تنظيف الموت السويدي: كيف ل Declutter منزلك والحياة

الصفحة الرئيسية

تنظيف الموت السويدي: كيف ل Declutter منزلك والحياة
تصوير: ألن جولدبلات, فليكر

كان هناك اتجاه في السنوات الأخيرة ، سواء في الأدب أو في الحياة ، للمفاهيم الاسكندنافية التي يتم تضمينها في كلمة واحدة. hyggeعلى سبيل المثال - وهي الدنماركية للراحة والرضا والرفاهية - سيطرت على صناعة النشر في 2016.

الآن ، الكلمة الطنانة الجديدة على الكتلة هي "dostadning" - وهي عبارة عن مزيج من الكلمات السويدية "الموت" و "التنظيف". كم هي هذه الكلمات البدائية في الواقع جزء من الثقافة الاسكندنافية هي قابلة للنقاش ، ولكن dostadning هي الظاهرة الجديدة المبينة في Margareta Magnusson فن لطيف لتنظيف الموت السويدي. في أوروبا ، احتل الكتاب بالفعل قدرا كبيرا من استعراض الفضاء وفقا لمجلة تايم ، سوف dostadning يكون الاتجاه الجديد الساخن الدول في 2018.

ينسجم كتاب ماجنسون مع التيار القلق حول الفوضى في القرن 21st. يدافع دوستادنج عن الاستباقية والوعي من الممتلكات قبل الموت. والفكرة هي أنه يوفر على الأقارب المهمة الشاقة المتمثلة في اتخاذ القرارات بشأن ما يجب الاحتفاظ به وما يجب التخلص منه أو التخلي عنه. يعكس الكتاب حقيقة بسيطة وهي أننا جميعا نعيش حياة أطول. هذه النتائج ، بالطبع ، في المزيد من الاشياء.

الموت الرقمي

لكنه يعني أيضًا أنه لدينا المزيد من الوقت للتخلص من الأشياء. يمكننا البدء في التخطيط لموتنا من خلال التخفيف من ما نتركه وراءنا - التخلص من الأشياء غير الضرورية لصالح ما نحتاجه بالفعل. إنه نقيض ، ربما ، للتقليد المصري القديم من دفنه بأشياء قد ترافقنا إلى الآخرة.

تتركز أهم نصائح ماجنيسون حول دوستادنغ في معظمها على الممتلكات المادية - على الرغم من أنها تقترح الاحتفاظ بكتاب من كلمات المرور للعائلة حتى يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى البيانات عبر الإنترنت بسهولة أكبر. لكن هذه ليست مهمة مباشرة ، بالنظر إلى أن المزيد والمزيد من بياناتنا - الصور والرسائل والذكريات - بالإضافة إلى الأشياء الفعلية - الموسيقى والكتب - موجودة في شكل رقمي وليس شكلي. وبما أن المزيد من حياتنا يتم تسجيلها وتقديمها فعليًا ، فقد لا يتمكن أقاربنا من الوصول إليها.

فيلم وثائقي حول هذه المشكلة الدقيقة تم بثه مؤخراً على راديو بي بي سي 4. My Digital Legacy أي جزء من نحن بحاجة للحديث عن الموت سلسلة من المرضى المصابين بأمراض قاتلة والذين لديهم بصمة رقمية واسعة يعتمدون على الإنترنت - وخاصة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي - للاتصال بالعالم من حولهم. كما سمع البرنامج من أقارب الضحايا الذين عانوا من صعوبات في الوصول إلى البيانات ، بما في ذلك ملفات الفيسبوك ، والأحباء بعد وفاتهم.

مدير الموت

قصتي القصيرة الأخيرة كيفية تنظيم الحياة، التي نشرتها كتب Storgy في المختارات الخروج من الأرض، يتناول بالضبط هذه المسألة. في المستقبل غير البعيد ، يحاول آباء امرأة شابة يقتلون فجأة في حادث تكليف جيسي - "مدير الموت الرقمي" - عدم تنظيم حياتها بل محوها: للوصول إلى ملفاتها ثم تدميرها .

في هذا العالم الخيالي حيث يُطلب من الجميع إملاء شروط عقدهم الرقمي ، فإنه من غير القانوني لجيسي أن يعبث بمحتوى الفتاة على الإنترنت. ومع ذلك ، فإن المكافأة المالية تعني التحرر من وظيفته المكتبية إلى الأبد.

نمت القصة من فكرة وجدت على الانترنت عن المهن التي ستكون في كل مكان في المستقبل. من المؤكد أن إدارة الموت الرقمي قد أصبحت "شيء". ومثلما نلجأ الآن إلى المحامين أو سيرشح الكُتّاب للإشراف على ممتلكاتنا المادية - سيأتي الوقت الذي سيستأجر فيه الأشخاص أيضًا شخصًا لتنظيف بصمتهم الرقمية

في حياتنا المزدحمة بالفعل ، هل يعطينا إلى وجودنا عبر الإنترنت شيء آخر نفعله؟ ربما كذلك. لكن الأمر يتعلق بتحمل المسؤولية عن الأشياء الخاصة بنا. إذا لم نتخذ القرارات حول ما يجب الاحتفاظ به أو تجاهله - سواء كان فعليًا أو عبر الإنترنت - في نهاية المطاف ، فسيحتاج الآخرون إلى ذلك. وإذا لم نترك توجيهات واضحة حول مكان العثور على المحتوى الرقمي لدينا ، فهذا يجعل الأمور أكثر صرامة بالنسبة للجميع.

المحادثةوكما يكتب ماجنسون ، فإن تنظيف الموت هو "شكل دائم من أشكال التنظيم يجعل الحياة اليومية تسير بسلاسة". ما هو الإرث الأفضل للتخلي عنه بدلاً من تخفيف عملية الفجيعة للأشخاص الذين نحبهم؟

نبذة عن الكاتب

راشيل كونور ، محاضر أول في الكتابة الإبداعية ، جامعة ليدز ميتروبوليتان

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1501173243. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = decluttering، maxresults = 2}

الصفحة الرئيسية
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life
Photo Credit: Allen Goldblatt, Flickr

There has been a trend in recent years, both in literature and in life, for Scandinavian concepts that are encapsulated in a single word. Hygge, for example – which is Danish for cosiness, contentment or well-being – dominated the publishing industry in 2016.

Now, the new buzzword on the block is “dostadning” – a hybrid of the Swedish words “death” and “cleaning”. How much these fad words are actually a part of Scandinavian culture is debatable, but dostadning is the new phenomenon outlined in Margareta Magnusson’s The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning. In Europe, the book has already occupied a good deal of reviewing space and according to Time magazine, dostadning will be the hot new trend stateside in 2018.

Magnusson’s book chimes with the current anxiety about clutter in the 21st century. Dostadning advocates the proactive and mindful clearing out of possessions before death. The idea is that it saves relatives the onerous task of making decisions about what to keep and what to throw or give away. The book reflects the simple fact that we are all living longer lives. This results, of course, in more stuff.

Digital death

But it also means we have more time to get rid of things. We can start planning for our death by slimming down what we leave behind – shedding unnecessary objects in favour of what we actually need. It is the antithesis, perhaps, of the ancient Egyptian tradition of being buried with things that might accompany us into the afterlife.

Magnusson’s top tips for dostadning focus mostly on material possessions – though she suggests keeping a book of passwords for family so they can access online data more easily. But this is no straightforward task, given that more and more of our data – photos, letters, memories – as well as actual things – music and books – exist in digital rather than analogue form. And as more of our lives are logged and lodged virtually, chances are our relatives might not be able to access it.

A documentary about this precise issue aired recently on BBC Radio 4. My Digital Legacy was part of the We Need to Talk about Death series and featured terminally ill patients with an extensive digital footprint who rely on the internet – especially on social media – to connect to the world around them. The programme also heard from bereaved relatives who experienced difficulties in accessing data, including Facebook profiles, of loved ones after their death.

The death manager

My recent short story How To Curate a Life, published by Storgy Books in the anthology Exit Earth, deals with precisely this issue. Set in the not too distant future, the parents of a young woman killed suddenly in an accident try to commission Jesse – a “digital death manager” – not to curate her life but to erase it: to gain access to her files then destroy them.

In this fictional world where everyone is required to dictate the terms of their digital estate, it is illegal for Jesse to tamper with the girl’s online content. And yet, the financial reward would mean freedom from his desk bound job forever.

The story grew from an idea I found online about careers that will be ubiquitous in the future. Digital death management, it seems, is definitely set to become “A Thing”. And just as we now commission solicitors or will writers to oversee our material estate – there will come a time when people will also hire someone to clean up their digital footprint

In our already busy lives, does tending to our online existence give us one more thing to do? Perhaps so. But it’s about taking responsibility for our own stuff. If we don’t make the decisions about what to keep or discard – whether actual or online – then ultimately others will need to. And if we don’t leave clear directions about where to find our digital content, it makes things tougher for everyone.

The ConversationAs Magnusson writes, death cleaning is “a permanent form of organisation that makes everyday life run smoothly”. What better legacy to leave behind than to ease the bereavement process for the ones we love?

About The Author

Rachel Connor, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing, Leeds Beckett University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=1501173243;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=decluttering;maxresults=2}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.