Nettoyage de la mort suédois: Comment déglutir votre maison et votre vie

Nettoyage de la mort suédois: Comment déglutir votre maison et votre vie
Crédit photo: Allen Goldblatt, flickr

Au cours des dernières années, il y a eu une tendance, tant dans la littérature que dans la vie, pour les concepts scandinaves qui sont encapsulés dans un seul mot. Hyggepar exemple - qui est danoise pour le confort, le contentement ou le bien-être - a dominé l'industrie de l'édition dans 2016.

Maintenant, le nouveau mot à la mode sur le bloc est "dostadning" - un hybride des mots suédois "mort" et "nettoyage". On peut se demander dans quelle mesure ces mots font partie de la culture scandinave, mais le dostadning est le nouveau phénomène décrit dans Margareta Magnusson. L'art doux du nettoyage de la mort suédois. En Europe, le livre a déjà occupé beaucoup d'espace d'examen et selon le magazine Time, Dostadning sera la nouvelle tendance stateside dans 2018.

Le livre de Magnusson s'accorde avec le courant anxiété à propos de fouillis au 21ème siècle. Dostadning préconise l'élimination proactive et consciente des possessions avant la mort. L'idée est que cela sauve les parents de la lourde tâche de prendre des décisions sur ce qu'il faut garder et ce qu'il faut jeter ou donner. Le livre reflète le simple fait que nous vivons tous plus longtemps. Cela résulte, bien sûr, dans plus de choses.

Mort numérique

Mais cela signifie aussi que nous avons plus de temps pour nous débarrasser des choses. Nous pouvons commencer à planifier notre mort en réduisant ce que nous laissons derrière nous - en jetant des objets inutiles en faveur de ce dont nous avons réellement besoin. C'est peut-être l'antithèse de l'ancienne tradition égyptienne d'être enseveli avec des choses qui pourraient nous accompagner dans l'au-delà.

Les meilleurs conseils de Magnusson pour le dostadning se concentrent principalement sur les possessions matérielles - bien qu'elle suggère de garder un livre de mots de passe pour la famille afin qu'ils puissent accéder aux données en ligne plus facilement. Mais ce n'est pas une tâche facile, étant donné que de plus en plus de nos données - photos, lettres, souvenirs - ainsi que des choses réelles - musique et livres - existent sous forme numérique plutôt qu'analogique. Et comme plus de nos vies sont consignées et hébergées virtuellement, il y a de fortes chances que nos proches ne puissent pas y avoir accès.

Un documentaire sur cette question précise a récemment été diffusé sur BBC Radio 4. Mon héritage numérique faisait partie de la Nous devons parler de la mort Il s'agissait d'une série de patients en phase terminale dotés d'une empreinte digitale étendue et qui dépendent de l'internet - en particulier sur les réseaux sociaux - pour se connecter au monde qui les entoure. Le programme a également entendu des parents endeuillés qui ont éprouvé des difficultés à accéder aux données, y compris les profils Facebook, de leurs proches après leur décès.

Le gestionnaire de la mort

Ma récente histoire courte Comment organiser une vie, Publié par Storgy Livres dans l'anthologie Quitter la Terre, traite précisément de ce problème. Dans un avenir pas trop lointain, les parents d'une jeune femme tuée soudainement dans un accident tentent de commander à Jesse - un «gestionnaire de la mort numérique» - de ne pas la commettre mais de l'effacer: pour accéder à ses fichiers .

Dans ce monde fictif où tout le monde est tenu de dicter les termes de leur patrimoine numérique, il est illégal pour Jesse d'altérer le contenu en ligne de la jeune fille. Et pourtant, la récompense financière signifierait la liberté de son bureau lié au travail pour toujours.

L'histoire est née d'une idée que j'ai trouvée en ligne sur des carrières qui seront omniprésentes dans le futur. La gestion de la mort numérique, semble-t-il, va certainement devenir «une chose». Et tout comme nous demandons maintenant à des avocats ou à des écrivains de superviser notre patrimoine matériel - il arrivera un moment où les gens embaucheront aussi quelqu'un pour nettoyer leur empreinte digitale.

Dans nos vies déjà occupées, est-ce que tendre à notre existence en ligne nous donne encore une chose à faire? Peut-être aussi. Mais il s'agit de prendre la responsabilité de nos propres affaires. Si nous ne prenons pas les décisions sur ce qu'il convient de garder ou de mettre au rebut - que ce soit réel ou en ligne -, d'autres en auront finalement besoin. Et si nous ne laissons pas de directives claires sur l'endroit où trouver notre contenu numérique, cela rendra les choses plus difficiles pour tout le monde.

La ConversationComme l'écrit Magnusson, le nettoyage de la mort est «une forme permanente d'organisation qui facilite le bon déroulement de la vie quotidienne». Quel meilleur héritage laisser derrière nous que de faciliter le processus de deuil pour ceux que nous aimons?

A propos de l'auteur

Rachel Connor, Maître de conférences en création littéraire, Université de Leeds Beckett

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres, mots-clés = 1501173243; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = désencombrer; maxresults = 2}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life
Photo Credit: Allen Goldblatt, Flickr

There has been a trend in recent years, both in literature and in life, for Scandinavian concepts that are encapsulated in a single word. Hygge, for example – which is Danish for cosiness, contentment or well-being – dominated the publishing industry in 2016.

Now, the new buzzword on the block is “dostadning” – a hybrid of the Swedish words “death” and “cleaning”. How much these fad words are actually a part of Scandinavian culture is debatable, but dostadning is the new phenomenon outlined in Margareta Magnusson’s The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning. In Europe, the book has already occupied a good deal of reviewing space and according to Time magazine, dostadning will be the hot new trend stateside in 2018.

Magnusson’s book chimes with the current anxiety about clutter in the 21st century. Dostadning advocates the proactive and mindful clearing out of possessions before death. The idea is that it saves relatives the onerous task of making decisions about what to keep and what to throw or give away. The book reflects the simple fact that we are all living longer lives. This results, of course, in more stuff.

Digital death

But it also means we have more time to get rid of things. We can start planning for our death by slimming down what we leave behind – shedding unnecessary objects in favour of what we actually need. It is the antithesis, perhaps, of the ancient Egyptian tradition of being buried with things that might accompany us into the afterlife.

Magnusson’s top tips for dostadning focus mostly on material possessions – though she suggests keeping a book of passwords for family so they can access online data more easily. But this is no straightforward task, given that more and more of our data – photos, letters, memories – as well as actual things – music and books – exist in digital rather than analogue form. And as more of our lives are logged and lodged virtually, chances are our relatives might not be able to access it.

A documentary about this precise issue aired recently on BBC Radio 4. My Digital Legacy was part of the We Need to Talk about Death series and featured terminally ill patients with an extensive digital footprint who rely on the internet – especially on social media – to connect to the world around them. The programme also heard from bereaved relatives who experienced difficulties in accessing data, including Facebook profiles, of loved ones after their death.

The death manager

My recent short story How To Curate a Life, published by Storgy Books in the anthology Exit Earth, deals with precisely this issue. Set in the not too distant future, the parents of a young woman killed suddenly in an accident try to commission Jesse – a “digital death manager” – not to curate her life but to erase it: to gain access to her files then destroy them.

In this fictional world where everyone is required to dictate the terms of their digital estate, it is illegal for Jesse to tamper with the girl’s online content. And yet, the financial reward would mean freedom from his desk bound job forever.

The story grew from an idea I found online about careers that will be ubiquitous in the future. Digital death management, it seems, is definitely set to become “A Thing”. And just as we now commission solicitors or will writers to oversee our material estate – there will come a time when people will also hire someone to clean up their digital footprint

In our already busy lives, does tending to our online existence give us one more thing to do? Perhaps so. But it’s about taking responsibility for our own stuff. If we don’t make the decisions about what to keep or discard – whether actual or online – then ultimately others will need to. And if we don’t leave clear directions about where to find our digital content, it makes things tougher for everyone.

The ConversationAs Magnusson writes, death cleaning is “a permanent form of organisation that makes everyday life run smoothly”. What better legacy to leave behind than to ease the bereavement process for the ones we love?

About The Author

Rachel Connor, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing, Leeds Beckett University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=1501173243;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=decluttering;maxresults=2}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.