не изучали, облегчает ли фотография людям пахать вещи с чувственной ценностью, мы подозреваем, что это не сработает. Избиение ценных вещей могло слишком сильно напоминать воспоминания о том, что фотографии из них помогут сохранить.

Вынос

Многие некоммерческие организации, такие как Гудвил зависят от пожертвований всех видов. Но некоторые специализируются на одежде, которая должна иметь некоторую сентиментальную ценность. Шкаф Бекки, благотворительность, которая распространяет использованные выпускные платья и Платье для успеха, который дает подержанную профессиональную одежду женщинам с низким доходом, являются двумя хорошими примерами.

Наше исследование предполагает, что такие благотворительные организации могут собрать больше пожертвований, поощряя людей фотографировать значимые предметы, чистя их шкафы.

БеседаЕсли у вас, как и у большинства американцев, есть десятки, а не сотни лишних вещей, вы должны попробовать это сами. Предоставление другим преимуществ от вашего материала будет способствовать его полезности, помогая им Экономить деньги, Кроме того, вы, несомненно, будете чувствовать себя счастливее в менее загроможденный дом.

Об авторах

Ребекка Уокер Рекшек, доцент маркетинга, Университет штата Огайо; Джули Ирвин, Марлен и Мортон Мейерсон, профессор бизнеса, Департамент маркетинга и департамента бизнеса, правительства и общества, Техасский университет в Остине, и Карен Винтич, доцент кафедры маркетинга, Фрэнк и Мэри Смит, Университет штата Пенсильвания

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Похожие книги:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = избавиться от беспорядка; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Что вы хотите?
Что вы хотите?
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

ОТ РЕДАКТОРОВ

Информационный бюллетень InnerSelf: сентябрь 6, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Мы видим жизнь через призму нашего восприятия. Стивен Р. Кови писал: «Мы видим мир не таким, каков он есть, а такими, какие мы есть ──или так, как мы привыкли его видеть». Итак, на этой неделе мы рассмотрим некоторые…
InnerSelf Newsletter: август 30, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Дороги, по которым мы путешествуем сегодня, стары как времена, но для нас они новы. Переживания, которые мы переживаем, стары как времена, но они также новы для нас. То же самое и с…
Когда правда настолько ужасна, что причиняет боль, действуйте
by Мария Т. Рассел, InnerSelf.com
Среди всех ужасов, происходящих в наши дни, меня вдохновляют сияющие лучи надежды. Обычные люди, отстаивающие то, что правильно (и против того, что неправильно). Бейсболисты,…
Когда ты спиной к стене
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний
Я люблю интернет. Теперь я знаю, что многие люди могут сказать об этом много плохого, но мне это нравится. Также как я люблю людей в моей жизни - они не идеальны, но я все равно их люблю.
InnerSelf Newsletter: август 23, 2020
by InnerSelf персонала
Все, наверное, согласятся, что мы живем в странные времена ... новые впечатления, новые взгляды, новые вызовы. Но нас можно воодушевить, вспомнив, что все всегда в движении, ...

Can Cherishing Stuff With A Photo Help You Let Go Of It?

behavior

Can Cherishing Stuff With A Photo Help You Let Go Of It?

Picture your favorite childhood stuffed animal. Are you clinging to it even though neither you nor anyone else in your household has played with that creature in years?

If so, you’re not alone. Parting with possessions we don’t need is a struggle for many Americans. We have an average of at least 50 unused items in our homes, including clothing, electronic devices and toys. Just as common: our desire to ditch this excess baggage, which has fired up the market for Marie Kondo’s best-selling books, blogs and a magazine called Real Simple devoted in part to helping people ditch their clutter.

As consumer psychologists, we wanted to know why people have so much trouble parting with possessions they no longer use. To gain some insight, we zeroed in on items with sentimental value in a series of studies recently published in the Journal of Marketing.

An old pair of basketball shorts, acquired in junior high school, inspired this research.

Storing memories

Things that are tied to emotionally significant memories may represent a piece of your identity. When you struggle to part with that jersey you wore on the junior varsity basketball team, for example, you are not really clinging to the shirt itself. Instead, you’re hanging onto the memories represented by that now-tattered item of clothing you probably won’t wear again. Its sentimental value may make giving the jersey away feel like giving up a piece of your own identity.

We set out to test ways to help people donate goods that are meaningful to them. In studies conducted online and in person, we found that participants reported that they would experience less identity loss from donating a cherished item if they had photographed it or preserved the memory of it some other way.

Initially, in an online study, we let our subjects choose how to handle this. Nearly two out of three opted for photography, by far the most popular method. The other most common techniques included creating a scrapbook page or making a video about it – the approach taken by 22 percent of our participants – and writing a note or making a journal entry – selected by 13 percent.

Given how easy smartphones make digital photography, our results perhaps should come as no surprise. Many of us already rely on our phones to “remember” all kinds of information, ranging from birthdays to where we have parked our cars.

Saving sentiments

The findings supported our theory that photographs can preserve the memories tied to sentimental items and make people more likely to donate them. In other words, people don’t want these things – they just want to keep the memories they represent intact. When grownups capture the memories they associate with their favorite stuffed animal in a photograph, they often stop fearing they will lose those memories and feel free to let go of the item.

To test whether photographing objects with sentimental value actually increases donations, we studied the behavior of Pennsylvania State University students. First, we placed signs for a donation drive for discarded stuff at the end of the school year in eight dorms housing a total of more than 800 male and female undergraduate students. In four dorms, the signs suggested that students photograph items with sentimental value that they no longer used before donating them. The rest had signs that just solicited donations.

Students who were encouraged to photograph things before giving them away donated 35 percent more items than in the dorms where they didn’t get that prompt. We tallied 1,098 items donated in the dorms where students were encouraged to shoot photos of their stuff, versus 815 items in the other dorms.

We repeated this exercise at the end of the fall semester in six all-female dorms about the same size as the prior study. Though fewer than half of the students were moving out, the rate of donation was still 15 percent higher in the dorm where they saw the suggestion about photographing items of sentimental value – a statistically significant difference.

We also conducted research outside a university setting by asking donors dropping off items at a St. Vincent de Paul thrift store near the Penn State campus to see if any of the stuff they were donating had sentimental value. About half of the donors dropping off items with sentimental value received pictures of their donated goods that our research assistants snapped with a Polaroid-style instant camera while the other half did not get a picture.

Afterward, we asked these donors whether they felt like they had lost a piece of themselves when parting with their items. Those who got the photos reported significantly less identity loss, suggesting that the photography truly helped them purge.

Taken together, our studies suggest that shooting pictures can help people get rid of possessions with sentimental value.

Other clutter

Our findings also suggest that photography is no universal cure for clutter.

For example, when we asked people in our studies to take pictures of these items before selling them, that action didn’t help. The idea of placing monetary value on these things appeared to turn them off, as previous research suggests it might. One possible explanation: consumers are reluctant to monetize cherished possessions.

Participants were reluctant to sell sentimental items regardless of whether they were prompted to photograph them or not.

Similarly, we found that shooting photos of stuff lacking sentimental value didn’t make people more likely to get rid of it. We believe that was because the pictures didn’t preserve emotionally significant memories. Consumers often keep things without sentimental value out of a desire to be frugal.

Of course charities won’t take everything people should discard, including that worn-out teddy bear in your attic. Although we didn’t look into whether photography makes it easier for people to chuck stuff with sentimental value, we suspect that it wouldn’t work. Trashing prized possessions could feel too much like throwing out the memories that photos of them would help preserve.

The takeaway

Many nonprofits like Goodwill depend on donations of all kinds. But some specialize in attire that is bound to have some sentimental value. Becca’s Closet, a charity that distributes used prom dresses, and Dress for Success, which gives secondhand professional clothing away to low-income women, are two good examples.

Our research suggests that charities like those could glean more donations by encouraging people to photograph meaningful items as they purge their closets.

The ConversationIf you, like most Americans, have dozens – if not hundreds – of surplus things, you should try this yourself. Letting others benefit from your stuff will extend its usefulness while helping them save money. Besides, you’ll surely feel happier in a less cluttered home.

About The Authors

Rebecca Walker Reczek, Associate Professor of Marketing, The Ohio State University; Julie Irwin, Marlene and Morton Meyerson Centennial Professor of Business, Department of Marketing and Department of Business, Government and Society, University of Texas at Austin, and Karen Winterich, Associate Professor of Marketing, Frank and Mary Smeal Research Fellow, Pennsylvania State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing

behaviorAuthor: Marie Kondo
Binding: Audible Audiobook
Format: Unabridged
Creator(s):
  • Emily Woo Zeller
  • Tantor Audio

Studio: Tantor Audio
Label: Tantor Audio
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Manufacturer: Tantor Audio

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles? Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you'll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results. In fact, none of Kondo's clients have lapsed (and she still has a three-month waiting list).With detailed guidance for determining which items in your house "spark joy" (and which don't), this international bestseller featuring Tokyo's newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home-and the calm, motivated mindset it can inspire.





Getting Rid of It: The Step-by-step Guide for Eliminating the Clutter in Your Life (The Best is Yet to Come Book 2)

behaviorAuthor: Warren Talbot
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now
Editorial Review: You have too much stuff! Your closets are filled with clothes you never wear. You have not seen your kitchen counters in months. Your junk drawer has exploded into an entire room of things you don't use. How can we say that when we don't even know you? Well, because most people do and we were just like you.

In 2008 we put our decluttering and downsizing skills to the ultimate test: Get Rid of Everything we owned in order to follow our dream and travel around the world. From that experience we documented every step in the process to provide you with the comprehensive guide to decluttering your home and putting some extra cash in your packet.

How do you think your life could change if you got rid of some of the stuff tying you down? You don't have to go as far as we did, but you'll benefit from our extreme experience no matter big or small your decluttering project may be. We know decluttering inside and out, and you can take advantage of our experience to create your own clutter-free zone for relaxing, socializing, and spending time with family and friends.




The Life-Changing Manga of Tidying Up: A Magical Story

behaviorAuthor: Marie Kondo
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Ten Speed Press
Label: Ten Speed Press
Publisher: Ten Speed Press
Manufacturer: Ten Speed Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: From the #1 New York Times bestselling author and star of Netflix’s Tidying Up with Marie Kondo, this graphic novelization brings Kondo's life-changing tidying method to life with the fun, quirky story of a woman who transforms her home, work, and love life using Kondo's advice and inspiration.

Marie Kondo presents the fictional story of Chiaki, a young woman in Tokyo who struggles with a cluttered apartment, messy love life, and lack of direction. After receiving a complaint from her attractive next-door neighbor about the sad state of her balcony, Chiaki gets Kondo to take her on as a client. Through a series of entertaining and insightful lessons, Kondo helps Chiaki get her home--and life--in order. This insightful, illustrated case study is perfect for people looking for a fun introduction to the KonMari Method of tidying up, as well as tried-and-true fans of Marie Kondo eager for a new way to think about what sparks joy. Featuring illustrations by award-winning manga artist Yuko Uramoto, this book also makes a great read for manga and graphic novel lovers of all ages.




behavior
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}