Schwedische Death Cleaning: Wie Sie Ihr Zuhause und Ihr Leben entwirren

Schwedische Death Cleaning: Wie Sie Ihr Zuhause und Ihr Leben entwirren
Photo Credit: Allen Goldblatt, flickr

In den letzten Jahren gab es sowohl in der Literatur als auch im Leben einen Trend zu skandinavischen Konzepten, die in einem einzigen Wort zusammengefasst sind. hyggezum Beispiel - das ist dänisch für Behaglichkeit, Zufriedenheit oder Wohlbefinden - dominierte die Publishing-Branche in 2016.

Jetzt heißt das neue Schlagwort "dostadning" - eine Mischung der schwedischen Wörter "death" und "cleaning". Wie sehr diese Modeerscheinungen tatsächlich ein Teil der skandinavischen Kultur sind, ist fraglich, aber Dostadning ist das neue Phänomen, das Margareta Magnusson umrissen hat Die sanfte Art der schwedischen Todesreinigung. In Europa hat das Buch bereits viel Raum zum Nachschlagen beansprucht und laut Time Magazine Dostadning wird der heiße neue Trend sein in 2018.

Magnussons Buch spielt mit der Strömung Angst vor Unordnung im 21st Jahrhundert. Dostadning befürwortet das proaktive und achtsame Ausräumen von Besitz vor dem Tod. Die Idee ist, dass es Verwandten die lästige Aufgabe erspart, Entscheidungen darüber zu treffen, was zu behalten und was zu werfen oder zu verschenken ist. Das Buch spiegelt die einfache Tatsache wider, dass wir alle ein längeres Leben führen. Dies führt natürlich zu mehr Sachen.

Digitaler Tod

Aber es bedeutet auch, dass wir mehr Zeit haben, die Dinge los zu werden. Wir können anfangen, für unseren Tod zu planen, indem wir das, was wir zurücklassen, abnehmen - unnötige Objekte zugunsten dessen, was wir wirklich brauchen, wegwerfen. Es ist vielleicht die Antithese der altägyptischen Tradition, mit Dingen begraben zu sein, die uns ins Jenseits begleiten könnten.

Magnussons Top-Tipps für Dostadnings konzentrieren sich hauptsächlich auf materiellen Besitz - obwohl sie vorschlägt, ein Buch mit Passwörtern für die Familie zu führen, damit sie leichter auf Online-Daten zugreifen können. Dies ist jedoch keine einfache Aufgabe, da immer mehr unserer Daten - Fotos, Briefe, Erinnerungen - sowie tatsächliche Dinge - Musik und Bücher - digital und nicht analog vorliegen. Und da mehr von unserem Leben virtuell geloggt und gespeichert wird, sind die Chancen, dass unsere Verwandten nicht darauf zugreifen können.

Ein Dokumentarfilm über dieses präzise Thema wurde kürzlich auf BBC Radio 4 ausgestrahlt. Mein digitales Vermächtnis war Teil der Wir müssen über den Tod sprechen Englisch: bio-pro.de/en/region/stern/magazin/...3/index.html Patienten mit einem umfangreichen digitalen Fußabdruck, die auf das Internet angewiesen sind - insbesondere in den sozialen Medien -, um sich mit der sie umgebenden Welt zu verbinden. Das Programm hörte auch von Hinterbliebenen, die Schwierigkeiten hatten, nach ihrem Tod auf Daten, einschließlich Facebook-Profile, von Angehörigen zuzugreifen.

Der Todesmanager

Meine letzte Kurzgeschichte Wie man ein Leben einrichtet, Herausgegeben Storgy Bücher in der Anthologie Verlasse die Erde, befasst sich genau mit diesem Thema. In nicht allzu ferner Zukunft versuchen die Eltern einer jungen Frau, die bei einem Unfall plötzlich getötet wurde, Jesse - einen "digitalen Todesmanager" - zu beauftragen, ihr Leben nicht zu kuratieren, sondern zu löschen: um Zugang zu ihren Akten zu bekommen, zerstören sie diese .

In dieser fiktionalen Welt, in der jeder die Bedingungen seines digitalen Besitzes diktieren muss, ist es für Jesse illegal, den Online-Inhalt des Mädchens zu manipulieren. Und doch würde die finanzielle Belohnung für immer die Freiheit von seinem Schreibtisch bedeuten.

Die Geschichte entstand aus einer Idee, die ich online über Karrieren fand, die in Zukunft allgegenwärtig sein werden. Digitales Todesmanagement scheint definitiv "A Thing" zu werden. Und genau so, wie wir jetzt Anwälte beauftragen oder Autoren beauftragen, unser materielles Vermögen zu überwachen - wird es eine Zeit geben, in der Menschen auch jemanden einstellen werden, um ihren digitalen Fußabdruck zu bereinigen

Gibt es in unserem bereits geschäftigen Leben noch etwas, das wir tun müssen, um unserem Online-Leben zu dienen? Vielleicht. Aber es geht darum, Verantwortung für unsere eigenen Sachen zu übernehmen. Wenn wir nicht entscheiden, was zu behalten oder zu verwerfen ist - ob aktuell oder online - dann müssen es letztendlich andere tun. Und wenn wir keine klaren Anweisungen darüber geben, wo unsere digitalen Inhalte zu finden sind, wird es für alle schwieriger.

Das GesprächWie Magnusson schreibt, ist Sterbereinigung "eine dauerhafte Form der Organisation, die den Alltag reibungslos macht". Welches bessere Erbe sollte man hinterlassen, als den Trauerprozess für diejenigen, die wir lieben, zu erleichtern?

Über den Autor

Rachel Connor, Dozentin für kreatives Schreiben, Leeds Beckett Universität

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; keywords = 1501173243; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Deklarieren; maxresults = 2}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life
Photo Credit: Allen Goldblatt, Flickr

There has been a trend in recent years, both in literature and in life, for Scandinavian concepts that are encapsulated in a single word. Hygge, for example – which is Danish for cosiness, contentment or well-being – dominated the publishing industry in 2016.

Now, the new buzzword on the block is “dostadning” – a hybrid of the Swedish words “death” and “cleaning”. How much these fad words are actually a part of Scandinavian culture is debatable, but dostadning is the new phenomenon outlined in Margareta Magnusson’s The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning. In Europe, the book has already occupied a good deal of reviewing space and according to Time magazine, dostadning will be the hot new trend stateside in 2018.

Magnusson’s book chimes with the current anxiety about clutter in the 21st century. Dostadning advocates the proactive and mindful clearing out of possessions before death. The idea is that it saves relatives the onerous task of making decisions about what to keep and what to throw or give away. The book reflects the simple fact that we are all living longer lives. This results, of course, in more stuff.

Digital death

But it also means we have more time to get rid of things. We can start planning for our death by slimming down what we leave behind – shedding unnecessary objects in favour of what we actually need. It is the antithesis, perhaps, of the ancient Egyptian tradition of being buried with things that might accompany us into the afterlife.

Magnusson’s top tips for dostadning focus mostly on material possessions – though she suggests keeping a book of passwords for family so they can access online data more easily. But this is no straightforward task, given that more and more of our data – photos, letters, memories – as well as actual things – music and books – exist in digital rather than analogue form. And as more of our lives are logged and lodged virtually, chances are our relatives might not be able to access it.

A documentary about this precise issue aired recently on BBC Radio 4. My Digital Legacy was part of the We Need to Talk about Death series and featured terminally ill patients with an extensive digital footprint who rely on the internet – especially on social media – to connect to the world around them. The programme also heard from bereaved relatives who experienced difficulties in accessing data, including Facebook profiles, of loved ones after their death.

The death manager

My recent short story How To Curate a Life, published by Storgy Books in the anthology Exit Earth, deals with precisely this issue. Set in the not too distant future, the parents of a young woman killed suddenly in an accident try to commission Jesse – a “digital death manager” – not to curate her life but to erase it: to gain access to her files then destroy them.

In this fictional world where everyone is required to dictate the terms of their digital estate, it is illegal for Jesse to tamper with the girl’s online content. And yet, the financial reward would mean freedom from his desk bound job forever.

The story grew from an idea I found online about careers that will be ubiquitous in the future. Digital death management, it seems, is definitely set to become “A Thing”. And just as we now commission solicitors or will writers to oversee our material estate – there will come a time when people will also hire someone to clean up their digital footprint

In our already busy lives, does tending to our online existence give us one more thing to do? Perhaps so. But it’s about taking responsibility for our own stuff. If we don’t make the decisions about what to keep or discard – whether actual or online – then ultimately others will need to. And if we don’t leave clear directions about where to find our digital content, it makes things tougher for everyone.

The ConversationAs Magnusson writes, death cleaning is “a permanent form of organisation that makes everyday life run smoothly”. What better legacy to leave behind than to ease the bereavement process for the ones we love?

About The Author

Rachel Connor, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing, Leeds Beckett University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=1501173243;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=decluttering;maxresults=2}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.