Comment la personnalité de votre chien peut changer avec le temps

Comment la personnalité de votre chien peut changer avec le temps

Comme dans le cas des humains, la personnalité des chiens évoluera probablement avec le temps, selon de nouvelles recherches.

Lorsque les propriétaires de chiens passent plus de temps à gratter le ventre de leurs chiens, les emmènent avec eux pour de longues promenades et jeux de récupération, ou même lorsqu'ils ressentent une frustration constante à l'égard des mauvaises habitudes de mastication de leurs chiens, ils façonnent progressivement la personnalité de leurs animaux. Les chiens, comme les gens, ont une humeur et des traits de personnalité qui déterminent la façon dont ils réagissent dans certaines situations.

«Lorsque les humains traversent de grands changements dans la vie, leurs traits de personnalité peuvent changer. Nous avons constaté que cela se produisait aussi chez les chiens - et dans une mesure étonnamment grande », explique William Chopik, auteur principal, professeur de psychologie à la Michigan State University et auteur principal de l'étude, qui figure dans le Journal of Research in Personality.

«Nous nous attendions à ce que la personnalité des chiens soit relativement stable car ils ne subissent pas de changements de mode de vie sauvages, mais ils changent beaucoup. Nous avons découvert des similitudes avec leurs propriétaires, le moment optimal pour l’entraînement et même un moment dans leur vie où ils peuvent devenir plus agressifs envers les autres animaux. »

De plus, Chopik a découvert que la personnalité des chiens peut prédire de nombreux résultats importants dans la vie. Par exemple, la personnalité des chiens influera sur leur proximité avec leurs propriétaires, leur comportement mordant et même leurs maladies chroniques.

Chiens et leurs propriétaires

Chopik a interrogé les propriétaires de plus de chiens 1,600, y compris de différentes races 50. Les chiens étaient âgés de quelques semaines à l’âge 15 et se divisaient étroitement entre hommes et femmes. L'enquête approfondie a demandé aux propriétaires d'évaluer la personnalité de leur chien et de répondre à des questions sur son comportement comportemental. Les propriétaires ont également répondu à une enquête sur leurs personnalités.

«Nous avons trouvé des corrélations dans trois domaines principaux: l'âge et la personnalité, les similarités de personnalité entre humains et l'influence de la personnalité d'un chien sur la qualité de ses relations avec son propriétaire», explique Chopik.

«Les chiens plus âgés sont beaucoup plus difficiles à entraîner. nous avons découvert que le «point idéal» pour enseigner l'obéissance à un chien se situe autour de six ans, quand il dépasse sa phase excitante de chiot, mais avant qu'il ne soit trop enclin à se comporter.

Selon Chopik, un trait qui change rarement avec l'âge chez les chiens est la peur et l'anxiété.

Répondant au dicton, "les chiens ressemblent à leurs propriétaires", la recherche de Chopik a montré que les chiens et les propriétaires partagent des traits de personnalité spécifiques. Les humains extravertis ont jugé leurs chiens plus passifs et plus actifs, tandis que les propriétaires ayant des émotions négatives ont qualifié leurs chiens de plus craintifs, plus actifs et moins sensibles à l'entraînement. Les propriétaires qui se sont jugés agréables ont classé leurs chiens moins craintifs et moins agressifs envers les humains et les animaux.

Les propriétaires qui se sentaient le plus heureux de leurs relations avec leurs chiens ont signalé des chiens actifs et excitables, ainsi que des chiens plus réactifs à l’entraînement. L’agressivité et l’anxiété n’avaient pas autant d’importance dans le fait d’avoir une relation heureuse, dit Chopik.

«Il y a beaucoup de choses que nous pouvons faire avec les chiens - comme des cours d'obéissance et des entraînements - que nous ne pouvons pas faire avec des gens», dit-il. «L'exposition aux cours d'obéissance était associée à des traits de personnalité plus positifs tout au long de la vie du chien. Cela nous donne des occasions passionnantes d'examiner pourquoi les changements de personnalité chez toutes sortes d'animaux. "

Nature vs nourrir

Les découvertes de Chopik prouvent combien les humains ont le pouvoir d'influencer la personnalité d'un chien. Il explique que bon nombre des raisons pour lesquelles les changements de personnalité d'un chien résultent de la théorie de la «nature contre l'éducation» associée à la personnalité de l'homme.

La recherche de Chopik portera ensuite sur la manière dont les propriétaires de l'environnement fournissent à leurs chiens des modifications susceptibles de modifier leur comportement.

«Dis que tu adoptes un chien d'un refuge. Certains traits sont probablement liés à la biologie et résistants au changement, mais vous les placez ensuite dans un nouvel environnement où ils sont aimés, promenés et divertis souvent. Le chien pourrait alors devenir un peu plus détendu et sociable », déclare Chopik.

«Maintenant que nous savons que la personnalité des chiens peut changer, nous souhaitons ensuite créer un lien solide pour comprendre pourquoi les chiens agissent - et changent - comme ils le font.»

A propos de l'auteur

La source: Michigan State University

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = personnalité du chien; maxresults = 3}

How Your Dog’s Personality Can Change Over Time

pets

How Your Dog’s Personality Can Change Over Time

Like humans, dogs’ personalities likely change over time, according to new research.

When dog owners spend extra time scratching their dogs’ bellies, take their dogs out for long walks and games of fetch, or even when they feel constant frustration over their dogs’ naughty chewing habits, they are gradually shaping their pets’ personalities. Dogs, like people, have moods and personality traits that shape how they react in certain situations.

“When humans go through big changes in life, their personality traits can change. We found that this also happens with dogs—and to a surprisingly large degree,” says lead author William Chopik, professor of psychology at Michigan State University and lead author of the study, which appears in the Journal of Research in Personality.

“We expected the dogs’ personalities to be fairly stable because they don’t have wild lifestyle changes humans do, but they actually change a lot. We uncovered similarities to their owners, the optimal time for training and even a time in their lives that they can get more aggressive toward other animals.”

Additionally, Chopik found that dogs’ personalities can predict many important life outcomes. For example, canines’ personalities will influence how close they feel to their owners, biting behavior, and even chronic illness.

Dogs and their owners

Chopik surveyed owners of more than 1,600 dogs, including 50 different breeds. Dogs ranged from just a few weeks old to 15 years, and split closely between male and female. The extensive survey had owners evaluate their dog’s personalities and answered questions about the dog’s behavioral history. The owners also answered a survey about their own personalities.

“We found correlations in three main areas: age and personality, in human-to-dog personality similarities, and in the influence a dog’s personality has on the quality of its relationship with its owner,” Chopik says.

“Older dogs are much harder to train; we found that the ‘sweet spot’ for teaching a dog obedience is around the age of six, when it outgrows its excitable puppy stage but before its too set in its ways.”

One trait that rarely changes with age in dogs, Chopik says, is fear and anxiety.

Homing in on the saying, “dogs resemble their owners,” Chopik’s research showed dogs and owners share specific personality traits. Extroverted humans rated their dogs as more excitable and active, while owners high in negative emotions rated their dogs as more fearful, active, and less responsive to training. Owners who rated themselves as agreeable rated their dogs as less fearful and less aggressive to people and animals.

The owners who felt happiest about their relationships with their dogs reported active and excitable dogs, as well as dogs who were most responsive to training. Aggression and anxiety didn’t matter as much in having a happy relationship, Chopik says.

“There are a lot of things we can do with dogs—like obedience classes and training—that we can’t do with people,” he says. “Exposure to obedience classes was associated with more positive personality traits across the dog’s lifespan. This gives us exciting opportunities to examine why personality changes in all sorts of animals.”

Nature vs. nurture

Chopik’s findings prove how much power humans have over influencing a dog’s personality. He explains that many of the reasons a dog’s personality changes result from of the “nature versus nurture” theory associated with humans’ personalities.

Next, Chopik’s will research will examine how the environment owners provide their dogs might change the dogs’ behavior.

“Say you adopt a dog from a shelter. Some traits are likely tied to biology and resistant to change, but you then put it in a new environment where it’s loved, walked, and entertained often. The dog then might become a little more relaxed and sociable,” Chopik says.

“Now that we know dogs’ personalities can change, next we want to make strong connection to understand why dogs act—and change—the way they do.”

About the Author

Source: Michigan State University

Related Books

The Right Dog For You - Choosing A Breed That Matches Your Personality, Family And Life-style

petsAuthor: Daniel F., Ph.D. Tortora
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Fireside/Simon & Schuster
Label: Fireside/Simon & Schuster
Publisher: Fireside/Simon & Schuster
Manufacturer: Fireside/Simon & Schuster

Buy Now
Editorial Review: this book is amazing in perfect condition




Why Does My Dog Act That Way?: A Complete Guide to Your Dog's Personality

petsAuthor: Stanley Coren
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • For all our books; Cargo will be delivered in the required time. 100% Satisfaction is Guaranteed!

Studio: Free Press
Label: Free Press
Publisher: Free Press
Manufacturer: Free Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: We've shared our lives with dogs for thousands of years, but they still act in ways that baffle us. To help us understand them better, Dr. Stanley Coren, the undisputed expert on dog behavior, intelligence, and training, tells the story of how dogs evolved over time into the myriad forms and breeds we love today. Not simply domesticated wolves, dogs are actually much more complex than wild canines; their ability to adapt to a man-made world is far more flexible, their personalities far more diverse. Fascinating findings reveal which breeds were bred to become more dominant, affectionate, cooperative, or even dangerous. This practical, surprising book also presents -- for the first time -- the "Dog Behavior Inventory," a simple, fun test based on the personality-profiling questionnaires used in human psychological studies that you can administer to your own dog to get a detailed picture of his personality and how he compares to other members of his breed. Then, using the findings of the U.S. Army's once- classified studies of "Superdogs," you can train your pet to become a real-life equivalent of Lassie and Rin Tin Tin -- a dog who is not disturbed, angered, or frightened by anything.

Filled with the entertaining anecdotes and scientific data that Dr. Coren's avid followers have come to expect and enjoy, this uniquely complete guide to dog psychology can help you to select a new companion and to understand and communicate better with your old friend.




Dog Personalities

petsAuthor: Dog Personalities (author)
Binding: Hardcover
Studio: Bantam Press
Label: Bantam Press
Publisher: Bantam Press
Manufacturer: Bantam Press

Buy Now



pets
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}