Шведская Уборка Смерти: Как Объявить Ваш Дом и Жизнь

Шведская Уборка Смерти: Как Объявить Ваш Дом и Жизнь
Фото: Аллен Голдблат, Flickr

В последние годы наблюдается тенденция, как в литературе, так и в жизни, для скандинавских концепций, которые инкапсулированы одним словом. Hygge, например, датский язык для уюта, довольства или благополучия - доминировал в издательской индустрии в 2016.

Теперь новое модное слово на блоке «dastadning» - гибрид шведских слов «смерть» и «чистка». Насколько эти причудливые слова на самом деле являются частью скандинавской культуры, дискутируют, но добросовестность - это новое явление, описанное в книге Маргареты Магнуссон Нежное искусство шведской смерти, В Европе книга уже заняла много места для обзора и, согласно журналу Time, dastadning станет горячей новой тенденцией в 2018.

Книжные куранты Магнуссона с текущим беспокойство о беспорядке в 21st веке. Dastadning выступает за активную и продуманную очистку имущества до смерти. Идея состоит в том, что она спасает родственников обременительную задачу принятия решений о том, что сохранить, а что бросить или отдать. Книга отражает простой факт, что мы все живем дольше. Это приводит, конечно, к большему количеству вещей.

Цифровая смерть

Но это также означает, что у нас больше времени, чтобы избавиться от вещей. Мы можем начать планировать нашу смерть, уменьшая то, что мы оставляем, - избавление ненужных объектов в пользу того, что нам действительно нужно. Возможно, это противоположность древней египетской традиции погребения с вещами, которые могут сопровождать нас в загробной жизни.

Главные подсказки Magnusson для достадирования сосредоточены в основном на материальных благах - хотя она предлагает хранить книгу паролей для семьи, чтобы они могли легче получить доступ к онлайн-данным. Но это не простая задача, учитывая, что все больше и больше наших данных - фотографии, письма, воспоминания - а также фактические вещи - музыка и книги - существуют в цифровой, а не аналоговой форме. И поскольку большая часть наших жизней регистрируется и размещается практически, возможно, наши родственники не смогут получить к ней доступ.

Документальный фильм об этой точной проблеме, появившейся недавно на BBC Radio 4. Мое цифровое наследие была частью Нам нужно говорить о смерти серии и признакам неизлечимо больных пациентов с обширной цифровой след, которые полагаются на интернет - особенно в социальных сетях - для подключения к окружающему миру. Программа также слышала от родственников, потерявших близких, которые испытывали трудности с доступом к данным, включая профили Facebook, о близких после их смерти.

Менеджер по смерти

Мой недавний рассказ Как заняться жизнью, Опубликованные Книги Сторги в антологии Выход из Земли, касается именно этой проблемы. Установленные в не слишком отдаленном будущем родители молодой женщины, внезапно убитой в результате несчастного случая, пытаются ввести Джесси - «цифрового менеджера смерти» - чтобы не курировать ее жизнь, а стереть ее: получить доступ к ее файлам, затем уничтожить их ,

В этом вымышленном мире, где каждый должен диктовать условия своего цифрового состояния, Джесс незаконно вмешиваться в онлайн-контент девушки. И тем не менее, финансовое вознаграждение означало бы, что свобода со стола столкнулась с работой навсегда.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


История выросла из идеи, которую я нашел в Интернете о карьере, которая будет вездесущей в будущем. Цифровое управление смертью, похоже, определенно должно стать «Вещей». И так же, как мы теперь направляем солиситоров или писателей для наблюдения за нашим материальным имуществом - наступит время, когда люди также нанят кого-то, чтобы очистить свой цифровой след

В нашей уже насыщенной жизни, ухаживает ли за наше онлайн-существование, еще одна вещь? Возможно, так. Но речь идет о взятии ответственности за наши собственные вещи. Если мы не будем принимать решения о том, что сохранить или отбросить - будь то фактическое или онлайн, то в конечном итоге другим понадобится. И если мы не оставляем четких указаний о том, где найти наш цифровой контент, это делает все более сложным для всех.

БеседаКак пишет Магнуссон, уборка смерти - это «постоянная форма организации, которая делает повседневную жизнь гладко». Какое лучшее наследие оставить, чем облегчить процесс утраты для тех, кого мы любим?

Об авторе

Рейчел Коннор, старший преподаватель в области творческого письма, Городской университет Лидса

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = 1501173243; maxresults = 1}

{AmazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Decluttering; maxresults = 2}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life

Swedish Death Cleaning: How To Declutter Your Home And Life
Photo Credit: Allen Goldblatt, Flickr

There has been a trend in recent years, both in literature and in life, for Scandinavian concepts that are encapsulated in a single word. Hygge, for example – which is Danish for cosiness, contentment or well-being – dominated the publishing industry in 2016.

Now, the new buzzword on the block is “dostadning” – a hybrid of the Swedish words “death” and “cleaning”. How much these fad words are actually a part of Scandinavian culture is debatable, but dostadning is the new phenomenon outlined in Margareta Magnusson’s The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning. In Europe, the book has already occupied a good deal of reviewing space and according to Time magazine, dostadning will be the hot new trend stateside in 2018.

Magnusson’s book chimes with the current anxiety about clutter in the 21st century. Dostadning advocates the proactive and mindful clearing out of possessions before death. The idea is that it saves relatives the onerous task of making decisions about what to keep and what to throw or give away. The book reflects the simple fact that we are all living longer lives. This results, of course, in more stuff.

Digital death

But it also means we have more time to get rid of things. We can start planning for our death by slimming down what we leave behind – shedding unnecessary objects in favour of what we actually need. It is the antithesis, perhaps, of the ancient Egyptian tradition of being buried with things that might accompany us into the afterlife.

Magnusson’s top tips for dostadning focus mostly on material possessions – though she suggests keeping a book of passwords for family so they can access online data more easily. But this is no straightforward task, given that more and more of our data – photos, letters, memories – as well as actual things – music and books – exist in digital rather than analogue form. And as more of our lives are logged and lodged virtually, chances are our relatives might not be able to access it.

A documentary about this precise issue aired recently on BBC Radio 4. My Digital Legacy was part of the We Need to Talk about Death series and featured terminally ill patients with an extensive digital footprint who rely on the internet – especially on social media – to connect to the world around them. The programme also heard from bereaved relatives who experienced difficulties in accessing data, including Facebook profiles, of loved ones after their death.

The death manager

My recent short story How To Curate a Life, published by Storgy Books in the anthology Exit Earth, deals with precisely this issue. Set in the not too distant future, the parents of a young woman killed suddenly in an accident try to commission Jesse – a “digital death manager” – not to curate her life but to erase it: to gain access to her files then destroy them.

In this fictional world where everyone is required to dictate the terms of their digital estate, it is illegal for Jesse to tamper with the girl’s online content. And yet, the financial reward would mean freedom from his desk bound job forever.

The story grew from an idea I found online about careers that will be ubiquitous in the future. Digital death management, it seems, is definitely set to become “A Thing”. And just as we now commission solicitors or will writers to oversee our material estate – there will come a time when people will also hire someone to clean up their digital footprint

In our already busy lives, does tending to our online existence give us one more thing to do? Perhaps so. But it’s about taking responsibility for our own stuff. If we don’t make the decisions about what to keep or discard – whether actual or online – then ultimately others will need to. And if we don’t leave clear directions about where to find our digital content, it makes things tougher for everyone.

The ConversationAs Magnusson writes, death cleaning is “a permanent form of organisation that makes everyday life run smoothly”. What better legacy to leave behind than to ease the bereavement process for the ones we love?

About The Author

Rachel Connor, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing, Leeds Beckett University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=1501173243;maxresults=1}

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=decluttering;maxresults=2}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.