Ist es Zeit, die WWII "Grow Your Own" Kampagne wieder aufleben zu lassen?

Ist es Zeit, die WWII "Grow Your Own" Kampagne wieder aufleben zu lassen?

Während der verheerenden Überschwemmungen, die Queensland in 2011 traf, Brisbane und regionale Zentren kam lebensgefährlich kurz davor, kein frisches Essen mehr zu haben. Mit dem zentralen Rocklea-Markt unter Wasser machten sich bald Panikkäufe bemerkbar und die Supermarktregale leerten sich schnell.

Solche Ereignisse entlarven die Verwundbarkeit unserer städtischen Nahrungsmittelsysteme. Der Klimawandel und die Erschöpfung der Ressourcen stellen eher langsam brennende Herausforderungen dar, aber die Tatsache, dass die städtische Lebensmittelpolitik es ist, bleibt bestehen Gefahr der Selbstzufriedenheit.

Gartenarbeit ist sicherlich gut für dichAber spielt es eine Rolle bei der Erhöhung der städtischen Ernährungssicherheit und -resilienz? Vielleicht kann uns die Geschichte die Antwort geben.

Während Australische Forschung hat sich auf die jüngsten Initiativen der städtischen Landwirtschaft konzentriert und in Australien vor mehr als 70 Jahren, während des Zweiten Weltkriegs, ein wirkliches Experiment im Gartenbau zur Ernährungssicherung durchgeführt.

Den Krieg mit selbst angebautem Essen gewinnen

Großbritannien, das mit ernsten Nahrungsmittelknappheiten konfrontiert ist, begann mit dem Slogan "Grabe nach Sieg"In 1939. In Australien begannen zwei Jahre später nur geringe Anstrengungen, die heimische Nahrungsmittelproduktion zu fördern.

A 1941-Umfrage von Melbourne-Haushalten ergab, dass 48% von ihnen bereits Lebensmittel irgendeiner Art produziert. In großzügigen Mittelringvorstädten war der Anteil so hoch wie 88%, während er in den dichten Innenstädten weniger als 15% betrug. Die Nahrungsmittelproduktion war am häufigsten unter den Mittelklasse- und qualifizierten Arbeiterhaushalten und weniger unter den Armen und Ausgegrenzten.

Von 1943 wurden in Australien erhebliche Nahrungsmitteldefizite erwartet. Die Regierung reagierte mit einer Reihe von Maßnahmen, darunter eine groß angelegte "Grow Your Own" -Kampagne.

Filme, Radiosendungen, öffentliche Demonstrationen, Wettbewerbe, Plakate, Zeitungsanzeigen und Broschüren drängten Heimgärtner, ihr eigenes Gemüse anzubauen. Es wurde gehofft, dass dies die Belastung der kommerziellen Nahrungsmittelversorgung verringern würde, sowie Ersatz für rationierte Nahrungsmittel bieten würde, eine Versicherung gegen kommerzielle Nahrungsmittelversorgungsausfälle zur Verfügung stellen und die Nachfrage nach Gegenständen wie Brennstoff und Gummi verringern würde. Gemeinderäte und Schulen führten auch Gemüseproduktionsprogramme durch.

Zwar gibt es keine verlässlichen Statistiken über die Wirksamkeit der Kampagne, doch Einzelberichte deuten darauf hin, dass die Produktion von Hausnahrung zugenommen hat - allerdings nicht ohne Hindernisse auf dem Weg zu treffen.

Kriegsunterbrechungen führten zu einem Mangel an Pestiziden, Saatgut, Gummi und Düngemitteln. Vieh und Geflügel können eine wichtige Rolle im Nährstoffkreislauf bei der nachhaltigen Nahrungsmittelproduktion spielen, aber Kühe und Ziegen waren in den Jahrzehnten vor dem Krieg aus vielen städtischen Gebieten ausgeschlossen worden. Infolgedessen war der Wettbewerb um örtliche Gülle hart; Einige Gärtner warteten mit Eimer und Schaufel auf Pferde, die auf Lebensmittelrunden vorbeikamen.

Kunstdünger waren auch teuer und schwer zu bekommen. Selbst die Verwendung von Blut und Knochen als organischer Dünger war eingeschränkt, da er für kommerzielle Geflügel- und Schweinefuttermittel umgeleitet wurde. Alternativen beinhalteten die Kompostierung von Abfällen, obwohl dies Zeit und Geschick erforderte und der Nährwert für Pflanzen begrenzt war.

Auch die Arbeit war knapp. Viele arbeitsfähige Leute hatten sich den Streitkräften angeschlossen, und andere arbeiteten lange Stunden in Kriegsberufen. Dies gab den wenigsten Stadtbewohnern die Zeit und Energie, sich einem Gemüsegarten zu widmen. Die Landarmee der Frauen war an einer städtischen Kultivierung beteiligt, und der YWCA richtete eine "Gartenarmee" von Frauen ein, die Gemeinschaftsgärten auf privatem oder öffentlichem Boden errichteten und pflegten.

Lehren aus der Vergangenheit

Welche Lehren können wir aus dieser Geschichte ziehen über die Fähigkeit der Nahrungsmittelproduktion in den Vorstädten, die städtische Nahrungsmittelversorgung in einer Zeit zunehmender Knappheit anzukurbeln?

Das Wichtigste ist, dass Haus - und Gemeinschaftsnahrungsgärten sinnvoll zu widerstandsfähigen städtischen Nahrungsmittelsystemen beitragen können, aber als unsere die urbane Form verändert sich wir müssen diesen Beitrag explizit planen.

Gemüsegärten benötigen beispielsweise öffentlichen oder privaten Raum, der relativ offen und nicht von Bäumen überfüllt ist. Dies ist einer der Gründe, warum die weitläufigen Mittelring-Vororte von Melbourne produktiver waren als die Innenstadt von 1941.

Nachhaltige städtische Nahrungsmittelproduktion erfordert auch Fähigkeiten, Wissen und Zeit. Viel Gartenbau heute stützt sich stark auf gekaufte Sämlinge, Dünger und Pestizide. Widerstandsfähige Nahrungsmittelgärten müssen eine Reihe von Strategien haben, um wichtige Ressourcen vor Ort zu beschaffen, zum Beispiel durch Saatgut-Sparenetzwerke, Kompostierung, lokale Nutztiere und Geflügel sowie vor Ort Regenwassersammlung und -lagerung. Sie brauchen auch Leute mit der Zeit und den Fähigkeiten, diese Systeme zu verwalten.

Diese Geschichte bietet auch Inspiration in Form von Geschichten von Selbstversorgung durch normale MenschenSo wie die 56-jährige Frau, die eine Laden- und Konditorei betreibt, die in 1941 all das Gemüse und die Eier produziert, die sie und ihre Schwester in ihrem Haus in Essendon benötigen.

Die geringe Dichte eines Großteils der australischen Stadtlandschaft bietet ein beträchtliches Potenzial für eine nachhaltige und widerstandsfähige Nahrungsmittelproduktion. Aber unsere Städte müssen immer noch in die Entwicklung von Fähigkeiten und Systemen investieren, um diese Art von Landwirtschaft zu erhalten.

Dies ist besonders kritisch für einkommensschwache Gebiete, in denen die Ressourcenknappheit am härtesten greift. Es ist auch eine Aufgabe, die als immer anspruchsvoller aussieht Farmen werden weiter von der Stadt geschoben, Während Standardhäuser auf schrumpfenden Losgrößen und schlecht gestaltete Infill-Entwicklung Stadtgartenplatz auffressen.

Wir sind vielleicht noch nicht in der Lage, eine landesweite "Grow Your Own" -Kampagne in der Größenordnung, wie sie in Kriegszeiten zu beobachten war, zu benötigen. Aber wenn wir die Widerstandsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit unserer Städte erhöhen wollen, wären wir dumm, ihre Lehren zu ignorieren.

Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Andrea Gaynor, Associate Professor für Geschichte, University of Western Australia

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = eigenes Essen anbauen; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Is It Time To Resurrect the WWII 'Grow Your Own' Campaign?

gardening

Is It Time To Resurrect the WWII 'Grow Your Own' Campaign?

During the devastating floods that hit Queensland in 2011, Brisbane and regional centres came perilously close to running out of fresh food. With the central Rocklea produce market underwater, panic-buying soon set in and supermarket shelves emptied fast.

Such events expose the vulnerability of our urban food systems. Climate change and resource depletion present more slow-burning challenges, but the fact remains that urban food policy is at risk of complacency.

Gardening is certainly good for you, but does it have a role to play in increasing urban food security and resilience? Perhaps history can tell us the answer.

While Australian research has focused on recent urban agriculture initiatives, a real-world experiment in gardening for food security took place in Australia more than 70 years ago, during the Second World War.

Winning the war with home-grown food

Britain, facing serious food shortages, began using the slogan “Dig for Victory” in 1939. In Australia, low-key efforts at encouraging home food production began two years later.

A 1941 survey of Melbourne households revealed that 48% of them already produced food of some kind. In spacious middle-ring suburbs the proportion was as high as 88%, whereas in the dense inner cities it was less than 15%. Food production was most common among middle-class and skilled working-class households, and less so among the poor and marginalised.

By 1943, significant food shortfalls were expected in Australia. The government responded with a range of measures, including a large-scale “Grow Your Own” campaign.

Movies, radio broadcasts, public demonstrations, competitions, posters, newspaper ads and brochures all urged home gardeners to grow their own vegetables. It was hoped this would reduce the strain on the commercial food supply, as well as offering substitutes for rationed food items, providing insurance against commercial food supply failures, and easing the demand on items such as fuel and rubber. Municipal councils and schools also ran vegetable production programmes.

While there are no reliable statistics on the campaign’s effectiveness, anecdotal evidence suggests that home food production increased – but not without hitting obstacles along the way.

Wartime disruptions led to shortages of pesticides, seeds, rubber and fertilisers. Livestock and fowl can play an important role in nutrient cycling in sustainable food production, but cows and goats had been excluded from many urban areas in the decades before the war. As a result, competition for local manure was fierce; some gardeners would wait with bucket and shovel for horses on grocery rounds to pass by.

Artificial fertilisers were also expensive and hard to come by. Even the use of blood and bone as an organic fertiliser was restricted, as it was diverted for commercial poultry and pig feed. Alternatives included composting of waste, although this required time and skill, and its nutritional value for plants was limited.

Labour, too, was in short supply. Many able-bodied people had joined the armed forces and others were working long hours in war jobs. This left relatively few urban residents with the time and energy to devote to a vegetable garden. The Women’s Land Army was involved in some urban cultivation, and the YWCA established a “Garden Army” of women who established and tended community gardens on private or public land.

Lessons from the past

What lessons can we learn from this history about the capacity for suburban food production to boost urban food supply in a time of prolonged scarcity?

The most important is that home and community food gardens can contribute meaningfully to resilient urban food systems, but as our urban form is changing we need to explicitly plan for this contribution.

For example, vegetable gardens need space – public or private – that is reasonably open and not crowded by trees. This is one reason why the spacious middle-ring suburbs of Melbourne were more productive than the inner city in 1941.

Sustainable urban food production also requires skill, knowledge and time. Much food gardening today relies heavily on purchased seedlings, manures and pesticides. Resilient food gardens need to have a range of strategies for sourcing essential inputs locally, for example through seed saving networks, composting, local livestock and fowl, and on-site rainwater collection and storage. They also need people with the time and skills to manage these systems.

This history also provides inspiration in the form of stories of self-provisioning by everyday people, such as the 56-year-old woman running a habadashery and confectionery store who in 1941 produced all the vegetables and eggs she and her sister required at their Essendon home.

The low-density form of much of Australia’s urban landscape provides considerable potential for sustainable and resilient food production. But our cities still need to invest in developing the skills and systems to sustain this kind of farming.

This is especially critical for low-income areas where resource scarcity will bite hardest. It is also a task that looks ever more challenging as farms are pushed further from the city, while standard homes on shrinking lot sizes and poorly designed infill development eat up urban garden space.

We may not yet be at the stage of needing a nationwide “Grow Your Own” campaign on the scale seen during wartime. But if we want to increase our cities’ resilience and sustainability, we would be foolish to ignore its lessons.

The Conversation

About The Author

Andrea Gaynor, Associate Professor of History, University of Western Australia

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Grow Your Own Food Handbook: A Back to Basics Guide to Planting, Growing, and Harvesting Fruits and Vegetables (Handbook Series)

gardeningAuthor: Monte Burch
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Skyhorse
Label: Skyhorse
Publisher: Skyhorse
Manufacturer: Skyhorse

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Growing your own food is a hot topic today because of the high cost of transporting food long distances, the heightened problem of diseases caused by commercially grown foods, concerns of the overuse of chemicals in mass food production, and the uncertain health effects of GMOs. Many people—from White House executives to inner-city kids—have recently discovered the benefits of homegrown vegetables and fruits. Community gardens, and even community canning centers, are increasingly popular and have turned roof-top gardening into a great and healthy food source. And on a smaller scale, some plants can even be grown in containers for the smallest backyard or patio. The possibilities for growing your own food are endless!

The Grow Your Own Food Handbook informs you how to grow all types of vegetables, fruits, and even grains on your own land or in any small space available to you and your family. Also included is information on specific health benefits, vitamins, and minerals for each food, as well as detailed instructions for fall and winter food growing. Learn how to grow for your family, harvest and store all types of home-grown produce, and find joy in eating foods planted with your own hands.




The Year-Round Vegetable Gardener: How to Grow Your Own Food 365 Days a Year, No Matter Where You Live

gardeningAuthor: Niki Jabbour
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Full of techniques for year-round growing and harvesting
  • Gives you information for what to plan and when
  • Explains the equipment you need during the cold seasons
  • Even includes step-by-step photo instructions for building a cold frame
  • Color photos

Brand: Storey Publishing
Creator(s):
  • Joseph De Sciose

Studio: Storey Publishing, LLC
Label: Storey Publishing, LLC
Publisher: Storey Publishing, LLC
Manufacturer: Storey Publishing, LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
Even in winter’s coldest months you can harvest fresh, delicious produce. Drawing on insights gained from years of growing vegetables in Nova Scotia, Niki Jabbour shares her simple techniques for gardening throughout the year. Learn how to select the best varieties for each season, the art of succession planting, and how to build inexpensive structures to protect your crops from the elements. No matter where you live, you’ll soon enjoy a thriving vegetable garden year-round.




The Backyard Homestead: Produce all the food you need on just a quarter acre!

gardeningBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • The Backyard Homestead Produce all the food you need on just a quarter acre

Brand: Workman Publishing
Creator(s):
  • Carleen Madigan

Studio: Storey Publishing, LLC
Label: Storey Publishing, LLC
Publisher: Storey Publishing, LLC
Manufacturer: Storey Publishing, LLC

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
This comprehensive guide to homesteading provides all the information you need to grow and preserve a sustainable harvest of grains and vegetables; raise animals for meat, eggs, and dairy; and keep honey bees for your sweeter days. With easy-to-follow instructions on canning, drying, and pickling, you’ll enjoy your backyard bounty all winter long.




gardening
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}