كيف شخصية الكلب الخاص بك يمكن أن تتغير مع مرور الوقت

كيف شخصية الكلب الخاص بك يمكن أن تتغير مع مرور الوقت

مثل البشر ، من المحتمل أن تتغير شخصيات الكلاب بمرور الوقت ، وفقًا لبحث جديد.

عندما يقضي أصحاب الكلاب وقتًا إضافيًا في خدش بطون الكلاب ، خذوا كلابهم من أجل المشي لمسافات طويلة وألعاب الجلب ، أو حتى عندما يشعرون بالإحباط المستمر بسبب عادات مضغ كلابهم المشوهة ، فإنهم يقومون تدريجياً بتشكيل شخصيات الحيوانات الأليفة الخاصة بهم. الكلاب ، مثل الناس ، لديها المزاج والسمات الشخصية التي تشكل كيفية تفاعلها في مواقف معينة.

عندما يمر البشر بتغييرات كبيرة في الحياة ، يمكن أن تتغير سمات شخصيتهم. وجدنا أن هذا يحدث أيضا مع الكلاب - وإلى درجة كبيرة بشكل مدهش ، يقول المؤلف الرئيسي وليام Chopik ، أستاذ علم النفس في جامعة ولاية ميشيغان والمؤلف الرئيسي للدراسة ، الذي يظهر في مجلة البحوث في الشخصية.

"لقد توقعنا أن تكون شخصيات الكلاب مستقرة إلى حد ما ، لأنهم لا يغيرون نمط الحياة البرية الذي يفعله البشر ، لكنهم في الواقع يغيرون الكثير. لقد اكتشفنا أوجه تشابه مع أصحابها ، والوقت الأمثل للتدريب ، وحتى وقت في حياتهم يمكنهم أن يصبحوا أكثر عدوانية تجاه الحيوانات الأخرى. "

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وجد تشوبيك أن شخصيات الكلاب يمكن أن تتنبأ بالعديد من نتائج الحياة الهامة. على سبيل المثال ، سوف تؤثر شخصيات الأنيبين على مدى قربهم من أصحابها ، والسلوك العض ، وحتى المرض المزمن.

الكلاب وأصحابها

شوبيك مسح أصحاب أكثر من الكلاب 1,600 ، بما في ذلك السلالات المختلفة 50. تراوحت الكلاب من بضعة أسابيع إلى سنوات 15 ، وانقسمت عن كثب بين الذكور والإناث. استطاع الاستطلاع الواسع أن يقيِّم أصحاب الكلاب شخصياتهم وأجابوا عن الأسئلة حول التاريخ السلوكي للكلاب. أجاب أصحاب أيضا استبيان حول شخصياتهم الخاصة.

يقول تشوبيك: "لقد وجدنا ارتباطات في ثلاثة مجالات رئيسية: العمر والشخصية ، وفي أوجه التشابه الشخصية بين البشر ، وفي تأثير شخصية الكلب على جودة علاقته مع صاحبه".

"الكلاب الأصعب هي أصعب بكثير للتدريب ؛ وجدنا أن "البقعة الحلوة" لتعليم طاعة الكلاب تبلغ حوالي السادسة من العمر ، عندما تتخطى مرحلة الجرو المثيرة ، ولكن قبل أن توضع في طرقها ".

يقول تشوبيك إن إحدى السمات التي نادراً ما تتغير مع تقدم العمر في الكلاب هي الخوف والقلق.

وبالرغم من أن "كلاب" تشبه على سبيل المثال "الكلاب تشبه أصحابها" ، فقد أظهر بحث تشوبيك أن الكلاب ومالكيها يتشاركون سمات شخصية محددة. يصنف البشر المنفتحون كلابهم على أنها أكثر إثارة ونشاطًا ، في حين أن أصحاب العواطف السلبية يقدرون تصنيف كلابهم على أنهم أكثر خوفا ونشاطًا وأقل استجابة للتدريبات. صنَّف المالكون الذين صنفوا أنفسهم على أنهم مقبولون كلابهم على أنها أقل خوفًا وأقل عدوانية للناس والحيوانات.

ذكر الملاك الذين شعروا بسعادة أكبر حول علاقاتهم مع كلابهم أن الكلاب نشطة وناشطة ، وكذلك الكلاب الأكثر استجابة للتدريب. يقول Chopik: "العدوان والقلق لم يكن ذا أهمية كبيرة في وجود علاقة سعيدة."

"هناك الكثير من الأشياء التي يمكننا القيام بها مع الكلاب - مثل دروس الطاعة والتدريب - التي لا يمكننا القيام بها مع الناس" ، كما يقول. "ارتبط التعرض لطبقات الطاعة بسمات شخصية أكثر إيجابية عبر عمر الكلب. وهذا يعطينا فرصًا مثيرة للنظر في أسباب تغير الشخصية في جميع أنواع الحيوانات ".

الطبع مقابل التطبع

وتثبت نتائج تشوبيك مدى قدرة البشر على التأثير على شخصية الكلب. ويوضح أن العديد من الأسباب التي تؤدي إلى تغير شخصية الكلب هي نتيجة نظرية "الطبيعة مقابل التنشئة" المرتبطة بشخصيات البشر.

بعد ذلك ، سوف يبحث بحث تشوبيك في كيفية قيام مالكي البيئة بتزويد كلابهم بتغيير سلوك الكلاب.

"قل تبني كلب من مأوى. من المحتمل أن تكون بعض السمات مرتبطة بعلم الأحياء ومقاومة للتغيير ، ولكنك تضعها في بيئة جديدة حيث تكون محبوبًا ومشيًا ومتسلية كثيرًا. قد يصبح الكلب بعد ذلك أكثر راحة واسترخاء ، "يقول تشوبيك.

"والآن بعد أن عرفنا أن شخصيات الكلاب يمكن أن تتغير ، نود بعد ذلك أن نجعل الاتصال قويًا لفهم سبب تصرف الكلاب - والتغيير - بالطريقة التي يتصرفون بها".

عن المؤلف

مصدر: جامعة ولاية ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = شخصية الكلاب ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Your Dog’s Personality Can Change Over Time

pets

How Your Dog’s Personality Can Change Over Time

Like humans, dogs’ personalities likely change over time, according to new research.

When dog owners spend extra time scratching their dogs’ bellies, take their dogs out for long walks and games of fetch, or even when they feel constant frustration over their dogs’ naughty chewing habits, they are gradually shaping their pets’ personalities. Dogs, like people, have moods and personality traits that shape how they react in certain situations.

“When humans go through big changes in life, their personality traits can change. We found that this also happens with dogs—and to a surprisingly large degree,” says lead author William Chopik, professor of psychology at Michigan State University and lead author of the study, which appears in the Journal of Research in Personality.

“We expected the dogs’ personalities to be fairly stable because they don’t have wild lifestyle changes humans do, but they actually change a lot. We uncovered similarities to their owners, the optimal time for training and even a time in their lives that they can get more aggressive toward other animals.”

Additionally, Chopik found that dogs’ personalities can predict many important life outcomes. For example, canines’ personalities will influence how close they feel to their owners, biting behavior, and even chronic illness.

Dogs and their owners

Chopik surveyed owners of more than 1,600 dogs, including 50 different breeds. Dogs ranged from just a few weeks old to 15 years, and split closely between male and female. The extensive survey had owners evaluate their dog’s personalities and answered questions about the dog’s behavioral history. The owners also answered a survey about their own personalities.

“We found correlations in three main areas: age and personality, in human-to-dog personality similarities, and in the influence a dog’s personality has on the quality of its relationship with its owner,” Chopik says.

“Older dogs are much harder to train; we found that the ‘sweet spot’ for teaching a dog obedience is around the age of six, when it outgrows its excitable puppy stage but before its too set in its ways.”

One trait that rarely changes with age in dogs, Chopik says, is fear and anxiety.

Homing in on the saying, “dogs resemble their owners,” Chopik’s research showed dogs and owners share specific personality traits. Extroverted humans rated their dogs as more excitable and active, while owners high in negative emotions rated their dogs as more fearful, active, and less responsive to training. Owners who rated themselves as agreeable rated their dogs as less fearful and less aggressive to people and animals.

The owners who felt happiest about their relationships with their dogs reported active and excitable dogs, as well as dogs who were most responsive to training. Aggression and anxiety didn’t matter as much in having a happy relationship, Chopik says.

“There are a lot of things we can do with dogs—like obedience classes and training—that we can’t do with people,” he says. “Exposure to obedience classes was associated with more positive personality traits across the dog’s lifespan. This gives us exciting opportunities to examine why personality changes in all sorts of animals.”

Nature vs. nurture

Chopik’s findings prove how much power humans have over influencing a dog’s personality. He explains that many of the reasons a dog’s personality changes result from of the “nature versus nurture” theory associated with humans’ personalities.

Next, Chopik’s will research will examine how the environment owners provide their dogs might change the dogs’ behavior.

“Say you adopt a dog from a shelter. Some traits are likely tied to biology and resistant to change, but you then put it in a new environment where it’s loved, walked, and entertained often. The dog then might become a little more relaxed and sociable,” Chopik says.

“Now that we know dogs’ personalities can change, next we want to make strong connection to understand why dogs act—and change—the way they do.”

About the Author

Source: Michigan State University

Related Books

The Right Dog For You - Choosing A Breed That Matches Your Personality, Family And Life-style

petsAuthor: Daniel F., Ph.D. Tortora
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Fireside/Simon & Schuster
Label: Fireside/Simon & Schuster
Publisher: Fireside/Simon & Schuster
Manufacturer: Fireside/Simon & Schuster

Buy Now
Editorial Review: this book is amazing in perfect condition




Why Does My Dog Act That Way?: A Complete Guide to Your Dog's Personality

petsAuthor: Stanley Coren
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • For all our books; Cargo will be delivered in the required time. 100% Satisfaction is Guaranteed!

Studio: Free Press
Label: Free Press
Publisher: Free Press
Manufacturer: Free Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review: We've shared our lives with dogs for thousands of years, but they still act in ways that baffle us. To help us understand them better, Dr. Stanley Coren, the undisputed expert on dog behavior, intelligence, and training, tells the story of how dogs evolved over time into the myriad forms and breeds we love today. Not simply domesticated wolves, dogs are actually much more complex than wild canines; their ability to adapt to a man-made world is far more flexible, their personalities far more diverse. Fascinating findings reveal which breeds were bred to become more dominant, affectionate, cooperative, or even dangerous. This practical, surprising book also presents -- for the first time -- the "Dog Behavior Inventory," a simple, fun test based on the personality-profiling questionnaires used in human psychological studies that you can administer to your own dog to get a detailed picture of his personality and how he compares to other members of his breed. Then, using the findings of the U.S. Army's once- classified studies of "Superdogs," you can train your pet to become a real-life equivalent of Lassie and Rin Tin Tin -- a dog who is not disturbed, angered, or frightened by anything.

Filled with the entertaining anecdotes and scientific data that Dr. Coren's avid followers have come to expect and enjoy, this uniquely complete guide to dog psychology can help you to select a new companion and to understand and communicate better with your old friend.




Dog Personalities

petsAuthor: Dog Personalities (author)
Binding: Hardcover
Studio: Bantam Press
Label: Bantam Press
Publisher: Bantam Press
Manufacturer: Bantam Press

Buy Now



pets
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}